Chanel • Rouge Coco Shine Monte Carlo • Lipstick

rated 4.4(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 rillensora on 1/11/2014 7:20:00 AM more reviews by rillensora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I actually dithered quite a bit when clicking that "Repurchase?" button. In the end, I decided to go with "No", because I can't justify repurchasing this, neither for the price, nor for the space it takes up in my makeup bag.

It's a shame, because the color is such a lovely sheer, dimensional red, just like the jeweled flesh of a watermelon. It's not drying or anything either, the formula is satiny and luxurious.

The problem is, the formula lasts all of two minutes on me. Okay, well that's an exaggeration. But it does not last beyond two hours, and once the oil in the formula soaks in, that lovely jeweled quality just evaporates, and what's left is a still-very-pretty-but-rather-common red tint. I have to reapply constantly, and that's annoying. So, too bad Chanel, but you failed to capture me on this one.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bmelodyb on 9/26/2013 11:06:00 AM more reviews by Bmelodyb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my day to day lippie. I tend to veer on the side of brights alot when I am buying lipsticks (rouge allure Incandescente, Coromandel, Passion etc..) and I needed something to be able to wear to work. I happened to have a few samples of Chanel lipsticks and of the two Coco shines this was the best (the other was Saga). I tried it on and it felt like a smooth lipgloss with the perfect light colour to enhance my lips for work. I have tried a few other colours and did not like them as much. I am not a fan of light pinky colours personally. Im so upset that its been discontinued!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* funnyblossom on 9/1/2013 5:50:00 AM more reviews by funnyblossom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Very brightening, flatering peachy coral! It is sheer, but gives you enough color to really make you look perky - I like it with a clear, no blusher look. My skin in Bobbi Brown 3 and I think it is very good for a summer look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kburditt on 8/23/2013 3:08:00 PM more reviews by kburditt

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm a fan of the Rouge Coco Shine lipsticks. I find them to be hydrating without being too mushy or creamy (BB creamy lip color) and the color pigment is good. I already have two plum colors - Bel Ami and Cavaliere and love them. I was looking for a coral color to wear for the summer and Monte Carlo is terrific. I think it's somewhat similar to MAC Cross Wires, but it's not as pigmented. However, that doesn't mean that it is too sheer! The packaging is classy and that's what I expect from Chanel. These are a pricey ($32.50). I really like these lipsticks and the shades work well with my coloring - I'm very fair with brown hair and green eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sissiv on 7/31/2013 10:56:00 AM more reviews by sissiv

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love love this lipstick, my all time favorite.

The color in the package seems a pinkish red, but when you put it on is really simple and I consider it a daily use if you want to give a little color to your lips.
The texture is smooth and it feels like you're wearing a lip balm.
It's ideal is you want your lips to look fuller and alive.
The only thing that I didn't like was the price, but considering it's a chanel...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Colour4me on 5/19/2013 11:12:00 PM more reviews by Colour4me

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Love, love, love this shade! I would even recommend this shade (formula) for someone who wants to try a red lipstick, but is hesitant. I have a double lipstick case (with mirror), and I always have the Monte Carlo shade as well as Bel-Ami. Yes, pricey, but I save for it. I hope Chanel keeps these two shades forever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tsh82 on 3/28/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by tsh82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i am in LOVE, i never thought id find a red that would REALLY and i mean REEAAALLYY suit me. this is like the perfect natural shiny red for me, :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Newyorking on 12/16/2012 12:05:00 PM more reviews by Newyorking

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Chanel Coco Shine Monte Carlo for a year now, and love it! I tried various other sheers (Nars, Laura Mercier), and this one is by far the best. I bought a few lip gloss brands (Chanel, Laura Mercier, Chantecaille), but they either have poor lasting power or my hair sticks to them. I am also not a huge fan of non-gloss lipstick because some of them leave rings around my lips. So I tried Chanel Coco Shine.

I love this product!! Monte Carlo is perfect, it is red that can be used everyday without seeming too bright. It is very moisturizing, my hair doesn't stick to it, and looks good. It has relatively less staying power than a regular lipstick especially after eating, but I don't mind reapplying. I use it everyday for work and love it!! Much much better than a lip gloss. I am looking to buy this in another color but none comes close to MC.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alicilera on 4/22/2012 11:19:00 PM more reviews by alicilera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Before i start , i must confess... i am a CHANEL-aholic! i love love love their illusion d ombres, and loose powder, but this... i'm half hearted. i love the packaging, it screams expensive and chic, but applying this 'lipstick' requires so much work. i have to layer over a sheer lip balm, before i can wear this. when i first used this, i thought i could wear it on its own but the color and finishing was so dry and awful :( after using a lip balm under it, it gives a sheer tint/sheen of bitten lips.. only get this if you are a BIG BIG CHANEL fan. lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wubaduckie on 3/17/2012 8:20:00 AM more reviews by wubaduckie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Don't think of it as a lipstick. Think of it as a tinted lip balm because this sheer "lipstick" is very moisturising that you don't need another lip balm. It isn't long lasting so if you think it as a lipstick, you'll be sadly disappointed but if you think of it as a tinted lip balm, you'll be happy about the pigmentation. Of course, it's Chanel so you're paying the price. But when you're slathering on this, you'd feel a million bucks (slight exaggeration...).

I love this colour, which is a strawberry pink. It's pigmented enough for me because I'm young and I don't like the look of lipsticks on me but I hate the feeling of sticky lip gloss against my lips. Also, my lips are quite pale so this shows up. For people with redder lips, it may not so this may not be the colour for you.

I'd consider buying it again, perhaps in a different colour but that won't be for a long time since I rarely wear makeup. When I do, I reach for this when I'm doing my lips.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Lipstick products