E.L.F. Studio Angled Eyeliner brush


71 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $


on 9/18/2015 10:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wish I have checked the review here before my purchase. It is a good thing it doesn't cost much.

The brush has spread out after one use. with ELF product it is always a hit or miss. This is definitely a miss.

on 8/29/2015 10:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm going to give this brush a bad review. It is going to seem like everything is wrong with this, but it's not so much pure hatred as it is the fact that I want to explain exactly where the problem lies with this brush.

My main problem with this is the bulky ferrule that makes it very hard to actually see what I'm doing. You can not lay the bristles of this brush flat agains your skin because of this awkward ferrule.

I have one of these liner brushes with the bent tip from Coastal Scents (bought it ages ago, don't remember the name), and it is by no means perfect, but that one has a nice thin ferrule and handle, and it makes a world of difference in making wings on my eyeliner and actually seeing what I'm doing!!

Also it's not very dense, which you would think is great because it's supposed to be thin, but it makes it very hard to apply gel liner. It can't hold enough product so either you apply a good amount of liner that dispenses in a clump on one place or you dip this brush 30 times to do one eye.

The bristles are very short and not very structured/stiff so it is kind of flimsy. The bristles fan out and make a thicker line than I want, and because bristles are sparse it can also get streaky.

And lastly, over time this frays out like crazy. It's so bad that even thick gel liner can't seem to "taper" the tip together. This problem is probably partly due to the way it has to be used (at almost a 90 degree angle on the skin) I can't really fix this by cutting away any of it because if the bristles becomes any shorter the ferrule will touch down on my lid no matter how I use this.

Now that I have drenched this in negative feedback, I have to say I actually can find use for this, but it is limited. I can use it with liquid liner. It is kind of useless because most my liquid liners have their own brushes that are much more convenient to use. The problem is still like I mentioned that I'm having a hard time making my liner very thin like I like, because of the fraying. And of course winging my liner is not an option with this.

All in all I don't recommend buing this. I am very certain you don't have to blow you budget to find a better alternative than this.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite eyeliner brush to use with gel liner!! I get a perfect cat eye wing everytime. The super pointy tip makes it very easy to draw straight lines and also makes it easy to do your liner as thick or thin as you'd like. It's very precise. I love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 4/10/2015 8:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I have a couple of these brushes & I love them for applying elf creme black eyeliner. You can get a lot thinner more precise line with this type of brush than the slant angle brushes. Only $3! Elf makes lovely brushes esp the kind with the black handles. These are basically the only eyeliner brushes I use for creme or gel eyeliner.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 12/21/2014 1:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

The bristles splay out! I even tried to trim them a few times see I could get them to a reasonable point but that didn't work either. If you're trying to apply a thin line of gel eyeliner then do not bother buying this brush.

on 9/15/2014 9:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The bend makes it super awkward to try to use and get into my line of sight a lot. Also, each bristle's length is different, so I didn't get the clean line that I would prefer with a cream liner, which I would use this brush with. Overall, just not pleased. I would prefer my Real Techniques fine liner brush over this, and it's only a few dollars more.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush, I got it to use with the E.L.F gel liner and it's a steal for $4 CAD. In response to the poor reviews, this brush isn't going to teach you how to apply liner, but if you're already capable, you're going to love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 8/7/2014 6:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually favor liquid liners over gels & creams, but occasionally I do use gel liner so I thought this would be good to try-for my eye area, regular angle brushes tend to be too large & won't give me the precise line I want. So since this looked like it was a pretty small, skinny brush, I thought I'd give it a try. First off, I don't like the angled handle. I actually think that it makes it more difficult to apply liner because of how the brush is facing you, & turning it on it's side makes it a bit awkward to use. But that's just a matter of personal preference, as many people find angled handles a big help. The biggest issue was the bristles. It seemed like I only used it a few times & the bristles splayed out so it's pretty much useless now. It was only $3, but even at that price if the bristles are going to splay out that bad after just a few uses, it just makes it not worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 7/31/2014 10:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

So the way this brush is angled is supposed to make applying your eyeliner "easier"? Frankly, I couldn't really tell if it was easier or not. Just seems like you basic eyeliner brush. I use this thing for my gel eyeliner and it does the job, no more, no less. I personally think my Sephora eyeliner brush is better.

Not bad for 3 bucks though. If you're looking for an eyeliner brush and don't want tospend a lot of $$$, give this one a go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 7/13/2014 1:42:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really, really, really hate this brush...I gave it three stars because I feel unduly influenced by the seven times a day that I stab myself with it and that's not really the brush's fault. Although I laugh at people who think this is easier than liquid liner. Have you ever stabbed yourself with a liquid liner? Have you ever *punctured a contact* with a liquid liner? I have used some pretty terrible liquid liners but none of them came close to the jacked-up cat eye this thing gave me. There are a lot of ways to skin a cat, my friends, and I am fairly sure one of them involves this eyeliner brush.

Anyway, one of the reasons why it is so terrible is that the bristles separated in two and the ends broke off a few so they're all uneven. (I've had it for a week. I hadn't even WASHED it yet). I managed to kind of smooth it out but the line is still weird and patchy because the bristles are uneven lengths. I may try to buy a slightly nicer one, but in the end I feel like my money is better spent on liquid liner. Their liquid liner is awesome. Go buy that.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top