mark White Vetiver

2.9

9 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/7/2014 8:13:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this little bottle!!!!!!!!! I think I'm the only one though. However, the smell I get, from the bottle or on myself, is just awful. I try and try. I've given it time and several sprays, but it's just not for me. The only likeness I can give for what this smells like to me is, mold, and mushrooms. If I picked up the dirt around a mushroom with the mushroom and smelled it, this is exactly what it would smell like. I can't believe others like the smell of mushrooms, which leads me to believe everyone else gets something lovely from this. The price was right when I bought it discontinued from Avon, at five dollars I believe. The bottle is worth that much. Perhaps one day a friend will need a spritz and love this....it will become theirs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/11/2013 12:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Initially this smells great, Kinda like the original Marc Jacobs.....but then you wear it for 30 minutes and it smells so much like old lady perfume, I can't express to you the headache it gave me....A mix between floral and dirt with a little insense mixed in.... I would not repurchase....


on 3/19/2012 9:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Initially upon getting this scent in a swap I sprayed it once and instantly relisted it as it was SO strong-mind you it was the height of summer and the heat just amplified it.Well I decided to give it another try-this time I just barely depressed the sprayer until a tiny drop came out and wow-what a difference time(and colder weather) makes.It is a dark,smokey tuberose that is to die for:I strangely get no vetiver which is fine as true vetiver smells leathery to me.This has just a hint of coconut that I didn't notice the first time-very nice to ground the florals with.It would figure that now that I love it it is being discontinued....why does Avon(mark) discontinue stuff so easily?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2011 5:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Nice, light floral, a little "smoky" like the other reviewers have mentioned. Not too exciting but it is a little different and it's growing on me. I would probably repurchase since it was so cheap, but I doubt I'll use up the big bottle I have!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2011 5:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have tried so many fragrances that have a tuberose/gardenia scent from the highest end (l'artisan, Annick Goutal) to drugstore brands (Sand n' Sable, White Shoulders). This is fantastic for hot, humid summers! Has a great smokey quality from the vetiver and maintains the buttery scent of both tuberose and gardenia. Not as sweet as Fracas, not watery like Marc Jacobs, not synthetic like Kors. I get none of the typical white floral sharpness, only velvety, deep richness. Really works well when layered with unscented lotion. Love it, extremely pleased.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2011 10:37:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

There are two places to write reviews for this fragrance on MUA. ;-) I will post my review for this one here too.
I totally think this fragrance is awful on myself! Oh why did they not offer samples to try this before buying it??? I hate sending back. I hate always disliking whatever it is in there that makes the dry down smell so much like a dirty bathroom! The initial spray smelled kind of okay. That lasted about 30 minutes on myself and then nothing but this terrible, stinky, old bathroom smell. I had to wash it off!
The bottle & box ;-)....hmmm....boring....nothing exciting there either. Too plain looking. Nothing antique, retro, or cosmic about it to me.
I just cannot exclaim enough how bad this scent hit me. I actually wanted this to be another MARK scent that I could really like and rave about, but it isn't. MARK has a few that are actually unique and smell really great on me. This just isn't one of them.


on 4/16/2011 4:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Definitely a flowery sweetish scent. First on I can detect nothing of the vetiver or dark base notes, just sweet tuberose and jasmine. It's a nice floral, not too indolic or anything, but with a background note that feels like a home-fragrance candle. There's no vetiver at all and certainly no discernible patchouli and none ever shows up on my skin. Okay, but not at all what I thought I'd get with the title being White Vetiver. Where is the Vetiver? It's floral. Pretty and misnamed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2011 9:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love everything about White Vetiver. The fragrance, the bottle (vintage mod vibe), the box (again, very mod), the price. I've always craved Marc Jacob's original scent, but when I wear it, it never lives up to my imagination. White Vetiver smells like what I imagine Marc Jacobs is going to smell like, but doesn't. Take Marc Jacobs, amp up the floral with tuberose, give it a solid root-y vetiver base and ditch the aquatic note (please!), and you get mark.'s White Vetiver. I did notice however that some days all I smell is tuberose and then other days the vetiver comes through more. This is what keeps it from being boring. I'm very happy. Will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2011 11:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A beautiful floral scented perfume that has pretty good staying power. The write up for it says dark, smoky, vetiver vibe merges with tuberose. I liked this one enough that I have ordered the lotion too.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews


Top Rated mark Products

Back to Top