mark • White Vetiver • Fragrances

rated 2.9(9 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 BloodHound on 6/7/2014 8:13:00 AM more reviews by BloodHound

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this little bottle!!!!!!!!! I think I'm the only one though. However, the smell I get, from the bottle or on myself, is just awful. I try and try. I've given it time and several sprays, but it's just not for me. The only likeness I can give for what this smells like to me is, mold, and mushrooms. If I picked up the dirt around a mushroom with the mushroom and smelled it, this is exactly what it would smell like. I can't believe others like the smell of mushrooms, which leads me to believe everyone else gets something lovely from this. The price was right when I bought it discontinued from Avon, at five dollars I believe. The bottle is worth that much. Perhaps one day a friend will need a spritz and love this....it will become theirs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vickster524 on 3/11/2013 12:11:00 PM more reviews by vickster524

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Initially this smells great, Kinda like the original Marc Jacobs.....but then you wear it for 30 minutes and it smells so much like old lady perfume, I can't express to you the headache it gave me....A mix between floral and dirt with a little insense mixed in.... I would not repurchase....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* catwoman30 on 3/19/2012 9:21:00 PM more reviews by catwoman30

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Initially upon getting this scent in a swap I sprayed it once and instantly relisted it as it was SO strong-mind you it was the height of summer and the heat just amplified it.Well I decided to give it another try-this time I just barely depressed the sprayer until a tiny drop came out and wow-what a difference time(and colder weather) makes.It is a dark,smokey tuberose that is to die for:I strangely get no vetiver which is fine as true vetiver smells leathery to me.This has just a hint of coconut that I didn't notice the first time-very nice to ground the florals with.It would figure that now that I love it it is being discontinued....why does Avon(mark) discontinue stuff so easily?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fivezero on 12/13/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by fivezero

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Nice, light floral, a little "smoky" like the other reviewers have mentioned. Not too exciting but it is a little different and it's growing on me. I would probably repurchase since it was so cheap, but I doubt I'll use up the big bottle I have!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jomalone on 7/14/2011 5:52:00 PM more reviews by jomalone

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have tried so many fragrances that have a tuberose/gardenia scent from the highest end (l'artisan, Annick Goutal) to drugstore brands (Sand n' Sable, White Shoulders). This is fantastic for hot, humid summers! Has a great smokey quality from the vetiver and maintains the buttery scent of both tuberose and gardenia. Not as sweet as Fracas, not watery like Marc Jacobs, not synthetic like Kors. I get none of the typical white floral sharpness, only velvety, deep richness. Really works well when layered with unscented lotion. Love it, extremely pleased.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Magixz on 5/16/2011 10:37:00 AM more reviews by Magixz

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

There are two places to write reviews for this fragrance on MUA. ;-) I will post my review for this one here too.
I totally think this fragrance is awful on myself! Oh why did they not offer samples to try this before buying it??? I hate sending back. I hate always disliking whatever it is in there that makes the dry down smell so much like a dirty bathroom! The initial spray smelled kind of okay. That lasted about 30 minutes on myself and then nothing but this terrible, stinky, old bathroom smell. I had to wash it off!
The bottle & box ;-)....hmmm....boring....nothing exciting there either. Too plain looking. Nothing antique, retro, or cosmic about it to me.
I just cannot exclaim enough how bad this scent hit me. I actually wanted this to be another MARK scent that I could really like and rave about, but it isn't. MARK has a few that are actually unique and smell really great on me. This just isn't one of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 4/16/2011 4:26:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely a flowery sweetish scent. First on I can detect nothing of the vetiver or dark base notes, just sweet tuberose and jasmine. It's a nice floral, not too indolic or anything, but with a background note that feels like a home-fragrance candle. There's no vetiver at all and certainly no discernible patchouli and none ever shows up on my skin. Okay, but not at all what I thought I'd get with the title being White Vetiver. Where is the Vetiver? It's floral. Pretty and misnamed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shadow_Witch on 4/13/2011 9:21:00 PM more reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love everything about White Vetiver. The fragrance, the bottle (vintage mod vibe), the box (again, very mod), the price. I've always craved Marc Jacob's original scent, but when I wear it, it never lives up to my imagination. White Vetiver smells like what I imagine Marc Jacobs is going to smell like, but doesn't. Take Marc Jacobs, amp up the floral with tuberose, give it a solid root-y vetiver base and ditch the aquatic note (please!), and you get mark.'s White Vetiver. I did notice however that some days all I smell is tuberose and then other days the vetiver comes through more. This is what keeps it from being boring. I'm very happy. Will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 4/13/2011 11:15:00 AM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A beautiful floral scented perfume that has pretty good staying power. The write up for it says dark, smoky, vetiver vibe merges with tuberose. I liked this one enough that I have ordered the lotion too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More mark products

More Fragrances products