Tarte • Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Tinted Moisturizer • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 4.1(61 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mspicky on 7/15/2014 1:34:00 PM more reviews by mspicky

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I found this on my shelf because I forgot I had bought it during a tarte sale. I had thrown away the box so I had no idea what it does or is supposed to do. I squeezed it and a bit of yellow oil came out and also some stuff that looked like foundation. I figured it had separated a little and it smelled fine so I used it on my face. Well, hello dewey finish! It evened out my skintone a bit and had a very fresh natural look, so I assume it's tinted moisturizer. I welcomed its bit of moisturizing because I had been testing out this new Lancome Visionnaire foundation (expensive and drying but nice finish and thin buildable coverage) which had created several dry patchy areas. With this tinted moisturizer my skin looks luminous and it doesn't get caught in the fine lines that also had been acting up due to the dryness of the Lancome. So I just look fresh. Still needs concealer and is NOT full coverage or even medium coverage. Nice for what it is and does look illuminated. I wouldn't call it a BB though. I'm using a Korean BB cream and it is quite different in look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetxsour35 on 6/19/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by sweetxsour35

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this under the impression that it was full coverage, which made me disappointed at first because it barely covers my blemishes. I kept it anyway because it works so well as a moisturizer. It has sunscreen added in it as well which is a plus. I tend to wear it to the beach because I can put it on once and it lasts all day. I brought it on my vacation and my face didn't burn or dry out at all. As for the shades, there isn't much of a selection. I was given the light shade (agent 06) by the person at Ulta which I was a surprised at since I'm pretty pale. However, the website says ivory (agent 02) has pink undertones and the light has yellow undertones so I understand why I wasn't given ivory. It is a bit too yellow in the winter when I'm not outside all the time but ivory wouldn't look right either. Still a good product, even though it is expensive, one tube can last a long time. I'd buy it again unless I find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lolita97 on 5/24/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by lolita97

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i really loved this ugghh. The finish is beautiful and natural, the coverage is natural and light, it can easily be applied with fingers and looks wonderful, never needs a primer,it feels and goes on like a light lotion (does not emphasize dry patches, perfect amount of moisterizing for my skin so that it looks luminous but never greasy)its beautifulll!!! BUT after two and a half weeks of using this i broke out alittle (not a lot but i got a few small blemishes) which i really don't tolerate. it did break me out a lot less then eveything i've ever tried though. i can still use it withought breaking out as long as i don't use it too consistently which i love since i can use it on the weekends and such. of course my skin is ultra sensitive and acne prone so it might not break out others..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yummigummies on 1/15/2014 9:09:00 PM more reviews by yummigummies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I would comment this product is highly recommended for people who are looking for a light coverage foundation as it does not cover pimple scars, at same time, it moisturize the skin with a flawless look. Additionally it does not clog my pores even a long day wear of this tarte tinted moisturizer. Love it! I have med fair skin to fair skin with yellow undertone however I bought a tone lighter (ivory, formerly agent 02) as it will oxidize after a whole day out as I am in an asia humid country. It would compliment if you use a primer before application so the foundation can last whole day without any touch up! Definitely will purchase again as the price is almost same as laurier mercier.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hdcue23 on 10/1/2013 12:32:00 PM more reviews by hdcue23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Just got this last week and I must say I love it! I usually go for a full coverage foundation but wanted to try something a little "lighter" for my skin. I have fair skin with pink undertones and agent 00 is a perfect match. I always moisturize before applying and LOVE how it feels on my skin, doesn't feel cakey or heavy whatsoever, and I haven't noticed any breakouts. I apply it with a flat kabuki and blend it outward. Still have to use a concealer to cover blemishes but overall highly recommend this product if your looking for a lighter coverage, and another bonus is that it's beneficial for your skin!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 6/10/2013 3:07:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I liked this tinted moisturizer because it was gentle on my skin and did not look chalky or fake. It goes on smoothly and has modest color, but you will not be able to actively covers blemishes with this product. This moisturizer is great for girls with oily or normal skin, but I believe those with dry skin (or who are undergoing an acne regiment) should use and additional moisturizer underneath. What is strange about this product is that it appears that different shades have different quantities of pigment. I have both Agent 00 and Agent 02, but it appears that Agent 02 is more intensely pigmented and offers more coverage. I do not know why this is. Overall, I enjoyed this product and I would purchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lanid06 on 3/29/2013 5:47:00 PM more reviews by lanid06

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

okay, so i got the small version of this and at first i was amazed at the results. then i learned what a real bb was suppose to do and this does barley any of that. i started to loose respect for it then one day, i squeezed some on my hand, but a yellow liquid came out, i was so scared. i don't know what it was, all i know is that it isn't suppose to be there. anyone else notice this?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 freespirit369 on 3/25/2013 3:01:00 PM more reviews by freespirit369

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been on the hunt for a new foundation, and this product ends my search! It's hard for me to find products fair enought for my pale skin, but both shades 00 and 02 are light enough for me. I have never used a tinted moisturizer before, but I love how natural the finish is on this. It doesn't feel like you are wearing anything. It doesn't cover acne, so you will still need concealer. I still get a bit oily halfway through the day, but less so than with other foundations I've tried. The price is a bit expensive at $38, but it should last me quite a while and it's definitely worth it. Overall I highly reccomend this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tealynn88 on 2/19/2013 12:27:00 AM more reviews by tealynn88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive, combination skin that is relatively clear and I don't like wearing a lot of makeup so I wanted to give this a try since it's very natural. I have olive skin with yellow undertones and the color Veil is perfect for me. It does give buildable coverage and lasted about 4-5 hours on me without a primer. I really like the dewy finish it gives and it doesn't make me too shiny or oily. There is a tad bit of shimmer in it but it's not noticeable really. I would definitely recommend for those who don't need much coverage and like a more natural look. It did not make my skin break out at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BritMC on 2/18/2013 3:40:00 AM more reviews by BritMC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros:
-Sheer-medium coverage
-Moisturizing
-Natural finish, not too shiny

Cons:
-Slightly thick

This is a good tinted moisturizer. It offers buildable coverage that doesn't cake up. It gives a nice healthy glow to the skin, but doesn't get too shiny. I suppose thats a result of the amazonian clay. For dry skin it might look a little cakey though. The only thing I didn't like was its consistency. It was a little thick, but overall great for everyday use if you're willing to spend the money to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Tinted Moisturizer products