Josie Maran Cosmetics • Argan Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 3.3(92 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 crissy234 on 12/11/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by crissy234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This cleansing oil worked fine for me to get off my makeup (I always cleanse again with soap after using any kind of cleansing oil or makeup wipe). I can see what people are talking about when they say this oil feels drier on the skin than some other oils. I'm currently using Clinique's Take the Day Off Balm and I like it better (I think it might be a little cheaper too, but I can't remember), so I probably wouldn't purchase this one again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 11/7/2014 7:08:00 AM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am quite a fan of cleansing oils since I apply a lot of matte sunscreens which are hard to get off with a regular cleanser. I read all the negative reviews and was prepared to hate this product which I got as part of a great VFM pack at Sephora which also consisted of the sunscreen and pure argan oil. I use this at work mainly to get rid of sunscreen. I'm not a huge fan of a heavy citrus smell although I don't really mind it either. It feels much thicker than the DHC cleansing oil (my HG) and like others have said, when you're rinsing it off, it doesn't feel as satisfying taking it off. However, it caused no problems even when I was having a very dry peeling sensitive skin break out period and actually helped to heal my skin. When you dry your face, it does feel clean and doesn't require double cleansing. In fact, my skin could use moisturising after using it since I sit in a dry air-conditioned environment all day.

However I still prefer the DHC Cleansing oil which has the added advantage of turning white when you wet it which gives me a lot of satisfaction as I know if I have left out rinsing any areas. However, this works great to carry around as it is available in a nice travel size and Sephora has a great deal. This will last me a good 3-4 months I think.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sophie_lapin on 9/9/2014 8:41:00 AM more reviews by sophie_lapin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am not a fan. I went through the other reviews and just assumed many did not know how to use a cleansing oil. Nope. What they are saying is true. Maybe there are some bad batches out there and I got one of them??? I bought a full size 2 weeks ago.
The citrus smell is pleasant. It is thicker than any other cleansing oil I have used and is a bit more difficult to spread. This was not a problem for me, just wanted to confirm what other reviewers have mentioned.
After rubbing it in for a minute, I wet my fingers to emulsify. Not working. Wet my fingers some more. Still doesn't really 'lather' up. Then I get frustrated and start splashing. Not working. Then I just give up and splash to rinse off but it doesn't ever really feel rinsed off.
I will stick with DHC's deep cleansing oil. Josie Maran's is too much work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aquarianrabbit on 8/12/2014 1:41:00 PM more reviews by aquarianrabbit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this oil cleanser because I love oil cleansers and haven't found an HG yet, but this is not it. First of all, I use oil cleansers to remove makeup and if I feel like it, to deep clean, which requires about seven minutes of rubbing oil into my skin repeatedly, then rinsing and double cleansing with a creme or foaming cleanser after.

This can't even do one job well, let alone two. It doesn't remove makeup as well as other oil cleansers I've tried (MAC for example) and it can't deep clean my pores. It's a very thick oil cleanser, much thicker than anything else I've tried. It is a little hard to spread across my entire face, unless I use a lot of it or add some water. The scent is a sort of warm orange and is very pleasant. It always leaves smudges of my eyeliner and mascara under my eyes, which is weird because my ADE Creamy Cleanser or MAC Oil Cleanser does not do this. The Josie Maran one doesn't emulsify very well, either and definitely necessitates a second cleansing. On the upside, it never dried out my skin. It did, however, break out in big cystic acne when I decided not to double cleanse with another cleanser after using this. I thought I'd try to just use this and see if it worked and ended up with two giant blemishes on my left cheek. And you know they take a solid month to go away. Not happy.

I'm lucky I had one of those travel sized jars to test out, otherwise I would've purchased the full sized and suffered through it. The only way I see this really working for someone is if they have really, really dry skin and don't wear much makeup or s/s. For my makeup wearing, combo-skin-having face, this didn't do the job. I won't be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iynamakeup on 7/9/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by iynamakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I totally second Aacuna424's review: you CANNOT get the cleansing you want with this oil while it is still DRY on your skin! Apply in dry, smooth it around, then WET your hands lightly and massage the water into the oil on your face. It will emulsify BEAUTIFULLY and remove all your makeup.

What I love most about this cleaning oil is how clean it rinses, leaving my skin soft and makeup-free :) The price is a little prohibitive, but a little does go a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aacuna424 on 5/23/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by Aacuna424

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Read the directions! Seriously, I keep reading reviews about people who use this and complain that it won't move around their skin and that they're tugging at their face to try and work the product. MAKE SURE YOUR HANDS AND FACE ARE COMPLETELY DRY, rub gently around your face, WET YOUR HANDS, and then massage your wet hands into your face- it will then break up and work I to the most gentle yet effective lather! I PROMISE YOU! Give this product another chance, just use it correctly. I love my cleansing oil and I use it every day during my morning/daytime skin routine. I have a different method for nightime/makeup removing so idk how it works for that. It leaves my skin dewy and glowy. Josie Maran can do no wrong in my book :)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizzchan12 on 4/16/2014 10:49:00 AM more reviews by lizzchan12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I was looking for a new makeup removing cleanser just to try something different, and the sales rep at Sephora recommended this product to me. I really wanted to like this cleansing oil, but I honestly can't say that I do. I wear waterproof eye makeup and liquid foundation, so I need a makeup removing cleanser that can do the job, and this one isn't it. I use an eye makeup remover and face towelette before cleansing to completely remove all my makeup, and I always have to wash my eye area several times with this product just to get all my mascara and eyeliner completely off, which is not only annoying but not good for my sensitive eye area either. From what I read of previous posts, others experienced this issue also. In addition, this cleanser has a weird consistency, and I tried to look up the best ways to emulsify it by using water, but it still sucked in my opinion. People also mentioned the awful taste that gets in your mouth when using this, and I totally agree. I don't even have my mouth open when washing my face, yet somehow I always get a disgusting bitter taste in my mouth when using this product for some strange reason, and I'm not even done with the negative reviews yet. I also get uneven bumps around my eye and cheekbone area with this product. I haven't changed anything else with my skincare routine, and I went back to using another makeup removing cleanser that I still had a small amount of, and the uneven texture did subside, but when going back to the JM cleanser, they reappeared, leading me to the conclusion that this cleanser was causing that. The only reason I tolerate the strange bumps is that it doesn't appear obvious on my skin, I can only feel it, but even if it isn't obvious to others who wants to feel unevenness on their face? As far as I'm concerned, there is no excusing the poor results this product yields for the price it sells on the market. The only reason I'm not throwing this product away right now is because of the price and how quickly it goes due to how much product is needed to get the desired results. Really the only positive things I have to say about this cleanser are the packaging is really sanitary, easy to pump and open/close, and it did not break out my acne prone skin. I'm sad to have such a scathing review about a Josie Maran product, but I just don't like this cleansing oil. Maybe those of you who don't wear waterproof or heavy makeup will have better results, but I still would not recommend this.

Update: After a few more weeks of using this I had to stop using it on my face. I started to get strange dry, uneven bumps on my eyelids and under eye area, and my I had to wash my face twice just to get all my eye and face makeup off, which I have not had to do with other makeup removing cleansers. I will try using this as a body wash when my skin is dry, but never again on my face. Possibly the absolute worst facial cleanser I have ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jesstorious on 3/16/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by jesstorious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Feels like it takes more work to get make up off, especially my mascara(which isn't waterproof) and that I have to tug my eyelashes a lot. I follow up with a cleanser and toner, so my face hast broken out from this. I prefer coconut oil to remove make up though, cheaper & more effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Agarcialisa on 3/15/2014 4:12:00 AM more reviews by Agarcialisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I forgot to add that I dilute mine with plenty of water!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katejh on 2/24/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by katejh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this last winter, tried it and hated it. I recently found the bottle and thought I'd give it another try. To my surprise I now love it. I realized I had been using it wrong (in my opinion) by not diluting it with a TINY bit of water so that it will spread easily across my skin. Originally I had just been trying to spread the cleansing oil and found it too thick and hard to spread. Adding a tiny bit of water seems to emulsify it enough that it works perfectly. It works very well to remove makeup, even stubborn eye makeup. I have sensitive/combination skin and I normally get breakouts around my chin. Since I have been using this my skin looks great, needs less moisturizer afterward, and I have yet to see a breakout.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Cleansers products