Josie Maran Cosmetics • Argan Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 3.3(89 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 aquarianrabbit on 8/12/2014 1:41:00 PM more reviews by aquarianrabbit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this oil cleanser because I love oil cleansers and haven't found an HG yet, but this is not it. First of all, I use oil cleansers to remove makeup and if I feel like it, to deep clean, which requires about seven minutes of rubbing oil into my skin repeatedly, then rinsing and double cleansing with a creme or foaming cleanser after.

This can't even do one job well, let alone two. It doesn't remove makeup as well as other oil cleansers I've tried (MAC for example) and it can't deep clean my pores. It's a very thick oil cleanser, much thicker than anything else I've tried. It is a little hard to spread across my entire face, unless I use a lot of it or add some water. The scent is a sort of warm orange and is very pleasant. It always leaves smudges of my eyeliner and mascara under my eyes, which is weird because my ADE Creamy Cleanser or MAC Oil Cleanser does not do this. The Josie Maran one doesn't emulsify very well, either and definitely necessitates a second cleansing. I will say that it never broke me out and didn't dry out my skin.

I'm lucky I had one of those travel sized jars to test out, otherwise I would've purchased the full sized and suffered through it. The only way I see this really working for someone is if they have really, really dry skin and don't wear much makeup or s/s. For my makeup wearing, combo-skin-having face, though, this didn't do the job. I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iynamakeup on 7/9/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by iynamakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I totally second Aacuna424's review: you CANNOT get the cleansing you want with this oil while it is still DRY on your skin! Apply in dry, smooth it around, then WET your hands lightly and massage the water into the oil on your face. It will emulsify BEAUTIFULLY and remove all your makeup.

What I love most about this cleaning oil is how clean it rinses, leaving my skin soft and makeup-free :) The price is a little prohibitive, but a little does go a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aacuna424 on 5/23/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by Aacuna424

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Read the directions! Seriously, I keep reading reviews about people who use this and complain that it won't move around their skin and that they're tugging at their face to try and work the product. MAKE SURE YOUR HANDS AND FACE ARE COMPLETELY DRY, rub gently around your face, WET YOUR HANDS, and then massage your wet hands into your face- it will then break up and work I to the most gentle yet effective lather! I PROMISE YOU! Give this product another chance, just use it correctly. I love my cleansing oil and I use it every day during my morning/daytime skin routine. I have a different method for nightime/makeup removing so idk how it works for that. It leaves my skin dewy and glowy. Josie Maran can do no wrong in my book :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizzchan12 on 4/16/2014 10:49:00 AM more reviews by lizzchan12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I was looking for a new makeup removing cleanser just to try something different, and the sales rep at Sephora recommended this product to me. I really wanted to like this cleansing oil, but I honestly can't say that I do. I wear waterproof eye makeup and liquid foundation, so I need a makeup removing cleanser that can do the job, and this one isn't it. I use an eye makeup remover and face towelette before cleansing to completely remove all my makeup, and I always have to wash my eye area several times with this product just to get all my mascara and eyeliner completely off, which is not only annoying but not good for my sensitive eye area either. From what I read of previous posts, others experienced this issue also. In addition, this cleanser has a weird consistency, and I tried to look up the best ways to emulsify it by using water, but it still sucked in my opinion. People also mentioned the awful taste that gets in your mouth when using this, and I totally agree. I don't even have my mouth open when washing my face, yet somehow I always get a disgusting bitter taste in my mouth when using this product for some strange reason, and I'm not even done with the negative reviews yet. I also get uneven bumps around my eye and cheekbone area with this product. I haven't changed anything else with my skincare routine, and I went back to using another makeup removing cleanser that I still had a small amount of, and the uneven texture did subside, but when going back to the JM cleanser, they reappeared, leading me to the conclusion that this cleanser was causing that. The only reason I tolerate the strange bumps is that it doesn't appear obvious on my skin, I can only feel it, but even if it isn't obvious to others who wants to feel unevenness on their face? As far as I'm concerned, there is no excusing the poor results this product yields for the price it sells on the market. The only reason I'm not throwing this product away right now is because of the price and how quickly it goes due to how much product is needed to get the desired results. Really the only positive things I have to say about this cleanser are the packaging is really sanitary, easy to pump and open/close, and it did not break out my acne prone skin. I'm sad to have such a scathing review about a Josie Maran product, but I just don't like this cleansing oil. Maybe those of you who don't wear waterproof or heavy makeup will have better results, but I still would not recommend this.

Update: After a few more weeks of using this I had to stop using it on my face. I started to get strange dry, uneven bumps on my eyelids and under eye area, and my I had to wash my face twice just to get all my eye and face makeup off, which I have not had to do with other makeup removing cleansers. I will try using this as a body wash when my skin is dry, but never again on my face. Possibly the absolute worst facial cleanser I have ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jesstorious on 3/16/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by jesstorious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Feels like it takes more work to get make up off, especially my mascara(which isn't waterproof) and that I have to tug my eyelashes a lot. I follow up with a cleanser and toner, so my face hast broken out from this. I prefer coconut oil to remove make up though, cheaper & more effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Agarcialisa on 3/15/2014 4:12:00 AM more reviews by Agarcialisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I forgot to add that I dilute mine with plenty of water!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katejh on 2/24/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by katejh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this last winter, tried it and hated it. I recently found the bottle and thought I'd give it another try. To my surprise I now love it. I realized I had been using it wrong (in my opinion) by not diluting it with a TINY bit of water so that it will spread easily across my skin. Originally I had just been trying to spread the cleansing oil and found it too thick and hard to spread. Adding a tiny bit of water seems to emulsify it enough that it works perfectly. It works very well to remove makeup, even stubborn eye makeup. I have sensitive/combination skin and I normally get breakouts around my chin. Since I have been using this my skin looks great, needs less moisturizer afterward, and I have yet to see a breakout.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertmom4 on 2/22/2014 2:17:00 AM more reviews by desertmom4

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love cleansing oils as it takes off my waterproof m/u and sunscreen. I've tried them all and have to honestly say that even though I do love a lot of JM's products, her c/o was not a winner.

I found that it was extremely thick for a cleansing oil, it didn't emulsify very well, but more importantly it didn't break down or remove most/ all my m/u. My gel liner was hard to get off whereas other oils were a breeze ( ahem...MAC). I felt as though my face had residue on it, so I needed to follow up with a cloth.

The price is steep for a product that just doesn't do the job. No, I will not repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 meganlovesyooou on 2/13/2014 11:08:00 PM more reviews by meganlovesyooou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Josie Maran is the bomb, I love the Argan Oil Light, and I REALLY wanted to love this. It just missed the mark for me! I love using cleansing oils as a pre-cleanse (after removing my eye makeup) to remove residue and face makeup. Then, I'll usually follow up with a gel cleanser. Since Josie is the queen of oils, I was super excited to try this out, but it was just disappointing on a few levels.

This stuff is THICK and somewhat sticky. Don't expect this to effortlessly glide over your skin, UNLESS you're using like 5 full pumps which makes it somewhat easier. This makes it pretty unpleasant to use around the eyes, and it feels like you're just tugging your lashes and brows with the product.

Also, although it smells lovely, I second what another user had said about it tasting absolutely horrible and SOMEHOW it always ends up getting into my mouth. Blech. Sticking with Amore Pacific as soon as I finish the bottle of the Josie oil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 raindrops_on_roses on 2/12/2014 10:04:00 AM more reviews by raindrops_on_roses

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was inspired to get a bottle after trying a little sample that the Sephora employee threw into my bag. With the absolutely brutal weather we've been having this winter, the thought of an oil based cleanser sounded just lovely. Is it worth the high price tag? Possibly, but as always it depends on what you need your cleanser to do. First off, I only use this on days I wear makeup, which is most days. The stuff is so damn pricy that if I'm going to use it I want it to work hard for me. I pondered whether to actually use this to remove my eye makeup or just on my facial skin, because to get all that requires extra product and elbow grease (grease...ha. I see what I did there) and I'm not sure how I feel about rubbing all that oil into my eye socket....blech. I ended up compromising and using it as a first wave of eye makeup removal--if I'm wearing quite a bit that day, I need to go over it again with a face wipe to get the last traces off. The oil works pretty well on this front though.

The cleanser feels tacky and not as easy to spread as I thought an "oil" would, but I actually don't mind this because it makes me spend more time massaging it into my face, which seems like it would be good for circulation and for getting out every little bit of makeup. When you add water, it becomes creamy and foamy and quite easy to wash away, leaving no oily residue but just soft, clean skin. I like it for the winter but I don't know about as a year round thing...time will tell. Oh yeah, avoid getting even a tiny bit of this in your mouth (which for some reason is difficult for me to do) because it tastes nasty!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Cleansers products