Thierry Mugler • Angel • Fragrances

rated 3.2(1806 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mpauletteb on 6/22/2014 12:58:00 AM more reviews by mpauletteb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

These other reviews are great and funny. I never would have described Angel as smelling like weed or shit or death. More like warm, spicy honey. But I do realize it is polarizing. I didn't like it at first, smelling it on a sample card. But after receiving a sample on a shopping trip with my MIL, I learned that she hates Angel. So I decided to give it another try! ;)
I like the way it smells on my skin, warm and sweet. But after reading these reviews, I have noticed that it wears down to a dirt-like smell. Not an earthy potting-soil type of smell. Just dirty, dirt. But I personally never notice that undertone at first. And I change perfumes nearly everyday, so it never has much time to wear down that much or stick around. So I enjoy what I notice; the honey, vanilla, carmel, maybe a bit of bergamot. If it offends someone else's nose, well, that's just kind of a bonus!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 6/12/2014 7:17:00 AM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

A real rebel, deserving of its popularity and its controversy. I can't always pull it off, but I always admire it. What makes Angel so extraordinary? First, it managed to break ground on two now-ubiquitous fragrance categories: gourmands and fruitchoulis. Second, it manages to still be artistically the best example of these, if not the most affable or wearable. And it still is instantly recognizable as itself.

I have this in the EDP and body oil, and I mostly wear the body oil as it sits closer to the skin and tones down the armpitty topnotes of the EDP. The packaging on Angel products is beyond gorgeous, with the endless iterations of "star" shapes holding curiously blue juice. On first application, there is more than a hint of tangy armpit. But before the nose has time to completely reject this fragrance, the armpit revels itself to be luscious peach and melon; soon thereafter, the caramel, chocolate, and top-quality natural patchouli rush in to ground the scent. There is an intoxicating, ethereal contrast between the earthy cacao and the hovering, loamy patchouli, which has the wearer continually returning for more inhalations, and gaining a druglike euphoria from the fragrance.

At the same time, sometimes Angel is just too much for me to handle. Depending on my mood, it either smells addictively yummy (as in my description) or downright offputting, like ayurvedic medicines and toothache drops mixed with hospital disinfectants. I definitely get why many people loathe the stuff. But for sheer genius and complexity, it stands alone and will always have a place on my dresser.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Spicedrum on 5/28/2014 9:29:00 PM more reviews by Spicedrum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I brought this perfume because of the hype plus they had Eva Mendez at the face of it and I love her I didn't ask the lady behind the counter to spray so I could test run it and I'm so glad I didn't because I would have went running for the hills it smell like bourbon street (am from New Orleans) anyway I got it home and was oh no I stink and jumped in the shower in vain trying to wash it off I had no such luck but about two hours later I kept smelling this warm chocolate slightly musky smell that smelled so good I was like what is that then bam it hit me it was angel the dry down sold me on this so if I want to wear this I spray it two hour before I have to go anywhere btw please be very lite handed this stuff is strong

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Empyrean_Luminary on 5/27/2014 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Empyrean_Luminary

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I know this was supposedly one of the first "gourmand" scents that started a fragrance avalanche of foodie scents, but even so, I find it to be very off-putting. It's basically a sharp men's cologne scent with a dash of honey. It might have been ground breaking at its inception, but now it just seems stale and cliche. Very manly, very long-lasting and very irrelevant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fuzzysham on 5/12/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by fuzzysham

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've heard about this scent for so lonxg and every time i smelled it at sephora i just couldn't believe anyone would buy this. It just smelled terrible! So strong and (forgive me) "old lady ish". Just terrible. Fast forward a few years, my teacher wears this and she always smelled so good. I didn't realize it was this until I dared myself to sniff it again at ulta one day and it smelled like her! And all of a sudden, i can't get enough of this. Now I smell the patchouli. Now I smell the chocolate....and holy crap, it's incredible. I cannot get enough of it! I bought the EDT and love it but wanted to also try the EDP which I love even more. The first few minutes you spray this on it smells wayyyyyyy strong but give it 5 minutes and it will be so worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keiki300 on 5/11/2014 12:20:00 AM more reviews by keiki300

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE LOVE this perfume but what I do so I do not suffocate people, is that I spray it into little tubes I actually got from a lab with a screw cap top and I dab it on so only I can smell it. One spray of this perfume can be grounds for homicide. Opium and Lauder's Knowing are the same. However, a trick is that I bought the body lotion which has taken 5 years to go through and it seems to be much milder and cheaper. But ladies, in the name of humanity do not layer this scent. pleassssse

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NorthernLight1918 on 5/9/2014 3:58:00 PM more reviews by NorthernLight1918

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Of course I bought it due to the hype. My lesson is: no matter what the reputation or fame, now matter how high they sing or how popular it is, if your body feels sick right after wearing it, then it's a perfume that you can't not wear. Angel has a monster sillage and it goes straight to my head especially the mix of Xmas tree and cat pee. I was so obssessed and so terrified that one moth after that, I stood in Disneyland flower beds and smelled something exactly like Angel. I felt lke being sent into a big prison and had an immeditae headache. I ran away from those beautiful flower beds. Please test it in person before buying. I bought it blindly due to the rumor, a big bottle, and obviously I had to pay for my mistake.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ay07 on 5/4/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by ay07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The first time a sales lady sprayed my wrist with Angel I almost gagged. "how can this be one of the most popular fragrances in the world?! It smells like a dumpster swarming with roaches" I said to my husband. I nearly gagged, but resisted the urge to wash it off. We came home and after 7 hours or wearing it I smelled this delicious mix of patchouli and vanilla and berries and everything that's delicious in this world. Fast forward a few months later, I decided to give it another go, on paper. And I held that paper for a good hour. Smelled it every 5 minutes and I could not get enough of it! I still didn't hasten to buy it. Did the tango for a month and I finally decided to buy it. I'm in love. PS. The packaging of the refillable 50ml star bottle I found ridiculously cheap. The plastic/metallic like cover is so flimsy. Seeing that I paid 140$ for this bottle the expect the packaging to be top notch. And it isn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vstone on 4/22/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by vstone

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am writing a review for Angel as I have read many reviews and it seems I feel differently about this sent than many others, yes it is Bold, but if used with a light hand to me can be a Beautiful refreshing fragrance. It reminds me of the Fog covered Mountains tops on a cool morning, The crisp water in the streams. This can be a most Beautiful fragrance. I Love this sent and it will always be a part of my life. My wish for others who try this, Look into the fragrance not just the surface.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 redaddict on 4/19/2014 9:46:00 PM more reviews by redaddict

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

To the people who love this fragrance, please be aware that not everyone does. I smell it on women all the time. Women I know as well as strangers walking past me, on public transport or, god forbid, in elevators where it seems to linger for weeks after the wearer has left. I see lots of reviews state it works well with their body chemistry...hmmm, that's interesting as every woman I smell it on smells exactly the same - it surrounds them (and everyone within a 10 metre radius) with a migraine inducing, smack you in the face sickly sweet fug. A girl I went to school with wore this scent. The first time I smelt it, I was so shocked and horrified that I said, "wow! What perfume are you wearing?" She replied that it was Angel and asked me if I liked it. What could I say but, "yes it's lovely!" It's unfortunate as lots of people I know do this and it perpetuates the myth that everyone loves this smell on those that wear it when in reality it's the exact opposite. If you must wear it, please be aware that it's polarizing and that you will probably offend at least as many people as you delight (although I have yet to meet a person delighted by this fragrance when it passes you on the street). This isn't a personal fragrance, this is obnoxious and it invades everyone's territory. Harsh review? Yes, but after recovering from an Angel induced migraine, I feel it's more of a public service announcement.

18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thierry Mugler products

More Fragrances products