NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream - Amsterdam • Lip Gloss

rated 4.1(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Halloedangel on 11/13/2014 8:05:00 PM more reviews by Halloedangel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The Soft Matte Lip Creams are very nice on the lips but keep in mind they are MATTE products, they will not be moisturizing and they are not like balm. That being said, unlike most matte products, this doesn't dry the lips, in fact, after it dries it feels like nothing is on the lips not balm, not gloss, not a drying lipstick. If anything it almost feels like a cream lipstick. Very lightweight and long lasting. I wore each of these for a full 9hr work day and only had to reapply after lunch. One of the best parts is, unless you are eating or it isn't dry all the way yet, it doesn't transfer. That's right mess free kisses and ring free coffee mugs.

Now on to the color Amsterdam.

It is a very nice pinkie red that leans a little warm, but not too much. It is buildable and can be worn just about anywhere. It all depends on the intensity you build.

Give it a try they are only $4-$6

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shelbsca on 8/19/2014 5:20:00 PM more reviews by Shelbsca

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my all-time favorite lip products. This is my first red lip product and for people trying to ease their way into reds, I highly recommend this color. It is a light red with a pink undertone and would probably look good on all skintones. What I also really like is that it's very easy to change the intensity of the color- apply with a heavier hand and it's a really gorgeous, stand-out (but not like you're going to the club) red. Apply lighter and blot a bit away, and it's perfect for even the work place.

The application is flawless. It's so easy to put on. The texture is great, not drying at all and the best part is, it doesn't feel like you have anything on your lips! Very lightweight.

The finish is matte. I didn't realize a cream lip product could finish matte, but it's great. I look very put together and vintage-style when I wear this.

Staying power is better than I have ever experienced. For example, today I put it on around 9 AM. I drank coffee, ate lunch, blah blah, and here it is 5:15 PM. IT IS STILL ON MY LIPS. not as perfect looking as when I first applied it in the morning obviously, but clearly still there and looks great. I've never had a lipstick/gloss completely stay on my lips through eating a meal, and for eight full hours and still counting! I did not have to apply once throughout the day.

Packaging is perfect, a nice little tube that isn't big/bulky at all, but I feel like the tube will last a long time.

I was looking for a slightly pinky red, so my first red lip product wasn't so scary-looking. I normally look good in pinks so I wanted a pink-toned red to ease this process. Got exactly what I was looking for!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wowotakubaby on 5/3/2014 10:50:00 AM more reviews by wowotakubaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I own three of these babies, and this has to be my favorite color.

Amsterdam was given to me as a Christmas gift by my mother. It's a slightly bold red that makes your teeth appear whiter, and gives you a comfortably fierce look. I like to wear it a lot when I go out.

I like to exfoliate my lips first (which can easily and cheaply be done by rubbing a moist washcloth in circles on your lips.) for no flaking, moisturize for 15+ minutes (by applying some sort of moisturizing balm like Nivea or just plain ol' Chapstick while apply other makeup), then applying 2-3 coats for a full colored lip.

A plus to me for the whole Soft Matte Lip Cream collection is their nice, sweet vanilla scent. I can't get enough of these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missvox2 on 4/27/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by missvox2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Bright technicolor red and great finish! Its an attention getter shade and perfect for the runways or nite out. Thed color goes on smoothly and jam packed pigmented covearge in one application and hides any chapped dry lips. You should only wear when you don't plan to be eating as this shade comes off easily and gradually as you eating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MollieS on 3/29/2014 3:12:00 AM more reviews by MollieS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

A very good blue based red when built up but can look a tad pinky if not. I expected this to be darker but I guess not. Do not recommend for those seeking a true red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 3/27/2014 8:16:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased Amsterdam along with 6 other shades during the nyx sale. I expected this one to be very dark and deep, but on my pigmented plum colored lips, Amsterdam was not pigmented enough as the natural coloring of my lips peeped through. I've improvised and started mixing it with Transylvania. This combination looks great together. Also using a deep dark lip liner will allow this shade to work as well on pigmented lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cblackburn88 on 2/15/2014 11:00:00 AM more reviews by cblackburn88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

this is the most amazing lip product i have EVER used!

i am in love. Red is my signature color and this color is on point.
it goes on so smooth, isn't drying and lasted through meals. i will buy this over and over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thecolormargaret on 1/16/2014 10:52:00 AM more reviews by thecolormargaret

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! Dulcecandy I believe was the blogger who clued me into this little gem, but it has gotten a bit of youtube buzz. My fear of red lips has followed me around drugstores and makeup counters as long as I remember... and this product may be my first red that I truly feel comfortable using. This red is blue undertones, it is matte and does the job of a lipstick without the nasty mess and need for lipliner. It is not a halloween red, you do not look like a clown. I wore to countless holiday paries this season and I felt comfortably fierce. I do suggest this to any other girl who is slightly afraid of red lips, you will overcome!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 roserie on 12/16/2013 11:35:00 PM more reviews by roserie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Formula:

It smells like candy and I love it!! After one coat, the formula is glossy for about 5-10 minutes and then it dries completely matte. It is slightly drying on the lips. It usually wears well after it dries, even with food, but I've had it run on me once. The one thing I don't like is even though the color stays for several hours, it wears off in patches and I prefer to reapply after about 2 hours.

Color:

It is a bright, true red in photos but leans coral in person. I have yellow teeth and this color makes my teeth look fantastically white, which is a huge plus.

Packaging:

I'm a personal fan of the doe foot applicator, but that's something to keep in mind if you're not!

I would definitely re buy, though I'm still on the hunt for a true red / 50s glam lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crobertson01 on 12/16/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by crobertson01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love the way this feels so creamy on the lips, yet it dries to a satiny finish relatively quickly. This is a great, great red. That said, it is RED. Bold. And beautiful. Makes your teeth look whiter and it stays soft on your lips for hours. I also just love the name.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lip Gloss products