NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream - Amsterdam • Lip Gloss

rated 4.1(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 wowotakubaby on 5/3/2014 10:50:00 AM more reviews by wowotakubaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I own three of these babies, and this has to be my favorite color.

Amsterdam was given to me as a Christmas gift by my mother. It's a slightly bold red that makes your teeth appear whiter, and gives you a comfortably fierce look. I like to wear it a lot when I go out.

I like to exfoliate my lips first (which can easily and cheaply be done by rubbing a moist washcloth in circles on your lips.) for no flaking, moisturize for 15+ minutes (by applying some sort of moisturizing balm like Nivea or just plain ol' Chapstick while apply other makeup), then applying 2-3 coats for a full colored lip.

A plus to me for the whole Soft Matte Lip Cream collection is their nice, sweet vanilla scent. I can't get enough of these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missvox2 on 4/27/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by missvox2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Bright technicolor red and great finish! Its an attention getter shade and perfect for the runways or nite out. Thed color goes on smoothly and jam packed pigmented covearge in one application and hides any chapped dry lips. You should only wear when you don't plan to be eating as this shade comes off easily and gradually as you eating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MollieS on 3/29/2014 3:12:00 AM more reviews by MollieS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

A very good blue based red when built up but can look a tad pinky if not. I expected this to be darker but I guess not. Do not recommend for those seeking a true red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 3/27/2014 8:16:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased Amsterdam along with 6 other shades during the nyx sale. I expected this one to be very dark and deep, but on my pigmented plum colored lips, Amsterdam was not pigmented enough as the natural coloring of my lips peeped through. I've improvised and started mixing it with Transylvania. This combination looks great together. Also using a deep dark lip liner will allow this shade to work as well on pigmented lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cblackburn88 on 2/15/2014 11:00:00 AM more reviews by cblackburn88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

this is the most amazing lip product i have EVER used!

i am in love. Red is my signature color and this color is on point.
it goes on so smooth, isn't drying and lasted through meals. i will buy this over and over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thecolormargaret on 1/16/2014 10:52:00 AM more reviews by thecolormargaret

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Wow! Dulcecandy I believe was the blogger who clued me into this little gem, but it has gotten a bit of youtube buzz. My fear of red lips has followed me around drugstores and makeup counters as long as I remember... and this product may be my first red that I truly feel comfortable using. This red is blue undertones, it is matte and does the job of a lipstick without the nasty mess and need for lipliner. It is not a halloween red, you do not look like a clown. I wore to countless holiday paries this season and I felt comfortably fierce. I do suggest this to any other girl who is slightly afraid of red lips, you will overcome!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 roserie on 12/16/2013 11:35:00 PM more reviews by roserie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Formula:

It smells like candy and I love it!! After one coat, the formula is glossy for about 5-10 minutes and then it dries completely matte. It is slightly drying on the lips. It usually wears well after it dries, even with food, but I've had it run on me once. The one thing I don't like is even though the color stays for several hours, it wears off in patches and I prefer to reapply after about 2 hours.

Color:

It is a bright, true red in photos but leans coral in person. I have yellow teeth and this color makes my teeth look fantastically white, which is a huge plus.

Packaging:

I'm a personal fan of the doe foot applicator, but that's something to keep in mind if you're not!

I would definitely re buy, though I'm still on the hunt for a true red / 50s glam lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crobertson01 on 12/16/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by crobertson01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love the way this feels so creamy on the lips, yet it dries to a satiny finish relatively quickly. This is a great, great red. That said, it is RED. Bold. And beautiful. Makes your teeth look whiter and it stays soft on your lips for hours. I also just love the name.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissMiranda on 11/2/2013 5:25:00 AM more reviews by MissMiranda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first ever red lipstick that i bought. And O.M.G!!! This baby is so amazing and I have to admit that it was love at first sight! I honestly didn't believe that this red would brighter up skin instantly but yet never have too much of over makeup look. As the name itself is "Matte",it's really matte lipgloss but not too dry on my lip. It's just absolutely amazing! I will definitely re-purchase and will be starting a little bit of collection for different shades! Love Love Love it so much!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OneHelluvaMichelle on 9/1/2013 5:33:00 PM more reviews by OneHelluvaMichelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. The color is a very rich red. It applies just like a lip gloss and then sets dry and matte. It can be pretty drying so I apply chap stick under it and over top after a few hours if needed. It doesn't seem to just wear off for me. I have to intentionally remove it.

Several people have mentioned it smelling like plastic. It might just be a different people, different senses kind of thing, but I think it smells like vanilla frosting and the scent wears off after a few minutes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lip Gloss products