MAC • Mineralize Blush in Sakura • Blush

rated 4.0(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 thelgfunk on 7/9/2011 7:37:00 PM more reviews by thelgfunk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was not expecting this blush to be flattering, but I tried it on at the MAC counter and fell in love with it. It's such a unique color. I have fair skin with pink undertones. I blend both colors together with my brush and apply that to my cheeks, and then go back and add more of the pink to the tops of my apples and cheekbones, and blend it out with the light purple color. If you're unsure about Sakura I recommend trying it on, and then walking around for a bit to see how the color looks in different lighting before you make a decision. I probably won't buy this again because it's limited edition, and the one I have will last me a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ingrid88 on 6/26/2011 8:20:00 PM more reviews by ingrid88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a really cute colour with decent pigmentation. It is definitely buildable. I am Asian with a medium skintone; Sakura shows up on me as a pinky lilac colour which is very flattering and cute. My major complaint is that it's super dusty/chalky, which is the reason why it isn't as pigmented as it ought to be!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ns4487 on 5/21/2011 7:30:00 PM more reviews by ns4487

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this was a huge disappointment. I love purple blush, and was so excited when I saw this was coming out. Even Temptalia's less-than-glowing review didnt put me off. BUT she was right. This is chalk-tastic, sheer and pretty much unworkable. It is nearly impossible to use without getting some of the pink heart on your brush (which then changes the colour), goes on unevenly and is so sheer, hardly any colour comes up, even after layering vigorously (and I am NC15!). As another MUAer noted, this is more like a finishing powder than a blush. It looks very cute, but dont let that fool you. it is pretty much useless to me. Very disappointing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Morganna777 on 5/19/2011 1:49:00 PM more reviews by Morganna777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

Very pretty ,Nicely pigmented Lilac toned blush, I post a pic of the blush after I scraped off the small heart part which made the color too dark and pink. I scraped it first with the point of a scissor then carefully went over the heart several times with a Q tip and Viola ! , I love this blush now, sorry Mac :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 5/4/2011 9:13:00 PM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so thrilled with "Sakura"! Such a tender lilac color with a bit of shimmer! It is one of three blushes from the "Quite Cute" collection, released early April 2011. The others are Giggly: warm pink w/plum heart; and Miss Behave: light beige w/ mint green heart.


I use a small angled brush - skipping the frosty magenta heart - and buff the lilac on my cheek bones, then add a hint of highlight from the heart high up on my cheek bones (I don't put blush on the apple of my cheeks).


I had a matte face powder in the late 1960s that was pale lavender, meant, i suppose, to balance a sallow complexion. It was a huge favorite of mine and i wore it often. And as soon as i saw the photos of "Sakura" i knew i had to have it. All these cool lavender/purple cosmetics in the Quite Cute Collection make me soooo happy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AtomicNony on 4/29/2011 1:54:00 PM more reviews by AtomicNony

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I will admit that i bought this just because it was cute. I wanted a nice cool toned blush but lavander part was so sheer, and chalky and the heart in the center super pigmented and super shimmery. When i put it on i noticed my cheeks were so uneven, i could see magenta on some parts and in other straight up lavander. the color was not flattering on me, it made me look ashy so i returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tartantrouble on 4/24/2011 9:58:00 PM more reviews by tartantrouble

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! Extremely cool-toned and highly wearable, this cute little blush is perfect for my pale skin! I am loving purple toned blushes right now and this fills a void in my collection as it is bright yet still sophisticated. I also like the fact that it has a slight sheen, and lasts all day nomatter what i wear under it! If i could buy this again i would, but by the time i finish it itll be long gone :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CocoMango on 4/14/2011 11:51:00 AM more reviews by CocoMango

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Its not really what I expected but that's okay b/c its still pretty and I'm a sucker for packaging/design. Its not as cool toned or lilac as I hoped. Its more mid tone pink. I can't really pick up just the outer part so when mixed together this is just pink with a bit of shimmer. Its actually kinda hard to work with b/c of the heart in the middle- you get the light pink with the magenta part in a spot on your cheek. Its fine once you blend though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DebWil on 4/13/2011 4:01:00 PM more reviews by DebWil

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This blush is everything I wanted it to be. I am always on the lookout for cool toned blushes. For some reason many blushes appear too red/orange on my skin. I'm fair to light, and I'm not sure what undertone I am, but in the summer I tan well...but in the winter when I'm pale there are few blushes that I can wear. BE Heaven is one, if that gives you any idea how cool I need a blush to be. Sakura is PERFECT for me. I couldn't be happier. It is super cool, has a lovely glow when applied, and is quite pigmented. I am tempted to order another for backup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* agibeault on 4/10/2011 11:32:00 AM more reviews by agibeault

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I did not purchase Azalea Blossom and I have regretted it ever since. I popped into MAC last night to do some impulse shopping and Sakura was the first thing I saw. I have been dying for a lavender blush so I snatched it up and asked the MA if it was like Azealea - she said it was.

LIAR!! haha

I was so excited, I put this on right in the car. BRIGHT fuschia cheeks....not what I wanted at all. I was so disappointed. I took it home and stashed it in my makeup drawer, debating whether or not I wanted to suffer the embarrassment of returning it or just suck it up...it's kind of expensive at 27.50 plus 15% tax where I live. I also considered carving out the magenta heart with a knife, but thought I would destroy the entire blush. So I slept on it, woke up, grabbed the tweezers and went to work (I hate returning things...especially at MAC). The heart came out PERFECTLY and didn't affect the lavender surroundings at all! It just crumbled away and the best part is, the magenta only went down about half way so I now have a great lavender blush that I have always been searching for (with a cute little heart hole..hah).

TRY THIS ON IN THE STORE LADIES! The magenta is surprisingly overpowering and takes out the lavender completely. Also, important to note, albeit far down on the list, it does contain bismuth oxychloride. I forgot about that and really should not have purchased it (I have eczema). So far no reaction....perhaps it was all contained in the shiny heart :)


UPDATE: It does itch my cheeks....but I will suffer because it is so pretty :) lol

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Blush products