Garnier • Pure-Clean • Conditioner

rated 1.8(75 reviews)

Average Rating.1.8
Would buy this product again.18%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Hautepants on 8/2/2014 2:03:00 AM more reviews by Hautepants

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The worst.
Makes my hair fall out in clumps because of all the sulfates. I don't like this product at all and will never use again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keiki300 on 8/2/2014 1:56:00 AM more reviews by keiki300

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is just below average conditioner for me. I have lots of fine wavy hair that is colored. This conditioner does not detangle or moisturize at all. Has very little slip due to lack of silicons so you need to use a lot of it. But I think it works well enough if you have untreated normal hair. Great natural product for kids as well. The smell is awesome. And it can be used actually as a richer shampoo. It does clean your hair. So my vote is just average conditioner for a good price. The shampoo Pure Clean I love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MakeupManiac5699 on 7/18/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by MakeupManiac5699

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wow, Garnier. I'm honestly just wondering what was going through their heads when they put this out there. Garnier's products are usually amazing, but this is a letdown. Everything that could be wrong about a conditioner is going wrong with this one. Too thin and watery, doesn't detangle or condition, and weighs down your hair, leaving a waxy film. Ugh. Shampoo is great, conditioner is a fail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Krg67 on 7/15/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Krg67

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This came as a sample to Garnier hair color that I purchased. Thank goodness I didn't have to pay for this. Ugh. My hair has been going through major changes due to a recently diagnosed underactive thyroid. My once normal hair is now thin,dry, and fine. I was hoping this would help condition my hair until my thyroid is under control. What a mistake!! This has made my hair a greasy, heavy, and just plain nasty mess. I look like I've dunked my head in a vat of olive oil!! I've had to rewash my hair. Thank goodness I didn't pay extra for this. Not a fan whatsoever!!! Ugh

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BrizzyB on 12/4/2013 6:59:00 AM more reviews by BrizzyB

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like the whole concept it's great, unfortunately this conditioner did absolutely nothing for my long dry hair. Consistency is very thin, almost to liquidity. Not a fan at all. Stay away!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 11/9/2013 1:50:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Claims - True or False?
1) No heavy residue: False
2) Lightweight shine: Undetermined
3) Hair is 10x stronger: Undetermined
4) Hair is 4x healthier looking: Undetermined

Packaging:
I'm unsure if the conditioner comes in multiple sizes but I was only able to find the large bottle. It's a soft plastic, the cap sits easily and sturdily on surfaces, and it has an easy-to-use flip top cap. The sides are ridged where your palm would be sitting, which I assume is to help prevent the bottle from slipping; I do not recall this being any more effective than smooth bottles. Overall decent packaging, the only thing I really dislike is that the cap collects a lot of water.

Formula:
Touted as being a clean formula, void of parabens, silicones, and dyes. It is also alcohol-free and contains numerous oils. It has a fairly thin consistency but not watery, so it doesn't slip around everywhere. Doesn't feel oily in my hands. It has a strong (and in my opinion unpleasant) fragrance, perhaps floral but I'm not sure what it's supposed to smell like.

Performance:
I purchased this conditioner to try out as a new cowash/rinseout/leave-in. I think I used it 2-3 times within the same shower, and after that one shower it has been sitting on the ledge unused. The first issue I encountered with the product was that it was difficult to spread through my hair, so I had to use a LOT of product to get my hair covered. Definitely more than I use with other conditioners, even ones of similar thinness. It also feels very very waxy, which may be part of the reason it would not spread through my hair. This waxiness was felt while I worked it through and after rinsing, thus my hair was very coated. It also did not seem to offer much detangling or moisture, and the fragrance was just so undesirable that I actually cringed when using it. Used as a cowash it also did not cleanse very well, as it lacked any lather. I've even used thicker conditioners that provided a lather, so I'm assuming that something in this conditioner prevents those ingredients from having any effect on the hair.

Bang for your Buck:
The bottle I purchased was $10CAD for 750 ml. Overall this isn't that expensive, but considering how much I had to use for one use (and I dont' have very thick hair), the price seems kind of high for what you get. I normally use Tresemme Naturals conditioners which are half the price for almost the same amount of product.

Final Consensus:
This was an impulse buy, and I do wish I had read reviews before buying because it was a pain to remove the residue from my hair. Will be returning to the store, I do not recommend this conditioner for cowashing or for standard use.
* Overall Rating: 1/5
* Price: 1.5/5
* Packaging Quality: 3/5
* Repurchase: No

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MmmQuinn on 9/5/2013 9:42:00 PM more reviews by MmmQuinn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My hair has gotten more and more picky about conditioners since its gotten really long. I lean towards thick conditioners, including hair masks, every time I wash my hair. I bought this shampoo/conditioner combo to try out and the shampoo wasn't bad. They both smell nice and clean, and of course its nice that they went for the go-green approach. However, this conditioner was thin and greasy feeling. It did not detangle like my regular conditioner, and even after letting it sit on my hair for the duration of my shower, it did not feel soft while rinsing it out and ESPECIALLY not after my hair was dry. I feel like this just sits on the outside of my hair shaft, and does not moisturize. I ended up throwing this away!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LyricNicole1125 on 8/25/2013 8:17:00 PM more reviews by LyricNicole1125

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

When my hair was still wet, it felt really soft after using this. But when it dried, my hair looked and felt EXTREMELY greasy. I had to wash my hair a again! This is the worst conditioner EVER.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinksexyhair on 5/2/2013 1:41:00 AM more reviews by pinksexyhair

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Whoa! Where are all of these negative reviews coming from?? I am quite pleased with this conditioner, as I am with most other Garnier products I've tried (excellent drugstore brand) my hair = combination. Roots lean towards the oily side and my ends are dry from frequent heat styling and coloring. Obviously my ends need a heavy conditioner that my oily roots wouldn't be able to handle and that's where this conditioner comes in handy. I use the pure clean shampoo, follow up with the pure clean conditioner all over because it doesn't weigh down my roots, rinse it out then slather the garnier triple nutrition conditioner to the ends of my hair and let it sit for the duration of my shower. I get perfect results every time. Not sure how all of these reviewers are ending up with the greasies from this stuff?? This has actually helped alleviate my oily roots. Oh well. Products work differently on everyone. I guess I was just lucky enough to be someone that this worked for. The smell is my favorite!! Crisp green apple. Yummmm!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sarahvma on 5/1/2013 4:02:00 PM more reviews by sarahvma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Back when I was in my no poo phase, I was endlessly searching for good conditioners without -cones. I picked up the massive bottle of this from Target at a very cheap price, which was good.

And that's where the good ends. When I was using this in conjunction with a shampoo-free routine, I simply assumed the extra grease was a result of the routine itself, or that it was incompatible with the lighter conditioner I was using to wash with. So I put it at the back of my cabinet.

Eventually I went back to shampoo and I have now tried this conditioner with three different shampoos of varying price and quality and it always leaves my hair looking dirty, greasy and gross.

I hate having to throw out this much product, but I can't think of a way to salvage this conditioner. Easily one of the worst I've ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Conditioner products