Stila • Stila Coconut Crush Lip & Cheek Stain • Lips

rated 3.6(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 goodcelt on 12/26/2013 3:14:00 PM more reviews by goodcelt

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I got this for Christmas. I first saw it when I was buying some Stila for my daughters. I have only tried one other stain in my life and it was not good. Uneven color, drying, etc. So anyway, I put this Coconut Crush on my Christmas list and got two of them as presents! I was anxious to try it.

As others have noted, they have a problem with clicking the "pen" to get the product out. Well, when I first took it out of the box, I could not see the product coming out. I gently turned it one click. Then, another. Then, another. I then saw the start of color and used as much of it as I could. I clicked again and covered the rest of my lips with it. I love the way it glided on. It felt like a cool liquid of some kind. It looks very natural on me, which is the look I was going for.

I never use goopy lip glosses. Can't stand the sticky. My lips didn't go dry right away, and when they felt a little dry, I used some of my lip balm over it.

It will be my go-to for a natural look. I usually wear an orangey red lipstick. But I really do like my new lip stain. It is expensive but then again, it's not a drugstore brand, and at Christmas, we all deserve to be treated to something special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 clauroar on 11/14/2012 11:17:00 PM more reviews by clauroar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love it!! i currently own 4 lip crushes from the stila line and by far this one is my all time favorite, close call: acai.

I love how its a plummy brownish color, very unique. I do prefer to apply it onto my cheeks than to my lips, the formula is kinda drying, but it looks amazing both ways.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lipgloss09junkie on 6/25/2012 11:21:00 PM more reviews by lipgloss09junkie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love the color of this stain and this why I buy it! It's rare to come across colors like this. It's a plummy/mauve/earthy/browny/pinky color. Very natural but with shimmer. Putting a lipbalm over it tones it down and the shimmers do eventaully disappear. Do add the layers slowly or you can end up looking like a very shimmery clown indeed. With practice, you will look amazing. It suits brown/olive skin tone. Perhaps even darker skin tone. As for lighter skin tone....maybe less layers? I don't know. But *gushes* I just LOVE the color. It's so expensive ...yes. And it only lasts like 3 months with constant use and this is only and lips but it's worth it. The lipstain doesn't last forever (but hey, does anything?) It lasts about four hours, keep your lips hydrated and the color will fade nicely. Mac lip conditioner in soothing biege really compliments this color.
Using this product isn't a hassele, I just twist it once or twice and spread it on my lips as nicely as I can before I use my finger to smooth out the color evenly.
Overall, this is one of the better lipstains and I would really like to try out yumberry as well when I get the chance.

As much as I love this I have discovered similiar cheaper stains out there such as NYC and Revlon lipstains that last longer and are way cheaper. Stila's products are priced fairly expensive and pretty much rip you off. Still, I do love this color but I find myself rarely reaching for this one because there are other longer lasting lipstains out there and those are the ones I'm using!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snow7kids on 4/19/2012 4:23:00 PM more reviews by snow7kids

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I had a sample of this and really liked it....on my lips and cheeks. After buying the full size and seeing myself in different light settings (like sunlight) I wasn't so crazy about it on my lips. I still like it on my cheeks...it's super convenient to carry in my purse. I have fair skin and I like the glow it gives. I'm not sure if I would ever buy it again just because I have so many blushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dsterling on 2/16/2012 8:44:00 PM more reviews by dsterling

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Went to Sephora looking for another brand of lip stain but they no longer carried it. The salesgirl thought this would work for me and applied it with a disposable applicator...it didn't look too bad so I purchased. The next day when I went to apply it myself I found the application process to be horrible. The product comes out in globs within the brush and it was thick in some areas and thin in others. 3 lippies because I will use it up and the color was ok, but I will not purchase again. Wish I'd looked here before making buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Alliep81 on 1/25/2012 4:53:00 PM more reviews by Alliep81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Really glad I received this as a free gift!
The stain is too faint and my lips dry out.
Not a great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rebemdee on 8/21/2011 2:26:00 PM more reviews by rebemdee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Meh! The lip glosses work fine with the click pen, they never clog. Something about the consistency of this product makes the pen clog and then it all spills out in a big lump. It's an ok color, sparkly and plummy, although on my NW20 skin it didn't show very well, which is weird because I'm fairly pale, and when I built it up it looked drab. On my lips it felt very drying, although it was pretty, a sheer sparkly almost rosey color. I have other lip products I like better, so I wouldn't get this for my lips alone, and I really prefer the application and packaging of the convertible lip/cheek Stila product in the compact, so I won't get this product again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jueykang on 8/21/2011 12:50:00 PM more reviews by jueykang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

It has a wonderful scent to it, first of all, like light, fresh, yet sweet coconuts. The color is a soft, light plummy shade, which is gorgeous on both the lips and cheeks. The product is rather sheer though, and it gets clogged sometimes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cutelildeadbear on 8/16/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by cutelildeadbear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Ok this absolutely does not stay on forever. It stays on for about 2 or 3 hours if you don't drink anything or lick your lips or do anything with your mouth. If you do, then be prepared to reapply at least a touch up coat. But it is buildable, so if you need more color, keep applying. I didn't like the color at first either, but it has grown on me.

Click- sucks. Like everyone has already mentioned you can't see what's in the tube and it comes out when it wants, not when you want it to.

Overpriced. It is ok, and I'm not going to return it, but I wouldn't buy it again unless it was on a deep sale or something.

One plus is that it has an applicator. For the specific purpose I needed it for (a wedding) I can't be carrying around a lip brush and lip stain for touch ups in my tiny clutch. I needed something all in one.

The only other thing that I can say about it is that it is not irritating to my lips which is hard for me to find. So if you have sensitive lips, you might want to give this a shot. I'm allergic to many lipsticks and all lip gloss. It typically peels my skin right off after one use, but I've had this on for 2 days now, and no itching or peeling. So it isn't a bad product, but there are better products out there for the money. This needs to be more like $10-$12. Then I could see repurchasing. But for $24- they are really lucky I don't return it, but I just don't have the time before the wedding, to deal with.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 macgirl154 on 8/14/2011 11:44:00 AM more reviews by macgirl154

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I got this in a free gift from Sephora and wanted to try it. It smells amazing but I rather have gotten a more pink color this one is more of like a light plum color it's nice but i would only use it as a lip stain and not a cheek stain. The first time I used it I had to keep on clicking it to get the product out. overall its pretty good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Lips products