Silk Naturals • Vitamin C Peptide Serum • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rays on 5/13/2013 10:57:00 AM more reviews by rays

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

The best c I have ever used. Made my skin smooth and plump after about a couple of weeks and it was very gentle. I have very sensitive skin and this really worked for me. Fairly priced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rose1234 on 3/20/2013 1:00:00 PM more reviews by rose1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This serum is called “Facelift Vitamin C, DMAE & Peptide serum” on the website. I am finishing up the sample of this serum which was often recommended on the skincare board.


If you read my long winded skin history below, you can see that I had my skin back on track from a worrisome bumpiness/acne-like reaction to dehydration. But, up until now, I have never had lines around my eyes and I am just turning 35. Also, my forehead is starting to show a few tiny creases and the bridge of my nose seems a bit crinkly. I wanted something beyond moisture. I got a sample of this serum and a few others for super cheap and my skin has shown a lot of improvement.


This serum is being used daily in the morning and I am using the Super Serum at night. After the Super Serum, I wake up to super smooth and soothed skin. I do not feel the same about the Facelift Serum, but it might be that a restful sleep versus a super stressful day might be responsible for the difference. However, I feel, for whatever reason – it is hard to describe –that this serum is making a difference. The overall texture of my skin is amazing and I have nary a bump in sight. Since I am using the two serums together, it is hard to pin point which one is doing what, but my dark scars are fading and I feel like very slowly the fine lines around my eyes are getting a bit better.


I like the description of actives that are on the website since they make me feel like I am doing "something" to combat ageing and I LOVE that none of it irritates my skin in the least. I also like that the SuperSerum and the FaceLift serum have different stuff so hopefully I am going at those pesky lines with both guns blazing. I am putting my $$ where my mouth is and ordering a full size for me and a sample size for my mother in law.


My skin history: I was having issues with my skin after being acne free for about 5 years (I used to have large cysts that lasted for months and then left nasty dark scars that eventually turned into pits. I cleared my skin by researching acne.org and using green tea toner, tea tree oil, burts bees radiance serum (discontinued), purpose redness reducing lotion spf 30 (discontinued) and slept with calamine lotion mask (pink stuff) at night. It took several months, but the calamine lotion especially killed the cysts and healed the skin. I would highly recommend.). Recently, was having skin colored bumps, not really fully blown acne, but they were persistent and made my skin quality look terrible. So, I tried the list of stuff that worked before and it was not quite working. I tried many new products since my old stuff was discontinued and everything new did not work, made it worse, or only worked for a day or two. Finally, I just put some of my cetaphil cream on my face one night and expected to wake up with a face that looked like pizza. Image my surprise when my face was so much better in the morning. Then I got it -- it was not acne -- my face was super dehydrated and my pores were enlarged trying to produce enough oil to hydrate my face. Coming from a background of acne and trying to reduce oil, I guess it makes sense I would not recognize dehydrated skin if it (literally) smacked me in the face. From then on, I have been using Cetaphil lotion day and night and it has been amazing. However, I wanted to add something to help especially with overall firmness, the dehydration lines around my eyes, some crinkliness at the bridge of my nose, and the appearance of very fine lines in my forehead. I blame all of these new things on the months of dehydration. Nothing honestly anyone would notice, except maybe around the eyes when I smile, but I have had NO lines until now and I am not happy about the change.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FlawedAngel on 2/8/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by FlawedAngel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am writing this review after using a full 1 oz. bottle of this over about a month. I bought it because I was seeking a Vitamin C and peptide serum that was not hugely expensive. After extensive searching, I can say Silk Naturals' claim is quite true that other company's products containing both these actives are incomperably expensive. This stuff was cheap for SC ($15.95+shipping). Okay performance: I definately felt the exfoliating effects of the vitamin C. My skin felt dry and a bit stingy as I got used to using it. This surprised me because the C formula used here (MAP) is supposed to relatively gentle. My skin didn't even react this way when I started using tretinoin cream every night (dry, mature sensitive skin here). This issue resolved though. I have some hyperpigmentation from sun damage and melasma, and though I can't say that specefic areas pigemtation have identifiably lightened exactly, the overall look and texture has improved. I have an overall more "glowy" look, with more event tone and texture. As to any firming and other significant changes, I think that as with any anti-aging topical, the benefits are long term and more preventative and than reversing. On the down side, this serum actually gave my skin a tight, dry feeling (for oily skinned, I guess this is a good thing). It does work fine under SS and m/u though. I use it under my SS during the day, and sometimes under PM night moisturizer when I am not using tretinoin cream. At this point I would repurchase given price, potential benefits and lack of significant negatives. Pump packaging okay, but quite cheap and easy to squirt out way too much messily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Horny on 2/5/2013 6:37:00 AM more reviews by Horny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Sadly this broke me out. I can use most skincare and not get spots, but this serum really clogged me up. Otherwise I found it fairly non greasy (but then I didnt use too much) and non irritating. I am glad I only bought a sample!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lailaface on 11/28/2012 2:24:00 PM more reviews by lailaface

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This made me break out terribly. I went back to my tried-and-true regime, and it's still taken my face several weeks to recover. :( I wish I'd never tried it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lily21 on 7/28/2012 5:44:00 PM more reviews by Lily21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My skin: Dry, sensitive, acne-prone, pale (~NC15), with redness in cheeks and T-zone.


I've tried various other Vit. C Serums (L-AA) which were far to irritating and left my skin raw. I mulled over trying Silk natural's Vit. C Serum for a while before actually purchasing because I had had such bad experiences with Vit. C, but I'm glad I did!


This Vit. C serum is made with MAP which is gentler and more stable than L-AA. I use 2 pumps for face and neck in the morning (to help boost my sunscreen) and at night as well. It doesn't cause any stinging and I can use this any time of day (morning or night). It also doesn't aggravate the redness in my face, has helped to calm down and brighten my skin.


Price & Will I repurchase? Most definitely! One bottle has lasted 2-3 months. The shelf-life is 2-3 months. A 1 oz. blue tinted bottle costs $15.95 (excluding shipping). I wish there was some sort shipping deal because I can see myself repurchasing again and again, but in order to ensure that it's still stable and fresh, I can only order 1 bottle at a time and I'd have to pay for shipping to Canada each time.


Overall: This is a great product and definitely worth of try for those who have sensitive skin or are looking for a gentle Vit. C product.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Snowblind on 6/3/2012 4:34:00 AM more reviews by Snowblind

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I ordered a bunch of samples from Silk Naturals out of the recommendation of an another MUA'er. This was the only one I liked. I can not say anything about correcting wrinkles since I used this on my shoulder where I had sun damage (a lot of brown spots). To my amazement the little sample bottle managed to lighten the spots significantly in only a few weeks. It does dry out the skin so I'd suggest some moisturizing lotion on top.

If it's sun damage you want to fix: this stuff works! For that 5 lippies. I'll be ordering the full size bottle and see if I dare to try it on my face. So far all Silk Natural products have caused an allergic reaction on my face, hence why I used this sample on my shoulder only. We'll just have to try and see.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lemonz4us on 3/11/2012 5:06:00 AM more reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a sample size of this. I didn't care for it. It smelled like stale water and it was incredibly sticky on my face. I couldn't stand it anymore so I rinsed it off. Such a shame. I love the Awesome Sauce serum though!! That's a keeper

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 opheliamagdalene on 10/28/2011 12:57:00 PM more reviews by opheliamagdalene

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I like this alot. I use it especially after I've been in the sun to help restore my skin. The only reason I wouldn't buy it again is I get the same ingredients + DMAE in the Facelift Serum. Love Silk Naturals products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lokid on 5/30/2011 11:01:00 AM more reviews by lokid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is for the version with DMAE. This is a WONDERFUL serum, does all it claims to do. Gives your skin a glow. MAP is the only form of VIT C my sensitive skin can take. This is worth a sample ($1.50ish).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Silk Naturals products

More Treatments (Face) products