Hermes • Un Jardin Sur Le Toit • Fragrances

rated 3.5(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 teray on 4/4/2014 5:10:00 AM more reviews by teray

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been looking for perfumes that my now choosy nose (getting older) will like.
When I saw this at the airport while waiting for my flight, I tried it because I saw green, I think, citrusy, grassy, and little bit sweet, and I loved it. Unfortunately it doesn't last that long, so I will not repurchase. Although I noticed that it stays on your clothes if you spray some on them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 8/6/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this scent after the initial spritz, but after 10-15 minutes it devolves into a cheap men's cologne scent. Initially I get sweet, fruity apple notes and a bit of grass. Soon after, all I get is a sharp, musky, almost "dirty" smell (is this the "compost" note?) Oddly enough, on clothes, it smells citrusy and similar to Un Jardin Sur Le Nil, but not on my skin. Anyways, I'm glad I spritzed myself silly with this at Sephora before plunking any money down for this scent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 11/25/2012 11:14:00 AM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Smells pretty good, but I'm not in love. It's more of a spring/summer scent. I would suggest it for the middle-age crowd, between the girlie, fruity scents and the Chanel/Fracas older women perfume lovers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 inglaterra on 6/18/2012 12:04:00 PM more reviews by inglaterra

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Winter update: Temps below 50 F, this perfume calms considerably. Its sort of a green powdery water scent. Like a mist from melted snow that had come off of a garden. Retry it!

On fabric, it smells of L'Artisan Dzongkha meets Acqua di Gio. Both fumes have a green somewhat aquatic note and also a screechy drydown that reminds me only of the smell of floor cleaner. I have wanted both of thse at one time or another, so on clothing there is a love/hate element.

On skin, however, it goes straight to floor cleaner.

The insert says its unisex, so I let the DH try it out: same effect.

Same safe square bottles as the others. I give up on Hermes.

EDIT: I have figured out exactly what this smells of. Fabuloso brand floor cleaner, particularly the lavender. It hits you in the back of the throat, choking and nauseating you.

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christina001 on 6/15/2012 1:06:00 PM more reviews by christina001

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Wow.. an ingenious counter assistant recommended this to me. I went shopping for some skin care, and she convinced me I may want to try a new perfume. I told her my all time spring favorite during the day is DKNY woman, and that I oddly sometimes enjoy flowery scents like Coco Mademoiselle EDT in the summer evening. She suggested DKNY pure to me, and this one as a more interesting choice. As it grew on my hand, I started smelling it more and more frequently, which left her smiling and saying she'd thought I would like it. As she saw I was not really convinced I needed a perfume right now, but liked it quite a lot, she filled a tester for me. She described this perfume really nicely as a fresh clean scent with some unusual flowery notes. I used the tester for days and now know I need this perfume. Its basic scent lasts a couple of hours on my wrist, which is long for my standard.

I went online to see how other people describe it. I guess I know why I love it so much - my favourite scent in the world is freshly cut spring grass. Reminds me of my childhood spring enthusiasm. Apparently, this perfume reminds lots of people of freshly cut grass. it is more complex than that, though. As with many unusual perfumes, trying it out on oneself probably is key. Will be getting this tomorrow. What a lovely, unusual summer scent!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 4/18/2012 3:19:00 PM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

When I smell this fragrance, the first thing that hits my nose is cucumber, and lots of it! It even almost reminds me of the smell of Dove's deodorant 'cucumber and green tea'. Then, at intervals some flowery notes peer in. If anything, this fragrance comes off as fresh and is categorized appropriately; in the green category. Its a very pleasant scent, but there are so many scents in the contemporary market just like it. In addition, whereas its' cousin, un jardin sur el nil is very complex, almost too much so, this fragrance is too linear and simple for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maggiequinn on 3/16/2012 8:47:00 AM more reviews by maggiequinn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Simply gorgeous! Green, crisp, refreshing, light - everything you want for spring season. Another beautiful Jean Claude Ellena composition.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 resalazar on 1/7/2012 3:20:00 PM more reviews by resalazar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This was my summer scent this past summer and will be again next summer. I love the different notes, even the compost. The compost note is remarkable. It doesn't last for more than a few minutes, and to me captures the romance of a rooftop garden. If you can't handle a bit of stench, well, get out of the city!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* apparently on 10/23/2011 12:11:00 AM more reviews by apparently

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I sprayed this on about five hours ago, and have loved it more with every passing minute. In fact, I am having a hard time typing this because all I want to do is smell myself!

I am a sucker for packaging and was immediately drawn to the chunky bottle with its verdant tint, and the box with its charming watercolor -- usually the box is something I toss, but I want to live in to the illustration on this! The first blast of scent is a happy green -- I later read that this contains apple and pear, but I did not pick those up directly; the sensation was less "FRUIT!" and more cheerfully cool, like opening up a florist's refrigerator, or taking an immaculately clean salad out of the spinner. As the scent wears, it has become less snappy and has settled into comfortable freshness, like walking through my house on the first day warm enough to leave the windows open. I really do love this, and am sad to discover it in October, as it is so very exactly early April in a bottle. In any event, Jardin sur le Toit takes me to my happy place.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 9/26/2011 5:27:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This truly stinks on me. If I concentrate hard enough, the crushed grass turns into dung on my skin. Together with Womanity, my least favourite fragrance of 2011.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products