John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(351 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 aprilg9 on 11/16/2014 12:21:00 AM more reviews by aprilg9

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product to dye my hair myself for the first time. I had recently gotten highlights professionally and wasn't really happy with how they looked in my dark brown hair. I bought this hair dye in colour 4r Dark Red Brown. The process was very easy, although I was a little messy having never done it before. My hair reaches mid chest so I had to use two boxes of dye. I was worried the colour would turn out splotchy or dull but it looks very rich. My hair is now very shiny and soft, it actually looks better than it has in a long time. This product not only sold me on John Frieda hair dyes but the John Frieda brand overall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michelle5291 on 11/6/2014 8:34:00 PM more reviews by michelle5291

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay so I will start off by saying I have went to salons and literally spent 500 dollars on coloring my hair. Granted I am from NYC and its expensive, nonetheless I care about hair color is my point. John Frieda Precision Foam in "Dark Cool Espresso Brown" a salon blends color, not sure of the number i think it may be 4PGN - its literally the most amazing hair color I have ever used. I will post a picture on here to show- my hair is INCREDIBLY shiny. I get compliments all the time people ask me if it is my natural hair color. It lasts for about 3 and a half months with no fading at all until the 4th month, which is great because I wash my hair everyday, sometimes even twice a day. 1 bottle does my entire head and my hair is very thick and down to my lower back (I'm middle eastern) so it only costs 12 dollars to do my entire head. Out of all the hair care and make up or beauty products I use...including top brands like lancome and chanel- I truly feel like this is the best beauty product I have ever used ever. U wouldnt believe my hair was box hair dyed if u saw it. Also- to those saying that their hair comes out dull- mine probably would too if i didnt take care of it so well. U have to use moroccan oil, and deep conditioning masks. Also..the whole "not washing ur hair alot" or only washing it once a week is a myth. That dries out ur hair believe it or not. If u think about it logically..shampoos and conditioners add vitamins and moisture to our hair...when u only wash it once a week, ur depriving ur hair of all those added moistures. Also...the "natural oils" (ew) that are derived from ur scalp only effect the hair on ur scalp. Not ur ends or shaft of ur hair. So pretty much only the top of ur head has soft hair. ALSO* back in the day when cavemen didnt have shampoo and conditioner their hair was disgusting and dry. Now, modern society has products that help to aid in protecting our locks and keeping them healthy. I have never ever ever met someone who washes their hair once a week that has nice beautiful long silky hair. never not once. on the contrary, I wash my hair daily and my hair is gorgeous. will post pic to prove point. Buy the foam! *The picture I posted is underneath the picture of the product at the top of the webpage. I am dressed for halloween as a sailor. Picture is kinda blurry but u can still see how shiny my hair is from this product! And that picture was taken at night!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PurkinjeShift on 10/28/2014 8:24:00 PM more reviews by PurkinjeShift

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased John Frieda Precision Foam Colour in shade 4PBN - Espresso Brown.

I am 37 and have about 50% gray hair, as premature graying runs in my family. I have been getting my hair professionally colored since the age of 15, but started dying it myself at home for about 12 years now.

To cover my grays and get the color I liked, I used to use Natural Instincts #35, color Ebony Mocha. I used this color for over a year and would get lots of compliments. Suddenly it seemed after a year of using it, the color would fade and turn this horrible brassy orange near my roots. I figure that my percentage of grays was increasing and a semi-permanent color offered by Natural Instincts was no longer able to work. I was disappointed and figured it was time I had to go with permanent color.

I went to Sally's and used their Wella hair color for about a year. Seemed to have the same problem - color turning brassy, blond even about two to three inches from my scalp! Wella faded horribly. I changed to Zotos Age Beautiful - even worse! Everytime I shampooed, I was horrified to see the color going down the drain. This continued for 1 1/2 weeks, until the color was gone and all I was left with was this brassy, orange, with blond-streaked color. Age Beautiful did not work at all for my hair. I have naturally dark brown hair [with gray], and I was buying neutral colors [not warm] so I didn't know where all this brassy/orange color was coming from. Despite buying neutral browns levels of 3 or 4, after about a week and a half, my hair would turn multi-colored - from brownish ends, with blond sides of hair, and orange/brassiness everywhere else. And, I have always used premium color protection type of shampoos, follow all the rules about not washing hair for at least 24 hours after coloring, etc.

Desperate and tired of Sally's, I decided to try John Frieda because I think I have tried all other boxed brands sold in the stores. I bought two boxes of John Frieda foam color - #4PBN. I have thick, long hair that is about half-way down my back. I was hopeful there was something out there to cover this mess or reddish/orange, blonde, and brassiness. I am naturally a level 3, but current color thanks to Zotos age beautiful fading, was probably a level 5 weird red/orange color.

RESULTS: It has been a week and a half since using John Frieda. I am so pleasantly surprised. The color was a bit darker than I was expecting and is darker than pictured on the box. However, it completely took away the brassy tones - the color is VERY even. Not multi-colored, how the Zotos brand left me. I used the entire two bottles. Even though my hair looked saturated, I used even more foam to make sure that I covered all of that ugly brassiness that I had. After a week and a half, my color has not faded to that horrible orange/brassy color. My hair feels exceptionally healthy and is very shiny. [Not like with Wella and Age Beautiful]. I feel like I have my dark brown hair back. It did a great job covering the grays.

I am writing this to help all the other ladies out that are in my shoes... dark hair trying to fight the grays and the brassiness. I think it is so hard going gray when you have dark hair. I kind of envy the blonde ladies, as you can just get a box of blonde color and be okay. The grays show through so much more with dark hair! But with my skin tone, blonde hair would totally wash me out.. I wouldn't look good as a blonde. It's funny...when I was younger I always wanted to be blonde. Now that I'm a little older and can appreciate how I look with my dark hair, the grays are starting to steal it away! I guess that's how it goes! Good luck. I hope that this helps or that others have good experience with this product like I did.

I still do miss my experience with Natural Instincts - best healthiest color [because it is semi-permanent and ammonia-free], but second best is going to be John Frieda. If my hair wasn't getting so gray, I would still be using it. Unfortunately, I have to move on to permanent color at this point in time.

Angela

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 babypink93 on 9/21/2014 2:32:00 PM more reviews by babypink93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Overall i am not impressed with this product. I got the black shade to go over my medium brown hair and it came out patchy and dull not to metion washed ou completely in less than 2weeks. Only positives are that the foam was actually nice and less messy to apply that usual hair dyes and it comes with a lot of product. Sucks i wanted to like this ..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 westiemom on 8/24/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by westiemom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this for the first time today and I'm shocked at the bad reviews here. Must just be the old adage what works for some doesn't for others. I saw one review that said , "I'm going back to Colorsilk" and I thought, really??? I've used Colorsilk and it was awful! Talk about dry brittle hair!!! yuk!! This product however was fantastic! it remains to be seen how the color holds up, but the color (Medium natural brown) came out beautiful and my hair feels fantastic. I also have stubborn gray at my temples that never takes color well and this got it! I'm very pleased with the ease of application, no drippiness, no strong smell, easy rinse, and added body on my very fine just past chin length hair. If it holds up well over next month I will definitely use again! AND, my head is not itchy like it usually is after coloring! yay!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleBear23 on 8/23/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by LittleBear23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the color 6N, Light Natural Brown. I've used hundreds of boxes of hair color over the years so I already know not to pay any attention to the name or number of the color. It's never accurate. This product was no exception. It definitely was not "light brown". I chose the color based on the hair color swatch on the box which I would call medium golden brown, problably a 4.5G. I also know that every box of brown color ends up being darker than the swatch- sometimes 2-3 shades darker. i really did not want 2-3 shades darker but I decided to take a chance anyway. The color ended up being about one shade darker than the swatch on the box, about a 3.5G, still in the medium brown family and definitely an acceptable outcome since I know it will fade in a couple of weeks.

As promised the foaming color is much easier to use than the usual color application bottle and I have not one single missed spot. That part worked remarkably well. The issue was that using this type of applicator creates a HUGE mess- at least for me. Being hair color veteran I generally create very little mess when I color my hair, maybe a small drip on the floor and a smudge on one ear. I had this stuff all over me, on my face, neck, arms, boobs, back, ears, everywhere. I also had it all over the bathroom, floor, sink, counter, tub, everywhere. The good news is that it cleans up much easier than other colors. It came off my skin with just a damp washcloth and off the sink, floor and tub with just a quick spray of kitchen cleaner and a swipe of a sponge.

I have probably 4-5 gray hairs and this product covered them totally. My hair is not any drier than if I used any other box of hair color. The ends seem a little drier but no more than I would have expected, nothing terrible. I have noticed my hair getting tangled a lot easier since I colored it. Actually, it's getting tangled a WHOLE LOT easier. I used two boxes and that provided excellent coverage. My hair is thick, very straight and hits about 2" above my waist.

If I found myself in this same situation- unable to afford my hairdresser but really needing a color- I would definitely use this product again. My first choice is to have a hairdresser do my color but at least now I know of a product that I can use myself without leaving any missed spots.

Edit- A month later and the color is completely washed out, completely. Since I have really long hair I wash every 2-3 days and I use gentle shampoo. So, if the color washed out for me in a month I think it would probably wash out for most people in about 2 weeks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 missmopar on 8/15/2014 7:43:00 PM more reviews by missmopar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Flipping horrible! I just wrote them a nasty email because the Deep Cheery Brown I just used turned my hair completely BLACK. I had a beautiful medium brown color before with reddish lowlights all over. I just wanted to make everything more red. I didn't leave it on longer than the recommended 25 minutes. It had a nice cherry color the first 5 minutes it was in the bottle then it turned black. I didn't think anything of it because most dyes get darker in the bottle as you use them.

Now my already light skin looks grossly pale and I'm stuck with crappy hair color until it either fades or gets cut off. Since this is permanent color and I have bad luck, it probably won't fade. If I could give this negative stars, I would.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Buckeye2010 on 7/24/2014 8:54:00 AM more reviews by Buckeye2010

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am visually impaired, and have never been able to color my own hair. My mom used to do it for me, but she is nearing 60, and can no longer do it.

So I decided to try a color foam. I am pleased to say that it was easy, and I was able to do most of it with my glasses on. That was very important because without my glasses I am legally blind in my good eye.

When I washed it off, it left my hair like straw, but after applying a hair oil, my hair felt silky. When my hair dried, however I was in for a shock. My hair which was a dark brown was a little darker than it's natural color. This was SUPPOSED to be a medium chocolate brown! Yeah, medium chocolate brown my butt! Also the price was a bit steep.

The only reason I am rating it a four is because of the price and the shade. Other than that, this is an awesome haircolor, and if you are visually impaired and afraid of dying your hair, this foam color is the way to go. Just make sure to go for a lighter shade than normal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pissedperson on 7/7/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by pissedperson

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

HORRIBLE JUNK! I have (HAD) thin but otherwise very healthy hair. I used this product according to the instructions and after rinsing , my hair felt HORRIBLE, DRY BRITTLE and terribly tangled. I used the CHEAP conditioner that came with the color and NOTHING ... I still could NOT get a comb thru the dried out horribly tangled MESS it made out of my hair. I tried 2 other expensive conditioners , TWO hours later after sitting with the products on my head, finally had to send my husband to the salon to buy an expensive spray on detangler to get the snarls out CLUMPS of my hair came out and boke off. I am furious., I would never use this again or even recomend to my worse enemy. I HAD to select a rating for this product but wouldn'teven give it ONE star for ANY of them

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Crly2007 on 6/30/2014 10:15:00 PM more reviews by Crly2007

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to write a review for John Frieda Precision Foam Color in 5N Medium Natural Brown. First off I have medium brown hair with red highlights naturally. I decided since it was Summer I would add some hi lights in my hair. I got some stuff from Sally's and was not happy with my results!!!. Ended up with that dreadful orange tinted hair! That was a couple weeks ago. Since then I have been researching online and decided to try this. I purchased this at Target for 11.92. I am very pleased with the outcome. Loved the kit. The gloves are wonderful! It was my first time ever using this brand or a foam even. It covered great and turned a nice medium brown. I am glad I chose this shade and not a darker one. I would not want it any darker. I would recommend it and will use again.. Hope this helps others decide to try it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products