John Frieda Precision Foam Color


364 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$


on 9/23/2015 6:45:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I started coloring my hair at home--basically I'm restoring my original color (dark ashy brown) and covering 50-75pct grey.) I tried this color, a foam, and Olio (Garnier.)

While Garnier seemed to cover slightly better, the applicator was weird and difficult, and my hair felt like plastic afterwards. John Frieda foam is really easy to apply and it doesn't drip. My hair feels wonderful afterwards. I follow the directions and use the included conditioner and it works well. The second time I used it, I left it on longer and I got very good grey coverage but the color was a tad darker than I prefer. However, it seems to be the way to get coverage of the stubborn greys at the temples.

I used 6N Lightest Cool Almond Brown. This was the color recommended by the John Frieda website for the color I wanted to achieve. It provides a bit of highlighting on the grey.

The smells is quite acceptable. The only issue I have with this color, which I've repurchased, is that my favorite shade is often not in the store. So I have to order it from Amazon or Frieda's website.

on 9/15/2015 6:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is the best drugstore hair dye I've tried yet. I'm not understanding how it has such low reviews. My criteria for a good hair dye includes: easy to use & doesn't fade easily. I guess that sounds like I don't have high or many standards to some, but to me, those are the most important factors when coloring my hair. I don't consider if a hair dye makes my hair condition any different, because I've never had hair dye damage my hair or change the texture whatsoever. What I enjoy about this hair dye is that it doesn't drip, isn't liquid (it's a foam as the name implies), and isn't a mess or complicated to mix because they make it really simple and convenient to do with the packaging, unlike other drugstore brands I've tried. More importantly, the color lasts. I dyed my hair black with this over a brown and heavily highlighted hair, and the color still looks beautiful 3 months later. Typically I will notice significant fading on the color 2-3 weeks later, leaving me with that fun debate every time I look at myself in the mirror: "Does this look okay? Do I need a touch up now, or can I get away with this?" I don't need to have this stupid conversation with myself now because my hair color is still EVEN and well adhered to my hairs months after initial dyeing, despite me using clarifying shampoo weekly (sometimes twice a week). Overall, I'm very pleased and will definitely purchase again.

on 9/8/2015 6:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is for the 6.5 copper colour.

I really like it and I have had a lot of bad experiences with home colour.

Unlike every other diy colour this came out the same colour as the box.

In the directions it says your whole head will foam but mine didn't but I am still very happy with the results.

Only just enough product to cover my shoulder length thick hair, for long hair I would get two packets which would be expensive.

on 8/16/2015 7:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

this is my favorite hair dye! i have very thick hair and have an awfully hard time covering it all when i dye my hair by myself and the foaminess of this makes it soooo easy. i've used this multiple times and it's very easy to apply. i find myself having to redye every month or two, which is pretty average considering i wash my hair every day. i don't get why this product is rated only a 3, this is my favorite hair dye ever and i've used so many brands!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After much research and all. Usual. This did lighten hair more the all before. Yes! - Happy but now maybe color over. Good for Springish/Summer! - Lighter hair maybe- cool- trendy - seasonal all. Wow! Plus, Graduation Season and all. Time to "prep" and try to look your best. Even if no input (mine) and high expections!- Whole process!- Love the packaging of this product. Bit messy and drippy. Takes a long time to apply and try to cover over and over. But when wash out- pretty much a breeze! Woo!-

on 5/25/2015 7:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I haven't had necessarily the BEST luck with hair dyes. So when this one didn't work for me I wasn't really all that upset. I bought the dark reddish brown shade for my dark brown hair because I wanted a reddish tint. Seemed simple enough, I didn't think it could backfire because I wasn't going fire truck red I just wanted a dark tint. Anyways, the process was fine... In the directions it shows a picture of a girl with foamed up hair and it says that your hair should look the same, but I couldn't get it that foamy no matter how much product I used or how much I massaged. My hair ended up being bright cherry red at the roots and black everywhere else. Oh well. I'm just gonna go to the salon once I get paid next week.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 5/12/2015 4:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Easy to mix the two components as they're both liquid, no toothpaste-type tube to squeeze out
Easy to apply, texture not too thick or thin
Applies to dry, not wet, hair
It doesn't fry hair
The gloves are good
Often half price at boots or superdrug
Doesn't permanently stain everything in your bathroom
You won't get a very noticeable change of colour on dark hair
Grey coverage doesn't last as long as, say, nutrisse
You need to really massage it in to get enough colour to the "under" hair
Too expensive at full price
Overall - this has become my go-to colour as it's easy to mix and apply, so colouring my hair isn't as traumatic as it used to be.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I've used this twice. The first time, it was fine, and I liked the foam application method. I watched a video about how to gentle tilt the bottle five times to create the foam, and all about keeping that bottle upright. I used 3RV, which initially turned my (red-dyed over bleach blonde) hair jet black and then, after about a month, it started to fade to a sort of dusty rose. Not attractive at all. I decided maybe the color needed to build up and gave it a second chance, but the second time, despite the five careful tilts and video, I could not get it to foam. Nevertheless, I tried to dye it with the liquid, and the color did not even change. It was beyond bizarre. I paid $15 USD for this? I've been dying my hair for 25 years, generally every 2-3 weeks at that, and so, yeah, I wasn't impressed since other than dye that turns your hair green or whatever, I can't think of a weirder experience than dye that doesn't dye at all and also, that won't do what it's supposed to. Ridiculous. I unrecommend it. The color also faded badly and looked terrible. Oh, and it bled pink in the shower the first time. Almost forgot about that.

on 4/22/2015 7:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I hate it. I bought 6R (light reddish brown) and used it on my (short) dark blonde hair. The packaging was pretentious and smelled like cheap perfume, the foam was awkward and the results uneven and dull. I was expecting a gorgeous shade of auburn, i got a dull "old lady" reddish blah brown. I used it EXACTLY as directed and it "took" well in some places and not at all in others.....I don't understand what happened. I have been dying my hair for the past 15 years and i never had such a bad experience. I don't even know what's going to happen after a couple of washes but i'm scared. I think i will buy color oops and go back to Garnier or l'Oreal, at least i know what to expect. Very disappointed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 4/1/2015 11:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have deep dark brown hair that I highlighted purple two years ago. Of course it faded fast and left behind these awful blonde patches that I hate. After going to a salon and achieving a gorgeous all over color of a dark brown with super bright red undertones to cover the blonde parts I didn't have the money to upkeep it. I found this at my local walmart in dark red brown which sounded exactly like what I had at the salon. My younger sister was nice enough to color my hair for me & one bottle was enough foam to cover my really long almost butt length hair. The color payoff was not as red as I had anticipated but it did tint the blonde somewhat red while giving the rest of my hair a nice auburn sheen to it especially in sunlight. While I love the formula of this hair color I will probably buy this shade again and then a very bright red to mix into it that way I can still keep the brunette but just add a lot more red in it. The foam was less time consuming than the liquids I see my mother use on herself & my sister didn't have too hard of a time covering every strand.

Top Rated John Frieda Products

Back to Top