John Frieda • 3-day Straight Semi-Permanent Styling Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.8(121 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karriwhel on 1/29/2014 9:39:00 AM more reviews by karriwhel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff rocks it for me! I received this as a sample spray pump sized product that lasted me about a month. By the time I was done with the sample I was hunting this stuff down at the stores right away. I don't think I will ever go without again so please never ever discontinue!! PULLEEAAZZZE (this always happens to me!) So I have quite thick hair that is getting to be "old" a bit too processed so it tends to be frizzy and dull at times. Boy howdy this stuff perks my color & tames those cuticles right up! Now that being said I am not great at flat ironing my hair every time I use to complete this process of sealing the product as I do not always have the time for that, but I still find that if I only blow dry & skip the flat iron part it still makes my hair look better than before! Flat ironing does make it fantastic looking so go the extra mile with it & you won't be disappointed! Win Win.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Niki726 on 1/12/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Niki726

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have curly hair, but I do have poofy wavy hair that I have to straighten every single day. This stuff stays on my hair about 2 days because I'm a very oily person all over. The second day I don't have to do anything to my hair. I don't even have to touch it up with a flat iron. Great product, I just wish my hair wasn't so greasy :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sophiaclaarke on 12/30/2013 8:13:00 PM more reviews by sophiaclaarke

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

best straightener protection spray for us curly hair babies :))! before I found this I was using chi iron guard and tresemme sprays I hated how they made that sizzle sound and left my hair dull after straightening it UGH but when I used this I was instantly in love. it really does keep hair straight for the longest time! for example, I wash my hair once a week (I'm lucky enough to have hair that doesn't get oily fast) and it keeps it smooth &frizz free the whole week! I also live in a very humid state so it really helps fight humidity. I noticed the keratin really makes my hair so strong and shiny..Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judy46970 on 9/23/2013 8:40:00 AM more reviews by judy46970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have medium length, wavy hair that usually will not stay straightened after using my flat iron. I have tried many straightening products to no avail. I had a $3 off coupon on the 3-Day Straight, and I love John Frieda products. The label says to start with 8-15 sprays on wet/damp hair, then blow-dry straight, use flat iron.
I love this stuff! It makes my thin hair look fuller, shiny, and I tested it and it keeps my hair perfectly straight for three days! I will for sure be buying this product again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lxurenoliver on 9/5/2013 3:19:00 PM more reviews by lxurenoliver

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this item based on the fact my hair is thick and curly, and back when I wore my hair down and straight, the curls and flicks would really bother me. My friend said she saw an advert on it and said I may as well get it, so I did. From what I remember, I saw little difference but back then any difference regarding straightness was a miracle for me so I thought it was the best product ever to be seen.
Now, I have decided to straighten small parts of my hair again, but not all, I turned back to this product, remembering my high expectations from it. I also decided to check out a review and I was then intrigued to write my own one, so here it is:
I only had a small bit left in the bottle as I had given my mum my old one and she uses it a fair bit. I washed my hair, sprayed in my heat protectant and further conditioning spray, and then spritzing about 6 sprays throughout my hair with the 3 day straight product. My hair is about mid boob length, but thick so I didn't want to do too little or too much. I dried my hair, straightened it, but as I wasn't going outside I didn't get to see the major changes it could have made to my hair. The next day (today) I wore my hair in a side pony tail and straightened the tail, and my hair felt disgusting (I have GHD's).
Throughout the day, yes, my hair has been straight apart from the bottom part which flicked inwards but I can't get over how sticky my hair has been. Every time I touched it, strands of hair would glue itself to my palm and stick there. The feeling of it in general really hasn't felt too nice, and I can't get over how sticky it's made my hair. I wash my hair every 2 - 3 days because it doesn't get or feel greasy easily and dries out if I wash it too often, and now I'm washing it the day after purely because I can not stand even day 1 of the product.
As any item does, it has pro's and con's, but buying this really determines on how STRONGLY you want your hair to be straight. Back when I wore it straight, I turned to literally everything BUT chemically straightening. But now I'm not as desperate, I've realised just how much of a rip off this product is. Yes, it does a mediocre/good job and if you don't mind flat, sticky hair that makes it feel greasy then this product may be for you, but at (I think) £6.99 a bottle for something that probably does more bad then good, I wouldn't recommend it. It does smell nice, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 louis3 on 8/22/2013 4:51:00 PM more reviews by louis3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It does it's thing I guess... But the smell is not that fancy at all. I don't see much difference with the times I just straightened my (dark)golden locks. My hair ain't that thick&voluptuous and is almost as straight as a stiff board, so maybe that is the problem with this honey... better said: maybe I should not have used this stuff, because it's not meant for people like me ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattiekins05 on 6/30/2013 2:02:00 AM more reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So I got this product a little over a week ago... and because of the mixed feelings and reviews- I decided to buy a sample bottle that only has 1oz of liquid. I believe it was a tad less than $5.00 at walgreens where I bought it. I have used this product twice already, and I believe I have formed a solid oppinion to share with everybody in this review. I have very long hair, that isnt ridiculously curly, but its VERY wavy, usually unmanageable and gets very frizzy when it drys (and it doesnt matter if I let it dry naturally, or with a blow dryer, it still gets out of control.) I used 10 sprays of this product the firat time around, because I read reviews saying it made their hair feel weighed down and greasy. I blow dried my hair with a paddle brush, and was really disappointed. My hair was still out of control frizzy, it felt like I had conditioner in my hair that didnt get rinsed out, because it was very heavy and even though i stayed clear if my roots while spraying- it looked like i hadn't washed my hair in a week. So I finished the look by flat ironing my hair, going over each strand over and over with my chi. I still hated it. My hair smelled good, and that was it. Yes, I did get straight hair- but I know that this product had no role in the straight sleek look. I decided to leave it for a couple days without washing or getting it wet, because I really was looming for any hope with this product. It has been almost 100° in Minneapolis for the last week, with a dew point and humidity levels through the roof. This product claims that humidity will not affect the look, period. This is false. My hair would get random waves and little curls in the front, and I had to constantly go over it with my iron. Nowhere does it say that you will need to flat iron your hair periodically throughout the day, to achieve the sleek straight look. It was just a huge disappointment. After a day and a half, I HAD TO wash my hair. It was bothering me so much... When I would get hott from being outside, I would start to perspirate on my face, and it seemed like the oils from my hair would be running down my face when I was sweating. It was disgusting! I tried it a second time, and my feelings have remained the same. I am very happy I got the small, trial size bottle, and not the full size- because it would be going straight into the gaRbage, or given away, although I would never give it to anyone i care about... it was that bad. So, thank you John Frieda for making my hair smell good, but thats the only good thing this product has to offer. Absolutley a let-down. Had high hopes after reading some really good reviews of this product... but at this point, I would rather flat iron my hair every single day than go near that product again. Harsh, but true.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shazzer1976 on 6/27/2013 2:04:00 PM more reviews by Shazzer1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been meaning to try this product out for myself for some time. I have thick, curly hair, in a short bob with a mind of its own. What usually happens is my hair dresser makes my hair look amazing. I watch everything she does, try to replicate it at home and, hey presto, weird bouffant frizzy hair that kinks up during the day. Heaven forbid I try anything that might make me break into a sweat. Before you know it, I will look like I've stuck my finger in an electric socket or had an extreme fright.

I have tried quite a few products. They usually make my hair go lank and too soft to go round and stay on the big round brushes I like to use to 'style' my hair. I was a little skeptical but when I saw all the John Frieda products on offer in Boots I decided to give it a go.

I am delighted with the results. I have never managed to get my hair so straight by just blow drying it alone. It seems to relax the curl and cut down the amount of time I have to stand with the hair dryer trying to pull my curl out. I finished it off with my straightening irons and got what looked like salon results. Quite something for me!

This is only day two, but I have slept on my hair and been outside in the muggy humid air and my hair is still straight and sleek. I will touch my hair up with my straighteners tomorrow. This product is heat activated. So far, so very good.

Update: still living this product BUT so important not to overload your hair with this. It will go greasy. Still very impressed

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkbrush on 6/25/2013 2:55:00 AM more reviews by pinkbrush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

As someone with naturally wavy hair I straighten/blowdry it a lot to make it look tolerable. When I heard about this product I was very excited.

I have an issue with application on this, the directions say 7-15 sprays, if I use anymore than 7 my hair feels dirty and gross, so I have to be very careful not to overdo (as it's easy with a spray bottle like this). I still follow the same steps with blowdrying and straightening as usual when I use this product,but I do think my hair dries quicker and is easier to work with. I will keep using this, nice product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NPNewb on 5/16/2013 7:16:00 PM more reviews by NPNewb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Does John Frieda 3-day Straight work? Yes and no.

I was dying to try it from the moment I heard the name of it. I realized quickly from online research that this isn't a true chemical straightener. Yeah, your hair will stay straight for 3 days if you use this, but only if you don't wash it. And if you're like me, you would look DISGUSTING if you didn't wash your hair for three days.

I have very fine, thin, shoulder-length hair that is ALWAYS frizzy and crazy, especially in the humid climate where I live. My hair fell out due to health reasons and when it grew back in, whoa, so curly, and not in a good way. I've tried to embrace my curls, but they just aren't ME, ya know? Plus, it's difficult for me to get them right. Unfortunately, even with a hair straightener, getting my hair STRAIGHT is impossible, too.

Enter: 3-day straight.

This product was made for people like me. You won't spritz it on and have instantly straight hair. You will still have to STRAIGHTEN your hair. People with hair like mine will understand this. Even when I flat iron my hair, it STILL frizzes up, even if I put on anti-humidity creme and everything. That's why this product is great. It really did keep my hair striaght and flat, even in intense humidity, even when I sweat. Is it perfect? No. But it's the closest thing to perfect that I've found.

It doesn't make my hair greasy. I like the texture of my hair when I use this. It makes me hair a little flat, but hey, I'll trade that any day if straight comes with it.

This is a great product, and if you have realistic expectatinos, I know you will be pleased with it. I'm really grateful for this stuff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products