John Frieda • 3-day Straight Semi-Permanent Styling Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.9(127 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tmilstein on 12/3/2014 7:20:00 PM more reviews by tmilstein

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use about 6 or 7 sprays of this on damp hair. Then I run a small amount of Living Proof style extender through my hair (1 tsp maybe). I let it air dry (to prevent a little damage from blowdrying) and then flat iron. After a day, I spray in dry shampoo 2x a day. This method keeps my spiral curly hair straight for 4-7 days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Andrika88 on 10/7/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by Andrika88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Background: I'm an Asian dude; with curly hair living in a very hot and humid country called Singapore. THIS can be considered as the best thus far. Got a bottle in Australia and went to test it straight away. It does qhat it claims though I didn't go a night without washing my hair. Perfect as it is; no frizz, NOTHING. I previously had something similar from Osis (which smelled like glue) but hell yeah this is better. After shower; towel dry your hair; and i really mean towel dry it to perhaps maybe 5 - 10% of moisture left. Spritz it on; brush it evenly through your hair (I use a Tangle Teezer) and let it sit for a min or two before blowdrying. Section your hair and iron it out. Apply some hair serum and re-iron and voila! Good hair day to last through the day and night!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tiger12 on 10/7/2014 12:53:00 PM more reviews by Tiger12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have discovered the BEST way to use this product!
Listen up girls,....
I have bleached hair, very dry and if left without styling is a non discript wave with a lovely of all over fine fluffy frizz.
I wash and condition my hair well, then I apply a pump of serum (Kerastase oil Elixir)
Then blowdry.
THEN once my hair is dry, I spray lightly all over the out layer of my hair with 3 day straight, wait for 3-4 mins whilst it dries and evapourates, THEN I use my GHDs !
I tell you, My hair is silkier than ever, even in rain, mist and humidity it stays without fluff and frazzles.
When I wake up the next day, I cannot not stop touching my hair it is sooo soft and silky AND straight. I wash my hair every other day as I get greasy scalp but I always do the same routine and it always looks great.
Ive tried using the 3 Day Straight before blowdrying BUT it does not go as fantastically as doing it after I blowdry with serem !
Just try it, you will see exactly what Im talking about xxx
Love from a silky smooth lady xxx


I

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 7/26/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, this is my first time using this type of product so I'll try to be brief and also fair. I have bra-strap length coloured, fine hair that has a bit of a wave. It only has to get a whiff of humidity to go slightly to moderately pear-shaped (euphemism for crap) and it's currently VERY humid here in London. So I washed it, conditioned, got it towel dry, sprayed this stuff exactly 7 times in different areas and brushed through from the scalp to the ends. Then I blasted it with the drier and straightened it. The first thing I noticed was straightening it was much quicker than normal. My hair was a tiny bit flatter than normal but it was very shiny and stayed very straight (not perfectly, but 'very') all day. I did not expect 3 days of straightness as I tend to wash my hair almost every day to keep it looking it's best, due to having a somewhat oily scalp, so I couldn't test the 3 day claim. And it's just as well, because by the very end of the day my hair felt greasy and limp. But for me it is a very good product. I'm not sure how long 100ml will last but as I don't straighten every day it's highly likely I'll buy it again as it's the first John Frieda product I haven't found too much fault with since his early days, way before Brilliant Brunette (yes, I'm that old!). Overall, I prefer L'Oreal Eversleek spray for straightening in humid conditions, as it doesn't weigh my hair down at all and make it limp the way 3 Day Straight does by the end of the day which means I can get away with using dry shampoo the next day. It has similar properties except it doesn't leave the hair as poker straight which I personally don't mind, but then it's not exactly the same kind of product. UPDATE: I'm using less product and getting the same very straight, extremely shiny hair but without any oiliness or limpness. I've found that for my hair type it works best after using just a light conditioner - non-keratin, no cones (Biolage Volumatherapie is ideal). Still expensive for the amount you get but I will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 curlykat on 7/3/2014 12:19:00 PM more reviews by curlykat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this about 4 times now so I feel I've had enough experience to give an accurate review from my perspective.

My hauir is thick, scraggly curly from crown down and almost afro with tight curls from crown and above. This crazy difference makes my hair a complete pain to deal with. People that don't know what I go through to get a good hair day think I have the most beautiful thick hair. They would love my hair .... if only they knew!

This product has changed the way I do my hair and I've been using products since I was 15 (I'm 41 now). To have pin straight hair you need to make sure every strand is covered BUT not oversaturate as that makes it thicker, sticky and you'll want to wash it sooner .... which we don't want to do at all right?! That in itself makes this product very tricky. You need to practice to get the best result. Is your hair typically not greasy and you can go 4+ days without washing it usually? If so this is perfect for you. I can go 4 or 5 days without washing usually but if you use too much of this it will stop that!

For straight hair - I section my hair off into about 8 sections and spray each section about twice. I have a LOT of hair though. If your hair is fine, and curly be careful how much you use. I then let it air dry for about an hour. Once I get the hairdryer out it's sooooo much easier to straighten. I'm not battling with the curls as much as i usually am. It's really brilliant. Then I use my flat iron (babyliss pro nano titanium with LED temperature settings up to 450F). I use the 430 setting I think. This part is a pain because again you have to make sure you get every single strand. I go over each 2" section about 4 times. I concentrate even more precision on the curliest part of my hair - crown and up.

Once you do this you'll have model/salon straight hair. It's unbelievable. It lasted me 5 washes but I found when I used too much product I *wanted* to wash it sooner because it felt big and poofy but every time I looked in the mirror it was still perfectly straight. After fighting with humidity for so many years it feels very weird to be sitting in a hot restuarant feeling your hair puff out and get bigger and drizzier and you reach for your elastic and go to the bathroom and your hair is perfect!

When I want to have wavy, bouncy curls that are even and easy I just use the spray and don't bother with the flat iron.

Wearing my hair both ways has changed the way I do my hair completely. I wish he would come out with a product that lasts even longer! Bottom line, know your hair, don't use too much and have fun.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brooklynbee on 6/27/2014 9:05:00 AM more reviews by brooklynbee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I can't believe this stuff actually works but it DOES! I have a LOT of thick, wavy, long hair that frizzes easily. I got a sample of this and tried it. It really does make your hair a LOT less frizzy and straighter. I used the product and blow-dried my hair - I didn't use a flat iron because I don't like my hair stick straight. On day 2 - 3 I touched it up with a clipless curling iron. I will definitely purchase when my sample runs out. And John Frieda products are really affordable, so that's another bonus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karriwhel on 1/29/2014 9:39:00 AM more reviews by karriwhel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff rocks it for me! I received this as a sample spray pump sized product that lasted me about a month. By the time I was done with the sample I was hunting this stuff down at the stores right away. I don't think I will ever go without again so please never ever discontinue!! PULLEEAAZZZE (this always happens to me!) So I have quite thick hair that is getting to be "old" a bit too processed so it tends to be frizzy and dull at times. Boy howdy this stuff perks my color & tames those cuticles right up! Now that being said I am not great at flat ironing my hair every time I use to complete this process of sealing the product as I do not always have the time for that, but I still find that if I only blow dry & skip the flat iron part it still makes my hair look better than before! Flat ironing does make it fantastic looking so go the extra mile with it & you won't be disappointed! Win Win.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Niki726 on 1/12/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Niki726

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have curly hair, but I do have poofy wavy hair that I have to straighten every single day. This stuff stays on my hair about 2 days because I'm a very oily person all over. The second day I don't have to do anything to my hair. I don't even have to touch it up with a flat iron. Great product, I just wish my hair wasn't so greasy :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sophiaclaarke on 12/30/2013 8:13:00 PM more reviews by sophiaclaarke

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

best straightener protection spray for us curly hair babies :))! before I found this I was using chi iron guard and tresemme sprays I hated how they made that sizzle sound and left my hair dull after straightening it UGH but when I used this I was instantly in love. it really does keep hair straight for the longest time! for example, I wash my hair once a week (I'm lucky enough to have hair that doesn't get oily fast) and it keeps it smooth &frizz free the whole week! I also live in a very humid state so it really helps fight humidity. I noticed the keratin really makes my hair so strong and shiny..Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judy46970 on 9/23/2013 8:40:00 AM more reviews by judy46970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have medium length, wavy hair that usually will not stay straightened after using my flat iron. I have tried many straightening products to no avail. I had a $3 off coupon on the 3-Day Straight, and I love John Frieda products. The label says to start with 8-15 sprays on wet/damp hair, then blow-dry straight, use flat iron.
I love this stuff! It makes my thin hair look fuller, shiny, and I tested it and it keeps my hair perfectly straight for three days! I will for sure be buying this product again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products