L'Oreal • Infallible - Burning Black 13 • Eye Shadow

rated 3.8(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzea on 5/22/2012 1:19:00 AM more reviews by lizzea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this line of pressed eyeshadows/pigments (whatever you want to call them!). This shade is gorgeous, a very deep burgundy that tends to show up as a deep brown on my tanned skin. A little goes a long way and while it looks very sparkly, it's actually very wearable and not glitter-ball-ish in any way at all. Lasts all day and applies best with fingers (as all of them do). I am not a fan of how it's packaged but mainly just because of my own personal clumsiness than any sort of downside to the packaging (it's just the way they have to store it I guess!). Love, love, love. Don't need to repurchase because there's so much packed in there!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 poetsdream7 on 5/9/2012 5:22:00 PM more reviews by poetsdream7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hope this color comes to the States soon.!!!! We should band together and start a petition or something!

Yayyyy! It's here in the form of Smoldering Plum!! And it's so gorgeous. This and Bronzed Taupe are my faves. Smoldering Plum is perfect for a smokey eye. I apply a small amount on my lids, then blend out with a lighter plum brown shadow in the crease. Finally, blend it all out w/ a warm soft brown as a gradient to the brow highlight. Love love love. If applied gently, can be daytime friendly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 narkiz on 4/16/2012 6:36:00 AM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a nice color but I hate its texture.I bought it mainly to use as an eyeliner with my 210 brush. The result is very disappointing. The brush does not absorb the e/s, you have to spend a lot of time to get a decent amount.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 3/30/2012 4:47:00 PM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Burning black is a black eye shadow that contains a red-purple shine to it.it does all together a deep purple-red with a black undertone.it's beautiful! It last verry long,it shines,perfect for a smokey eyes! It goes well with: purple,black,nude,silver,grey,gold eye shadows! Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 12/8/2011 10:47:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

You can dampen a synthetic flat brush to apply these or try them dry. Burning Black instantly caught my eye because I have to have all burgundy or reddish purple shadows that I see. These have a unique texture, which some might dislike because they give up on it easily. It's almost like a pressed cream pigment. I've seen Victoria's Secret sparkle shadows with a slightly drier texture, but they have the same concept. You can use them with fingers and blend them out more easily. They are in a pot form simply because if they weren't they would dry out in no time and might go dusty. It keeps air out, and the basic shadow compacts do not. Update: I don't think the USA will have this shade available. It is part of the European shades. What a shame... I think they need a burgundy in the line instead of one purple.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sambalina82 on 10/28/2011 6:16:00 PM more reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is one of only 2 eyeshadows that I never want to be without. I can see this lasting forever, as it is a highly pigmented shadow that is slightly damp, the slightest amount gives an intense look. A bit difficult to blend, but the end result far outweighs this minor disadvantage!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LookingGood85 on 9/22/2011 10:11:00 AM more reviews by LookingGood85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I *do* love this eyeshadow, and is the only eyeshadow I wear on a night out now!!! The pigment is fab, staying power great and the colour is amazing for my blue eyes (burning black has a slight burnt red shimmer to it). My only issue, hence the 4 lippies, is the blendability! i like to have a smokey eye effect, and I find with this its quite difficult to get a soft blended line, takes me ages with a contouring eye brush to blend!!! Also the fallout with this eyeshadow is quit bad for me, always end up with loads under my eyes and on my cheekbones, I even had to re-do my whole face apart from my eyes the other week it was that bad! Apart from those two though, this eyeshadow is great and lasts the whole night (even in bed! Ive slept in itand woken up with the same perfect eyeshadow lol)!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amarock on 8/25/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by amarock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited for this item to arrive in Canada! This is supposedly a reasonable dupe for the Armani Eyes To Kill eyeshadow concept. Although I've not tried the Armani ones in person, I can see from online photos that they offer a sophisticated selection of complex colours. But at about 4 times the price of the L'Oreal version, I decided to wait for the drugstore option. The regular price of this eyeshadow is $13 CAD, and I waited until they were on sale for $10 CAD before I took the plunge (I saw recently that they've lowered the regular price to $11 CAD, and there was a sale on for about $8.50 CAD). The pot holds 3.5g of product, and the product is made in Italy.


This particular colour, Burning Black, is a dark burgundy with a purple sheen. It applies quite dark on the lid, but can be blended down for a wearable smokey eye look. Today I paired this with MAC All That Glitters (peachy beige frost) which blended into the Burning Black and created a cool taupey colour that was very pretty. I'm really impressed with the wear of this eye shadow - over my regular primer and base (Lorac Behind the Scenes Eye Primer & MAC Paint Pot in Soft Ochre), it lasted all day with absolutely no creasing or fading. The powder feels very smooth and mousse-like - it is highly pigmented with almost no fall out. I apply this eyeshadow with a clean dry finger and then blend it out with a crease brush. For a more intense look, it can be used wet and patted onto the eyelid (I have not tried this yet).


I do wish there was a better selection of neutral colours - the current colour selection includes a white, champagne, warm brown and a silver... but I wish there was a true taupe or a cool brown. However, the available colours are quite impressive and at least one colour in the mix would appeal to anyone. The colours available in Canada are: Time Resist White, Hourglass Beige, Forever Pink, Purple Obsession, All Night Blue, Unlimited Sky, Permanent Kaki, Endless Chocolat, Burning Black (this review), Eternal Black, Flash Back Silver (search online for swatches). I recommend this product and would purchase more - most likely the next colour for me would be "Endless Chocolate".

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slok87 on 3/19/2011 1:48:00 PM more reviews by slok87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

The L'Oreal Infallible Eyeshadows are all very pigmented, rich and dense. The texture is like a pressed pigment; very smooth but also very workable and easy to apply a fair amount of pigment. This does not crease on me when applied over Too Faced Shadow Insurance primer.


Burning Black is a dark, warm, nearly-black shot with deep red and purple shimmer, very similar to MAC Beauty Marked but better; this is probably what a lot of people who were disappointed with Beauty Marked wished it had been like. The purple and red tones are more apparent in Burning Black and it does not just look like a black shadow; it is a blackened burgundy-purple. This is great for smoky eyes and lining the eyes.


Packaging is very good; a small pot with a twist-off lid that also has a plastic cover over the actual pan of shadow. This keeps the shadow dust from getting all over the inside of the lid and then in the threads of the jar, which is what usually makes a huge mess with pots of eyeshadow. Because this isn't a flip compact, it probably won't crack, shatter or break in travel.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products