Chanel • Rouge Coco Shine - Liberte • Lipstick

rated 3.8(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SanjaFika on 12/21/2012 8:36:00 AM more reviews by SanjaFika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love PINK! I have been in love with any kind of pink since birth and most of my purchases (makeup or otherwise) are heavily influenced by my fixation. I dont even know if pink works for me or if its suited for my colouring - if its pinky or has pink in the name, chances are i will own it at some point...During my recent beauty clear-out i dicovered that my obsession is getting a tad-bit out of control...unused pink lipsticks/glosses galore while other colour options were limited to say the least. Being the diligent beauty collector i decided it was high time to build a wearable lipstick wardrobe that wont collect dust on the vanity and could inspire more versatility in my makeup looks! Ok i needed an excuse to buy more lippies....
I own several Chanel Rouge Coco Shines (mostly pink or nude) so i knew experimenting with colour within this range was doable since the lipsticks are so sheer, shiny,classy and usually a good investment (if you know what you are getting!). The low ratings all seem to revolve around pigmentation but i want to respectfully remind everyone that even Chanel describes these as sheer & glossy. The texture reminds me more of a tinted balm then a lipstick - its moisturizing on its own, adds a touch of colour, shiny finish, all of which results in low staying power (3-4 hours on me).
Liberte was my first Coral-like shade and even though the pink-lover in me resisted i ordered it sight-unseen and discovered a whole new side to me. Due to its sheerness this lipstick is so versatile that i find works with almost any look - daytime especially, office approved but can easily be used at night too, due to the gloss factor :)
As long as you know you are getting a very sheer lipstick then i say try it - especially if you are trying to expand your colour horizons like me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 goldrauschengel on 8/25/2012 6:36:00 AM more reviews by goldrauschengel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited to try the new "shine" versions of rouge coco but found the formula less silky and more drying than the original rouge cocos, which I love. The glossy shine is nice but as most reviewers here have written, it really wears off quickly. Add to that the somewhat lame colour, and I won't be repurchasing...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ivyxoxo on 6/11/2012 2:16:00 AM more reviews by Ivyxoxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful color and OK moist. Doesn't go well with deep tanned skin tho.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ltnla on 6/5/2012 11:12:00 AM more reviews by ltnla

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very pretty coral-y pink, or pinky coral. Nice glossy look and feel when you first apply. But not that moisturizing, at least on my lips it feels like it just sits there and doesn't sink in. And like many have commented, it really doesn't last through a cup of coffee or water (I don't mean it's totally gone, just that there's little of the "loveliness" left). Very pretty color for spring or summer, but nothing all that special. I'd give this a 4 if it were a drugstore product, but I expect more from Chanel, and for the price. So will gladly use this up but won't be re-buying (I also have Sari D'eau, which is a much deeper coral and seems to last longer...but maybe that's just wishful thinking on my part).
Edit 6/14: OK, changing to 4 (from 3; I was a bit harsh before). Still stand by all my earlier comments, but I find myself using this a lot lately.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darkmist on 1/25/2012 12:07:00 AM more reviews by darkmist

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I originally bought the Coco Rouge Shine in Evasion but I exchanged it for Liberte because Evasion barely showed up on my pigmented lips - just a very faint pink with high shine. Liberte, on the other hard, shows up as a lovely glossy peach-coral on me! I love the smooth buttery formula and absolutely adore getting the gloss shine without the stickiness and messiness of actual gloss (and why I never wear gloss). You can really build the colour - I can either get a hint of coral and gentle glossy look or a much brighter peachy coral lip with max shine. Looks stunning during the spring and summer! I only said I wouldn`t repurchase because I`d rather try other Chanel lipstick colours lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 saban on 1/24/2012 2:42:00 AM more reviews by saban

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a great gloss and it feels moisturizing but it seems more like a glorified tinted balm.

I love the color as it's bright but sheer and the floral smell quickly dissipates. But I find that I'm having to reapply this many times throughout the day while most glosses/balms I reapply only after I eat.

Pretty color, great formula but too expensive to not last longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninadelsol on 1/14/2012 3:09:00 AM more reviews by ninadelsol

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this coral-peach-pink shade and the packaging but the formula is a little bit drying on my lips and gives me only 2-3 hours wear. :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ashnkb8 on 9/27/2011 8:59:00 PM more reviews by Ashnkb8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this color after I bought boy which I love. The store clerk gave me samples of all four colors and I fell for this color too. It has a nice shimmer to it and is more bright than boy. It's not over bearing in color so you can apply more layers to get a richer color if you like. The formula doesn't dry out my lips they feel great And hydrated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sleepeystar on 8/23/2011 3:12:00 AM more reviews by sleepeystar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love corals, but Liberte didn't make me fall head over heels with it after my first wear. It didn't outdo my Clarins' Hydra Nude Rouge in Pastel Coral; Chanel Coco Shine is less moisturizing, smells "Grandma-like", it is in a shade of striking coral that under different lighting conditions I risk looking like a clown cos it comes across as overly bright. The packing is beautiful and sleek though, it can fit into the tiniest purse. I bought this from Beijing DFS and costs about SGD$10 cheaper than over our retail counters, so that's a saving grace.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kryptonitewhale on 6/9/2011 1:17:00 AM more reviews by kryptonitewhale

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been generally scared of coral lipsticks until I ran into this. The color is amazing, and it feels like you're just wearing lip balm. Despite what others have said I think the staying power is quite good, it seems to leave a slight tint and shine on my lips after several hours. Expensive... but oh so worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Lipstick products