Cover Girl • Lip Perfection in Darling • Lipstick

rated 3.8(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Cherryferry on 3/24/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by Cherryferry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I previously wrote a rather critical review of the Covergirl lip perfection range as a whole. I disliked the frosted finish so much, and I found that the colours were quick to lose their vibrancy once they were on my lips and therefore looked dull. However, I cannot deny that the Darling lipstick proved to be the exception to my rule.

This was the first lipstick from the range that I bought and the one which prompted my ill-advised purchase of four other colours from the range. Darling is a muted pink colour, a little brighter than a baby pink but still natural enough to pull off as a nude. It also has a frosted finish but due to its light colour it is not overly noticeable. I have heard from others that they use this colour as a cream blush. This colour is too dark on my cheeks when I do this, though I'm certain that my ridiculously pale skin is more to blame for this than the lipstick itself, which indeed both applies and blends beautifully.

I like to wear this lipstick when I'm just having a quiet day. It does brighten your face and I feel that it lasts a good length of time given its price (about 3 hours without eating). I also liked the packaging, which makes the colour easy to identify.

However, I am not convinced that I'd repurchase it. There isn't necessarily anything wrong with the lipstick, it just isn't my taste. I'll certainly use up the tube. I'd recommend it to friends looking for a new lipstick. But, for me, I'm just gonna save up that little bit more and head onto my happy place (aka MAC) the next time that my makeup bag is calling out for a new lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ladypamela1 on 9/9/2013 7:31:00 AM more reviews by ladypamela1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as a cream blush after seeing a youtube on it. She said something about the formula makes these lipsticks ideal as a rouge and I have to agree. I found it too frosty as a lipstick tho I loved the color of it. On the cheeks it is absolutely creamy gorgeousness with more of a glow than a shimmer! It lasts longer than my Nyx cream blush. Of course if you love it as a lipstick you have a well coordinated lip/cheek combo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkIcing1 on 3/23/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by PinkIcing1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This lipstick is a beautiful natural looking pink that looks great with my light skin. It goes on smoothly and has great staying power. It feels good on my lips as well. I wasn't expecting such a great lipstick from the drugstore!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BizzyBunny on 6/1/2012 9:10:00 PM more reviews by BizzyBunny

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Great nude shade to compliment cool smokey eyes for fair skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emilily on 5/19/2012 8:41:00 PM more reviews by emilily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the quintessential MLBB shade on me. I think it's a bit brightening - my boyfriend claims he can't see it on me. So perfect. Creamy as well. I have cool undertones but might not work so well on warm undertones. These feel so comfy on my lips as well - bearing in mind I have no issues with dry or chapped lips.
I just wish it was matte like it looked in the tube!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EyeshadowArtist on 4/10/2012 5:27:00 PM more reviews by EyeshadowArtist

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me first say that I love lipstick in general. I adore it. My ideal lipstick is
-long lasting
-doesn't settle onto dry skin
-creamy
-no shimmer

This lipstick is not my ideal one. (I'd be surprised if I ever found it.) First off, the swatches on the website? LIES. It looks mauve there, and I originally wasn't going to get it. But when I dropped by Walgreens, it was the last one, so I picked it up, compared it to the color I wanted, and bought it. So. It's more of a ballerina pink, first off, which isn't what I was looking for. At my school they gossip about you if you were obvious lipstick, so I usually wear a color that is pinky natural, but doesn't last long and has been discontinued. (Almay Stay Smooth anti-chap Lipcolor in Blushing (14)) It's a mauvey-pink that looks amazing on me, and I've been looking for a match ever since. This is the closest that I've gotten. My ratings below are:

Last power - This took me a while to figure out actually, it's sort of strange, but I like it. When you first put it one, it lasts for about 90 minutes, and fades off. So I reapplied, and when I got out of class (80 minutes later), I looked in my mirror, and this was a surprise. There was no more creamy lipstick on, but a stain. The stain was a darker pink, and lasted for about four hours. After eating, make sure to wipe your lips completely, no matter what, and reapply. Sometimes there's sneaky color that'll go dark when you reapply. 3/5

Settling - as long as your lips don't have flakes hanging off, in which case invest in some Labello, then this will look fine. 5/5

Texture - So creamy! It's so comfortable on my lips, and I don't even feel that it's there after I put it on. Also, it doesn't re-apply itself to cups or anything, even if you put it on a few seconds earlier. 5/5

Shimmer - If there's a shimmer, it's subtle enough that I haven't noticed it at all. 5/5

Cons - It doesn't smell great. It really isn't noticeable, but if you are one of those people who can't stand even the slightest whiff of crayon, avoid these. It doesn't bother me too much, but I do wish it was scentless, or at least a nicer scent. Second, I wish the creamy look would last long - it delivers long lasting color, but I wish it would stay the same color, instead of going all dark. Be careful when re applying!

Also, Packaging - doesn't open by itself, firm, and pretty. 5/5
I recommend this product wholeheartedly!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetfairygirl on 3/10/2012 3:58:00 PM more reviews by violetfairygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Color specific review: This actually sat in my makeup drawer for several months - I had picked it up hoping it would look like more of a nude on me, and it's definitely not that. The color swatch on the bottom of the tube would lead you to believe it's a natural, kind of mauvey-blah shade. Don't be fooled! From the reviewers below, it definitely pulls more pink on everyone - on me, dark hair and eyes and NC25 skin (yellow undertones), it's a cool-toned, understated pink. I didn't notice the shimmer mentioned on other reviews, but that could just be how the formula wears on my lips.


With a couple dabs of a shimmery pink gloss on top, this is a perfect color for a soft, romantic look, to complement a defined neutral eye. It's definitely rocking my messy braid and t-shirt lazy Saturday. I feel like I should be whispering sweet nothings in my husbands' ear while he feeds me chocolates.


Formula wise, I'm so-so on how these wear on me. They seem to have an odd "obviously lipstick" texture on my lips, and I usually have to add a gloss or balm on top so they look more natural. I'm not sure if it's the formula, or just the finish of the particular shades I own. The lasting power is pretty solid, they're not a long lasting product so I don't expect hours upon hours out of them. On the other hand, they run about $5-$6 USD per tube, so they're priced fairly. I don't wear them often enough to speak to their claims of improving lip texture.


The color range is extensive, so these are a great way to inexpensively try out some brighter, more daring colors without having to drop $20 on something that may not work for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 12/20/2011 8:41:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

What it Claims:
"Enriched with Silk Moisturizing Complex, our formula helps sustain levels of moisture and helps create soft, smoother, beautiful lips in just 7 days.* "


Claims: True or False?
1) Softer, smoother lips in 7 days: True


Packaging:
This lipstick comes in a very classic-looking tube, very simplistic in design. The lid and neck of the lipstick are both a dark, reflective, greyed-out purple. The downside is that this will pick up fingerprint marks very quickly. The container also has a clear bottom, which is extended about a centimetre up the height of the tube. This allows you to more easily see the colour of the product for buyers who are unable to look at testers (which are used in all Canadian drug stores and department stores). Another potential downside is the lack of ingredients on the label. The lid snaps on and off very easily and seems like it would be fairly secure for travel as well. It turns and dispenses the lipstick smoothly.


Consistency:
This is a nicely pigmented cream with a hint of frostiness. The more applied, the frostier it will look, and the more it will bring out any lines (or product build-up when it comes to reapplication) on the lips. I'm able to get opaque coverage with 1-2 swipes. This is one of three lipsticks I currently own from the line, and like the others it swatches a bit differently than it looks in the tube or in the little display window. In the tube it looks like a medium toned dusty rose, which was what I was hoping for. On my hands it swatches as a slightly brighter rose, but on my lips it swatches more as a brighter berry rose bubblegum hybrid. Its brightness is most pronounced in natural lighting, looking more muted in certain artificial lighting set-ups. It goes on with a nice creamy feel, and after a few hours it dries down to a more matte feel, with a semi-matte finish. Even though it is a lighter shade, it will slightly stain the lips. I don't love the slight frostiness, but it's only noticeable when too much is applied. It feels nice and comfortable on the lips as well. In my lip swatch photo uploaded above, I've applied a few swipes (more than I'd use now that I've played with the lipstick a bit more), and you can see that those 2-3 swipes covered up the pomegranate staining on the inside of my lip and the small cut.


Scent:
This line seems to contain a lot of lipsticks with a strong fragrance. It initially smelled quite strong, almost like fake vanilla, and has a weird cheap-lipstick smell and taste as well. Over time though the smell has either faded or I've simply gotten used to it. The scent has not yet bothered me with its application.


Wear time:
This lipstick wears nicely, giving me at least a few hours of the initial creaminess before wearing away. The colour will remain far longer though, although as it is a lighter shade it might require a bit more touching up than the line's darker counterparts. I get no dryness from this either, my lips feel and look no different compared to not wearing anything (aside from the staining of course).


Bang for your Buck:
I got this lipstick for about $8.00CAD for 3.5grams or 0.12oz. This is slightly less than some brands, but the price is fairly good for the amount given, since so little needs to be used to get a smooth and opaque finish.


Final Consensus:
The Lip Perfection line has some great lipsticks. This was my first lipstick from the line, and it made a great introductory lipstick: a more neutral colour with a nice bright kick. I don't love the finish, and I do wish the shade were truer to the more muted rose seen in the tube, but those few quibbles don't detract from the positive qualities of this lipstick. A nice starter shade and formula for newbies to lipsticks and long-time wearers alike!
- Pros: Easy to apply, nice packaging, affordable, opaque in one swipe, creamy, blends nicely, doesn't dry out the lips, colour lasts for a long time
- Cons: Stains lips, slight cheap smell/taste, colour swatches differently than it looks in the tube, slight frostiness (this is a personal preference criteria, and thus did not apply to my rating of the overall product).


Overall Rating: 4.5/5
Price: 1/5
Packaging Quality: 4/5
Would you buy this product again: Yes.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 poetry__obscene on 10/26/2011 3:21:00 PM more reviews by poetry__obscene

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I like the packaging and the formula of this lipstick, but it turns extremely frosty on the lips. In the tube it looks like it has a very small amount of shimmer, but when you put it on it becomes disgustingly frosty. Yuck. Without all the frostiness this would be a beautiful color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 taylorwest on 10/21/2011 11:11:00 AM more reviews by taylorwest

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

First, I have to say that this is a really creamy, extremely long-wearing, highly pigmented lipstick, especially considering the price. I think I got it for around $5. The color was brighter than I expected, kind of a med berry pink, but I found it really brightened up my complexion, and I'm going back to it more often than I expected. I have fair skin and very light blond hair, and the color really works for me--and you can't beat the quality for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Lipstick products