Hard Candy • Lash Ink - 4 Day Lash Stain • Mascara

rated 2.6(53 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 9/4/2014 2:39:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This did not work as stated. It did not tint my lashes it was more like a cheap waterproof mascara.
My lashes clumped easily and it did not last even a full day.
It was still on but it was not flattering. It also was not enough to skip the need for mascara, and if I tried to use mascara on top of this it was a clumpy mess. not good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 justamurmur on 8/8/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by justamurmur

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate writing a negative review about anything (especially after reading so many positive ones about this product), but this was terrible.

My lashes are very long (thanks to faithful use of Revitalash), but they are very fine and light in color. I was looking for something that would "tint" or "stain" them and I thought this might be a winner.

In my experience, it seems this is basically waterproof mascara - not at all what I wanted nor is it what the product name suggests. The application was very messy and made my lashes clump together, even after wiping the excess off the wand.

You never want to "feel" your makeup while wearing it, but I was constantly aware of this mascara on my lashes and was counting down the seconds until I could remove it. Unfortunately, when I finally took it off after wearing for only a few hours, loads of my lashes broke off from brittleness and a very noticeable amount came out! No fun trying to disguise bald spots in your lash line.

I'm glad this works for some, but it did not work for me. Won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Smithereens on 7/10/2014 2:04:00 AM more reviews by Smithereens

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara takes a bit of getting used to, it is very watery and the brush is not very good at separating the lashes individually, however using an eyelash comb after a light application from not quite the root to tip makes it all worth it. It stays incredibly well, even with rubbing, and comes off very well when I use coconut oil. I usually do a light application then brush through so that all my eyelashes get a coat from root to tip, then move to the other eye and then reapply once the first coat is dry (usually after I have finished combing through the other eye) and brush again. It takes longer than regular mascara but has a great payoff. Another thing I will add is that it looks good until about day three. I wouldn't go a full four days unless I was camping and away from makeup. Overall a good product though tricky to get the hang of.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 doxiemomma on 7/4/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by doxiemomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Hard Candy was my first experience with a lash stain, so of course I had no idea what to expect. I have light skin, and my lashes are very light also. I LOVED the way this product darkened my lashes enough that I could see that they actually existed ;D. It totally lived up to its claim that it lasts for 4 days without smearing or flaking. Even though I am a belly sleeper, I woke up each day without having to touch up. I even noticed that my lashes felt soft, not hard and cakey when I wore it. I had a very natural, clean makeup look all week, And my makeup routine went so much faster, and easier.
On the other hand, removing this product is just a little more difficult, as you can't just wash it off, And after researching several different ( and expensive) products with spotty reviews, it hit me.... Instead of spending lots of money on an expensive, commercially made product, just use plain old coconut oil on a washcloth, or baby wipe. It does take a few minutes, and don't tug or pull on your lashes, because you WILL pull them out, But with just a little patience, the coconut oil takes it right off, a jar will last for a VERY long time, and my delicate eye area is instantly moisturized.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mitogen on 4/23/2014 4:02:00 PM more reviews by mitogen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hard Candy Lash Ink is great for darkening and defining your eyelashes. There's a learning curve. Practice until you find a technique that works for you. Lash Ink is ideal for those who dislike the severe, caked-on look of most mascaras. With one or two coasts, lashes look slightly longer and thicker. I create a more dramatic look by adding multiple coats, allowing each coat to slightly dry in between coats. I also use a metal-toothed lash comb to separate my lashes in between coats. Make sure not to wait until lashes are completely dry to comb them because they'll be very hard to separate. I'm Asian and my lashes are stick straight and long, but sparse. I use a regular eyelash curler before mascara, then a heated eyelash curler to get a strong, lifted curl. Although it takes time to do these steps, I really like the result: long, natural, defined, slightly glossy black lashes that stay curled. The slight shine is a subtle, but important. I dislike the matte look of some mascaras. It looks like mud! Also, there are no tiny clumps or flaking, something I find in most mascaras. The best feature is that is rarely smudges! Mascaras always smudge on me, even waterproof versions. Lash Ink stays put for most of the day. I prefer to take it off at the end of the day. The times I left it on overnight, I'd wake up with my eyelashes all stuck to each other. One last tip, when newly opened, there may be too much mascara on the brush. I use a clean piece of paper (Post-It sized) to blot the brush. You'll have the perfect amount of mascara left on the brush. Don't use a tissue or the tissue fibers will get all over the brush. Overall, this mascara is great for beautiful, natural looking eyelashes that don't smudge!

8/8/14 Update: I bought a new tube of Lash Ink a couple months ago and discovered that Hard Candy changed the brush! It's now a plastic comb type brush and it's awful. There's so much product on the brush that you end up with wet, spiky lashes. It's a huge mess and I nearly threw it away. Since I still had my old tube of Lash Tint, I washed the old brush and was able to use it with the new tube. This works perfectly! If I didn't like the formula so much, I wouldn't go to all this trouble. I'm now downgrading my ratings and only recommend Lash Stain if you have the patience to either replace the brush with the old brush like I did or use disposable brushes with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mmmaggie on 4/6/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by mmmaggie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Lash Ink I thought would be perfect. I don't need length so lets just dye my lashes and that would be that... or so I thought. Unfortunately, the classy packaging does not reflect the product. The mascara is super light and think like an ink but unfortunately it runs like ink too. The mascara doesn't stain either... so not long lasting at all. Nice idea but a failed Gimmick

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GirlyGirl143 on 3/4/2014 5:25:00 AM more reviews by GirlyGirl143

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I tried hard to like this product. I have very watery eyes so I am always trying to find the "perfect" mascara solution for my bottom lashes. Let me say that this is not really a mascara, just a stain. It will do NOTHING for length, volume or curl. I used it for a couple of weeks and noticed that it did not last for an entire 4 days. It did not smear or run, but it was kind of flakey. It was possible to remove it with makeup remover. I tried to use it to color my upper lashes as well and found that it was just a mess. The formula is very liquid-y, and when I tried to wipe the excess product from the brush it made a huge mess by spashing everywhere. It is not buildable. Even if you let the first layer completely dry the second layer will clump like you woudn't believe. Also, I am a belly sleeper and when I woke up my eye lashes were mangled in a curly/clumpy mess from this product. It is not worth messing with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tp0819 on 2/6/2014 5:24:00 AM more reviews by Tp0819

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

This stuff gives you zero length or volume. It just darkens your lashes, which is what I expected, but since it said it was a "stain," I thought it would be a very thin liquid type consistency, but of course it has the consistency of a mascara, so you look like you have mascara on but your eyelashes are super short and thin and get clumpy if you use too much.
Not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 agconnors on 11/16/2013 2:43:00 AM more reviews by agconnors

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm back! So last night I went to the Marine Corps Ball and I wore lash ink and false lashes. my eye makeup stated so perfect. I didn't feel the drying like I did the first time nor itchiness. after doing they eye-shadow I placed the false lashes and then used the lash ink. my husband said he didn't notice I was wearing it until I asked and it looked beautiful. the package is Ok I guess they want to distinguish it from their other mascara products.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JRMT on 9/22/2013 8:10:00 PM more reviews by JRMT

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this product definitely has its place in the market. The idea of a lash stain is fairly new to me. I think I tried Neutrogena's one years ago and wasn't very impressed. I think anyone trying this product has to keep in mind that you really shouldn't compare it to mascara, because they have different purposes. This product is not meant to build a lot of length or volume, it is meant to darken your existing lashes. Now that I've said that piece, I will get on with it.

I absolutely loved this product!!! I am a girl who wears makeup whenever I leave the house for anything. But I also like to do outdoorsy stuff and I feel like carrying around a bunch of makeup while camping, backpacking, etcetera is really silly. As I was preparing for a 4-day backpacking trip, I was looking for options in makeup that would allow me to pack as little as possible and I came across this product. I didn't have time to do a test drive, so I just went for it. Reading all the claims on the packaging about its longevity and indestructible nature made me think there is no way it is going to do all that, but it actually did.

Application: After curling my lashes, I used a clean Q-tip to wipe my lashes the best I could. (I read that any oils or lotion can prevent it from adhering to your lashes properly.) I applied this with a gentle hand and more in straight strokes than the typical wiggle back and forth method like you would a mascara. I then used a clean wand from an old mascara to comb it out and separate the lashes. After doing both eyes this way I did it again the exact same way for a second coat. Make sure to wipe off any product you get on your skin immediately as it is hard to get off. My lashes are pretty light in color naturally, so this product just made it look like I had natural looking long, dark lashes. I wasn't trying to look like I had tons of mascara on, so this was perfect.

Testing it out:
Day 1: drove 2 hours with the windows down, then hiked up a very steep mountain with lots of bush-wacking with a pack on. By the time we got to the top I was super sweaty. I wiped my face down with a makeup wipe that night.
Day 2: Woke up in the morning to nice, dark looking lashes. NO flaking at all. More hiking. Went to a waterfall. Stood under the water in the waterfall for quite a while, then went swimming. The lash tint stayed put. No running or flaking off. Then more hiking/sweating. Wiped face down with a makeup wipe before bed.
Day 3: More hiking/sweating. Lashes looking a little less perky than day 1, but still dark and no flaking under the eyes.
Day 4: Came home from backpacking and drove with the windows down for 2.5 hours. Lashes starting to look a little dry like they would if you slept in mascara, but nothing horrible. The stain had worn off of the tips of the lashes, but still looked dark at the base. I still haven't noticed any flaking.
*I never reapplied the product after day 1 and never used mascara over the top.

While I wouldn't compare this to a great mascara in terms of great looking lashes, I love this for low maintenance beauty. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants dark looking lashes for camping, going to the beach or gym, running a race, etc. This would also be great for staying over at your boyfriend's (or girlfriend's) place if you don't want him/her to see you with no makeup on. This way you could wash your face and still look a bit put together with just tinted moisturizer and lip balm/gloss.

For anyone who has naturally dark lashes that are long or thick, I don't think you will get anything out of this, so don't waste your money. Just enjoy your naturally amazing lashes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Mascara products