Wen by Chaz Dean Pomegranate Cleansing Conditioner

3.3

28 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Organic Aloe Vera Leaf Juice, Pomegranate Extract, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Chamomile Extract, Marigold Flower Extract, Wild Cherry Fruit Extract, Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Cetyl Alcohol, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B5), Sweet Almond Oil, PEG-60 Almond Glycerides, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Menthol, Glycerin, Amodimethicone, Polysorbate-60, Fragrance, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylisothiazolinone, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Citric Acid


on 1/18/2015 8:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I have virgin Asian hair that is just above my shoulders and I've gone through over half my bottle (a couple weeks of use) of the cleansing conditioner. I have never treated my hair and I do not use any styling products. I limit my use of heat styling as well. I received this as a gift from an aunt that dyes her hair regularly and has found this product works well for her. However, my needs are different and while this cleansed my hair and left it soft, it isn't appreciably different than a sulfate-free shampoo for me.

Aside from the performance of this product, I find the entire process to be long and involved. From the website (http://www.wen.com/how-to-use.html) and these directions are also available on the label of the bottle:

"Step 1: Rinse hair thoroughly. Apply WENŽ into your palms and rub together. Use 10-16 pumps for short hair, 16-24 for medium length hair and 24-32 pumps for long hair. If your hair is longer/thicker you may need to increase the amount of pumps.

Step 2: Apply to scalp and hair, adding a splash of water to evenly distribute. WENŽ has no harsh detergents or sodium lauryl sulfate, so it won't lather. Massage thoroughly into hair and leave on for the remainder of your shower.

Step 3: Rinse thoroughly and completely, massaging scalp and running fingers through to the ends.

Additional usage tips: Apply 1/2 to 1 pump depending on hair length and texture as a leave-in conditioner to soaking wet hair. For best results, we highly suggest you cleanse, rinse and repeat, using half the recommended pumps for the first cleanse, and the remaining half for the second cleanse. Unlike many ordinary shampoos, you may find you don't need to cleanse as often."

It's an incredibly large amount of product that the company suggests using, and they recommend it is split up into 2 cleanses. The big draw of a cleansing conditioner, for me, would be that it is easier and quicker than the normal shampoo-and-conditioner combination. However, if I have to apply it 2 times, that convenience factor goes away. When I use all of the product at once, just for a single cleanse, I don't find my hair is completely cleansed either.

At the moment, my hair is even short enough that I've been skipping the conditioner when I use a shampoo so this process is much longer than a quick shampoo. My hair is softer with the cleansing conditioner, but if I really want soft hair I can just add a drop of argan oil to my ends and it works just as well. I have used wen as a leave-in conditioner and it does make my hair even softer, but that is my experience with leave-in conditioners in general.

Overall, this product meets the expectations of each product it is purporting to take the place of (shampoo, conditioner, leave-in conditioner). However the results are not noticeably different, and the application process is lengthy and involved. This may work better on someone else's drier hair, but for me I don't plan on purchasing in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/8/2014 2:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Another one of my Wen favorite CC's!!

This CC works really nice on my 3b natural spiral curls,I love the scent and results...frizz free curls,volume and shine!!!

Works great as a leave in conditioner too!!

As far as using this CC I go based on feel vs how many pumps directed on the bottle.

I will say that after using Wen vs regular shampoo & conditioner (even sulfate free ones) Wen is for me. I get so much better results and a lot of compliments on my hair and Rinsing with cool water works the best with the Wen CC's!!!

100% repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Pomegranate is my favorite (next to the new Bamboo Green Tea) from the Wen permanent line. Good for all hair types, so it offers a nice balance of hydration and volume for my very dry scalp and hair that is very fine but thick in distribution. Good base for any otherregular collection or seasonal cleansing conditioner that you might want to use from the Wen line. This is soy-based and gluten-free, so it's safe for those who can be sensitive or outright allergic to those things! Great prouduct


on 1/4/2014 2:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Just finished a 16 oz bottle of Wen pomegranate cleansing conditioner. Works great on my color treated waist long hair. I do need to use a LOT of pumps but I only find I need to wast my hair every 3 days with Wen so I feel it's an even balance. Smells great. There is a little tingle secondary to menthol...but nothing major. My only problem is half the pump doesn't work well, and I have to thin the product with water to get it going again. (thus adding more pumps of the product). Hair is clean and not greasy. I air dry 90% of the time, but if I blow dry I do follow up with 2-3 drops of Wen oil. Overally very pleased with Wen product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2013 1:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Most of the bad reviews are coming from, what I have experienced, lack of using the product right.
My hair is naturally brown with hints of red. I have dyed it black, then went blonde, permed it, highlighted it, pretty much all of that, and Wen is great!

Crispy ends- most likely you did not rub the product in the ends long or well enough. Make sure you add more product to the ends, not just all at the top. Flip your head over in the shower and really massage your scalp to your ends. And then make sure you really rinse it out well after. Comb your hair in the shower to make sure your getting water all through the ends.

Greasy- Not rinsing well enough or product build up. Wen is soft, not harsh, so if your the type to use all these finishing products such as hairspray, finishing cream, ect, you need a stronger rinse once a week.Use white vinegar to rinse your hair out once a week, it helps get rid of gunk and make your hair soft.

The reason I did not give it 5 was its expensive and you have to use a lot of product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2013 10:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I found a WEN product that worked for me. Again, the same nice friend gave me this to try. I have thick, long, mostly straight hair that goes past my shoulders a bit. I'm not looking for volume, just something to tame my occasional frizz and add shine. WEN pomegranate delivered. I think there is less menthol in this than in the cucumber aloe one as I smelled it but barely felt it on my scalp. I take the off-beaten path and don't follow the directions to a T. I use 6 pumps on my hair, focusing on the bottom half of my hair, and then I use one pump on the hair at the nape of my neck and one pump for my roots and massage for a couple of minutes. Then I do the splash of water to "activate" then go about shaving, washing my face, etc. then rinse out afterwards. My hair feels great when it dries--I let it air dry, never blow dry. If I still have a little bit of frizz, I use a dime-sized amount of the pomegranate styling creme and my hair looks shiny and healthy. No greasy roots!


on 9/28/2013 11:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is the Best thing you can do for your hair!! Make sure you use the styling creme too! If you do exactly what Chaz instructs, your hair will look fabulous!! Check out the instructions in QVC or YouTube. It takes getting use to but it is well worth it. I will never use shampoo again!!!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2013 12:53:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Because of cost, I would never buy this but I received it as a gift. I was excited to try it due to all the hype but I had my doubts.

I had mixed results. I don't color my hair, which is fine, thick and wavy - oily at the roots and dry on the ends. The first time I used it, my hair felt and looked beautiful after styling. However it went flat fairly quickly.

By the second use this stuff had built up on my hair and made it feel slightly goopy and really dragged it down. I tried using regular shampoo with the Wen as a light leave-in conditioner, but still too heavy and goopy.

I went back to regular shampoo and conditioner, and I use the Wen once every six weeks or so, when the ends of my hair start to feel dry and frizzy.

When it's gone I won't buy a replacement.


on 1/1/2013 3:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I rarely write reviews these days. But I got this bottle of Wen Pomegranate on a real deal, I had always wanted to try it, but the heft price tag always deterred me.

I read the instructions and started to pump the stuff into my palm. It says to use 15-18, but at about 13-14 I stopped, you don't really need that much! I have thick hair that goes past my shoulders and I had a sufficient amount.

I glooped it onto my wet hair, let it sit for 5 minutes like the instructions said. It didn't foam much. It certainly didn't lather. How was this going to clean my hair?

When I rinsed it out, my hair didn't feel silky smooth as it sometimes does with a conditioner full of silicones. I was a bit skeptical.

After I towel dried, I didn't add more conditioner, i only used the Wen styling creme.

I then let my hair air dry, curled it and it looked pretty good. Shiny but nothing so great.

The morning after I shampooed, I felt my hair. It was very soft and quite shiny. Two days after, the softness is still there.

I've only tried this shampoo/conditioner once, but if it keeps this up, it's really great. I have read the other reviews saying that it weighs down your hair or that it causes hair loss. I will try the bottle and update. So far so good, loving this product. Not sure it's worth the price tag, you can get other shampoos without sulfates in it these days!
e


on 12/28/2012 11:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

First of all, I don't use the Guthy Renker version - I buy from QVC. There is a formulation difference and I think they "cheapened" up the Guthy Renker formula to make more $$. And I'm not getting my bank account tied up in their autobill crap either. I love QVC and their easy pays and their return policy! Anyway, I love the scent of this! It's fruity but not overly sweet which is wonderful for me. I didn't think I'd like the menthol but it provides a bit of balance to the scent, and I like it!!! It's not as moisturizing as the other formulas (Lavender is my HG) but I like it. I'm wondering if my hair likes the wheat based formulas better than the soy based formulas. Pomegranate and the seasonals is soybased if you were wondering.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Products


Moroccan Oil
809 Reviews
Deep Repair Mask
308 Reviews
Almond Oil
45 Reviews


Back to Top