Maybelline • Define-A-Line Soft Black • Eyeliner

rated 2.4(14 reviews)

Average Rating.2.4
Would buy this product again.35%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 readysetgo10 on 1/5/2014 1:42:00 AM more reviews by readysetgo10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I would give this a 1.5...rounded down.

I guess this would be good if you wanted a smoky eye, or an intense eye look. But for everyday wear, this was not a good product at all. My mom bought this for my sister (who's a beginner at makeup), and she was extremely dissatisfied with it after a few uses. I decided to try it out myself, and found it to smudge easily and fade, leaving weird gaps near my lashline throughout the day--even when I had primer on. I guess I have particularly oily lids, so maybe it doesn't do that for everyone...still :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LyssaMiner on 7/21/2013 1:42:00 PM more reviews by LyssaMiner

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After testing this product for approximately a month, I have to say that I am very disappointed.
The product did offer a nice black color and allowed for easy application. It is an okay eyeliner for beginners.
On the other hand, there were many cons to it. For one, the product smudges easily. The eyeliner did not stay on all day and after about an hour or two, either wore off or was smudged around my eyes. So, I had to reapply several times throughout the day.
I was not very satisfied with the product, and will not be purchasing it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Janette4 on 3/9/2013 12:57:00 PM more reviews by Janette4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
It's black
Easy to use

Cons:
Smears easily
Does not stay on all day

This was the first eye liner I have ever purchased and used. I am fairly new to this whole make up stuff so I went with this because it was cheap and seemed easy to use. Although it was easy to use since the applicator is kind of big, it did not stay on nicely all day. I noticed it smeared. It is a great eye liner for beginners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AndreaaaMariee on 11/25/2012 1:27:00 PM more reviews by AndreaaaMariee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

It's a pretty good eyeliner for beginners who are looking for cheap, drug store brands. I used to love it. It was the only eyeliner I used but as I got more into makeup I would try out more high end brands & I found a lot of better stuff. It's still a pretty good eyeliner. It kinda smudges and you have to reapply it every few hours. But it works good and it's really pigmented. I also like how it's retractable instead of the wood pencil kind.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leoisillon on 11/25/2012 10:43:00 AM more reviews by leoisillon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

When I first bought this eyeliner I really loved it. It's a dark, rich black and the eraser on the end does help to blend it and smudge it out. I thought the packaging was kinda cheap. I have a pet peeve about not being about to put the cap on the end of the liner while I'm using it. The cap had to set on my counter top and I know that's not a big deal but I'm more prone to losing caps that way. I believe it came with a sharpener (not positive on that). What I found over time is that the liner easily fades and also transfers and before I know it, the liner is all over my eye area. Not cute. Overall it's not a horrible liner but there are better, longer lasting options out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 heyitsmakenna on 7/18/2012 10:58:00 PM more reviews by heyitsmakenna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to eyeliner! I love the smudger and the color is great, the only thing I don't like about this is, it comes of VERY quickly and fades through out the night..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xxxAmandaxxx on 6/1/2012 7:57:00 PM more reviews by xxxAmandaxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

like this eyeliner the only thing is it's in soft black. i didn't check the color before i left the store :(. it's a good eyeliner for going out at night. after a couple of hours of wearing it wears off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 misterashley on 5/8/2012 5:55:00 PM more reviews by misterashley

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This eyeliner does suck. Agree with the majority of reviews here. It dosen't stay put at all. I even tried primer, but nope. Still would smudge everywhere beneath my eyes. HATE IT

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckylauram on 2/2/2012 8:43:00 PM more reviews by luckylauram

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The smudger on the end of this liner is a great idea. Unfortunately the liner doesn't have enough color to hold up to a tender smudging. The liner comes off so fast, it's sad. So not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Denise18 on 1/11/2012 4:00:00 PM more reviews by Denise18

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is officially one of the worst eyeliners I've ever used. I liked the soft black shade, but within 30 minutes it had already smeared under my eyes (and I had only worn it on my upper lid). Back to CVS it went.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eyeliner products