Garnier Pure Clean Smoothing Cream

2.9

18 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water) , Cera Alba (Beeswax) , Isopropyl Myristate , Cetearyl Alcohol , Glycerin , Sorbitol , Glyceryl Stearate SE , Benzyl Alcohol , Caprylyl Glycol , Cetyl Esters , Hydroxypropyl Guar , Acacia Senegal (Acacia Senegal Gum)


on 8/12/2014 12:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have curly hair that gets very frizzy. I ran out of my product and I like to try different ones so I picked this one up. I have to say I haven't been happy with it. It makes my hair feel gunky even after I wash it several times. I will not be repurchasing. I'm disappointed because I had high hopes.



on 7/28/2012 10:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I couldn't get this product to work. I actually, I thought I was buying a curl cream. My mistake. So it went to the back of my closet along with L.A. Looks Polish Perfect Gel that's supposed to work like a smoothing serum. Flash forward many months later and I decided to marry these 2 products. I mixed them 50:50 in a cup and OMG a really nice curling pudding. Use according to the amount your hair texture can stand. Also play with the ratio. I often use more gel than cream. I'm just happy that I can finally use 2 products up. I will repurchase as long as it works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2012 1:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Other

If I could give a 0-pt. score, I would. This stuff is HORRIBLE.

Needed something to smooth the ends of my Japanese-straightened hair. Thought I'd go natural since I'm on a 'cone-free "diet" for my face. Um...NEVER AGAIN.

If the above isn't enough to dissuade you from buying this, read on:

I should've known better since the packaging boasts the use of Acacia Gum. "Gum" should've been the tip off...

The stuff was really sticky - like paste - going on my wet hair. I thought it would perhaps soften up as my hair dried. (Sometimes hair stuff is super thick going on but feels better after the hair is dry.) This was certainly NOT the case. I could barely get my brush through my dry hair. Remember, my hair is thermally reconditioned to be stick straight...not usually hard to brush through.

I don't need/like to shampoo everyday, but I rinsed and reconditioned my hair today, thinking the product would rinse out. Boy, was I wrong. Now, it's just a duller gummy mess than before. Good thing I'm getting a haircut tonight and a professional will be doing a thorough shampoo, otherwise I'm not sure I could get this stuff out of my hair on my own.

Bottom line: This stuff is the worst.


on 3/30/2012 7:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Took multiple washings with clarifying shampoo to (almost) get this waxy gunk out of my hair - grrrr.


on 1/29/2012 11:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is hands down the best smoothing cream I've found for my fine, thin, flyaway hair. I found it didn't do much when I put it on dry hair, but when i comb it through before blow drying, it leaves my hair silky and smooth, without weighing it down at all. I use the equivalent of about 2 peas worth on my chin-length hair. I found that if I put too much in, it makes my hair look a little greasy, but that disappeared after about half an hour. It works great with flat irons and curling irons too. HG for me!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

THE WORST hair cream I have ever used. Period. It left my hair sticky and clumped the curls together, I could barely comb thru it in the shower. I returned it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2011 12:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I decided to use paraben-free, sulfate-free products which can be a challenge to find. I love all of the Garnier Pure & Clean products. This stuff in particular is awesome on my hair which is an annoying in-between curly, wavy, & frizzy texture. I love this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2011 1:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Also surprised by the negative reviews about this product. This has worked really well for my thick, wavy, shoulder-length hair -- I like: the neutral fragrance, the fact that it has no silicones, and how silky it makes my hair feel. It's so inexpensive! I find it works best when I apply it while my hair is still damp -- before the kink sets in. And a pea-size amount is enough. Sometimes I blend it a bit with some liquid setting gel or an aloe-based hair-dressing -- maybe that would work for people who find it heavy. It really keeps the humidity out, even during exercise, and lessens the amount of heat styling I use.

The only thing I don't like is that the flip cap breaks too easily, and doesn't really snap shut securely. Just a regular screw cap ( like a toothpaste tube) would be much better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2011 3:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm am soo surprised at the bad ratings this product has! Just like the other reviewer had stated, the second largest component or ingredient is beeswax, which will naturally weigh your hair down and cause that greasiness feeling if applied excessively. You only need a dab when using it and it will do wonders for frizz. I use a small pea-sized amount for my bangs to shape them and lightly on the outer layer of my hair to fix any frizz. The scent isn't like the other Garnier products, so don't expect it to smell fruity. But overall, it's a good product. I just wish it had that classic Garnier scent (I know, i know it's suppose to be their "clean" line lol)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Just like the Garnier Pure Clean shampoo, this product is terrible because it leaves a waxy, greasy residue on the hair. It's gross. It made my hair feel greasy and like a rubbed candle wax through it which is exactly what the Pure Clean shampoo is also like. Do not waste your money on this crap.


Back to Top