Garnier • Pure Clean Smoothing Cream • Styling Products

rated 3.0(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 desha on 7/28/2012 10:42:00 AM more reviews by desha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I couldn't get this product to work. I actually, I thought I was buying a curl cream. My mistake. So it went to the back of my closet along with L.A. Looks Polish Perfect Gel that's supposed to work like a smoothing serum. Flash forward many months later and I decided to marry these 2 products. I mixed them 50:50 in a cup and OMG a really nice curling pudding. Use according to the amount your hair texture can stand. Also play with the ratio. I often use more gel than cream. I'm just happy that I can finally use 2 products up. I will repurchase as long as it works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ehburg on 4/13/2012 1:49:00 PM more reviews by ehburg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Other    

If I could give a 0-pt. score, I would. This stuff is HORRIBLE.

Needed something to smooth the ends of my Japanese-straightened hair. Thought I'd go natural since I'm on a 'cone-free "diet" for my face. Um...NEVER AGAIN.

If the above isn't enough to dissuade you from buying this, read on:

I should've known better since the packaging boasts the use of Acacia Gum. "Gum" should've been the tip off...

The stuff was really sticky - like paste - going on my wet hair. I thought it would perhaps soften up as my hair dried. (Sometimes hair stuff is super thick going on but feels better after the hair is dry.) This was certainly NOT the case. I could barely get my brush through my dry hair. Remember, my hair is thermally reconditioned to be stick straight...not usually hard to brush through.

I don't need/like to shampoo everyday, but I rinsed and reconditioned my hair today, thinking the product would rinse out. Boy, was I wrong. Now, it's just a duller gummy mess than before. Good thing I'm getting a haircut tonight and a professional will be doing a thorough shampoo, otherwise I'm not sure I could get this stuff out of my hair on my own.

Bottom line: This stuff is the worst.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 splasher on 3/30/2012 7:28:00 PM more reviews by splasher

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Took multiple washings with clarifying shampoo to (almost) get this waxy gunk out of my hair - grrrr.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aporia on 1/29/2012 11:38:00 AM more reviews by aporia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is hands down the best smoothing cream I've found for my fine, thin, flyaway hair. I found it didn't do much when I put it on dry hair, but when i comb it through before blow drying, it leaves my hair silky and smooth, without weighing it down at all. I use the equivalent of about 2 peas worth on my chin-length hair. I found that if I put too much in, it makes my hair look a little greasy, but that disappeared after about half an hour. It works great with flat irons and curling irons too. HG for me!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupdiva23 on 1/3/2012 9:39:00 PM more reviews by makeupdiva23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

THE WORST hair cream I have ever used. Period. It left my hair sticky and clumped the curls together, I could barely comb thru it in the shower. I returned it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aminn00 on 12/13/2011 12:15:00 PM more reviews by aminn00

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to use paraben-free, sulfate-free products which can be a challenge to find. I love all of the Garnier Pure & Clean products. This stuff in particular is awesome on my hair which is an annoying in-between curly, wavy, & frizzy texture. I love this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joiedecoeur on 8/26/2011 1:00:00 PM more reviews by joiedecoeur

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Also surprised by the negative reviews about this product. This has worked really well for my thick, wavy, shoulder-length hair -- I like: the neutral fragrance, the fact that it has no silicones, and how silky it makes my hair feel. It's so inexpensive! I find it works best when I apply it while my hair is still damp -- before the kink sets in. And a pea-size amount is enough. Sometimes I blend it a bit with some liquid setting gel or an aloe-based hair-dressing -- maybe that would work for people who find it heavy. It really keeps the humidity out, even during exercise, and lessens the amount of heat styling I use.

The only thing I don't like is that the flip cap breaks too easily, and doesn't really snap shut securely. Just a regular screw cap ( like a toothpaste tube) would be much better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 8/8/2011 3:40:00 AM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm am soo surprised at the bad ratings this product has! Just like the other reviewer had stated, the second largest component or ingredient is beeswax, which will naturally weigh your hair down and cause that greasiness feeling if applied excessively. You only need a dab when using it and it will do wonders for frizz. I use a small pea-sized amount for my bangs to shape them and lightly on the outer layer of my hair to fix any frizz. The scent isn't like the other Garnier products, so don't expect it to smell fruity. But overall, it's a good product. I just wish it had that classic Garnier scent (I know, i know it's suppose to be their "clean" line lol)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rosesandpeonies on 8/5/2011 12:05:00 PM more reviews by rosesandpeonies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Just like the Garnier Pure Clean shampoo, this product is terrible because it leaves a waxy, greasy residue on the hair. It's gross. It made my hair feel greasy and like a rubbed candle wax through it which is exactly what the Pure Clean shampoo is also like. Do not waste your money on this crap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cking2013 on 8/2/2011 4:12:00 PM more reviews by cking2013

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm currently searching for a replacement for my old favorite suave sleek anti frizz cream, (It was badly reformulated) and the other options I had tried had weighed my hair down and killed my waves making it kinky rather than enhancing them and creating bouncy curls like my old stuff. So when I saw zero heaviness on the front of the bottle I thought this was the product for me. The zero heaviness thing was complete crap, it's REALLY heavy, greasy and dosn't smell very good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Garnier products

More Styling Products products