Revision Intellishade SPF 45

4.2

27 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/13/2015 11:15:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Trying to find a decent foundation has been a nightmare once I passed 55: even with the high-end ones, even with makeovers and sleek SAs all dressed in black, evaluating my skin undertone (You're gold! You're pink! You're neutral!) I kept ending up with vaguely orange streaks (or muddy ones) down my neck where I'd blended and blended...and if the shade worked for my NC-20 skin, the foundation settled in every last wrinkle I had. Or made me look like an oil slick.

Bah.

I was in a medi-spa a few months ago and whined about no HG foundation for me, and the PA suggested the Revision Intellishade TM. I was iffy--I do like to have *some* coverage--but tried the sample. I was impressed enough to order a tube. I just ordered my 2nd tube, which is rare for me.

This goes on smooth, not runny, and it starts drying pretty quickly. I smooth it with fingers, tapping around the undereye area. It doesn't cover my two small melasma spots but a dab of concealer over those is easy to blend. After several hours, even in high sun, I can't see any oxidation or color streaks--it just improves and protects my skin (I use a serum and an SPF moisturizer if I'm going to be out much, since I use a pretty thin layer of product).

A dusting of translucent powder on top, and this stays pretty matte for several hours. Bottom line, some flaws I'd like to cover do show through unless I use concealer, but the flip side is the crepiness and wrinkling around my eyes aren't magnified and actually seem to be less visible. And I don't see little pools of product in my pores. There's a slight, faint fragrance but it disappears almost immediately. I do have occasional dermatitis under one eye and this doesn't cause flare-ups.

And the packaging is great--a simple tube with no fussy glass or imitation frosted plastic that hides how much is really inside. It's easy to feel when you're getting low, and if need be, you could do a cut and scoop to get the last drops.



on 8/4/2014 3:31:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is currently my favorite tinted moisturizer for everyday use. I've used LM, Chantecaille and tried NARS and others, but give this one a slight edge due to the SPF45. It works great if you don't need or desire a lot of coverage and are in the fair to medium complexion range. It comes in 2 finishes, original and matte. The Original is likely best suited for all but the very oily and has a lovely finish once it soaks into the skin. I actually use ELTA MD sunscreen under it, but it also works well by itself or with a primer. This product is frequently recommended by dermatologists and estheticians - got mine online for about $32 with free shipping so it's less expensive than LM, Chantecaille and others (make sure to inquire about expiration date if this info. is not offered). There are many sources that offer sample tubes of both formulas so you can see which one you prefer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2014 3:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Update 11/19/14: I received another sample of this and decided to try it as an under eye concealer since I ran out of my regular one and I love it. My milia have greatly diminished and my under eyes seems much younger looking and moisturized! not to mention it's spf 45 :) I upped my lippies from 1 to 3 since I still would not use it on my whole face ever again.

Original review: Oh god, why? This is pretty awful. I tried this once and already know it's not for me. Gave me clogged pores and cystic acne after one use. I should have known because as soon as I applied it, i had to use powder and ten blotting sheets just to make it wearable. It felt so gross and looked so shiny. It settled into my large pores. One of the worst things I've used on my face. For the record I used the original not the matte. I had samples and I was going to try the matte tomorrow but no, that is not going to happen, I'll give the remainder away and hope someone else has better luck.


on 7/2/2014 7:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got 2 sample tubes from a fellow swapper. One light and one medium light color tone.
Since it was beginning of summer, I needed to try a tinted moisturizer with SPF and this one has SPF 45 broad spectrum - wow! My regular moisturizer has SPF 30 and this on top would be perfect. Both shades worked well with my complexion. If you want a sheer look, then this is good. If you want a matte look, not so well. No reaction to my skin. Scent is okay. It has won new beauty award. I will look around to see who sells this product line.

Thanks for reading!


on 2/28/2014 5:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I tried a sample of this and have really fallen in love with it. There is a matte version but I find it heavier, drying and cakey. SPF is a must with me and I am not a foundation wearer. However, my skin could use some light coverage and most tinted moisturizers, BB, and CC creams are too heavy and obvious on my skin. This one is quite different. I am very fair and I find that this product on its own is a bit too dark for me, so I mix it with my Elta MD daily spf moisturizer which is slightly whitish, to get the correct shade. The two products blend well and I can adjust the shade easily. The mixture provides a hint of coverage, and is invisible on the skin. I apply generously, let it sink in for a few minutes, blot with a tissue, then follow with a light dusting of mineral veil to mattify. My skin is moisturized, well protected and the powder keeps it matte all day without ever needing a touch up. The Revision Intellishade has not caused any irritation or break outs. I think I have finally found a product I can invest in. It is moderately pricey, but this one hit it out of the park. Well worth the money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2013 11:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a great product. I get a really good color match and even, natural coverage. I apply with my fingers. High SPF and has other anti aging benefits. My skin looks and feels better with this product! This review is for the Intellishade Matte version - I prefer it to the regular.


on 11/19/2013 12:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got this product as a sample from my employer who carries the line. This is not a BB, CC, DD or whatever cream it is a true tined moisturizer. I've tried the regular formula it does come in a mat. The tone will work for all but the very dark toned skins.

The product is in a tube and consistancy is creamy not thick. Start with a little and use more as you need. If you overuse the product you will get an orangy tone. It gives a nice smooth finish to use under regular base or as I did over the summer wear this as my foundation. SPF is 45 and the regular gives a very natural finish.

The one thing I do hate is the packaging. It's a squeeze, toothpaste tube style which means you have to be careful or you get way too much or your cutting the tube up at the end so you don't waste product. For the money they charge a PUMP would be nice.

Still all in all. I like the product and will be buying a full size tube.


on 10/1/2013 2:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great product. The price is not bad seeing as how other tinted moisturizers are just as much or more. This tinted moisturizer also has many more benefits for your skin considering it is sold by spas and dermatologists. This is very moisturizing as well as provides a nice smoothed out looking complexion without looking cakey or non existent on the other hand. People exploring tinted moisturizers should check out the website to see the other benefits this provides!! It also contains SPF 45 which is more than the daily recommened and more than many other tinted moisturizers and moisturizers have.


on 9/25/2013 7:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a very moisturizing, light weight cream. It works perfectly for what I need, sun protection, anti aging, moisture and even skin tone. As long as you don't need full coverage I'd recommend trying this product. I'm so happy to have found it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2013 3:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have been wearing this on the recommendation of my facialist after by beloved ByTerry began to break out my skin. So far, I have been using samples of this every day for a couple of weeks. There is a lot to like about both the matte and the regular versions. The intellishade technology works on my slightly-tanned, but still pale skin. In the winter, when I am back to my ordinary vampiric palor, it might not be so hot. But for now, it's alright. The regular version tightly hugs that line between dewy and greasy. I usually set it with a bit of my dior bronzing powder. The matte one isn't terribly matte, and though I usually despise matte products, it's still sheer enough that my skin has a bit of sheen. I prefer the matte version. They have not yet broken me out, and are sheer enough that you can still see my real skin beneath. I like that both have a pretty substantial SPF as well. I like this product very much for now.
Edit: Just Kidding. I haven't read of this happening to anyone else, but this stuff ravaged my face. I broke out not just in cystic acne, but in a fine rash that covered every place the intellishade touched--even under my chin where I blended it. If you are sensitive, watch out!




Back to Top