Aspirin Mask

4.2

2238 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

C₇H₆O₃


on 6/10/2015 7:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I did this mask and its harsh. But worksss. I can not do this mask as i broke out on hives on my face badly each time i tried to apply the mask:(



on 5/27/2015 1:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, seriously keeps my skin looking amazing- I only use one every two weeks or so though. However if you have sensitive skin make sure you try it out on a small patch of skin first.


on 5/16/2015 3:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

hi! I'm Diane H. -- I think I came up with my particular formulation of this mask in the last 90s on alt.fashion. the idea of using aspirin in skincare was certainly not new to me; I just came up with my particular formulation (5-6 generic aspirin + warm water, apply for 10 minutes, rinse). it was one of those magical "right time, right place" things -- after I posted about it in alt.fashion, it took over the newsgroup for a while! the idea spread like wildfire after that, and I've seen it all over the web, on TV shows, in magazines -- just about everywhere.

I still use the aspirin mask myself at age 50, about once a week. it gets rid of dry, flaky skin and keeps my pores clear. I love it, and am thrilled to see people still use it, post about it and love it, even to this day.


on 5/13/2015 6:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love the asprin masks because they are so cheap, yet effective. I've yet to determine what the actual difference is between acetyl salicylic acid and plain salicylic acid. Not sure how much of an effect the acetyl group has - any organic chem majors here?? ;) Anyways, I usually pop this into my mortar and pestle and get it into a nice fine powder since I feel like the chunks will cause micro tears in my skin otherwise. I mix it with a bit of water and leave it on for 20 minutes. My skin is hormonal and acne prone and I currently use retinoids to combat acne, but I always keep coming back to the ASA mask because it's so cheap and works great!


on 5/2/2015 8:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Literally nothing works for my acne....... nothing panoxyl, proactive, neutrogena grapefruit and a whole lot more!
I was reading all the review on here for the aspirin mask and i was stunned by the positive reviews. I needed something no i needed anything so i gave it a try.
Ive been using it a full week and i will never stop! Wow my face is totally clear. Literally my HG product. I use it every night as a mask with the tree hut brazilian nut body scrub . I let it stay on about 30 mins wash it off and my skin is so smooth and fresh like WOW! On my oily days or a few small bumps i use neutrogena deep clean scrub (light blue formula) i mix it in with the aspirin and DONE. I use andalou recovery cream at night. Wake up clear skin . Yes! In the morning its the same routine . I love it and it works.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2015 9:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I do a mask 1-2 times a week. And if I don't, oh boy, do I notice. I just mix a single tablet with some water in my hand, put it in my face, wait about 5 min, scrub, rinse, and apply whatever leave-in treatment. It doesn't keep my skin from getting acne, but it does take away some of the inflamation, oilyness, blackheads, and makes it look a lot better. Overall it has no downsides, and some very good upsides, so it's never leaving my weekly routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Please forgive me - I'm about to go Geek Mode so if you want, just skip this and read the review :)

Another reviewer said, "A lot of people have allergy to painkillers like Tramadol, Pornstan, etc and Aspirin is of the same family of medication."

Aspirin is a salicylate and is grouped with the other NSAIDS (naproxen, ibuprofen and the like). These drugs play with a couple of your enzymes (Cox 1 and Cox 2), and also reduce inflammation. It's not uncommon to be completely fine with one NSAID, but allergic to the others.

Tramadol though, is not in the same family. It acts on the opioid receptors in your brain even though i's not technically an opiate (although that designation goes back and forth - they can't quite make up their minds on that one). Unfortunately this also means it's frequently abused.

There is no correlation between an allergy to NSAIDS and an allergy to the opiates although you can be allergic to one, both or neither.

ANYHOO

I keep wanting to give aspirin a chance on my face. I've made a simple mask several times but no matter how I tweak it, my skin has a temper tantrum and has to be put in time-out.

I have awkward skin. Sniffle.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

No joke. This is my first review EVER on any face products. I'm 24 years old and have suffered with acne/oily skin since high school. A quick story about my skin so you guys can get a better understanding. I started getting acne at the start of puberty at age 15. I tried literally hundreds of products and have seen dermatologists and still have not been able to "cure" my acne. However, I was prescribed an antibiotic called Bactrim during my senior year of high school and it was a MIRACLE for my skin. I never thought that day would come! I had NO oily skin and hardly ever saw new pimples. I didn't even wear foundation or coverup which was a blessing! Unfortunately, after 3 years of taking it, my doctor no longer allowed me to take it because of the long-term side effects. You guys... I was DEVASTATED! Something that finally worked for me was actually bad for me. I felt so helpless. So, fast forward to a few months later... My acne came back. It slowly crept up on my skin and EVEN MY BACK (which I never got). I was doomed. I went back to trying products again and spent loads of money. Nothing worked. I tried vitamins, and taking the natural route, and still, nothing worked like those antibiotics. After doing many, many, research, I stumbled upon the Aspirin + Honey mask and thought why not give it a shot. I went to Target a few days ago and picked up a bottle of non-coated aspirins and Organic Raw Honey. It cost me a grand total of 8 bucks. Came home, prepped and cleansed my face, then put the potion all over my face. I waited for a whole hour because I ended up watching a movie and then cleansed it off with only warm water. I noticed INSTANTLY a reduction in inflammation and redness. Of course, my two zits were still noticeable, but the surrounding areas were way, WAY less red. It also left my skin soft and smooth. This tells me that the potion is working for my skin. I have been using the mask for 3 days in a row, and I KNOW others have said that it should only be used once or twice a week because it acts like a chemical peel, however, I've seen positive results and would love to continue doing it to see if it would actually "cure" or heal my existing acne. This is still a testing moment, but all I can say is HOORAY. It actually WORKS for me! I am still trying it out obviously but wanted to share my experience with all of you who understand what it's like to have acne. I would also recommend using it as a spot treatment to reduce inflammation and literally shrink the pimple. I will continue to use this cheap and easy potion and HOPE for continuous amazing results (fingers crossed!).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2015 2:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've been doing an aspirin scrub or mask for years. I have well versed in AHA, BHA, retinols skin care products and I find the aspirin scrub to be the easiest, cheapest, most effective product I have in my cabinet. I don't really have much to say that's different from everyone else accept one important thing i discovered recently ...there is such a thing....as powdered aspirin for humans to mix with water, and for veterinarian purposes so you can sneak it in your pets food. Meaning you can buy pounds of pre0crushed aspirin for much cheaper than pill form. Something to consider if you been using this for over a decade like i have.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2015 11:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Oh my freaking goodness. Could this really be the end of an era? Bear with me, as I've got a personal anecdote to go along with this pseudo-review.

There is so much I could say and explain to really get to the heart of my journey and, ultimately, why aspirin proved to be the perfect topical in addition to my otherwise natural skin-care routine. Put simply, I've struggled for years and years with cystic acne and clogged pores, dry skin, hormonal breakouts....all beginning around the age of 20. It has not subsided, and I am 27 right now. Yes, there were good and bad waves, but nothing has been close to "clear" or how I would like it since I was about 19 years old.

I threw out my products (at the time I was using Neutrogena) in my first upheaval at the end of the summer of 2011, and decided to go natural. I was using manuka honey and yogurt to cleanse my skin (one every other night) and things got better-- but not nearly as good as I wanted them to be. I stopped drinking coffee because I figured out it was a major culprit for my cystic acne. I maintained all of this natural skin care (and tested out a few things here and there) but would still breakout, and pretty bad sometimes. I didn't know why, and continued my quest for acne-free skin.

Summer 2013 brought a ton of stress and an even bigger breakout. It was not nice at all. And nothing had changed in my routine! I was internally unhealthy, but figured that was secondary to me maintaining a routine. Wrong. I struggled for the next year, with breakouts, rashes, cysts, clogged pores, dry skin, blotchiness, slow healing...everything. Even cold sores and a few run ins with a sty came up during this time. I just didn't understand. I had tried lots of natural supplements and stuff during this time, but didn't see the light until this past New Year.

I cleaned up my internal life. I rid myself of the mild depression I had been facing because of my face, and decided I didn't give a SHIT (am I allowed to say that here?) who thought what of me. I cleaned up my diet (which had abnormally gone way south in the fall) and started yoga again. I quit a job I hated to do what I loved. I forgave a lot of people. I released my fears (with the help of Louise Hay's little blue book). I didn't wear makeup, and my face was a wreck. I fought, and overcame.

Just when I realized fully that my acne was partially caused by me, I stumbled across the aspirin mask (how did I NOT SEE THAT until this year?!?!) and decided to give it a try purely for exfoliation purposes. Guess what? It worked. Amazingly. It sloughed off all of the years of old skin and de-gunked my pores that had been clogged since I stopped using salicylic acid (the one benefit of mainstream products was the pore-dissolving chemical). I neglected, in my natural care, to exfoliate like I should-- and I think that was a huge factor in the clogged nature of my skin. They would sit there until I was stressed and then decide to rear their heads. Guess what? Not only can you not get acne if you don't have clogged pores, but you can't get acne if you don't allow stress to overtake your life.

Sorry this turned into more of a soapbox than a review, but it is all-encompassing. Overall, this product added the perfect element to my honey and yogurt routine, and now I combine them all in a mask every other night or so. Once I am fully clear (it has been a month since my major breakout and about 2.5 weeks since aspirin, and I am close to clear including fading red marks). It is incredible, and there a plethora of things to thank, mostly my internal healing processes, but I CAN'T discount what a freaking wonder this seems to be. It is JUST enough for exfoliation but not enough to dry out (especially in combination with honey and/or yogurt). It leaves me soft, but not oily. It makes you peel and flake, but only because it is healing old marks you forgot even existed. And yes-- you WILL breakout a little if you have clogged pores, but the only way out is through. You must persevere to see ultimate results. I got a breakout across my forehead when first using it, but they healed quickly and I was just left with slight marks.

I am so freaking happy I don't even know if this review makes sense, or if you will have made it all the way through. Either way, I had to advocate for this routine and share at least some of my story! If you have any questions or thoughts, please message me!! Incredible product for the price and in general. I can't recommend enough

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4215 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Aspirin Mask by Michelle Phan

Aspirin Mask, Jojoba/Vitamin E oil reduces acne/acne scars and minimizes pores by CindysFaves



Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

113 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

46 reviews
Back to Top