La Roche Posay • Toleriane Ultra • Moisturizers

rated 4.3(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 CombatWombat on 3/26/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This cream, together with LRP's Cicaplast B5 Baume, has made a significant difference in the texture and comfort of my skin this winter. I moved to a very cold, dry climate this winter, and spent a fair amount of time in hotels early in the season. My skin became painfully dry and itchy, especially around my nose, mouth, and chin, which are also the areas of my face that are most likely to break out in adult acne. My lips were so dry that I couldn't move my top lip normally. I found that applying this cream all over my face, including around my eyes and over my lips, cleared up the problems caused by dryness within a week. I have been using this cream all winter at night and my skin has stayed comfortable and moisturized.

The cream itself is thick but not greasy, applies smoothly, and sinks in quickly. I stopped applying this cream to my forehead after a few uses, as it made my forehead greasy the next day, but I do not seem to get greasy anywhere else and my forehead is naturally the oiliest part of my face. Applying four pumps per day to my lower face, eyes, lips, and neck, the product has lasted me approximately 5 months. The packaging is somewhat top-heavy and tips over easily, but it is very unique - it is actually a very thin plastic membrane suspended inside the bottle which contracts as the product is pumped out. This minimizes how much the product comes into contact with air and means that the product needs very few preservatives.

Overall I am very grateful for the relief this product has provided over this beastly winter. I am not 100% sure that I would repurchase next winter, as this may be contributing to a gradual increase in blemishes I'm experiencing (there are other factors that could be causing or contributing as well, but I can't rule this one out yet), and this product does seem to have spoiled slightly, as it's developed a slight butyric acid scent. This is a product that should be used up quickly, and perhaps should be kept somewhere colder than the top of my water heater. I am also a little wary of the squalane, as I'm a vegetarian, but I am not opposed to animal products if they outperform the alternatives. I will look into the lighter version of this product for the shoulder seasons, however there's a very good chance I will repurchase next winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 InLove87 on 3/10/2014 11:22:00 AM more reviews by InLove87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I actually like this moisturizer. I have quite sensitive skin, but I would not call it intolerant or mega sensitive. My skin can handle fragrance, scrubs, masks and gel cleansers, but since I have hormonal/stress based acne, I thought I could try this cream for super intolerant skin.

I have now been using this for month and it has done nothing to my skin. And I mean that in a good way. Usually moisturizers break me out, make my face shine, make the pores larger or make my whole face red and hot. This one does not, it just moisturizers my face.

It has no secret acne/rosacea/other skin problem fighting power, but it keeps your skin moisturized. If that is what you are looking for, then you should really give a try. I will probably look for a moisturizer that can beat my breakouts, but this one definetely has a place in my bathroom. I havent tried yet but I can imagine this one works wonders for sun burned or wind burned skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 queenofthenile on 2/25/2014 8:37:00 AM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this moisturiser, but I've been left very disappointed. I though this might help combat some of the redness on my cheeks and nose due to mild rosacea, but this moisturiser only seemed to increase the redness. I also found it slightly greasy for my already oily skin. And it's a poor base for makeup - even with primer, my foundation is patchy before the day is up. I will continue to use this at night as it's sufficiently moisturising and I don't like to throw out skincare products unless they cause breakouts or irritation, but I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyMarie on 2/18/2014 7:52:00 AM more reviews by HollyMarie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My derm recommended this for my dry, combo acne aging skin..I am so used to buying creams with all the bells and whistles I was a little unimpressed at first glance. But I like this but mainly in the summer..It sinks right in, unscented and fresh feeling. No breakouts (which is because there is not "junk" and extras that most people probably don't need) I do wish that this came in a cream form. The lotion is quite light and I feel doesn't last all day. The packaging is clean and the lotion is contained in a bag inside the bottle. So it stays fresh and its easy to use. This is not my favorite, but I do repurchase because in summer when I am a tad more oily this pretty much all I need. I would recommend this if your skin is irritated and angry and you use way too many products (like I did) and this just gives skin a clean slate. But like I said not very moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 evalovespipa on 1/14/2014 5:54:00 AM more reviews by evalovespipa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has been one of the only moisturisers my hyper-sensitive and reactive skin can handle, and i have already bought backups!

there is one downside to this moisturiser which i have discovered. It makes my face shiny, which i could deal with, except for some reason it is the worst base under makeup. Since using this, even with a primer, my foundation applies much worse than normal and doesn't last more than two hours, and i have finally pinned it down to this product.

I love how this feels so moisturising and will use it every night, but i am on the hunt for a day time moisturiser which will be better as a base for makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 earthtoforever on 12/24/2013 3:42:00 AM more reviews by earthtoforever

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Won't use any other moisturizer, amazing for my sensitive acne-prone skin. Expensive but worth it. Feels simple and pure, and does the job of moisturizing perfectly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Doogiedog on 11/12/2013 11:58:00 PM more reviews by Doogiedog

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sensitive skin and have spent a fortune over the years trying to find something that will moisturize my face with no break outs. Finally I have found this product. Skin is soft, moisturized and I have never broken out. I Love It!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NightShift on 10/8/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by NightShift

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

((My skin: Very sensitive, combination, rosacea, micro acne on forehead))

Ah...this moisturizer.

I've waited a long time to write this review, because quite frankly I love, and to a certain degree, strongly dislike (because hate is a strong word) this product.

Why I love it:

This moisturizer has been fantastic for me in winter. I work in an aquatic research lab (with plants), and in the winter going from a humid indoor environment to rough US midwestern winters is hard on my already sensitive skin. That, mixed with exposure to nasty things like hydrochloric acid and straight acetone in the air rec's havoc.

I love this moisturizer for not only soothing, but also helping to be a little more resistant to the elements of nature and man. It does not break me out, and I like that it is a small package. A little does go a long way.

Okay, now why I do not like this:

A tiny note, I do not like the smell. Maybe it's my super sniffer senses, but it smells like fried food to me. Now onto to the real bits.

For such BASIC ingredients this is a very expensive product. This moisturizer has nothing special added to it and merely contains standard moisturizer ingredients, but at a ridiculous price. Now, you could say that it is very hard to find a moisturizer now that doesn't contain a lot of extra huzzah, but at this price?? Perhaps, it is the fancy packaging? Well, speaking of packaging...

I don't think any product packaging has caused me as much frustration as this one. I have been through 6 bottles of this product over the years, and Four out of six have had packaging sabotage.

What I mean by that is, while using this product once you get to the last bits, the bag inside climbs up the bottle. I imagine to preserve the vacuum sealing. BUT from the last bottles this bag has gotten caught in the...exiting tube? and I can't get any more product out. I once ran out and had to go to the store and pay full price for it (only Ulta carries it here), and when the bag got stuck, it was like seeing 6 dollars worth of product just staring at me that I couldn't get too. That packaging is so "high tech" there's no way you can get the remaining bit out.

Seeing my trying to pry the bottle open and being frustrated, my boyfriend decided to try his hand at it. Needless to say it did not go well and neither of us were satisfied.

That alone has made me never want to buy this product again. In an act of trying to preserve the integrity of the product you are left with a faulty system.

I know I'm being a bit passionate and maybe I could have gotten a dud, but that's what I thought the last four times. And even if you get this cheaper on the internet it's still expensive for what it is and even if I paid $10 for it it would still be frustrating to know every time there would be product wasted.

I love La Roche Posay. I think they have excellent products for sensitive skin. Their Toleriane cleanser and their body wash are absolute stables for me and I really want to try their mascara for my sensitive eyes, but all I can say for this one is: ugh!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sabra15 on 8/3/2013 7:19:00 AM more reviews by Sabra15

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I just wrote a review on LRP's Toleriane Dermo-Cleanser and I'll be echoing what I said a bit.

I have rosacea (acne kind) and very dry skin as a result and literally couldn't use any moisturizer on the market due to the horrible breakouts they would cause. I had no faith Ultra would really work for me due to my issues, despite my great experience with the Dermo-Cleanser. But, to my great surprise, it doesn't aggravate my rosacea or sensitive/eczema-prone skin and I even use it around my eyes with zero problems.

My skin finally feels moisturized throughout the day and I live in the desert, where you can easily turn into a lizard. As mentioned in my other review, a CVS in my city carries this line and with my store coupons, I can purchase it for around $10 less, but it is rather expensive as it only lasts a month or so. I do love the packaging because it's so simple and you get every last drop out.

If you have similar issues to mine, just consider it a need and not a want as my rosacea is 98% improved due to the Dermo-Cleanser/Ultra combo (and 4 medications from my derm), but the medications didn't really work until I found the cleanser and moisturizer that were like the missing pieces of the puzzle.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 friskilyn on 7/29/2013 11:56:00 PM more reviews by friskilyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was recommended to me by the saleswomen at the drugstore after she assessed my skin. This product is my go to moisturizer because it is so consistent and does what it is supposed to. My skin feels amazing when I put this moisturizer on my face and it actually seems to subtly calm my skin down (I have some very slight rosacea around my nose) and evens out my skin tone. I will say that while this product is great, it probably isn't great if you have very dry skin. It isn't drying but it doesn't provide extreme moisture. This is good if you have problem free skin and want to keep it that way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Moisturizers products