Shiseido Perfect Refining Foundation

3.7

100 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 1.9%; Titanium Dioxide 4.1%; Inactive Ingredients: Water, Dimethicone, Cyclomethicone, Nylon-12, SD Alcohol 40-B, Titanium dioxide, Diethylhexyl Succinate, Glycerin, Iron oxides (CI 77492), Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Iron oxides (CI 77491), Polyglyceryl-2 diisostearate, Xylitol, Erythritol, Sodium Glutamate, Phenoxyethanol, Aluminum hydraoxide, Aluminum distearate, Alumina, Disteardimonium hectorite, Iron oxides (CI 77499), Triethoxycaprylylsilane, PEG/PPG-36/41 Dimethyl Ether, Polysilicone-2, Vinyl dimethicone/methicone silsesquioxane crosspolymer, Sodium Hyaluronate, Butylene glycol, Tocopherol, Zinc oxide (CI 77947), Mica, Dipentaerythrityl hexahydroxystearate, Barium sulfate, Sodium metabisculfite, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Paeonia Albiflora Root Extract, BHT, Methicone, Dimethicone/methicone Copolymer, Tetradecene, Benzoic acid


on 2/4/2015 1:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Unique tiny packaging make this foundation easy to travel with. I love the watery texture of this foundation, it's very easy to apply with fingers, no need brush or beauty blender. :p my combination skin loves shiseido perfect refining foundation, it has natural finish, medium coverage, matte (but not really matte so it still glowy). Since it's underrated, I almost never heard about this foundation. I saw shiseido perfect refining foundation when I bought shiseido skincare. I tried this foundation because I love the shade that really suitable for my skin, people even can't tell if I'm wearing foundation or not. I'm using I00 shade, I have neutral undertone and fair skin (I'm mixed asian and white), I wear YSL foundation in B10, and GA lasting silk in shade 2 for reference.



on 1/27/2015 5:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Be wary of colour matching, I got matched to B20 and found it slightly too pink for me despite it being "beige" (am NC15 for ref), if I was to rebuy would get O10-20 if its more yellow based.

Overall a great everyday foundation, I only use foundation lightly to even skin tone (use concealer for the zombie-like dark circles) so I am not sure how it builds. Found it to "sit" on top of my skin in the winter but it looked better as the day went on and it meshed with my natural skin oils. Due to this I would definitely recommend it to fellow combo skinned gals. (although this didn't keep my tzone oil-free- this is normal however and keep in mind I don't use primer as of yet so it might make a difference). I find it works well with a buffing brush and helps cover pores better this way.


on 1/9/2015 11:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

expensive and horrible. i hv combination skin w large pores on nose and on the cheecks near the nose and a bit of rosacea and this foundation is not perfecting or refining at all!!! it gets on my pores and accentuate any flakyness not hydrating at all and not smoothing either. difficult to apply cos set and dried very fast . i think this good for those w flawless normal to a bit oily skin but hey if i hv flawless normal skin i would not need foundation or any make up right?? soo duhh.
rolling my eyes :((
Edit: since it quite expensive ,i decided to give it another try ,okay the trick is i hv to moisturise my face properly buff off any flaky skin and use just a tiny bit just enough to cover my face thinly. It will oxidize a bit and get oily on the t zone area for those w combo skin. But will last all day. Still a bit hard to apply i prefer using my fingers so certainly not a 5 min make up foundy not for when im in a rush :)) and this is no matte foundy this is the glowy kind and wil be more glowy in hot weather but it doesnt melt.


on 9/27/2014 8:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Just like many others, I love the silky and fresh touch of this procuct. During spring and summer I've used powder (since I've had bad experiences with liquid foundations before) but they would always end up feeling cakey. Not this one.

Ah, wait, I'll spare you the time of reading by doing a quick pros and cons instead :)

My skin is combination; soft but maybe a bit dry except in the t-zone where it's more fatty-fatty. I usually match with the whitest-white shades.

Pros:
* Cheaper than I expected
* Silky touch
* Easy to apply
* Can't feel it on the skin!
* Fresh feeling
* Not smelly, no strong perfumes (I hate that)
* No breakouts

Cons:
* Separates quite quickly
* Dries up quite quick, which is both good or bad....
* Appears cracked on dry areas.
Now, I must tell ya, I've had foundations that do that but after a while they ajust with the skins sebum and becomes radiant... (not this one)
* Bottle. Boring. Not that it matters. hah. + It's shape makes it easy to pack and store ^^


So... I can't share any experiences of coverage since I just felt that it would crack up on my face.... I soon gave it away to someone else. Not for me. Darn. I always looked up on this brand, thinking it could only be top of the top, believing my skin would love it....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2014 12:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I am an nc25-nc30 and am in the shade B20. O20 and I20 were too yellow for me.

I love this product. Its skin perfection magic in a bottle. The consistency of he product is a thin runny liquid that sets quickly into a beautiful comfortable glowy matte finish. It conceals all redness and dark spots, while blurring pores and uneven skin textures.

The packaging is very practical and looks awesome. Its compact and easy to use. I was able to buy this foundation for $15 at a shiseido warehouse sale a few months ago and it was definitely a steal!

The only problems that I had with this foundation were the lasting power and its tendency to cling to dry patches a bit. It wears for 6-8 hours at most. And at around 6 hours it will start to separate in my oily skin and patch up on my dry skin. Its not as obvious as the ELDW though.

Despite those two flaws, I do really appreciate this foundation for its simplicity and effectiveness. It covers imperfections like no other and looks amazing!

Just a tip for those looking to maximize coverage: use your fingers. Dot a good amount of product on your hand and then use your fingers to PAT in the product. The patting motion works best because it allows the foundation to build up on the skin in thin layers to reach your desired coverage.








on 6/16/2014 11:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My review is based on trying just a sample (for a few days), but I think it's safe to assume we all know our skin and what works for it (or not). I intentionally asked for the sample before paying the full price of 48 EUR and that was wise, as I'm not fully sure whether I'll buy it or not.

My skin is normal/dry.. lately more dry than normal.

What I absolutely love about it is the texture and the way it applies on the skin. I've used my fingers to apply it, it's so smooth and glides so easily on the skin, felt very silky, a real pleasure to work with it. It's the best texture I've tried so far, both with high and low end foundations. It has medium coverage, so concealer is definitely needed for problematic areas.

What I didn't like was that after a couple of hours in an indoor environment, my T-zone got shiny, so blotting was necessary. It is my personal preference to not use powder as a finishing touch up, so I can't comment whether powder would have helped or not. I only used a moisturizer before applying, no setting spray, no primer. After a couple of more hours, a 2nd blotting was required, so with my skin dry most of the time, this makes me wonder. Apart from the T-zone getting shiny, whatever dry spots I had, they were emphasized, but only slightly, as far as I could see.

On PC's website this is rated as "poor", I was quite disappointed when I saw their review, and it might affect my decision of buying, although, despite the shiny part, I'm very tempted to get my hands on it. I'll try it again tomorrow, with primer and setting spray, see how it reacts during the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Not quite sure how the refining part works, all I can say that I found the foundation quite thick and too powdery. My face looked like a mask: very flat and lifeless. Yet I must add, that I do prefer a light finish.
Maybe the product is good for someone with very bad skin when lots has to be covered as the foundation seemed to have a lot of coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/6/2014 7:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been wanting to try a Shiseido foundation for quite some time now and was glad to pick this up after getting colour matched at a counter.
My skin has uneven skin tone from past acne scars, but they have faded overtime from brown marks to now light pink/red, which is noticeable against my Asian light/medium yellow skin tone. The coverage of this foundation for me is great, one thin layer is all I need. It covers the discolouration and provides a natural coverage. I would say this is a light-medium coverage, leaning more towards the medium mark.
I got the shade O 20, natural light ocre. When first applied to the skin (not yet blended out), you can see that the colour has yellowy/orange tones to it, which makes it a fantastic match for my Asian skin tone!
If I remember correctly, the information brochure inside of the packaging said the finish is dewy, but for me it is not at all. For me, the finish is semi-matte, which is new for me because I don't wear matte foundations. However, the skin does look very natural and the foundation is not obvious in natural lighting!
I have an oily t-zone, and I found even after powdering, a few hours later my forehead and nose would look a bit shiny. The lasting power is great, I wore it for long hours while on vacation and when I went to take off my make up for the night, everything was still intact!


on 5/22/2014 6:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am a makeup artist and I love this foundation. It's the only one I have found that has good coverage but feels light and enjoy wearing all day at work. It stays on all day with translucent powder over the top or the Shiseido powdery foundations goes beautifully with it and gives you alittle bit more coverage.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product!! I absolutely love it!!

I apply this with my beauty blender.... It has great coverage, it's light and works well with the Shiseido primer as well.

Only thing, it doesn't last all day. I need to reapply it on blemishes and scars...

I have acne prone skin, I feel as if this is helping my acne, and my face can breathe :)

The bottle is very small, not sure how long it last. But overall it's great!! I need to invest in the translucent powder also =] xox


Back to Top