NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream in Abu Dhabi • Lips

rated 4.1(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taurusdragonfly on 11/15/2013 2:23:00 PM more reviews by taurusdragonfly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Now that I've gotten into mattes, I've rediscovered this gem I bought this years ago but didn't know what to do with. I love it - applied like a gloss, this goes on very creamy and super lightweight and stays soft without drying. Abu Dhabi is an odd nude shade - beigey brown. I thought it was too pale for me, but I like it with dramatic eyes and a smidge of warmer-colored liner (burgundy or brown). It doesn't last long, but fades nicely rather than leaving a chalky finish or sinking into lines like a lot of mattes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soundsofepip on 8/17/2013 10:31:00 PM more reviews by soundsofepip

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this at a beauty supply store in Georgia for $1.99 it was on sale, so I thought I would give this a try. It lasts pretty well for 4 to 5 hours although if you are eating anything oily it will melt away. You will have to re-apply, but it is a good product though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youwillneverfindme on 6/14/2013 3:17:00 PM more reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is so nice.
Light weight, matte/velvety, no taste, slight scent of fake coffee/cappuccino which fades over time, in an understated basic tube with a matte cap and a doe-foot wand, all about the size of MAC's lipglass. Abu Dhabi is a sexy, matte, brownish-nude, very similar to MAC's Velvet Teddy lipstick (my favorite, fool-proof lipstick of all time, see review). I need to sheer this product out though otherwise it's far too brown. It seems a little more long-wearing than a basic lipstick, but as stated by others, your lips need to be in good condition, and/or you should use a lip blam...I find this lip cream a little dry. Also, it doesn't bunch on my lips like other lip products can. The color doesn't kiss off on him too badly (or maybe I just wear it so lightly that if it does, I we can't tell?)...my lipliner kisses off before this lip cream. Speaking of, like most lip colors, wear different color liners to help pick up the different undertones in Abu Dhabi: pink if it's too brown, nude to blend in, or brown to make lips more pouty looking. Anyway, at around $6 for 0.23 oz/6.5 g, it's a good buy, and one I'll most likely make again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mzjade22 on 11/25/2012 4:31:00 PM more reviews by mzjade22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good nude for me. Its borderline too nude, like concealer lips, but with a good gloss it looks fine. Price and packaging are great. The only thing I dont like is the formula is super super matte, you def need a gloss to put over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rossjen on 6/23/2012 12:05:00 AM more reviews by rossjen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the first NYX products I bought after hearing all sorts of good things about it. This is a nice change from conventional lipsticks, and a must-try if you want to check out matte lip colors. I find it a lot of fun to apply, it feels almost mousse-like and goes on pretty easily. It lasts pretty well on me, about three hours, which impressed me. It will not apply nicely if your lips are dry though, so a lip balm is a must underneath. However, Abu Dhabi deceived me a bit. It looked a lot more pink to me in the container, but it is a nude shade which I (sadly) cannot pull off. So while I wouldn't buy this particular shade again, I still love the formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sugarnspice28 on 8/14/2011 6:26:00 AM more reviews by Sugarnspice28

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product as it glides on smooth, the colour is really pigmented and it is also true to its colour in the tube, lasts for a good few hours on the lips, good price, however as I live in the UK this brand is not available so have to order online and shipping is VERY costly. Only down side to this product is that it settles into the fine lines of my lips and as it is a super matte product it is drying on my lips. Have to pair this up with a lip balm underneath. Overall a fab product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 3/22/2011 1:17:00 AM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Fantastic stuff. I actually like this better than lipstick. Lipstick feels disgusting on my lips and doesn't last that long. This stays on for hours and looks beautiful. This is a nice lighter brown which compliments my olive skin.
Note: I also have this in San Paulo

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* channingto on 2/27/2011 5:36:00 PM more reviews by channingto

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Brownish/beige shade - good for warm toned ladies. I'm yellow toned asian (NC32). Similar to MAC Cherish, MAC Brave New Bronze, Wet n Wild Bare it All. Similar to the soft matte lip creams in London and Stockholm. Finish is velvety/matte

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NYX products

More Lips products