NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream in Tokyo • Lips

rated 3.4(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 NotoriousKaboom on 10/10/2014 7:54:00 PM more reviews by NotoriousKaboom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This color seems to be one that works for some people and doesn't for others. But if you're like me, with very light skin with cool undertones, this is a nice, pretty, matte pink that reminds me of the old Dubble Bubble gum you'd get on Halloween as a kid, but without looking too obnoxious- it still looks like it could plausibly be my actual lip color. One star off, though, because the smell is, in my opinion, too strong. It's not really a bad scent, but I smell it for hours whenever I wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alg208 on 5/2/2014 9:16:00 AM more reviews by alg208

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Green    

i love this product! the packaging's nice and it has a lot of product. the only complaint i have about this is i have olive skin, and this pink is so pigmented when i put it on my lips that it looks fake. tokyo is a baby pink with blue undertones, but it looks fake if you full on swipe it if you have darker skin. i think this is a beautiful color though. i love that it's matte, it looks so good on your lips and it's actually moisturizing. it smells like cupcakes, which some people sensitive to scents may not like. overall, i really like this. and i want to try more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 1/31/2014 9:16:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A dramatic pale pink with a hint of peach, needs a strong smoky eye and false lashes (Kim Kardishan does this look well) or other dramatic makeup or it will look un-natural and wierd.

I usually love this type of shade but this one is thin and streaky, and goes on with a cakey uneven finish. Even with a ton of prep on young lips it quickly fades patchy after an hour. (DON'T trust that 1st pic of the lush even lips with a thick moist finish - you get a streaky, thin, MATTE color they've layered it with other products to get it to look shiny and plump).

If you are young and are prepared to go through a routine (ie scrub lips, apply balm, then Tokyo, then matching gloss or lipstick), and frequently touch-up, and don't have sensitive lips (all the matte lip creams are highly scented and very drying) then it might work for you. For most people it will dry unevely, emphasise every line, dry patch or uneven surface you never noticed before and make you look 20 years older. I think its limited to high maintenance young beauties who enjoy spending hours of time playing with looks. Most people will try it once and throw it away.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BeautyWorks on 8/24/2013 10:13:00 AM more reviews by BeautyWorks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Unlike Antwerp and Abbis Dabba this shade does not suit me at all. It looks like I rubbed pink chalk all over my lips. Unfortunately lone lines on my lips are obvious and this makes it all worse. It's chalky and it builds up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 doris98 on 1/3/2013 7:56:00 AM more reviews by doris98

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I have Antwerp and Tokyo in the Lip Creams, and I like them both. They take a little work, but I don't mind. I would usually line my lips first then apply them, and if I want a softer look, I'd apply a matching lip gloss, usually Sorbet with Tokyo and Natural with Antwerp.

I love both colors too. Tokyo is a nice pale baby pink on me and I pair it with baby pink cheeks. I would wear Antwerp with a coral blush.

The formulas aren't drying on me at all. But if I know I'm going to wear them, I'd scrub my lips and use a good lip balm just to make sure.

The one thing I don't like is that they don't fade evenly on me. I'd need to take everything off, or I get color stuck on the drier bits on my lips. Other than that, I like these.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 17rosenk on 12/22/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by 17rosenk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I don't really like this product.. It's a pretty color and everything but it makes the dry patches on my lips sooooo noticeable! Even when i put on a chapstick underneath it, it still does. I think it's because the formula is matte so it drys out my lips even more. But yeah, not really a fan of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Girlofpages on 9/19/2012 8:00:00 PM more reviews by Girlofpages

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in a set of three for around $10 and Tokyo just looks so wrong on me. It looks like I've been drinking pepto! I have fair, pink toned skin, so I thought it'd look nice but I was so mistaken. The formula is pretty cool and the staying power is alright. It just wasn't for me. It's a super pale baby pink, not a nude-y pink like I expected. It's a lovely color, but that train just didn't stop at my station. lol I hope this helps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kaid88 on 7/16/2012 11:52:00 PM more reviews by kaid88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For those expecting a nude pink color that looks "oh-so- natural", please stay away from this shade and go for Istanbul instead. This is a really light pink color that you have to layer and layer and layer. I used to swipe about 2 coats of this on my lips and the color would last for about an hour. My friend told me to layer A LOT of this product on my lip for it to have more staying power. I've been doing that now (about 6-8 coats) and it only lasts for about 3 hours (not drinking and eating) before I have re-apply again. Great shade for me, might not work for others. Oh, and application of the matte lip cream line is very tricky. If you put too much all at once, you'll have bits of lip color stuck to the cracks of your lips. DON'T FORGET TO MOISTURIZE your lips before putting this on, or else, you'll end up with "cakey" lips. Layer the color instead of putting it on with one swipe. I gave it 3 lippies because I love the color ♥



Costs around PHP270 in the Philippines. It's a very affordable lippy so don't expect too much ☺

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bglasper on 5/7/2012 4:43:00 AM more reviews by bglasper

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

nc30-35

This was a miss. Very light pink. Very hard to work on lips since it is not in harmony with my complexion.

I was able to mix it with other lipstick colors so it won't stay inside my drawer sleeping.

Other colors that works: Antwerp, Istanbul, San Paulo, Milan.

Addis Adaba - I'd say ... so-so color. Can be workable. Try to work on it on thin layer and slowly building up the color intensity.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cbailey4111 on 12/18/2011 1:09:00 PM more reviews by cbailey4111

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Got this color in my glam bag. Like it quite a lot. It's not for everyone, but on my very pale warm skin, it lends itself to a cute dolly look quite well. I will be buying more shades. The only small drawback is it is a tiny bit drying and it can settle into lip lines a bit, but lip balm helps with both of those problems.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products