Dove • Nourishing Oil Care Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 4.3(121 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pheebie on 3/14/2014 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Pheebie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was pleasantly surprised by this conditioner. Yes, it gets great reviews, but how many times have I run out and bought something with a '5 Lippie Rating' only to be disappointed?

My hair is long (past mid-back), not color treated, and naturally curly (3a/3b). It's fine in texture, but I have a lot of it. While it's not damaged (I rarely use heat to style it), it is a bit on the fragile side because it's curly and long, meaning the last couple of inches are a few years old. I shampoo daily (currently using an SLS-free shampoo from L'oreal) and don't use much in the way of styling products, applying either silicone-based serums or conditioner (leave-in, rinse out, I'm not picky) post-rinse to emphasize and soften my curls.

All that being said, I find this conditioner to be just perfect. The consistency is rich and thick, with good slip during the rinse. The scent is a light florarl that isn't so potent that it chokes me or competes with my perfume, but strong enough that if I've had my hair up, I can smell the lovely fragrance when I take it down. I find this conditioner reduces frizz, increases shine, and leaves my hair oh so soft. It's far better than many pricier salon brands I've tried and I will definitely repurchase. On a final note, this works well as a leave-in / curl definer. I love a multi-tasking product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Catlove on 3/12/2014 9:06:00 PM more reviews by Catlove

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my MUST HAVE for my overly dry hair. Its smells great too, creamy rich conditioner and I pray they keep this and don't discontinue it as most of the time I find something that works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ewwie on 2/25/2014 1:19:00 AM more reviews by ewwie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I know I am rating this really low. I wanted to love it. The reviews here actually made me buy this.

The bottle is large for the price, so I think its a great deal. The conditioner is very thick which I always enjoy, however this didnt work for me. I have quite fine hair that gets weighed down and dry easily. I only condition the last 5 inches of my hair. Every time I used this (I alternate what conditioner I use every other shower) my hair felt nasty as soon as I came out of the shower. After pressing with a towel it still felt very knotted and dry. On days I used this I had to apply my leave ins a second time because it just feels so dry. that really confused me because it has oils in it, i thought it would help.

My boyfriend however kind of likes it. He has Asian hair, so I am not sure if it just works better on thicker hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LillyMash on 2/11/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by LillyMash

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the BEST conditioner I have ever tried! I used it for the first time today and it made my hair so soft, silky, shiny and frizz free! It gives a good "slip" in the shower and throughout the day my hair doesnt get tangled near as easy as it used to. I'm impressed how I had no frizz after using this, nothing else has got rid of it 100% like this. I just wish it had a stronger scent. And I dont like Doves packaging when you start to get low its real hard to get out. I will definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alison8765 on 1/11/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by alison8765

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a great daily conditioner. Very moisturizing yet weightless on my long, tangle prone and fine hair. It has helped with my itchy, flaky scalp issues. Shampoo also works great. I haven't found anything that compares as well yet in either salon or drugstore brands.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HollyWould123 on 12/13/2013 12:57:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I decided to try this on a BOGO sale, and didn't love or hate the product. I'd probably purchase it again if I saw it on sale in the future. It's an average, run-of-the-mill conditioner like that of TRESemme, Garnier etc. It is thick, and I use a lot so the bottle went quickly for me. The fragrance is not too strong, which is a plus. I feel like there was quite a bit of product left in the bottle when I had to throw it out, but I could not get the cap off or bend the bottle easily, so I ended up wasting about a day or two's worth. Not a must have product, but a decent one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beckyloo123 on 12/10/2013 12:02:00 AM more reviews by beckyloo123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Dove always seems to be great when it comes to soft and silky hair. This is no different. It moisturizers and de-tangles my hair when I'm having particularly rough/dry hair days. The only reason I wouldn't suggest using it too often is it does weigh down my hair a little bit. I have long-ish blonde/red normal hair. My hair is usually limp with NO body to it so I like to use a conditioner that's not too heavy. But some days it's rough and crazy so that's when I use this and it does the trick. It really really smooths my hair and makes it manageable, and finally I'm not loosing too many strands when I brush! :) But like I said, quite heavy and my hair looks very limp and almost greasy near the end of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Gavi on 11/14/2013 11:47:00 AM more reviews by Gavi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was very excited about this conditioner and had high hopes, but I've been using it for 2-3 weeks and my hair looks dry and dead. The only thing that changed in my routine is this conditioner, so I'm going to take a break and go back to my old Tresseme and see if that helps. Unfortunately I'm stuck with 3 big bottles of this conditioner, but it was only $5 for a huge bottle at WalMart so it could be worse.
Very disappointed :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linuxgirl on 11/7/2013 1:04:00 PM more reviews by linuxgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It's really worth the hype. I clarified with baking soda and my normal cheap shampoo, slathered this on, kept it on while I soaped and shaved etc, and rinsed out. I simply don't recall a time when my hair has felt this nice. It's retained its volume yet banished the frizz, leaving the hair light and silky. I have tons of thick, course hair, so this is quite an accomplishment. All this after I just blow-dried it! Normally even the best conditioner leaves me poofy and frizzy for a few hours afterward, or until after I've slept on it. I can't wait to see how it looks tomorrow morning!

I can't believe it's only 3 euros per bottle on top of it all!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keiki300 on 10/16/2013 11:05:00 PM more reviews by keiki300

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

this conditioner should be 30.00$. it is amazing. as good as my redken. not heavy but hydrates and moisturizes and then rinses out. great after a color. i will buy a huge bottle next time. it detangels well also and smells like a nice light perfume and not heavy shampoo. LOVE. often on sale for 3.00 so wait for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Conditioner products