Tarte • Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush - Exposed • Blush

rated 4.2(184 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 sarah_417 on 4/15/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by sarah_417

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I started to see pan peeking through on my Nars Douceur blush. I had read so much about the Tarte Exposed, that I purchased.

The color is great, very similar to Nars Douceur. If you are a fair, cool-toned brunette like me, you will probably really like this color for a very natural look.

I just am not a fan of Tarte blushes. They are way too pigmented, which makes application difficult. You have to use a VERY light hand when applying, and then blend, blend, blend, blend. If you have dry skin like me, having to blend out blush that much just disturbs your foundation and makes for a flakey mess. (all problems I don't have with my trusty Nars Douceur)

The packaging sucks. For this price, it shouldn't look and feel cheap, or be difficult to open!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pishtosh on 4/4/2014 3:51:00 PM more reviews by pishtosh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really, really wanted to love this. It took me forever to decide between this and NARS Douceur - after finishing pan #2 of MAC's Blushbaby, I decided I wanted to try a new rosy, dusty, browny pink blush. Last year for my birthday I got a Sephora giftcard and I chose Tarte. A year later, I have to say I'm still lemming Douceur and I wish I'd chose it instead. I find the undertones in Exposed too red, and unless I apply it with a very light hand, it's not very flattering. I don't find it particularly long-lasting, and I don't find it very smooth or easy to blend. The only thing I can say I really love about this blush is the packaging (really pretty) and the fact that it didn't irritate my skin. I wanted it to bring more life to my face, and look rosy and natural, like Blushbaby did, but it's just lacking something. For reference, I have fair, neutral-toned skin and dark hair and eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 k10573 on 3/24/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by k10573

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I read all the reviews and listed to some YouTube reviews before getting this blush, and I really thought it would be utterly amazing and completely versitile on my NC20 skin. But truly I just found it just kinda "Meh" as a blush color. The texture is great - I love the Amazonian Clay blush collection and Tarte blushes in general. It is highly pigmented. But on my cheeks it's just nothing special. Really, kinda boring. It definitiely didn't look bad, but there was no magic glow either.

However, I grabbed it one day for a wash of color on my eyes and LOVED it there. And used it as a contour color and again thought it was perfect. Just the right amout of shading to not look fake on my light skin. I probably won't repurchase, but I'm thankful it's not sitting unused any longer. Don't give up on it if you have it sitting around.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 giginicole on 3/23/2014 3:43:00 PM more reviews by giginicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This blush is my go-to for simple looks and dramatic makeup looks because it is so versatile and wearable! It gives a neutral nude flush. Pigmentation- great! Longevity- great! Texture- smooth, and therefore, great! I have a video with more information on this product, check it out!




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emilydoll on 3/21/2014 12:15:00 AM more reviews by emilydoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because of all the hype and by my thinking this would be a pinkish light brow shade, but it was too pink and not enough of a sort of bronzer. It wasn't what I thought it was, so I returned it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ddsama on 3/20/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by ddsama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I picked up a little sample of Exposed at Sephora for SGD10. The sample looks just like full size, even down to the Amazon River embossed on the product. Only difference is the price, with the full size retailing at SGD47. I would still repurchase the same hue at full price though. Exposed is a neutral, plummy colour. I have been matched to NC25-30 in MAC, and I would describe my skin as being light-medium and more flattered by cool colours. Referring to colour analysis, I would say that my colouring is soft, deep and just very barely cool. I apply Exposed using a Nars Yachiyo brush, swirling colour around on the middle of my cheeks then sweeping it out toward the nose, following the line of my cheekbones. I read somewhere that a makeup artist calls this the ‘cinnamon bun’ method. I think it’s a combination of blush and brush, but the resultant effect is just amazing if you like a natural but polished look. There’s a soft-focus effect, like the colour is coming from within, and because of my colouring, it looks like a believable glow. I would say the colour is very similar to Bobbi Brown Slopes, Nars Douceur (another favourite) and Laura Mercier Violet Orchid. The product itself is very soft and silky and a real pleasure to apply. Fantastic workhorse for those with soft colouring, but may look too muddy on very fair, crystalline complexions, and probably just meh on very deep, dramatic colouring.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 krystleclear on 3/18/2014 5:45:00 AM more reviews by krystleclear

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Don't judge this blush by how it looks in the pan or how it swatches on your arm. I do not know why but it transforms when you apply it on your cheeks. It gives this natural rosy flush on your cheeks. I always use this whenever I am using vampy or too-bright lipstick shades because it is such a neutral color. When I am wearing my red lipsticks, I always pair them with this blush because it gives such an elegant look!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sara44 on 2/22/2014 3:18:00 PM more reviews by Sara44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this blush.
It's the perfect netural blush, easy to apply, great colour, lasts long. My every day blush :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovesyndrome on 2/10/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by lovesyndrome

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't written a review in forever, but I felt compelled to write about this. I've heard a lot about this blush from all the beauty vloggers on YouTube, so I've swatched Exposed a few times when I went to Sephora, but it always seemed too dark and ruddy. However, Sephora has an awesome 500-point perk right now for Beauty Insiders, which came with an eyeshadow, Lights Cameras Flashes mascara (my new favorite, as well), finishing powder, Maracuja oil (I think I prefer Josie Maran Argan oil), and this. Best 500-pt perk ever because I own zero Tarte products but always hear so many things about them. Enough rambling, so I got to try this blush on for the first time on my cheeks with an actual blush brush instead of my fingers, and...I LOVE IT. I don't own many blushes at all, before this, my favorite was NARS Deep Throat, but this Tarte one is so pretty and natural. It gives a warm, rosy flush in my fair, Asian skin tone. Blends well and just feels smooth and cooling on the face. My new favorite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HWL on 2/7/2014 2:23:00 PM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

It's a lovely dusty rose color, almost red brick shade on. It looks dull in the pan, almost like a light mud brown color. I heard it was good for pale girls and gave it shot, and worked out. I find it hard to get on right, as i have redness issues. At first It went on blotchy and didn't blend right. The spots or red looked like I'd abraded my skin. With better coverage of the redness areas, blush always works better. When you get blended on right, this really is a great color are stays well. Seems those that glide on easy, can glide off easy. This is a little more work to get on right, so it's not too strong or to light and blended. I tried a Tarte cheek stain (very orange) and it had no staying power. I think a great shade for pale types. Great for brunettes. Might even work well on olive skin. Goes perfect with a berry or brownish lipstick. A very good purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Blush products