Desert Essence • Coconut Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.7(47 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 tanishaxo on 8/21/2014 8:57:00 AM more reviews by tanishaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used Dessert Essence Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner, I really enjoyed the scent but it didn't really work out with my curly hair. After a few weeks it made my hair dry and caused my scalp to be itchy. It is a good price though ranging from $6-$9 depending where you purchase it from.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 6/28/2014 3:08:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a typical example of a Greenwashing ripoff selling a suphate detergent based, drying and color-stripping shampoo and dressing it up with lots of cute fruit and vegetable names when it is in fact almost identical to cheaper sulphate brands. The main ingredients are water then sulphates - no wonder everyone is finding it drying and color stripping.

The company puts extracts at the top of the list to hide the sulphates deep down the list away from view, but if you check the ingredients after water there are tons of "extracts" listed...well "extracts" means water, with the tiniest bit of herb or whatever they can get away with just to make it look good. So the ingredients list should actually read:

Water, sodium coco sulphate, decyl glucoside, propanediol, coco-glucoside, butyrospermum parkii butter, coco nucifera oil, simmondsia chinensis oil, cannabis sativa oil, olea europaea oil, dehydroacetic acid, glycerin, hydrogenated coco-glycerides, sodium chloride, potassium sorbate, lauryl glucoside, benzyl alcohol, citric acid, stearyl citrate, fragrance, rosmarinus officinalis leaf, arctium lappa root, achillea millefolium, hamamelis virginiana, foeniculum vulgare, sambucus nigra, aloe barbadensis.

Sodium coco suphate is EXACTLY the same chemical as sodium lauryl sulphate, just hiding under a different name*

I would only recommend this as a clarifying shampoo if you like the smell of coconut and have oily virgin hair that you don't want to grow any longer than the shoulders.


*For a fairly easy science explanation of why sodium coco suphate = sodium lauryl sulphate see:
http://longhair.livejournal.com/2356788.html
You will see both has the EXACT chemical identification number (CAS number) because they are the same product, except sodium coco sulfate is has impurities in it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Scatty on 6/11/2014 5:50:00 AM more reviews by Scatty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product so far, 4 uses in. It adequately cleans my hair and scalp and has a nice smell. It leaves my hair feeling soft and reasonably manageable. I do use a good conditioner with it though, which is not the Desert Essence one. I would be interested in trying the matching conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 linwild on 6/9/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by linwild

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo is supposed to be moisturizing, but had the opposite effect for me. I look for SLS-free shampoos, which are less likely to strip and dry out my hair. This is SLS-free, but contains another ingredient that produces lather. The shampoo left my hair dried out and stiff, even after using my usual hydrating conditioner and adding coconut/argan oil (as usual) after towel-drying. This is going to be donated or repurposed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 janne1 on 5/19/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by janne1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have bought this shampoo because my local store was not restocking the Fragrance Free Pure shampoo from the same brand.I have tried Desert Essence Red Raspberry shampoo but it was drying out my hair way too much so I tried this one.. because it says for the dry hair.... and the result was totally opposite from what I would expect. My hair got dry to the point that it breaks when i touch, I do not recall it being so dry... terrible result. I am giving it 2 stars because it seems to be working for other people, so maybe it has something which my hair is not reacting well too... but still can't give more than this because even Head and Shoulders shampoo does not leave my hair dried out and stripped from everything, breaking even on slight touch.. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Omykiss on 4/14/2014 6:25:00 PM more reviews by Omykiss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I admit - I stopped using conventional shampoos over a year ago. As I'm sure many people have already heard from someone, somewhere, they all seemed to exacerbate the oil production on my already naturally VERY oily scalp.

Now, having confessed that... when I do use a shampoo, which happens maybe once a month, it is this one. The smell is heavenly (& I don't even like coconut that much!), the lather is usually great (depends on greasiness), and this product caused the least amount of issues with my scalp oil production.

It was the last shampoo I tried before discovering a basic tea tree oil soap bar, which I'm happy to report has finally given me my desired results. I can actually go two entire days without looking like I've combed bacon grease through my hair!

Why do I still indulge in this Desert Essence Coconut shampoo on occasion? Mainly the smell :) Rare use of it does not throw my scalp completely out of whack, although I can feel the unpleasant difference in my hair the next day. BUT this is obviously just my personal experience. If I had a typical head of hair, I would probably adore this shampoo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anisola on 4/4/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by anisola

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS SHAMPOO. I have really fine hair that tends to be on the drier side. This shampoo does not weight it down and it feels so silky soft. I also love that it's completely natural. The only downside is that the coconut in it tends to get harder in cooler temps, making it harder to squeeze the shampoo out of the bottle. Not that big of a deal, but kind of annoying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 3/12/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo dries my hair out and does nothing for it. I am unsure why it does, it has coconut oil and other great ingredients. It DOES work well on my son and husband who have fine normal hair. Mine is very thick, coarse, and wavy.

The bottle leaks constantly and there's nothing you can do about it. I wouldn't buy this again because it's not anything special and does nothing for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fsmeath on 3/1/2014 12:25:00 AM more reviews by fsmeath

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

this shampoo is sls-free (it contains sodium coco-sulfate instead, as the lathering ingredient). it is pretty drying if you don't get the amount just right. when i used it the first time, i shampooed twice because i was afraid it wouldn't clean sufficiently. it actually lathers up very well, but i overdid it and stripped my hair--leaving it very squeaky when wet, and flyaway and frizzy when dry. the second time i used about 4 pea size amounts and washed in sections (time consuming, yes). when my hair was wet, it felt clean but not overly stripped, which is about right for my hair as i don't use conditioner. the third time, i used only slightly more than 4 pea size amounts and ended up again with a dry, frizzy mess.

in summary: this is a pain in the ass to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CODYKERI on 2/16/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by CODYKERI

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like the smell and packaging but even though it is relatively natural it stripped the color I had just had done, right out. It's a tad drying too. I will only use as a clarifying shampoo and will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Desert Essence products

More Shampoo products