Desert Essence • Coconut Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.9(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Omykiss on 4/14/2014 6:25:00 PM more reviews by Omykiss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I admit - I stopped using conventional shampoos over a year ago. As I'm sure many people have already heard from someone, somewhere, they all seemed to exacerbate the oil production on my already naturally VERY oily scalp.

Now, having confessed that... when I do use a shampoo, which happens maybe once a month, it is this one. The smell is heavenly (& I don't even like coconut that much!), the lather is usually great (depends on greasiness), and this product caused the least amount of issues with my scalp oil production.

It was the last shampoo I tried before discovering a basic tea tree oil soap bar, which I'm happy to report has finally given me my desired results. I can actually go two entire days without looking like I've combed bacon grease through my hair!

Why do I still indulge in this Desert Essence Coconut shampoo on occasion? Mainly the smell :) Rare use of it does not throw my scalp completely out of whack, although I can feel the unpleasant difference in my hair the next day. BUT this is obviously just my personal experience. If I had a typical head of hair, I would probably adore this shampoo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anisola on 4/4/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by anisola

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS SHAMPOO. I have really fine hair that tends to be on the drier side. This shampoo does not weight it down and it feels so silky soft. I also love that it's completely natural. The only downside is that the coconut in it tends to get harder in cooler temps, making it harder to squeeze the shampoo out of the bottle. Not that big of a deal, but kind of annoying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 3/12/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo dries my hair out and does nothing for it. I am unsure why it does, it has coconut oil and other great ingredients. It DOES work well on my son and husband who have fine normal hair. Mine is very thick, coarse, and wavy.

The bottle leaks constantly and there's nothing you can do about it. I wouldn't buy this again because it's not anything special and does nothing for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fsmeath on 3/1/2014 12:25:00 AM more reviews by fsmeath

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

this is pretty drying if you don't get the amount you use just right. when i used it the first time, i shampooed twice because i was afraid it wouldn't clean sufficiently. this lathers very well, but i overdid it and stripped my hair--leaving it very squeaky when wet, and flyaway and frizzy when dry. the second time i used about 4 pea size amounts and washed in sections (time consuming, yes). when my hair was wet, it felt clean but not overly stripped, which is about right for my hair as i don't use conditioner. the third time, i used only slightly more than 4 pea size amounts and ended up again with a dry, frizzy mess. overall, boo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CODYKERI on 2/16/2014 3:16:00 PM more reviews by CODYKERI

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like the smell and packaging but even though it is relatively natural it stripped the color I had just had done, right out. It's a tad drying too. I will only use as a clarifying shampoo and will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amandadee97 on 12/22/2013 7:38:00 PM more reviews by amandadee97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Would I call this HG? Maybe; frankly part of the reason I'm sticking with this shampoo is that I'm sick of testing other products...
That isn't to say I don't like this shampoo, on the contrary I really do. For a sulfate free poo, the lather is amazing! The scent is subtle but lovely. It cleans without stripping, though tangles my crown a bit. It alleviated the mad itching I had experienced lately. This, combined with the conditioner, gives me the absolute greatest second day hair ever(I shampoo every second day or I get terrible build up). Shiny but not greasy roots, incredibly soft hair, though that may be more because of the conditioner.
Still, I do like this shampoo. One lippie off because it's pricier than other options--though I suppose it is ultimately worth it--and because the packaging is meh. I like that it's in a tube but I feel like it hardly comes out, so I typically have to unscrew the cap to get the product.

Here are the ingredients, by the way. I think this is the reformulation but I'm not sure.
Water, rosemary leaf extract, burdock root extract, yarrow extract, witch hazel leaf extract, fennel seed extract, black elderberry flower extract, aloe leaf extract, sodium coco sulfate(coconut derived), decyl glucoside(coconut and corn derived), propanediol(corn derived), coco-glucoside(coconut derived), shea butter, coconut oil, jojoba seed oil, hemp seed oil, olive fruit oil, dehydroacetic acid, glycerin, hydrogenated coco-glycerides(coconut derived), sodium chloride, potassium sorbate(fruit derived), lauryl glucoside(plant derived), citric acid, stearyl citrate(vegetable derived), benzyl alcohol, benzyl benzoate, coumarin, limonene, fragrance

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 selins on 12/1/2013 12:06:00 PM more reviews by selins

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

BAD BAD BAD. Yeah I kmow this was suppossed to be moisturizing shampoo but it dries my hair out soooo much (both shampoo and conditioner) and this was like 20$ at here so really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Westiw on 8/4/2013 4:11:00 PM more reviews by Westiw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I love this shampoo the smell is divine like all sls free shampoos you need to add extra water to make it foam

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KimikoTaicho on 8/4/2013 4:00:00 AM more reviews by KimikoTaicho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo and conditioner after reading reviews here and decided to take a chance with it. I was pleasantly surprised!

I should say that I don't just put shampoo in my hair and scrub away - I found that pulled out a lot of hair. Instead, I pour the amount I usually use (about two quarters worth; I have thick hair) into an empty shampoo bottle, fill the bottle about halfway with water, shake until it's too thick and sudsy to shake, and pour that over my hair. The end result is a lovely larger that I can massage into my scalp without excess pulling on my hair. I do the same with every conditioner I use.

With this pair, the lather is creamy and feels wonderful. It does an excellent job of cleansing my hair and scalp. In addition, I bought a hair catcher for my shower and, after using this pair, there's maybe only one or two hairs in the catcher. A magnificent improvement!

After I get out of the shower, I gently squeeze excess water out of my hair and style and usual. My hair is left smooth, soft, and lovely.

All said, this has been a wonderful find. I'm almost done with my current bottles and just bought more today. I'll definitely be repurchasing.

Love it!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brooklynbee on 7/30/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by brooklynbee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Love this shampoo and the matching conditioner. Mild but pleasant smell, decent lather, no sulfates. I haven't had scalp issues with this for the most part, and I have a pretty sensitive scalp. It makes my hair really shiny- I also want to try the raspberry shampoo for even MORE shine but haven't had a chance yet!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Desert Essence products

More Shampoo products