Desert Essence Coconut Shampoo

3.6

52 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

(CONTAINS SULPHATES: SODIUM COCO SULPHATE) Water (aqua), rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract*, arctium lappa (burdock) root extract*, achillea millefolium (yarrow) extract*, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) leaf extract*, foeniculum vulgare (fennel) seed extract*, sambucus nigra (black elderberry) flower extract*, aloe barbadensis leaf extract*, sodium coco-sulfate (coconut derived), decyl glucoside (coconut and corn derived), propanediol (corn derived), coco-glucoside (coconut derived), butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter*, coco nucifera (coconut) oil*, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil*, cannabis sativa (hemp) seed oil*, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil*, dehydroacetic acid, glycerin, hydrogenated coco-glycerides (coconut derived), sodium chloride, potassium sorbate (fruit derived), lauryl glucoside (plant derived), benzyl alcohol (plant derived), citric acid, stearyl citrate (vegetable derived), fragrance (parfum).


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Awful. Made my hair limp and crunchy. I have fine hair that tends to get a bit dry and is prone to tangles. Too much protein perhaps? I haven't found one sulfate free shampoo that works for me.



on 1/29/2015 10:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love the matching conditioner, so I am very happy that this worked for me. My hair can tolerate sulfate free shampoos so this worked out pretty good for me. It cleans well, which I want for my scalp and it gets rid of all the oils and styling products I put in my hair. I'm sad to see that others find this drying, but I can see their point. You definitely want to follow with a hydrating conditioner. My scalp usually gets greasy more than my ends so I need something like this to cleanse any excess oil away. I pair this with any of my Shea Moisture or Nubian Heritage conditioners and my hair retains its curl and shine.


on 10/10/2014 4:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love this shampoo! But use the conditioner as well. It makes my curly/wavy hair super hydrated and soft. It also smells amazing. My BIL commented that my hair smelled good after we went to the lake and it got wet. My ends are soft and it does not make my hair greasy or oily. This is the only shampoo and conditioner that I use!


on 10/7/2014 6:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a shampoo for dry hair?? I don't think so....after about 2 weeks of use what I have to say is that,If you have dry hair don't buy this product...I had high expectations because I read so many good reviews...I want to use it sometimes that I need to moisturize my hair....
I have greasy hair and this shampoo is like a shampoo for that type of hair....it gives me volume and cleans really well, also lathers well,but it seem that makes my hair a bit dry...maybe would be much more dry if I didn't use a good conditioner...
so how it can work for people with dry hair? I read in some reviews that they change the composition..maybe this is the culprit...I don't know...
I give 3 stars just because it smells great-something like coconut and pineapple- and because it is not so bad for my oily hair when I want to have a deep clean of my scalp and give some volume...but this shampoo is not for oily hair so I can't give more stars and confuse people with dry hair who want to try it!!!
the packaging also is a bit difficult to handle...you need to press quite tough to get the product out and this is a bit annoying....so maybe I do recommend this product to people with oily hair...I don't recommend it to those with dry...yes yes it is a shampoo for dry hair,but something goes wrong here.....!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/14/2014 7:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This shampoo is very drying. It made my hair look like straw.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2014 8:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used Dessert Essence Coconut Shampoo and Conditioner, I really enjoyed the scent but it didn't really work out with my curly hair. After a few weeks it made my hair dry and caused my scalp to be itchy. It is a good price though ranging from $6-$9 depending where you purchase it from.


on 6/28/2014 3:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a typical example of a Greenwashing ripoff selling a suphate detergent based, drying and color-stripping shampoo and dressing it up with lots of cute fruit and vegetable names when it is in fact almost identical to cheaper sulphate brands. The main ingredients are water then sulphates - no wonder everyone is finding it drying and color stripping.

The company puts extracts at the top of the list to hide the sulphates deep down the list away from view, but if you check the ingredients after water there are tons of "extracts" listed...well "extracts" means water, with the tiniest bit of herb or whatever they can get away with just to make it look good. So the ingredients list should actually read:

Water, sodium coco sulphate, decyl glucoside, propanediol, coco-glucoside, butyrospermum parkii butter, coco nucifera oil, simmondsia chinensis oil, cannabis sativa oil, olea europaea oil, dehydroacetic acid, glycerin, hydrogenated coco-glycerides, sodium chloride, potassium sorbate, lauryl glucoside, benzyl alcohol, citric acid, stearyl citrate, fragrance, rosmarinus officinalis leaf, arctium lappa root, achillea millefolium, hamamelis virginiana, foeniculum vulgare, sambucus nigra, aloe barbadensis.

Sodium coco suphate is EXACTLY the same chemical as sodium lauryl sulphate, just hiding under a different name*

I would only recommend this as a clarifying shampoo if you like the smell of coconut and have oily virgin hair that you don't want to grow any longer than the shoulders.


*For a fairly easy science explanation of why sodium coco suphate = sodium lauryl sulphate see:
http://longhair.livejournal.com/2356788.html
You will see both has the EXACT chemical identification number (CAS number) because they are the same product, except sodium coco sulfate is has impurities in it.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2014 5:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this product so far, 4 uses in. It adequately cleans my hair and scalp and has a nice smell. It leaves my hair feeling soft and reasonably manageable. I do use a good conditioner with it though, which is not the Desert Essence one. I would be interested in trying the matching conditioner.


on 6/9/2014 5:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This shampoo is supposed to be moisturizing, but had the opposite effect for me. I look for SLS-free shampoos, which are less likely to strip and dry out my hair. This is SLS-free, but contains another ingredient that produces lather. The shampoo left my hair dried out and stiff, even after using my usual hydrating conditioner and adding coconut/argan oil (as usual) after towel-drying. This is going to be donated or repurposed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2014 3:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have bought this shampoo because my local store was not restocking the Fragrance Free Pure shampoo from the same brand.I have tried Desert Essence Red Raspberry shampoo but it was drying out my hair way too much so I tried this one.. because it says for the dry hair.... and the result was totally opposite from what I would expect. My hair got dry to the point that it breaks when i touch, I do not recall it being so dry... terrible result. I am giving it 2 stars because it seems to be working for other people, so maybe it has something which my hair is not reacting well too... but still can't give more than this because even Head and Shoulders shampoo does not leave my hair dried out and stripped from everything, breaking even on slight touch.. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
Shampoo
414 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
Shimmer Lights
335 Reviews
All Soft Shampoo
All Soft Shampoo
738 Reviews


Back to Top