Koh Gen Do Aqua Foundation

4.4

56 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

(BE-1, PK-1, 0C-1, 0C-2): Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Neopentyl Glycol Diethylhexanoate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Peg-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Pentylene Glycol, Sea Water, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Sorbitan Sesquiisostearate, Mica, Glycerin, Phytosteryl / Octyldodecyl Lauroyl Glutamate, Sodium Chloride. Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Acrylates Polytrimethyl Siloxymethacrylate Copolymer, Butylene Glycol. Dimethicone. Phenoxyethanol, Stearic Acid, Aluminum Dimyristate, Silica, Zirconium Dioxide. Talc, Isostearyl Sebacate, Alumina, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Squalane, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Betula Alba Juice, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Glucosyl Hesperidin, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Betula Alba Bark Extract, Kjellmaniella Gyrate Extract, Algae Extract, Alpinia Speciosa Leaf Extract, Iron Oxides


on 2/22/2015 7:45:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Silver, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Upon email request, Koh Gen Do sent me samples of this foundation based on the color swatches I viewed from on their website. This is a lovely foundation but not for mature, dry skin in the winter. The best color match for me was the 113 but slightly too yellow for my medium, fair skin with cool undertones. This foundation did emphasize several dry patches and pores but I assume it caused by not wearing a good moisturizer under the foundation. Thus, one should definitely prep with good moisturizer. A bit overpriced too!

On the up side. The foundation did stay on the entire day over 8 hours and has a good SPF. The sample powder blush in PK was awesome as well as their cleansing water. Will order those two items for sure.



on 2/14/2015 2:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

In 2013, I purchased the old formulation of the Maifanshi Aqua Foundation in OC-2 from Sephora. I found this the best for my combination, hormonal acneic skin as it did not break me out, nor make me too oily in the summer. I liked that the finish in natural light was radiant but not oily. However, in flash photography this made me look too white, where my face did not match the color of my body. I assume the white color could be due to the SPF 15/PA++ in the formulation.

To rectify this, I mixed my existing OC-2 with the Koh Gen Do Maifanshi Moisture Foundation in #123 in the winters and in the summer with the Moisture Foundation shade #301 to deepen the color from a tan. In addition, I made sure not to use a brightening primer or HD powder and I also used a bit of Aqua Illuminator in IL01 to deflect that white cast in photos.

I know this foundation has since been reformulated but curious to follow up if other users have had problems with the white cast?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2014 10:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Koh Gen Do Aqua foundation in one word is amazing. I have hormonal acne which can get very aggravated and angry, and I also suffer from allergies which can leave my skin very dry. This foundation is my saviour. Even when my skin is very bad underneath I still get compliments on how great my skin looks- it really does give a natural glow. It looks like skin, is extremely moisturising, long lasting, makes redness disappear, looks amazing in photos and even better than any of these benefits at the end of the day when I take the makeup off my skin doesn't feel worse for wear. It really is that gentle.

I have purchased nearly the whole Goh Ken Do range, and I recommend it as an important investment in their skin to anyone who has similar skin issues to me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2014 12:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I have dehydrated-normal acne-prone skin that is prone to flaking. I have been looking for a foundation that would work with my skin type and gave samples of this a shot.

I tried applying this foundation various ways (fingers, brush, stippling, beautyblender) and over various products (bare skin, moisturizer, sunscreen) to no avail. No matter what, in less than 30 minutes it emphasizes every flake on my face and has dried into some horrible reptilian finish. I have never seen my face look as dry as with this. It might look okay over a primer heavy with silicones but that is not part of my normal routine, and for the price I do not think another product should be necessary.

I was not impressed with this foundation at all and would not recommend purchasing without trying it beforehand.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2014 5:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

One of the best foundations I have ever tried: beautiful coverage, blends beautifully, the color (012) illuminates my face in a natural way. The SPF is also a great benefit, not to mention that the ingredient list contains so many natural products. Good, hygienic packaging. I wear it everyday when I go to work and it is light enough for my skin so that I don`t break out or have any spots in the morning. The only downside to it is that I cannot use it in the winter, as it is a little too drying in cold weather.


Update: I just realized that while the product in one of these pics looks the same as the one I am using (the reddish hue bottle), the Japanese version of this foundation that I was writing about is a little different than the American one. For one thing, in Japan this has SPF 24 PA++, while in US it is only SPF 15. Also was surprised that many reviewers complained that the American version is so sheer. The Japanese version provides pretty good coverage in my opinion.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2014 3:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Nothing spectacular... I guess it all depends on what kind of coverage you like. If you like a sheer coverage with a nice finish this is ok. I have to have a medium at best.. Just what I prefer.. Spending this amount of money on something sheer seems pointless to me. Might as well get a good tinted moisturizer. The IT Cosmetics CC cream delivers a prettier finish with a whole lot more coverage..

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 7/10/2014 1:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this from Japan a few years ago and I use it for work. I'm a flight attendant and work 11 hour shifts and this product works great! I think I paid about $57, which is a little more than what I would normally pay for foundation. But in my opinion, it is worth it! I read somewhere that this product line was created for actors/actresses who wear makeup all day. That's why it really does work great for every day wear or for long lasting wear like I do for work. It prevents my face from getting shiny and oily like other foundations would do if I wore it for 11 hours. It feels light (not thick or oily at all!) and it blends really smoothly. I had a Koh Gen Do sponge that came with it but I had to eventually throw it out. The sponge is fantastic too! It doesn't absorb all of the liquid makeup like a lot of sponges do. So now since I don't have their sponge, I just use my finger tips to apply and then blend with a generic sponge.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2014 11:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

So first off, I think this is a great product - it really is. It goes on very smooth and doesn't settle into any lines or anything, which is great. I got color 113 and it was a little yellow for my pink skin, but blended well. The only reason I can't wear it anymore is because my skin is extremely sensitive and it made me break out everywhere, so I really just can't keep putting it on. I have a face full of little bumps after using it for only a week. If your skin is oily you're going to want to use a primer or setting powder of some sort, as I found near the end of the work day it started to cake and "slide off".

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2014 1:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is one of my two HG foundations along with by Terry Cover Expert. I have the old formula in BE1, which is a good match for my NC20/25 with some olive undertones. The finish is beautiful. It looks great imediately but continues to "melt" into my skin and by hour two it's gorgeous.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2014 3:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have the old formulation which I purchased off HauteLook. I have the color OC-1 which is the perfect color for me. I am around NC 20-25. The formulation is a silky smooth light to medium finish, buildable. If you have blemishes, you will have to use concealer for that extra coverage. It is not super long lasting but still provides 4-5 hours lasting power. This foundation looks so seamless like skin that people would ask me if I am wearing foundation. I have been using it non-stop since I have bought it. I like to apply the foundation with a brush because it gives me a more flawless finish. The packaging is in a glass pump bottle with a cap which I find very sleek. I would repurchase it again at full price but I know this product has been reformulated so I would have to try the new version.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top