Revlon • Grow Luscious Waterproof • Mascara

rated 2.3(69 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 allycat7005 on 4/16/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by allycat7005

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I do like this mascara, but every time I wear it, it always smudges under my eye. I don't even put mascara on .y bottom lashes! :( every time I wear this I always have to wipe underneath my eye with a tissue, which is a pain. I will use up the whole bottle and try to find something similar to this. There are better brands out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jojenja9 on 3/26/2014 9:17:00 AM more reviews by jojenja9

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't been using this long enough to know if my lashes will grow, but that's not what I was looking for when I purchased it. What I like is that this is a simple, non-clumping mascara that adds a decent amount of color. I didn't want lashes that look like false eyelashes.
I had also tried the plumpling version of Grow Luscious, but I didn't like the tendency to deposit small clumps on the lashes.
I do get a small amount of residue under my lower lashes at the end of the day, so I may have to stop applying any to my lower lashes; otherwise, I like this mascara for its natural look and staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Babo on 3/5/2014 9:39:00 AM more reviews by Babo

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is supposed to be waterproof but two hours after application it is still coming off on a tissue. In addition, I think it is irritating my eyes. I base that assumption on the fact that since I've been using it (3 days) my eyes have been stinging later in the day.

I can't even recall why I purchased it. I normally buy L'Oreal products and will be returning to them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CompassionIsSexy on 2/13/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by CompassionIsSexy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The mascara is supposed to be waterproof, but I experienced smearing and smudging after wearing it a few hours. This didn't happen with revlon's photoready waterproof mascara. I'll just go back to using that one.

I like Revlon. Next to Rimmel it's the best drugstore brand of makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Staaarlit on 11/13/2013 2:34:00 PM more reviews by Staaarlit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

My lashes are mid-length, thin, and straight as hell.

I did not like this the first time I used it. In fact, I was pissed off after the first use because of its poor performance. Since I'd gone out to buy this item based on some beauty article of the top 5 mascaras, I really expected it to be THAT good. Sadly, this product was flaky, and it stiffened and drooped my lashes. I didn't bother with it for several weeks after, but guilt eventually got to me that I shouldn't waste money like that. I had to make use of this darn thing, so I tried coupling it with another mascara just so I could use up the product, & boy did this do the trick.

I use another mascara to target mainly the base of my lashes (near my lash line). This helps to hold the curl and add volume. I then apply the lash potion to my lashes, focusing mainly on the outer half. This helps to not only thicken, but extremely lengthen my lashes. As a result, I get thick, voluminous, and long lashes.

Note: This product easily creates that stiffened scary "spidery-leg" look, which is just awful, but I find this happens to lashes that are already clumpy or poorly curled. If your lashes are fanned out in a nice way, this mascara should work well to enhance them. I think this potion would nicely suit those who have thick lashes.

Color -- The depth of its color is what helps define these lashes. The black is REALLY black, rather than that off-black/grey color and thus barely noticeable on lashes. No, this black is a very promising black that will make your lashes stand out.

Packaging -- gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. So gorgeous! Mascaras that come at $20 (i.e. Lancome) should really consider putting some effort and creativity into their packaging.

Price -- can't remember, but it was fairly cheap/affordable

Removal -- I see some people complain about the struggle of removing this. I do agree that the product does attach like crazy to your lashes. I mean...craaazy attached, which is a positive aspect if you think about it. Who would want yucky runny mascara during a rainy day or a moment of uncontrollable emotions thanks to hormones? (Nobody) But if you correctly remove waterproof mascaras, there shouldn't be any issues. There are several ways to do it. I usually just use about 3 q-tips. 1 q-tip per eye; I dip one side into eye makeup remover, and then I coat my entire lashes while gently rubbing on them to loosen up the product. Once the tip is all covered with product, flip it around, dip it in the makeup remover and repeat. Do this to both eyes. The last q-tip is just for cleaning up any mess that still remains. Very simple. If you don't want to use q-tips, use cotton pads. Ponds cold cream + makeup wipes also work well. Removal really isn't a big deal....

I can see why this is a hated item to the girls in the thin lashes department (like moi). If you have thin lashes, try doing what I do. It works for me, and I'd actually repurchase this just because I really like how the result is. I do recommend this to people with thick/full lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 claresmum on 11/12/2013 6:54:00 PM more reviews by claresmum

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've tried so many "waterproof" and "sweat proof" mascaras that didn't work that I was wondering what was wrong with me (same problem with lip stains, but that would be another review". Revlon Lash Potion really works well for me. I wasn't looking for something to lengthen my lashes, though, just trying another waterproof product. It stays on until I take it off. Considering some of the high end mascaras I've tried, I'm amazed that this drugstore stuff really works. I have say that the packaging is ugly. Really ugly. I will be buying this mascara again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shuppet88 on 8/22/2013 5:32:00 AM more reviews by shuppet88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, this was really bad. I actually quite liked the volume it gave me, although the big brush made it go on my eyelids. I don't even have a problem with that though. My main beef with this product is that I got it because the package said "waterproof." But I splashed my face with water, touched my lashes, and already it started to flake off. Umm...? I don't get it. I actually stood in front of my mirror and used *just* water to fully remove this stuff. I just got this because there was a coupon that brought the price down to $3.50. After I went to Six Flags and spent the day in their water park, I realized the necessity for a waterproof mascara as I'd worn a non-WP that day (not really thinking :P). I never really am in a situation where I need one, other than that day. My lashes don't really have a problem holding a curl with my trusty Jordana Best Lash or most any other mascara really. And I don't really experience flaking or smudging with any mascaras. Until I came across this one. And it didn't quite hold my curl, which popular knowledge suggests that WP mascaras are supposed to be able to do. I just don't understand how it completely washed off with water! I even washed and rinsed my hands thoroughly, so there was no natural oil or soap to do the removal. I even have normal/dry-ish skin around my eye area so there wasn't much oil there that could have aided in the easy removal of this mascara. So it's definitely not waterproof, at least on me. That was the main reason I even picked it up, really. :/ I can't believe I'm going to take back a <$5 mascara but I just really feel it's that much of a waste of even $3.50. I'm just going to try another one :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Deedsrho on 8/22/2013 12:28:00 AM more reviews by Deedsrho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

It's just like any other mascara... It was nothing special. Clams to add the natural growth process of lashes. I have used it for 2 months and haven't seen any changes... The colour and brush are nice but does clump up.

If I were to have this product again it wold be my emergency mascara. If I were to lose my everyday mascara I'd resort to this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bhenchodh on 8/13/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by bhenchodh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

my fav...never smudged on me and very easy to take off with mild soap and water...lashes stay soft and full and the best part...it makes them grow like crazy...i love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bhenchodh on 8/13/2013 10:42:00 PM more reviews by bhenchodh

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

looks decent...hurts like hell...lashes are stiff like spikes...impossible to take off...flakes...waste of money...fabulash waterproof grow luscious is 100 times better...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Mascara products