Hard Candy • Just Face It - One Step Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(116 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Sabrina67 on 12/19/2014 10:26:00 PM more reviews by Sabrina67

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm with the other 40-ish women who say that their skin has taken on a more yellowish tone as they are aging and that it's really hard to find a proper match when purchasing a drugstore foundation.
Maybelline and CG do not have enough shades for my skin-tone and are indeed too pinkish (or turn pinkish or orangey). Well, I bought the Hard Candy foundation in Fair and it is the right shade. It doesn't turn color on me. I use it over L'Oreal Futur-E with SPF 15 and it glides on nicely and dries evenly, but quickly.
As others have noted, my bottle also has these tiny plastic particles in it. I'm not sure why this is. Perhaps to make sure the product doesn't separate? I don't know. What I do know is that if you simply use a sponge to smooth out your foundation (which you should probably do anyway), the whole 'particle problem' goes away.
The only gripe I have is that, due to the plastic particles, the pump has clogged. I have to unscrew the cap every time to get the product out. Not so great. A squeeze tube would probably have been a better way to package this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kriselder05 on 12/12/2014 5:11:00 PM more reviews by kriselder05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Pros
Great packaging - pump!!!
Awesome color (I am fair skinned with slight yellow undertones and I got the lightest color)

Cons
Felt like a mask - I had to wipe it off in my car on my way to work it looked so bad
It made my pores look huge and greasy! I have combo skin by the way
It was sheer coverage and not very build-able
Transfer was horrible when I put my clothes on
I had to sample three different ones at the store before I found one without the "plastic flakes" everyone is talking about
The smell was a little funny

For the price and color, I wish this would have worked out for me but it's a no-go!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JenniferParis on 11/24/2014 5:50:00 AM more reviews by JenniferParis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The most ideal foundation I have ever purchased, for a number of reasons. Primarily, their formula in the "Fair" shade is the only makeup base I have ever found to match my skin tone perfectly. My skin is fair, with strongly-yellow undertones, but not especially warm. A very neutral yellow. Nearly all other brands of foundation are too pink, or -- if yellow-based -- too warm, and my skin looks sallow. But not this, which is a terrific neutral yellow, instantly making my eyes appear brighter, and my skin look healthy, rather than sickly yellow.

Many other brands, such as Maybelline, oxidize dreadfully on my face, and within a few hours, I have a face two or three shades darker than my natural skin tone. With this, never is that the case. I apply it from the pump nozzle with my fingertips, stipple and blend it out with a huge foundation brush, and it lasts all day, even without setting powder. Coverage is great -- not cakey, but not too thin. My overall look, in fact, is as though I am not wearing makeup at all. In short, the effect I get with this product is one of "invisibility." The price is wonderful. I pick up a bottle at Wal-Mart, for very little.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sophystycat on 11/21/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by sophystycat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

the packaging is so cute I guess thats why I was drawn to it... but the formula was horrible I got this in the color fair im actually a light medium but in winter my skin gets so pale so thats why I got fair. the color is light. It doesn't have coverage fpr me I feel like its just a sheer mask. also it has little flakes in it and its such a chunky formula. it makes my face look dry. I wish it would have worked but it didnt oh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Brookeybrooke43 on 11/13/2014 3:28:00 PM more reviews by Brookeybrooke43

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Maybe I'm doing some wrong, like applying moisturizer and primer before I apply this, but it applies like cake batter would to my face. It doesn't blend in. It just looks horrid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kileylovescake on 10/7/2014 1:50:00 PM more reviews by kileylovescake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in the light shade and I love it! Yes, it does appear to have yellowy undertones, but it matches my yellow-y skin PERFECTLY! They offer a ton of really light shades, too, if that's what you need.

I read several of the bad reviews on this product talking about loose pieces of shimmery bits that sit on your face after applying the foundation. I have NOT had this problem. I inspected the inside of my bottle and found nothing. Thus, I feel that these ladies must have gotten a bad batch...or Hard Candy has reformulated.

As far as it being "all in one" foundation, of course I find that impossible. I still use primer and concealer to brighten, but it does have very nice coverage! You really only need concealer for problem areas. Also, the formula is super matte which I LOVE!

The way I've been using it: moisturize & prime (sometimes both, sometimes just one), under-eye concealer (plus cover any break-outs), then dab a couple pumps of this foundation evenly across face (cheeks, chin, nose, forehead) and BUFF it out with a dense stippling brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitty55 on 10/6/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by kitty55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation on a whim and have to say I was very pleasantly surprised at how good it is. I have very oily skin and this just melts into a soft, smooth, natural looking finish that lasts fairly well without oxidizing. I don't believe this would be good for dry skin as it is a bit on the dry side when applying. I'm also not so sure about the all-in-one claim as I still use concealer wherever needed. I have not found any "plastic pieces" in it or on my face either??
UPDATE: Found that it has mineral oil in it. Although it looks good and wears pretty well, mineral oil is a no-no for pore clogging, etc. Now only use it rarely.. :(
UPDATE: OMG!! There ARE tiny pieces of plastic in it.! I noticed it today and the last time I wore it. Now it's in the trash..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjenn on 9/27/2014 7:41:00 PM more reviews by cjenn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to say I really like this foundation. I am always on the lookout for a light-med. coverage foundation that doesn't make me an oil slick within a few hours after application. I had some doubts about this one, due to the slightly yellowish undertones of the "light" shade. However, once on, my face looked flawless and didn't have that made up feel nor tell-tale demarcation line on my face. The effect is slightly matte, with a believable, healthy skin after finish to it. I do have to touch up after about four hours, but not as with some oilier foundations. I don't know about the primer, concealer, foundation, powder 4-in-1 claim, but that's why I have a separate concealer and primer. Not sure I notice a difference with or without the extra steps, but this seems to be a very nice, long-wearing foundation. Only thing it's missing is the spf factor, which I have a separate one for that too! Good foundation found at Walmart for the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Livalittle on 8/17/2014 6:52:00 PM more reviews by Livalittle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I bought this with the intention to like it cause I liked the concealer so much.

That didn't happen, I picked it up in the lightest shade and loved the packaging it had a pump, had 1.19 Fl oz. (average foundations only have 1 Fl oz of product). I went home and tried it on, it looked good I applied it normally I didn't like the weird grainy/gritty flex but it went on nicely. The First time and the last time I would like it.

The next couple times I applied it it made my skin look dull I looked like I had dry skin. I have a couple dry patches but my whole face isn't dry but it looked like I didn't even moisturized.

The last time I applied it I did my normal routine didn't change anything than it started stinging, than it started feeling like it was burning. So I took it off and low and behold my face had a few small breakouts and rashes all over. I tossed it in the trashed and have never rephurchased it. It was weird though cause I never had an allergy to foundation before but anyways don't buy this!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angelarose12 on 7/29/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by angelarose12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love the way this product works. No primer needed. After I moisturize I go straight to this foundation. It glides on smoothing and doesn't dry too quickly. After I cover my whole face I let it set for a minute then I go back and use it as an under eye concealer and put a little extra on blemishes. At first I feel like it makes my pores look huge and doesn't look flattering. But after an hour... then after a few hours. The foundation looks great! There isn't much more oil production than I usually have. So if you are hesitant on keeping it on your face after first applying, wait a few hours it will look way better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Foundations products