E.L.F. Studio Matte Lip Color

3.6

154 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Polysynlane, Mineral Oil, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Polyethylene, Cerifera (Carnauba)Wax. Silica, Mica, Methylparaben, Tocopherol Acetate (VE), Retinyl Palmitate (VA), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (VC), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491 CI 77492 CI 77499), Blue 1 Lake(CI 42090), Red No.6 Lake (CI 15850), Red No.27 Lake (CI 45410)


on 3/4/2015 3:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got the color "Cranberry" and it definitely did not dry matte. Not sure if the other shades are like that, but it's disappointing because I wanted a matte lip product, and also to get a product that meets advertised expectations. I had to go over my lips at least 5 times to make the color opaque. Yes it's cheap, but you're only getting 0.06 oz/1.8g of lip product. In comparison, Wet n Wild megalast lipsticks are only $2 for 0.11 oz/about 3 grams of product (nearly twice the amount of product for $1 less!) If you want to stay in the same price range, Wet n Wild megalast lipsticks are far superior in terms of opacity, wider range of shades and getting more product for your money. I wouldn't repurchase this ELF studio matte lip color.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this lipstick in natural, and I'm really impressed with it. The color is great, a perfect nude lip. the staying power is pretty outstanding for a $3 lip product, and it tastes like vanilla. The only thing I'm not a huge fan on is the fact that it's a lip pen, at first it was great because when it was sharp I could use it to line then fill my lips, but now that it's duller, it lost its lining ability so it takes quite a few swipes to cover my whole lip. I wish it was a tradional lipstick tube packing but overall I really like this product and would buy it in more colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 8:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this lipstick! It's actually my favorite matte lipstick formula wise. I have the color "natural". It goes on and looks a little shiny but dries to a matte finish. It lasts just about the same as a standard drugstore matte lipstick. The smell of it isnt too bad but you can lightly smell it when on your lips. I'm the type of person who can't wear a lipstick if the smell bothers me so i'm okay with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 5:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My review is specifically for the color Tea Rose, as it's the only one I have. This is one of the worst lip colors I have ever tried. The lipstick is hard and difficult to apply, so you have to go over your lips multiple times. The color payoff is horrible. But the worst part is the color itself. Tea Rose is a very light pink in a cool/blue base. Very unflattering on my medium beige skin tone. Washes out my lips and makes me look so bad. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone, it's not even worth $3!


on 2/16/2015 6:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This product is great! I first purchased this in the colors Natural and Rich Red just because it was so inexpensive and wasn't expecting much but ended up being blown away. Not only is the product inexpensive, it's really good and has staying power (lasted through a sushi meal). I now own Coral, Praline, Wine, and Tea Rose. I bought double of Coral and Praline to have as back up because those are great everyday colors. Currently working on getting all the colors in the collection! Definitely one of E.L.F's best lip products


on 2/6/2015 8:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff :( i wanted to like it but it makes any lines or dryness even worst. I even used the exfoliAtor and lip balm before this buy still didnt like the way it looked


on 2/6/2015 5:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this in Rich Red and I love it. The color is long-lasting and pigmented. Also it's not too drying on my lips. Wore it on a trip to NY once, amongst drinking multiple coffees and eating all day, I still had a good amount of color on my lips. It's still best to touch up in the middle of the day, but from there you should be good. The crayon does fall out of the tube after like 4 uses but i deal with it because this color is awesome. It doesn't have an overwhelming smell either. A++ for me and i will buy it in the other darker colors.


on 2/3/2015 5:17:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have dry lips, don't buy these. Very drying and crayon-like.Got this in Praline --hoped for MLBB, but it was too brown on me and Natural was too pale beige.


on 1/25/2015 1:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

AMAZING! By far the BEST matte lip color I've ever tried. So worth it! My favorite color is natural


on 1/20/2015 8:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very impressed with these matte formulas- glides on smooth and doesn't dry out my lips or settle in my lip lines. my only gripe is the color selection - very limited (and the pics online aren't reliable) but generally very wearable shades. I have found the best use for this as a lipliner under my lipsticks for better adhesion and it works like a charm. Have one in every color. Will repurchase on my next haul, hopefully they have more colors by then!


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
184 Reviews
provocalips
56 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top