Essie Topless & Barefoot

3.9

56 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/14/2014 6:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the perfect nude/pink color, however the formula is terrible. Goes on streaky and gloopy, even with a good base coat. Also takes forever to dry so I ruin almost every application. This is my first experience with Essie and likely my last.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/24/2014 5:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Ok, so this goes on streaky like most of Essie's light shades. However, I managed to get good coverage and a mostly smooth appearance after only 2 coats. I like the shade, it's a nude color with just a touch of pink. Looks clean and attractive - especially flattering if you have one nail that broke so it's shorter than all the rest! I prefer nude polish with a pink tinge, rather than an orange, because it looks better with my skin tone and a little more modern. I'd probably buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2014 7:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My best friend got me Essie's Topless & Barefoot polish for part of my birthday gift, and I love love it. My skin color is NC20, and this color is perfect on my tan olive skin. Its the perfect light pinkey nude color, without looking too bright. It's clean, pretty and soft looking. I would agree with others that with 2 coats it is opaque. I love that it is opaque and not sheer, as I have found some Essie polishes to be. I used to only use Adore-a-ball as my HG nude polish, but this one is going into the mix! Would highly recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2014 12:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Topless and Barefoot is an HG nude for my nc15 skin. It's a perfectly cool-toned nude that can be flattering on all types of skin tones. It definitely gives me the "mannequin hands" look. The formula is surprisingly easy to work with, considering that it's a light colored Essie. As expected, the first coat is fairly streaky, but evens out nicely with a 2nd coat. Opacity-wise, I'm going to call it a careful 2 coater, but sometimes it can take 3 to cover up any random streaks/imperfections. The dry time between each coat was surprisingly fast as well. Within 3 minutes, the first coat was completely dry. It also self-levels really nicely. Definitely a hit!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2013 10:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is everything I want in a nude polish. #1 it suits my skintone -looks pinky nude on my NC20 skin tone and looks very clean without looking too bright. #2 it is completely opaque in 2 coats: the first coat is streaky but the second one goes on like butter and looks perfect.
#3, I love the brush on Essie polishes, it's small enough to really get into the sides and works great for my small nail bed.
I love this shade for times where I want a clean slate, matches everything and looks very sophisticated. I also love pairing this with accent nails like Maybelline LE Gilded Rose as the pink and gold is soooo beautiful with this shade.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/26/2013 3:01:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got this on the advice/suggestions of some of the ladies on the nail board here at MUA. I wanted an opaque nude appropriate for pale, cool skin, so that I could do nude half-moons (with red nails, a classic retro look). Normally, I actually really don't like opaque nudes, but I think I was just using the wrong colours or something, because this is really pretty on my pale, cool-toned complexion. It's not really a match for my skin (it's a bit lighter and less saturated), but it does look really attractive.

This is so flattering it will probably get wear as a base for glitters and, just maybe, as a full manicure (that's saying a lot; I'm definitely a "flashy polish" kind of gal, so wearing an opaque nude for a full manicure is just about unheard of). This polish doesn't give me mannequin hands in a dull way (which has been my experience with nude opaques in the past), but with a fresh, pretty, light look. As I write this, I'm wearing this polish on all ten fingers, no glitter, no special effects top coats, nothing but the colour (and clear top coat), and I actually really like it. Such a surprise!

My only complaint is that this polish is a little hard to work with. The first coat is very streaky (which I mostly expected), but it also seems to drag and leave "bald spots". I ended up doing three coats on a couple of my fingers. Perhaps I just need to let it dry longer between coats (next time, I'll try that), and be careful not to overlap strokes too much.

If you want an opaque nude for a cool-toned, pale complexion, do try this. It's not too pink and not too brown and not too yellow, but just a nice, neutral, putty or sand coloured pale nude colour.

As for me, I like this so much that I bought a backup bottle! Who knew an opaque nude could look so very pretty? I wouldn't have until I tried this. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2013 3:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a manicure with this color and it's already chipping after three days. The woman doing the manicure looked very frustrated with the application of the polish, she kept having to redo a few nails. And she's normally very good at application.

My hands do look kind of "dead" with this on. I am more of a dark color person anyway.


on 9/24/2013 7:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Disappointed in this one, to be honest. I am not sure if I would even personally call it a nude. I was surprised to see that it has an almost lavender tint to it, although in retrospect this makes sense because it's a lot like a much paler version of Revlon Gray Suede, and that one has a significant purple tinge to it.

Mostly it's that the application is so streaky and tends to be thick. I think this is the streakiest polish I've ever tried to use. It's especially a shame because my other experience with Essie formulas has been great.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am always chasing after the best nude nail polish I can find. When a nude nail polish looks good in the bottle, I usually apply it and am disappointed. Nudes tend to look way too brown and muddy, and never compliment my skin tone. Topless & Barefoot is a beautiful nude that DOES NOT apply sheer, and has enough pink to really compliment any skin tone. I switch back to this color when I am looking for something more toned down from Essie Fiji, which is a really true, white-pink! Definitely try this if you are searching for a good nude polish.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2012 3:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a really great colour for me - I love nude shades, and a lot can turn out too apricot/peach/brown or muddy on my skin tone - I'm NW20 with pink undertones, and the colour looks great - clean, classy and fresh. The application is pretty bad - very streaky first coat, and not 100% even after the second. It is a colour I just use at the salon as I don't have the patience on my own.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

49 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top