Elizabeth Taylor Violet Eyes

3.4

27 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/23/2015 2:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I always buy Elizabeth Taylor scents when I see them in discount stores. I picked up this one from Marshalls.

At first it is a little peppery --- which I do not enjoy at all. The dry down is ok, but I prefer other EL scents -- Gardenia is my favorite, along with Brilliant White Diamonds.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/11/2015 10:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love Violet Eyes. It's a soft, slightly fruity, floral mixed with just the best cedar aroma I've ever smelled. All the notes are really light. The top notes include peach. The middle notes include jasmine and purple rose. The base notes include peony, amber and cedar. Light and pretty, Violet Eyes isn't overwhelming or offensive. However, it still has some lasting power and a little sillage. Sometimes I can barely detect it on myself without smelling my wrist, but I still receive comments from others and can smell it on my clothes later. The price is generally reasonable, but I suggest comparison shopping. My first bottle cost $44 dollars at a department store. I found my second bottle at Walmart for only $22 dollars. It definitely pays to shop around. However, even at $44 dollars, Violet Eyes easily smells like a perfume that should cost two or three times that amount. I highly recommend this beautiful fragrance. I know I will repurchase it again and again.



on 8/15/2014 5:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The pretty packaging of this got me to buy it. A friend of mine wears white diamonds and it smells good on her, so I had pretty good expectations. When I put it on, I'm really disappointed. It really smells rank when you first put it on, but it settles and doesn't smell that bad. BUT the scent wears off so fast that I don't even smell like I'm wearing any perfume at all. This is just not for me....


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I am so disappointed that this fragrance hasn't got better reviews!

I personally think Violet Eyes is a beautiful clean, fresh and sweet floral. The peach is present through out, with warm amber and soft florals. I can only detect a very slight cedar note. I think this is a wonderful perfume from Elizabeth! I certainly think any age could wear this.

I highly recommend anyone to try this who likes clean, sweet & floral fragrances.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2012 12:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For me, Violet Eyes could only be described as an olfactory scribble in one color (but not purple, because purple is too bold). This perfume was simply flat, sweet, floral, and thin, lacking any complexity or interesting characteristics. In fact, it's the first fragrance that has left me feeling "confused" while wearing it because it seems like there should be more to the fragrance, but there just ... isn't.

Distressingly, I went to bed after spraying some on my arm, and during the night, I had to make efforts to distance my arm from my face, as the smell of Violet Eyes made me feel agitated and kind of sick while I was trying to sleep.

I know some people love this fragrance, and I'm glad they get more out of it than I do. Admittedly, the bottle is a lovely color, and the packaging is feminine and pretty, but this fragrance was too lacking in personality for me to enjoy it.


on 8/15/2012 12:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black





So I am wearing this perfume today, and ohhh boy, I am in heaven...so much so I had to take a break from work and write my thoughts down. So I have ALOT of fragrances ranging from Hermes to Coach to Marc Jacobs. I do NOT ask about the price when i buy fragrances. Call me crazy..lol.
But anyway, I am not good with notes and things of that nature (some notes I can idenify more easily than some). It's easier to tell u what smells good and what doesn't. I'm 28 in case u need to know. This perfume is everything that I love and adore in fragrances. It is clean, fresh, and slightly fruity. Yes, i do agree with the reviewer that thinks this smells a little clean laundry-ish (good thing).It's weird because i see negative reviews on here about it and I'm in disbelief, but as we all know different fragrances works differently on differengt ppl. This works very well on me. I actually smelt this on my mom one day she came in from work and I kept asking her what she was wearing everytime she would pass by me. I could not belive she was wearing one of Elizabeth Taylor's perfume. I HATE white diamonds! What I love with this perfume is that it seems as though u can never overapply. In case u use a heavy hand with this (recommended) no one will be able to tell because it doesn't become overwhelming and it doesn't lose its nice, quiet, shy personality. I love this! Highly recommended by a fragrance snob (I'm impossible to please). Lol.



6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2012 5:36:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've seen SO many rapturous reviews on various websites about this scent and I don't get it, sorry. Gives me a headache! A friend gave me a bottle she'd received as a gift because SHE didn't like it, and because she and I often like different scents she figured I might. That's when I started looking up the reviews because I HATED it. Cloying, cheap-smelling and not at all clean. A shame -- I always like discovering new perfumes.


on 4/30/2012 9:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Violet

who isn't intrigued by the mesmerizing Liz Taylor. I was afraid the fragrance might be outdated due to Liz's age in hollywood. It's very nice initially. very sexy, very intoxicating in a wet and wild fluid way. If you like intense, deep, dar secret kind of feeling. This is it. I find this fragrance a bit depressing rather than upbeat sunshine flower kind of fragrance. It has musk , woody undertone. This is an extremely high quality lasting fragrance. However, as the day wears on, I find it to be very incompatible with my natural skin . I got head ache wearing this. Maybe it's good for older people or those with less sensitive olfactory senses. I will not repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2012 10:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just before christmas I tested this on the back of my hand . Everyone muxt have thought I was crazy because I couldn't quit smelling it ! I got around to buying it 2 weeks ago and have worn it just about every day.

Violet Eyes is similar to Light Blue on its opening . Light crisp and fruity, but I have Light Blue and seldom wear it. Violet Eyes settles down to a devine, soft floral with a hint of fresh citrus. I think it is just perfect for warm weather . The floral notes are flirty and sweet without going overboard . Perfect!

This perfume has longevity that is unreal. I can still smell it 8 hours later. So many fragrances fade into nothing quickly. The price is good too !

I don't think the package is anything special. Too, too much like White Diamonds and that line. However it isretty enough and I love the color.

I'm in love !

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2012 7:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not that great...

See-saws between smelling too sweet and smelling too peppery on my skin.

And the packaging could be better.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
No.5
No.5
944 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews
Back to Top