Elizabeth Taylor • Violet Eyes • Fragrances

rated 3.4(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 BeautyAddict62 on 1/23/2013 3:45:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAddict62

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am so disappointed that this fragrance hasn't got better reviews!

I personally think Violet Eyes is a beautiful clean, fresh and sweet floral. The peach is present through out, with warm amber and soft florals. I can only detect a very slight cedar note. I think this is a wonderful perfume from Elizabeth! I certainly think any age could wear this.

I highly recommend anyone to try this who likes clean, sweet & floral fragrances.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BrittaBot on 9/15/2012 12:48:00 AM more reviews by BrittaBot

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

For me, Violet Eyes could only be described as an olfactory scribble in one color (but not purple, because purple is too bold). This perfume was simply flat, sweet, floral, and thin, lacking any complexity or interesting characteristics. In fact, it's the first fragrance that has left me feeling "confused" while wearing it because it seems like there should be more to the fragrance, but there just ... isn't.

Distressingly, I went to bed after spraying some on my arm, and during the night, I had to make efforts to distance my arm from my face, as the smell of Violet Eyes made me feel agitated and kind of sick while I was trying to sleep.

I know some people love this fragrance, and I'm glad they get more out of it than I do. Admittedly, the bottle is a lovely color, and the packaging is feminine and pretty, but this fragrance was too lacking in personality for me to enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shoshana25 on 8/15/2012 12:37:00 AM more reviews by shoshana25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    





So I am wearing this perfume today, and ohhh boy, I am in heaven...so much so I had to take a break from work and write my thoughts down. So I have ALOT of fragrances ranging from Hermes to Coach to Marc Jacobs. I do NOT ask about the price when i buy fragrances. Call me crazy..lol.
But anyway, I am not good with notes and things of that nature (some notes I can idenify more easily than some). It's easier to tell u what smells good and what doesn't. I'm 28 in case u need to know. This perfume is everything that I love and adore in fragrances. It is clean, fresh, and slightly fruity. Yes, i do agree with the reviewer that thinks this smells a little clean laundry-ish (good thing).It's weird because i see negative reviews on here about it and I'm in disbelief, but as we all know different fragrances works differently on differengt ppl. This works very well on me. I actually smelt this on my mom one day she came in from work and I kept asking her what she was wearing everytime she would pass by me. I could not belive she was wearing one of Elizabeth Taylor's perfume. I HATE white diamonds! What I love with this perfume is that it seems as though u can never overapply. In case u use a heavy hand with this (recommended) no one will be able to tell because it doesn't become overwhelming and it doesn't lose its nice, quiet, shy personality. I love this! Highly recommended by a fragrance snob (I'm impossible to please). Lol.



5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LaurieEyeBee on 5/11/2012 5:36:00 PM more reviews by LaurieEyeBee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I've seen SO many rapturous reviews on various websites about this scent and I don't get it, sorry. Gives me a headache! A friend gave me a bottle she'd received as a gift because SHE didn't like it, and because she and I often like different scents she figured I might. That's when I started looking up the reviews because I HATED it. Cloying, cheap-smelling and not at all clean. A shame -- I always like discovering new perfumes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 eatmyshort on 4/30/2012 9:26:00 PM more reviews by eatmyshort

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

who isn't intrigued by the mesmerizing Liz Taylor. I was afraid the fragrance might be outdated due to Liz's age in hollywood. It's very nice initially. very sexy, very intoxicating in a wet and wild fluid way. If you like intense, deep, dar secret kind of feeling. This is it. I find this fragrance a bit depressing rather than upbeat sunshine flower kind of fragrance. It has musk , woody undertone. This is an extremely high quality lasting fragrance. However, as the day wears on, I find it to be very incompatible with my natural skin . I got head ache wearing this. Maybe it's good for older people or those with less sensitive olfactory senses. I will not repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Persephone12 on 4/24/2012 10:45:00 AM more reviews by Persephone12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Just before christmas I tested this on the back of my hand . Everyone muxt have thought I was crazy because I couldn't quit smelling it ! I got around to buying it 2 weeks ago and have worn it just about every day.

Violet Eyes is similar to Light Blue on its opening . Light crisp and fruity, but I have Light Blue and seldom wear it. Violet Eyes settles down to a devine, soft floral with a hint of fresh citrus. I think it is just perfect for warm weather . The floral notes are flirty and sweet without going overboard . Perfect!

This perfume has longevity that is unreal. I can still smell it 8 hours later. So many fragrances fade into nothing quickly. The price is good too !

I don't think the package is anything special. Too, too much like White Diamonds and that line. However it isretty enough and I love the color.

I'm in love !

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brunettex on 4/9/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by brunettex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not that great...

See-saws between smelling too sweet and smelling too peppery on my skin.

And the packaging could be better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 3/9/2012 10:02:00 AM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It has taken me several months to decide how to review this scent. It is not one of my favorite frags but I enjoy having it in my collection. I also expect, having purchased this in the winter, that I will reach for it more as the weather improves, it seems more of a spring/summer scent.

The most confusing part of this frag is the lasting power, upon my first couple of uses I thought it had horrible staying power. I can't smell it much an hour or two after I put it on. But, I've since realized that this perfume does actually stay all day and has decent silage, it's just one of those scents that blends with my skin so much that I cease to realize it's still there unless I take a piece of clothing off and put it back on or sniff it the next day. So if you like this scent but feels it disappears quickly, rest assured, it does not, you still smell good!


As for the scent itself, I'm bad at describing notes, but it's a light floral with a hint of musk and warmth. I get some cedar and amber, muted by a stronger floral, some rose and jasmine I think, and then maybe a touch of fruit in it as well. Nice and light and unoffensive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 confuzzled on 1/27/2012 12:28:00 PM more reviews by confuzzled

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Tried this once and thought that it was a fluke that I really liked it since Liz's others never did it for me. Now, nearly a year later, I saw it in Kohl's and tried the tester. I pick up a lot of cedar in this. I love cedar and have been trying to find an affordable version that I can wear daily since fragrance disappears on me. This is it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kgloverii on 1/15/2012 3:20:00 PM more reviews by kgloverii

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been searching for a "signature" daily scent for awhile. A few years ago, my family had a house fire and my extensive fragrance collection went up in smoke with the house. I've been loathe to buy anything else more substantial than a body spray.

Violet Eyes changed that. I'm not a big fan of some of Elizabeth Taylor's other perfumes, most seem grandmotherly and/or overpowering. Violet Eyes is different. It's clean, modern, sexy, charming... All wrapped up in a pretty bottle. This scent is good for day or night, and I'll wear it daily, I love it so.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Taylor products

More Fragrances products