L'Oreal • Studio Secrets Professional The One Sweep Eyeshadow • Eye Shadow

rated 2.1(54 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.24%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cindi33 on 5/21/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by Cindi33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I saw this trio of shadows at Walmart and thought what a wonderful idea...if it really works. The concept is that they are all laid out on the tray so when you swipe the specially designed applicator it will pick up all three shades at once and puts just the right color in just the right place so that you can simply swipe this on with 1 stroke and get the perfect eye look with no hassle, no guesswork, and no muss no fuss. Easy right? I grabbed this up and then put it back a few times before deciding to take a chance. At $8.97 though for a drugstore shadow I was a bit reluctant. There actually was a damaged one on the shelf so I took advantage of that and used my finger to swipe a test swatch. This really looked great swatched on my hand so I finally decided to give this a try. I chose #409 natural for blue eyes. The colors in this kit are a creamy chocolate brown, a frosty pink, and an even frostier ivory highlight shade. All of these were frosty looking and none were matte shades. The highlighter shade was definitely not flattering on me, and these did not apply where I would have placed them had I used brushes and done each shade separately. The colors aren't that bad individually, but I would place all of them differently had I done them individually. The brown would be a better crease shade and the ivory would have been great for lightening up the inner corner of my eye, and the pink would be a good browbone shade and blending shade for me. As this has it, the brown is the eyelid shade and the pink is a crease shade and the ivory on my browbone just looked so seventies. It just does not work for me. I had to swipe each eye twice to get good color on the entire lid and I ended up adding additional shadow from my Lorac palette to "fix" my eyes as this look wasn't doing it for me. The shadows seem to be silky enough and pigment is not too strong so this gives a soft look. There was no fallout at all and this blended well. Over all though I did not like this kit and it is not worth keeping even though I could use the shadows with my brushes, I am not going to bother and I am returning this. I only used this once, I didn't need to give it another try to make up my mind. Don't bother with it and buy something else. You can manage it if you try, but it supposed to be a swipe and go set, and it's not. Makeup FAIL.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kstone1964 on 10/26/2013 8:28:00 PM more reviews by kstone1964

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like it! I wore it to a social gathering and got complimented and it's no brainer! when I read all the bad reviews on it I stayed away then decided at Target what the heck. it's got a little mirror on it which makes it easy.. there weren't a lot of colors I just got a neutral. there are shades for brown and hazel but none for blue which is me. my verdict it's good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Miranda15 on 7/31/2013 9:55:00 PM more reviews by Miranda15

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I understand why people are a little disappointed in this product, but I can also say a few things in its defense. I got this to help me apply makeup quickly on days when I am too busy to take time to do it perfectly. That said, I think this product is good for that. This is something I can use quickly so that my eyes are not completely un-done. By contrast, you are not going to get a gorgeous, artful application using this because the applicator is flat, and your eyes are curved. If you want a better application, add the use of an eyeshadow brush. In my opinion, this product + a brush is good for travel and for quick applications. It is too expensive for what it offers though, considering that many high-quality quads are priced lower than this. The oversized, curved applicator is unique to this product, and you really can use it to apply all 3 of the shades.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cmamone95 on 5/23/2013 11:52:00 PM more reviews by cmamone95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is great! I don't I understand the bad reviews at all! I use the one for brown eyes and think it comes out neat, its really quick and easy, and its pretty. I'm not great at eye shadow so I especially appreciate the simplicity. I always get the most compliments when wearing this. I think it's natural looking but still pretty and doesn't even come out too dark. I do have to admit, I bought one for all eyes and disliked the colors but the one for brown eyes is great! Once you get the hang of it, it's so easy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rain7608 on 3/11/2013 1:46:00 AM more reviews by rain7608

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

first, I think its over priced,
second, the applicator is way too cheap.

The applicator works for me, but the trick is to load the whole sponge, not just the tip. I saw some review video, they didn't load it properly, which lead to a negative conclusion.

when applying, I put my finger on the sponge part to put a little pressure, then slide it across, which apply the color better then just sliding across.

After applying with the applicator, I would use an eyeshadow brush to blend it in.

the colors are great combination, I brought playful for brown, playful for all, and smokey for all. I am loving the playful for all, in my opinion its not playful, its kinda natural to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NotAfraid2BeMe on 3/1/2013 7:18:00 PM more reviews by NotAfraid2BeMe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

UGH this product is soo bad. I bought it for the colors, not the one sweep thing (although I did try it). They are horrible. As soon as you try to blend they disappear or turn muddy. The applicator for "one sweep" is bad, too. It's impossible to make it even or look right at all. Don't even try this, it's horrible. It's such a waste, because the colors look so pretty in the pan:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DKER on 8/18/2012 1:12:00 PM more reviews by DKER

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So, I generally think that this is a decent product, but it really isn't much better than using one allover lid color for me. It takes a little more time and effort than what is advertised to get the shadows on the applicator, with the right amount of liner/darker color on it so that both sides match up and it looks OK, instead of smeary and messy. One sweep does indeed give a decent look, better than nothing but a very sheer, subtle, minimal look IMHO. The staying power is.....well not a power. Gone in a few hours It would last longer if I primed and all that....but I'll use separate shadows and brushes if I'm taking out time to prime my eyelids.

I do really like the colors in my compact, Natural for Blue eyes though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Brithatsme43 on 8/3/2012 4:15:00 AM more reviews by Brithatsme43

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product is a joke! the colors are nice and pigmented, but the applicator is awful, and the shadows are in long skinny strips so its hard to get a single color on a shadow brush. Waste of money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hgpt2 on 4/9/2012 4:11:00 PM more reviews by hgpt2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was so excited to purchase this product and thought that I can now have the perfect multi-shadow look instantly! Lol...I was wrong. Overspent for this product ($9.xx + tax at Walmart). I bought the one for brown eyes. Ridiculously overpriced and its not that pigmented either. I would have loved it if the eyeshadows were L'oreal's HIP because they have great lasting power and are really crease proof. But this particular product- you have to really take some time to blend it well otherwise it ends up looking like a huge mess. You have to go over your eyes at least 3 times to get the proper smokey eye look. It takes at least 2 swipes to get the product onto the applicator and you have to really push down hard onto the palette to pick up product. The applicator's handle is way too short and just not easy to apply. I bought this for my busy mornings so that I can just get a defined look. I was disappointed with L'oreal...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetfairygirl on 4/3/2012 5:12:00 PM more reviews by violetfairygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is absolutely a case of a product's advertising doing more harm than good. It's a great shadow and I love it, but the ads make it look like you can get an effortless smoky eye, in one go, with one little spongy applicator. Dear makeup companies, please stop pretending that we if buy your products we can look like supermodels in 30 seconds flat, just like the girls in your ads, even though they spent half a day in the makeup chair for that photo shoot.


I'm getting good use out of this for the same reasons as the positive reviews below: I don't have a lot of time to apply makeup in the morning, or sometimes I don't want to put in as much effort as I need to, and I've found a way to make the applicator work for me. I have the "Playful for brown eyes" palette, which is a combination of pretty purples and pinks. They have good pigmentation, enough to show up but still somewhat sheer, which is actually a good thing because it's more forgiving when you're in a hurry and get a little sloppy. They're shimmery but not outright glittery, and they have decent lasting power. It creases on me without a primer, so I usually slap on some E.L.F. mineral eyeshadow primer underneath.


Here's my method: I press the applicator gently into the pan and wiggle it a little instead of sweeping it across, which blends the shadows together as it picks up the color so it doesn't make distinct stripes. Then I press the tip of the applicator into the corner of my eyelid, and again wiggle it gently as I draw it across, following the shape of my eyelid. I also don't press the whole length of the applicator against my eyelid, but sort of "roll" it like a stamp, which seems to help it go on more evenly. Blend a little with my fingertips or a brush, and it looks pretty and natural. It doesn't look like I spent all morning expertly defining my eyes, but it does look like I put in at least fifteen minutes when it only took me two. Plus: Super freaking easy to put it on in my car in the parking lot right before I walk in at work.


I did knock a point off because I feel it's overpriced for the quality, but I always keep it in my makeup bag for emergencies, and if I see it on sale I might pick up another palette.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Eye Shadow products