MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

Milani • The Multitasker Face Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.1(100 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyforless on 4/25/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by beautyforless

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ladies and gentlemen, let me first preface this review for this wonderful HG product by saying I've crossed many roads. Tried many a powder. Turned many different shades of orange. And gotten the dreaded cakey oily face at the drop of a hat.
So when I say this powder is the best I've ever come across...just know that I love it the way normal people love the perfect car...or whatever it is people who don't hoard makeup enjoy.
I could write songs and poetry about this little wonder, but in the interest of saving my dignity, I'll say this; it gives a smooth, even finish that is never cakey or orange, has slight coverage and keeps me matte a good 8 hours. Touching up is no longer a cowardly task as it blends so flawlessly.
I've read some complaints saying that it makes the face look "flat". I don't mind, it's too wonderful to complain, anyways that's why I've got my highlighter and bronzer.
Would I repurchase? Pffft. I'd marry it if I could. It's my HG powder, at last.

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fiache on 11/22/2012 10:11:00 AM more reviews by Fiache

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

HOLY F GRAIL! I am a NC37-42 depending on season. I'm a NC40 and this powder in Light tan #4 is the perfect match. My face is lighter than my body so I get away with the next shade Tan #5 for full face as well, but I like #4 more for keeping my highlighted areas bright.
They offer 9 different shades with yellow,neutral and pink undertones. I paid 6,99 USD for 10.5 gram and serves as a setter,finisher and blotter. It contain talc which may turn people off, but personally, I don't think talc in this small doze will harm me in any way.
I have normal, sometimes dry skin and live in a humid climate in Thailand. I have fairly nice skin and I hardly never break out (asian).
First of all, I am not really a powder person. I do love experimenting with makeup to see what works for me and I was always wondering what all the hype about powders was. I like using only foundation and have some luminous finish to it - but only in Europe. So here on Koh tao I need something to keep the humidity and oils away from my face. This is where my powder and I get along so damn well. I haven't tried a lot of powders before. Only ELF pressed powder "almond" which I do love as well but is not as long lasting as Milani and doesn't colormatch as close as the Milani. I also tried Maybelline dream matte "Honey" which did absolutely nothing for my skin, no coverage, sheer and I couldn't notice any difference in my face after applying it.
The powder has a yellow/neutral undertone with no orange undertones whatsoever and is amazingly smooth. It's somewhat pigmented but still sheer and lightweight and offer just such a lovely finish which makes me love using it alone with only tiny bit concealer. The best thing about it, is that it NEVER looks cakey (even after touch ups) and it lasts for a good 6-8 hours before I can feel like touching up. Also, most importantly, it doesn't feel heavy and tight on my face. Even if I layer it, it never breaks me out. It still feels like my skin can breathe which I love. I apply it with any fluffy face brush and my face looks so polished and matte and so natural looking! I also use this when I go to Europe and it works amazingly for my skin there as well, when I got drier skin.
It's a bit bulky since it has a under department which is meant for the velvety puff included which works pretty OK and a mirror. Don't love the puff but ok for quick touch ups. I use my puff from Elfs HD powder instead. The packaging doesn't look terribly cheap but feels a bit plasticy. I would love for it to be a bit sleeker.
It is so affordable and I am not even considering trying out any other powders after this discovery. I will do a comparison though - to the other Milani compact foundation in "Honey beige" which I heard is good one as well.(Update: Tried it, now you can read my other review on it, love this for other reasons)
It lasts me forever and I use it almost every single day. My hunt for a HG has come to an end,(and I wasn't even looking or one) which I never thought I would ever say!
I'm in love!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theresadactyl on 10/12/2011 11:19:00 PM more reviews by theresadactyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

New favorite powder. I have been using Maybelline Dream Matte or MAC Studio Fix Powder forever but I'll never go back. I am NC35 and bought Medium.. it's a TAD too dark so next time I'll pick up the lighter shade. I love Milani's color selection - very asian friendly, it's hard to find the correct shade for warmer skintones when it comes to drugstore products but Milani has made it alot easier. I apply this over my Almay TLC liquid foundation or a tinted moisturizer. I have extremely oily skin and live in a terribly humid climate and this powder has pretty much saved my appearance. Most powders tend to control my oil for 2 hours max.. but this one kept my face looking great for a full 8 hours. It seemed like my makeup looked better at the end of the day. As previous reviewers have said, this powder does give quite a dull finish. I wouldn't recommend this for those with dry skin if you're looking for a dewy look. However, if your face is oily, after an hour or so the oils from your face seem to work with the powder resulting in a very natural looking glow. My mother asked what I was doing different with my makeup routine, it was that noticeable. The compact is gaudy, but I never bring it with me so it doesn't matter - the lasting power is terrific! I'm acne-prone and sensitive to some products that I've slathered on my face, but this isn't affecting my skin in any negative way. It retails for about $5-6 at grocery stores, Walgreens is probably way more expensive. I would highly recommend this product unless you're super duper fair or have dry skin. :]

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NicoIcon999 on 6/29/2013 2:07:00 PM more reviews by NicoIcon999

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The best pressed powder I have ever used! I wish they carried it around where I live so I didn't have to travel 30 minutes to buy it but it's that good. Let me just say I work in the greasiest of all snack food factories and as part of my job I have to sanitize equipment in areas that reach well above 100 and this stuff holds up to the oil and sweat without settling into fine lines. No cakiness when I touch up during breaks. Great for me because I don't leave the house without a full face of makeup even though it's very impractical given my disgusting job.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miomega on 9/30/2011 12:02:00 AM more reviews by miomega

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Great coverage, nice staying power, controls oil well, non-irritating to sensitive skin, reasonable price, convenient.

Cons: Dull finish, but can/should be brightened with a soft setting powder or bronzer.

I definitely will be buying this product again.

For reference: NC50=Deep Amber09. (Note: Since the finish is relatively neutral, a NW45 could also match.)

UPDATE: 1/22/12: NC50, NW45's can also wear the Dark Tan07 as a setting powder. Alone it doesn't have the coverage of Deep Amber09 but as a setting powder it's great, esp. over a tinted moisturizer.

UPDATE: 6/3/14: This is still my go-to foundation/powder when I'm in a hurry and need something good, quick. I just wish Milani would stock more of them in stores.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 1/4/2013 5:26:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

What a wonderful press powder, for a little over $6, smooth application with a matte finish, yet not overdrying for my dry skin. I used it over a little layer of liquid fdn.
It doesn't have much coverage,using it alone as a powder fdn. is not an option for me.
The shades Medium and Light Tan basically have the same intensity, except medium is more of a pink base while Light Tan is up my alley, a yellow based.
the first ingredient is Talc, which doesn't bother me, this also has apricot kernal oil, slight fragrance.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SweetCheeksCA on 1/9/2012 12:41:00 AM more reviews by SweetCheeksCA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

*(When I wear liquid, it's usually NC35 Mac Studio Fix liquid foundation, and then I pair it with the NC35 powder for Winter, and the NC40 for Summer; I have very yellow/golden undertones. I'm very interested in a matte, "retro" looking coverage.)
I just recently purchased the Milani Multitasker Pressed Powder in Light Tan because I was looking for something to hold me over until I could replace my MAC Studio Fix NC35/40 powder.
Let me just say I am very impressed with the quality so far. I have only used it for two days, but have hardly had to reapply it, and it feels as though I'm not wearing makeup at all. Plus, it blends into my skin effortlessly and gives me a natural matte finish. Hopefully I won't have to update this with any complaints. I hope this helps someone! ^_^

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabmac1 on 6/2/2013 8:42:00 PM more reviews by fabmac1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I heard about this product being raved on youtube by hollyannaree so i had to try it! I don't normally wear much foundation, just concealer since that's what i really need. For the days i wanted a bit more coverage, i will use foundation and I prefer "powder/cream" ones over liquid. I was surprised as to how much coverage this powder gives without feeling heavy or looking cakey! I am a MAC NC 20-25 and i bought both the "light medium 02" and the "medium 03". I use "02" to brighten under my eyes and to highlight....and "03" for my entire face. It's a great color match - a touch darker than my actual skin tone which is fine since my face is more pale than the rest of my body lol.

I didn't give this 5 lippies due to the fact that it did cause some minor breakouts that surfaced each time after wearing this powder. I have hyper-sensitive skin so it doesn't surprise me at all. I have yet to find a makeup product for the face that doesn't break me out.

I bought mine for about $7US at Kmart which isn't bad at all!

I would definitely buy this again!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeeBonnet on 5/23/2012 7:38:00 AM more reviews by BeeBonnet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After Milani's illuminating powder caught my attention, I thought I'd next try this multitasking powder as well. While Milani's new packaging is very attractive, this powder is not all that special in my opinion. I had hopes that it would be similar to my drugstore HG (for the time being) Physician's Formula "Youthful Wear" . In comparison, the PF is better for my 40+ drier skin since it's creamier and smoother so it doesn't settle on fine lines or get flakey or cakey. The coverage is better with the PF and I also happen to enjoy the soft violet scent. I think Milani's powder (light-medium) is closer to my coloring than PF shades....however Milani overall is better suited for someone younger, with normal- oily skin and is good quality for the price.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lyrastar on 9/27/2013 7:40:00 PM more reviews by lyrastar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

** I love this powder! It has a soft texture and is the best pressed powder I have ever found in "drugstore" makeup.
** I use 04 Light Tan on my medium brown skin. It's just enough yellow for me that it doesn't turn me orangy like some of the more overtly yellow type powders do. (I look tan brown, not orange brown, lol.)
** I'm acne prone and can use this as a powder foundation. The coverage is great! My method is to build it up in areas that really need it. It covers my scars, red blemishes, and softens some of my dark patches pretty well without a concealer.
**If you have very oily skin (of which I definitely do >.<) you might find that you still need to use a primer underneath. {I personally try to avoid primers because it causes me to break out.} I find that at the very end of the day, if I haven't primed, the powder looks just terrible. I'll still use it though because it's that good for me.
~~edit:
I recently looked this powder up on Paula's Choice and she mentions an ingredient called eugenol which is known to kill skin cells. {YIKES}. It also has a high (as in not the most healthy) rating on EWG. I still love this powder but these things have definitely made me rethink this. :-(


6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Milani products

More Pressed Powders products