Bobbi Brown • Rich Lip Color SPF 12 • Lipstick

rated 3.9(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 marchlion on 8/29/2013 8:19:00 AM more reviews by marchlion

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm surprised there aren't more raves on here for the Rich Lip Color line. This is the first review on MUA I've ever written, just because I like these lippies so much. Not the shades -- I'll get to that -- but the formula. I wear lipstick pretty much every day, from YLBB to hot pinks and reds. I tried the Rich Lip Color on a whim because I liked the looks of Pink Peony, a rich warm pink (I believe it was LE). The color "sets" on the lips somehow -- almost like a stain -- it's full coverage without being drying, the staying power is incredible and leaves a pretty stain on the lips as it fades. It takes about 90 seconds for the color to set up and go from "meh" to "wow!" after applying, so give it a minute. I wore the Pink Peony so much I went back and got the Mod Pink AND the Cosmic Raspberry. Yes, these lippies are not cheap -- but given how much I reach for them among my many choices, they're a deal. FWIW I don't like the taste of the original/core BB lippies so I don't wear them. I can't taste anything odd or unpleasant with the Rich Lip Color line.

The packaging is lovely -- these are the ones with the matte black cases that look understated but elegant, and don't get all scratched up in my purse.

The shades: I'm fair with almost purplish lips so lipcolor can be tricky on me. Anything orange looks hideous, but lipsticks that are cool-toned that should be "perfect" for my pale face sometimes end up too purple on my lips. Many of the available shades are very nice YLBBs, and/but I already have a ton of those... and quite a few of the rest are much better suited for gals who can rock the corals and similar warm shades. If you like nudes a la Mac I strongly recommend trying these.

The (very popular) Guava, which is a slightly warmer version of my Pink Peony, would be a good choice to try for anyone. The Mod Pink is a lovely bright pink on me, much less muted than it looks in the tube. Old Hollywood is a deep red, but I passed because I have lots of reds already (it does leave an amazing lip stain, so I may end up going back for it.) Cosmic Raspberry is a bright (but not "hot") raspberry pink. Sweet Nectar has a lot of fans as well and lots of gorgeous online swatching, but it pulls too coral on me. I hope BB comes out with some new shades soon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 svendira on 8/7/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by svendira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Tried the "Orange" one. I'm not quite a lipstick person but this lip color impressed me for so many reasons.
It doesn't feel heavy at all. Easy to apply and the texture feels like sheer lip color, kinda lightweight. I picked bright color and it's very pigmented. The pigment spreads evenly (and easily) and although with its full coverage stays for a moderate time (3-4 hours), but this leaves a pretty stain which lasts for a really long time. The finish is rather natural, not glossy but not matter either. It also doesn't dry out my lips.

Love this, maybe next to purchase another color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Rocklover on 7/4/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by Rocklover

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really not impressed with this one. I have this lipstick in the prettiest shade of coral that looks gorgeous against my NC20 skin, but I never wear it due to its texture and lack of staying power. This formula sinks into creases, won't stay on your inner lip (so you get a 'gorgeous' ring of natural colour in the middle if your pout) and emphasizes even the tiniest imperfections on your lips.

I really wanted to love it because I'm so impressed with other bobbi brown products (namely their bronzing powder) but I just CAN'T. I have drugstore brands that apply and perform better than this one. If you want proper 'rich' lip colour, get NYX matte lipstick - my fave lippy and inexpensive too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NYCBeauty99 on 10/10/2012 5:02:00 PM more reviews by NYCBeauty99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Holy cow, this is good lipstick. I've never been one for HE lipstick. I usually stick to the drugstore. However, I decided to buy Uber Nude from the new Pretty Powerful collection. The color is fine, nothing too exciting, but it fills a void in my collection. What I do really like is the formula. It is amazing! It stays on really well. It's not matte but it's not really that creamy either. Unlike some other posters, I don't detect any smell. There is a slight taste, but it's not that bad. Overall, I think I'll be checking out other colors by Bobbi Brown.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 linz75 on 4/18/2012 12:30:00 PM more reviews by linz75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this formula! It's moisturizing, yet rich. I have Old Hollywood, which I think is one of the best red lippie I ever tried, and Heather Pink which is for everyday wear. Will keep an eye on this collection. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 knicks on 3/3/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by knicks

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I brought lilac and I'm in love with this lip shade. Finally, my HG lipstick. It's amazing with my NC 37-NC 40 skin. I've always been on a search for a cool pink tone lipstick. Although, it's not as moisturizing, there's always lip balm to fix it. I'm gonna but another to keep in my locker.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Debi3 on 2/11/2012 4:04:00 PM more reviews by Debi3

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought Lilac which looks a lot better swatched on my arm than on my lips. It looks kind of blah once applies. It looks more pink on my arm and more pale violet on my lips. But my lips are kind of pale and maybe that's why. Blue Raspberry is better on me. I did not like the matte finish at first but it wears well with a little lipgloss, so I put popsicle gloss over this lightly so the lipstick will still last without getting goopy and I like it better. I like the creamy formula better, but I can't use gloss with it or it wears off too fast. So I am keeping it just so I can change it up with glosses. I really like it with smashbox gloss in Ecstacy-sp?. It is a sheer blackberry color. Maybe I would like this formula better in desert rose which is not a lighter color than my lips and one sheer coat would be enough. I think if you have pale cool tone skin and like a light color with a smoky eye, and the nude colors are too peach, beige, or orange, then this would make a good pale color for that look. This lipstick feels good on, I personally just don't care for the matte look. Update: Changing to 4 lippies. I have noticed that if I apply this on bare lips and let it sit a few minutes, the color darkens to the lilac color that I thought it was when I swatched it. I can then add a little gloss or balm and it is not too matte. This is one of my favorite colors now. I wish I liked it just as well without gloss, but I guess there is no perfect lipstick out there for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 1/18/2012 11:56:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The line of Rich Lip Colors SPF 12 has really grown on me!
I initially purchased Heather Pink which is a muted rose with brown undertones, somewhat along the lines of BB's regular lip color in Brownie, with just a tad more red. Then I got Soft Nude and Lilac which sadly were both Limited Edition and Twig, which is a soft pinkish brown, similar to BB's regular lip color in Hot Cocoa.
For the Rose Gold Collection in Spring 2012 Bobbi Brown extends the line of Rich Color SPF12 to 19 colors, adding a coral, and several rosy nudes and neutral golden beiges. So thankfully that line of lip colors now has a more complete spectrum of color offerings.
Formula: Soft and semi-matte, good lasting power, comfortable feel on the lips. Natural looking, good coverage. To me, the SPF 12 protection is another plus.
Packaging: Matte black tubes, elegant looking and holds up very nicely even after carrying a lipsticks in a purse for weeks on end.
Retail: $23
Overall: This has become my favorite formula in the Bobbi Brown lipsticks!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Goldenstar on 10/6/2011 9:41:00 PM more reviews by Goldenstar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm not impressed. The sunscreen taste is disgusting (unless you like the taste of Coppertone on your lips, lol). And the formula doesn't last on my lips at all. I purchased "Bikini Pink", which is a washed-out, very light pink/beige. I suppose the color would be okay if you have fair skin & wanted a pinky-nude lip. I have medium skin tone & need to warm it up with another lip color. I also found that this formula makes my lips tingle & dry out. Wouldn't repurchase this in any color....yuk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amhalal on 6/11/2011 10:13:00 PM more reviews by amhalal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love these lipsticks so badly. As soon as I saw them online, I couldn't wait to buy three gorgeous colors: Sweet Nectar, Guava and Mod Pink. All were my dream shades for spring and summer. The formula felt nice on the lips but didn't wear well for me. And the deal-breaker was the overwhelming taste of sunscreen. Finally I had to return them (thank you, Nordstrom).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Lipstick products