Bare Escentuals Original SPF 15 Foundation

3.5

112 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 12.6%, Zinc Oxide 21%. Inactive Ingredients: Bismuth Oxychloride, Mica, Iron Oxides, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide


on 5/15/2015 11:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Before i begin i have combination skin with slight sensitivity.

This product is amazing IF you know how to use it right!

As a Setting Powder:
As most people use this as a setting powder over liquid or cream foundations.
1) Its best to use a big fluffy brush to achieve even colour *i use Sigma F30*
2) This product has buildable light to mild coverage
3) Does not leave a powdery complextion

As a Foundation:
You can use this as a foundation itself but best for those who have already really good skin that just have a fee blemishes or discolouration.
1) Apply concealer to areas that need attention
2) Use a flat kabuki brush to apply on the face in a circular motion pressing gently * i use Sigma F80*
3) By using a flat kabuki brush instead of a fluffy powder brush allows more concentrated application as well as more of flawless natural look.

I have not experienced and clogging of pores nor sensitiviy. Its a great product and my Favourite when i want to achieve a natural healthy look.
I purchased mine from Mecca for $35 and last about 3 months when i use it everyday.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/14/2015 8:03:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Surprise, this worked better than Laura Geller Balance n Brighten or Smashbox Halo. The color I use is medium beige, said to be less pink, and it is. I'm a neutral beige, one fairer than medium. This really has just enough coverage to even my skin tone. As I get older (I'm in my sixties) I find I don't like a heavy liquid foundation. I have a few fine lines, mainly a few on cheek and forehead and the powder disguises them, doesn't accentuate them. You don't need to use much, either. A small dusting on a powder brush, buffed in and it's amazing how well it looks. I alternate with IT CC cream and powder, but this is actually a better look and the color match is the best I've found. You wouldn't think you'd get good coverage with powder, but in this case, I certainly do. I found Smashbox Halo to be too drying and BnB had not enough coverage for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2015 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why I thought I should try this foundation...but I did anyway. I have VERY sensitive skin ever since I was a baby and don't react well to many products, even water makes my skin red and irritated sometimes. So I thought, "Everyone online is recommending this foundation for sensitive skin...I should get it." I did buy it and I used it for a few weeks...after figuring out how to get some coverage. (I have acne, light acne scarring, and a lot of redness.) The only way I could get enough coverage is if I piled it on. (Not recommended) I did try to apply like the instructions say...but it didn't give me any coverage. After a few weeks I noticed more breakouts in places I don't normally break out and the only new thing in my routine was this foundation. I discontinued use after finding out it was causing my breakouts. It also tended to clog the pores on the sides of my nose...I didn't really have a good experience but if you have minimal imperfections and skin that isn't acne prone by all means give it a try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 11:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin is not too problematic, with usually no pimples, just some redness and blackheads, which thankfully can be covered up easily. I got this in Fairly Light, as a birthday present last year, which matches my skin tone perfectly, and I absolutely love this foundation. This counts as full coverage for me, and it only takes a tiny bit to make my skin look amazing. It covers redness and blackheads well, and has good staying power. However, my t zone is amazingly oily, and I find that it only takes about an hour before it starts getting shiny, but its an improvement on the others ones I've tried. Overall, great product, great packaging. I only wish it was a little cheaper, although buying them for less online is always an option :)


on 4/21/2015 3:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

First impressions:

- Messy to apply. I can't imagine this would be convenient for on-the-go touch ups during the day - I'd want to be near a bathroom at all times when applying it, as the powder would spill everywhere!
- Difficult to get even coverage
- Clings to dry spots and settles in fine lines
- The brush included makes skin itchy

I've definitely tried better powder foundations. Will keep testing this, but I'm glad I just used the deluxe sample and didn't buy a full size!


on 4/6/2015 5:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This just doesn't work on me. I have oily skin, some redness on my cheeks and chin, and somewhat enlarged pores. This covers pretty well the redness and the few zits I have, and gives definitely the best coverage among the mineral foundations I've tried. I also think it's handy that there's a separate lid inside the compact, so the powder can't shed into your makeup bag.

My problem is that the foundation emphasized my pores and made my skin look very oily while it wasn't. I suspect that bismuth oxychloride, which gives the shine/glow into the foundation, was responsible for the shiny and pore emphasizing look. My main reason for buying mineral foundation was that it would control oil better than regular foundations, so looking oily after an hour from application was a big disappointment. The base also felt a bit itchy, which made me feel uncomfortable.

If you have large pores or sensitive skin, I advise to ask for a tester before buying. Since this was such an expensive miss, I think I'll go back to regular foundations.


on 3/20/2015 9:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why this product does not have higher than 4 stars. Well lipsticks ;) I've been using this product for almost a year now and I really like it. It covers well and does not look cakey which is VERY important for me when I look for makeup. I like it when my natural skin peaks through but also products that offer enough coverage. I have combination oily skin and I really like this product. it can be expensive since it runs out quickly but I just love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2015 8:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My first experience with Bare Minerals was with the BareSkin foundation. As I used the BareSkin I got more and more intrigued with the companies other product, especially this product. I brought myself a started kit in Light, it was discounted and I just couldnt help myself! Light was to dark for me, so I went to the counter in my town and purchased Fairly Light which is perfect for me

Packaging- The packaging for the foundation is great, its suits the powder, the dispenser is easy and it makes sure you dont waste any product. I feel at ease traveling with this as I know its secure thanks to the twist dispenser.

Formula- Like all BM mineral makeup from eye shadow to blush, the foundation formula is light, velvet like and smooth to the touch.

Wear/look/feel- I did the usual application, the swirl and tap thing! I watched some youtube videos also so I could get it right. I use the primer that came in the kit i brought and its fab, just as good smashbox and too faced. I buffed the foundation in. I used around 3-4 layers. It did take me longer to get ready but now I am getting used it to it it takes me less time everyday to put it on. The foundation feels light weight, it was easy to put on and has fab, sheer-medium coverage, though you can build it up more. You can also use the foundation as concealer if you have a few blemishes. It also gives me a glow, a natural glow from within. I have had many compliments since I started using this. It lasts all day when set the mineral veil also. It dealt well with my dry skin which is usually what I have huge trouble with. Since I have been using BM my skin has actually improved, breakouts are less often, and my redness has reduced a hell of a lot. The thing that I love about BM is that is actually healthy for your skin, not harmful. I wish I had gone straight to this when I first started using makeup! It makes me look like me, but airbrushed with a natural 'my skin is happy and healthy' glow. Even my other half noticed a difference. It also deals well with covering my under eye circles. That is another thing I struggled with, but not anymore.

Price- £25, I do not mind paying this at all, a little goes a very long way. Totally worth the price.

Overall- I will never stop repurchasing this, unless I find a problem, I will update if I do! However I think that will be unlikely. I am so so so so impressed with this, I can see why its a best seller. I always trust 'best seller' over 'award winner'! I cannot believe I have only just discovered this! After several months and products I can finally say I have found my Holy Grail foundation! I love BM they are my go to brand and I am fast falling in love with many of their products from setting powder to mascara, even their skin care is first class. I have never loved a brand so much as this before!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Having oily skin, I have tried both the matte and original formula and much prefer the original. If used with a light hand and buffed in thoroughly, this product provides a light/medium coverage with a natural finish. Doesn't break me out and the container of powder lasts a very long time. I find that this foundation actually looks better after a few hours of wear, when it's able to set into the natural oils of my skin(gross but true). Only downside is is that my t-zone does get shiny with this throughout the day.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This has been my favorite foundation for years, it's the only one I use! It is the BEST powder foundation out there - definitely worth the price. My shade is "Fairly Light" and it matches my skin tone perfectly. It blends well, looks natural on my skin, does well concealing blemishes if I skip using concealer (which is rare), and leaves such a smooth finish on my face. I can't say enough about how I love the natural look it gives, while also providing full-coverage.
The packaging is great, too - after you unscrew the lid there is plastic covering the opening, which you slide to have access to the powder. I really appreciate this feature because it prevents powder from falling out and all over the container, even if I throw it in my makeup bag during travel. It's perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top