Bare Escentuals Original SPF 15 Foundation

3.5

115 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 12.6%, Zinc Oxide 21%. Inactive Ingredients: Bismuth Oxychloride, Mica, Iron Oxides, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide


on 7/28/2015 3:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love the idea of mineral makeup and the swirl tap buff application. I love how this makes my skin feel. The only thing I don't like it is can look cake-y if you try to build a fuller coverage, you have to do light layers. And I have dry skin, so it kind of makes me look flat and dull with the powder. I still choose liquids over powdered foundation, but on days I want a natural look and I'm just around the house or gonna be outside all day, this is my go to. It does last, and doesn't feel heavy, and has SPF. Just put complexion rescue and a good moisturizer underneath if you have dry skin, and buff in some mineral veil and add some color to your cheeks to not make your face look like a corpse.



on 7/1/2015 12:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

As a foundation addict I always wanted to give this a try. I have oily skin with fairly noticeable pores under my darkish under eye circles. I buffed my new golden medium foundation with a RT face brush and... It was definaty different.

Liked:
- Color match was great for us Simpson-ish yellow people
- Felt very lightweight. Great for summer!
- Coverage was amazing
- Easy application

Disliked:
- Gathered in pores causing them to appear larger
- It smoothed tone but not texture. Does little to hide unflattering shadows and puffiness (my number one complaint)
- Oily skin can cause product to wear off

Overall, this is a great everyday product and perfect for a quick, easy complexion enhancement. I personally prefer my liquid foundation routine but that's just me.


on 5/25/2015 11:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Love this foundation.

Gives enough coverage to even out skintone and cover redness.

Not heavy at all and feels like you're not even wearing foundation.

Buffs into skin beautifully and makes my skin glow.

Only downside is price but it's well worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2015 11:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Before i begin i have combination skin with slight sensitivity.

This product is amazing IF you know how to use it right!

As a Setting Powder:
As most people use this as a setting powder over liquid or cream foundations.
1) Its best to use a big fluffy brush to achieve even colour *i use Sigma F30*
2) This product has buildable light to mild coverage
3) Does not leave a powdery complextion

As a Foundation:
You can use this as a foundation itself but best for those who have already really good skin that just have a fee blemishes or discolouration.
1) Apply concealer to areas that need attention
2) Use a flat kabuki brush to apply on the face in a circular motion pressing gently * i use Sigma F80*
3) By using a flat kabuki brush instead of a fluffy powder brush allows more concentrated application as well as more of flawless natural look.

I have not experienced and clogging of pores nor sensitiviy. Its a great product and my Favourite when i want to achieve a natural healthy look.
I purchased mine from Mecca for $35 and last about 3 months when i use it everyday.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2015 8:03:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Surprise, this worked better than Laura Geller Balance n Brighten or Smashbox Halo. The color I use is medium beige, said to be less pink, and it is. I'm a neutral beige, one fairer than medium. This really has just enough coverage to even my skin tone. As I get older (I'm in my sixties) I find I don't like a heavy liquid foundation. I have a few fine lines, mainly a few on cheek and forehead and the powder disguises them, doesn't accentuate them. You don't need to use much, either. A small dusting on a powder brush, buffed in and it's amazing how well it looks. I alternate with IT CC cream and powder, but this is actually a better look and the color match is the best I've found. You wouldn't think you'd get good coverage with powder, but in this case, I certainly do. I found Smashbox Halo to be too drying and BnB had not enough coverage for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2015 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why I thought I should try this foundation...but I did anyway. I have VERY sensitive skin ever since I was a baby and don't react well to many products, even water makes my skin red and irritated sometimes. So I thought, "Everyone online is recommending this foundation for sensitive skin...I should get it." I did buy it and I used it for a few weeks...after figuring out how to get some coverage. (I have acne, light acne scarring, and a lot of redness.) The only way I could get enough coverage is if I piled it on. (Not recommended) I did try to apply like the instructions say...but it didn't give me any coverage. After a few weeks I noticed more breakouts in places I don't normally break out and the only new thing in my routine was this foundation. I discontinued use after finding out it was causing my breakouts. It also tended to clog the pores on the sides of my nose...I didn't really have a good experience but if you have minimal imperfections and skin that isn't acne prone by all means give it a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 11:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin is not too problematic, with usually no pimples, just some redness and blackheads, which thankfully can be covered up easily. I got this in Fairly Light, as a birthday present last year, which matches my skin tone perfectly, and I absolutely love this foundation. This counts as full coverage for me, and it only takes a tiny bit to make my skin look amazing. It covers redness and blackheads well, and has good staying power. However, my t zone is amazingly oily, and I find that it only takes about an hour before it starts getting shiny, but its an improvement on the others ones I've tried. Overall, great product, great packaging. I only wish it was a little cheaper, although buying them for less online is always an option :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2015 3:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

First impressions:

- Messy to apply. I can't imagine this would be convenient for on-the-go touch ups during the day - I'd want to be near a bathroom at all times when applying it, as the powder would spill everywhere!
- Difficult to get even coverage
- Clings to dry spots and settles in fine lines
- The brush included makes skin itchy

I've definitely tried better powder foundations. Will keep testing this, but I'm glad I just used the deluxe sample and didn't buy a full size!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 5:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This just doesn't work on me. I have oily skin, some redness on my cheeks and chin, and somewhat enlarged pores. This covers pretty well the redness and the few zits I have, and gives definitely the best coverage among the mineral foundations I've tried. I also think it's handy that there's a separate lid inside the compact, so the powder can't shed into your makeup bag.

My problem is that the foundation emphasized my pores and made my skin look very oily while it wasn't. I suspect that bismuth oxychloride, which gives the shine/glow into the foundation, was responsible for the shiny and pore emphasizing look. My main reason for buying mineral foundation was that it would control oil better than regular foundations, so looking oily after an hour from application was a big disappointment. The base also felt a bit itchy, which made me feel uncomfortable.

If you have large pores or sensitive skin, I advise to ask for a tester before buying. Since this was such an expensive miss, I think I'll go back to regular foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2015 9:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why this product does not have higher than 4 stars. Well lipsticks ;) I've been using this product for almost a year now and I really like it. It covers well and does not look cakey which is VERY important for me when I look for makeup. I like it when my natural skin peaks through but also products that offer enough coverage. I have combination oily skin and I really like this product. it can be expensive since it runs out quickly but I just love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top