Revlon • ColorStay Pressed Powder - Translucent • Pressed Powders

rated 4.0(14 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 1/15/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Translucent has a very pale ivory-tint with NO shimmer and a matte glow finish. Its a good one for very fair skin because it brightens skin without whitening, and it doesn't darken or change color. The soft fine texture is a big improvement on the cakey old ColorStay Pressed Powders (plain black slimline compacts with no window and no separate powder compartment). I don't take it out with me because that ridiculous half-moon mirror is too small for checking anything but my mascara or lipstick. And, the powder is very soft pressed, giving messy fallout, and is prone to breaking apart when dropped.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Endit on 12/30/2013 10:51:00 PM more reviews by Endit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

PROS: No shimmer in it.

CONS: It's matte. Too matte. Makes my skin look dull, not youthful or fresh. Forget about glow or anything, even a light hand does it. Also imparts a slight white cast (I like this trait though, but listed as con since I bet most wouldn't and sometimes it's a bit weird to have that whitness added).

OVERALL: Only if you need to be really matte or want to look "flawless". I'd rather look real though with less effort. My skin looks better with a bit of sheen, but I still need a powder to keep everything in place.

UPDATE April 11, 2014: I used it up slowly over time and I'm nearing the end of it. Yesterday my foundation looked a LOT better than normal and held up too, so I'll give it another point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 greenmotogirl on 5/10/2013 10:15:00 AM more reviews by greenmotogirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I must be in the minority here - I bought this based on the great reviews but I hate it. And I cant believe nobody has mentioned how sparkly it is?! I would in the future only use this at night bc of the sparkles. It has also broken me out and it is cakey in oily areas. Going back to Maybelline Dream Matte and Palladio from sallys

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TheGoofQueen on 1/25/2013 11:15:00 PM more reviews by TheGoofQueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this product for a while now, but my reaction has always been a pretty resounding "meh". It's a good setting powder, but not a great one. It helps control oil, but not as long as perhaps it should, especially for the price. It does also have a tendency to cake in oily areas (especially around the nose). But it's done its job pretty well, sets foundation and gives a good 'flawless' finish, so I'm content to keep repurchasing until I find that elusive HG powder. I also love the packaging, although I think the little window to see the product could be abandoned in favor of a full mirror, but I don't mind that much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 looksglamour on 1/5/2013 4:51:00 AM more reviews by looksglamour

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been searching for so long for a good finishing powder that would show up nicely on my pale skin. I've used high-end brands but I wanted something less expansive and this product has worked really well for me. It is very finely milled and contains no hint of shimmer. I had previously tried Maybelline's Shine Free Oil-Control Loose Powder in the shade Light 01 but it looked orange on my face. Revlon's ColorStay Pressed Powder in Translucent is fantastic: it doesn't settle in lines under my eyes, it doesn't shimmer and it doesn't change the colour of my foundation. This is everything I had hoped it would be, and infinitely better than the finishing powder that Revlon had in its Photoready range.

As for the packaging, it is neat and sturdy. However I don't use the powder puff that comes with it: a powder brush allows for a much better application IMO.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hikari001 on 11/27/2012 6:57:00 PM more reviews by hikari001

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really good setting powder. I use this everyday of the week before work and set it on top of my BB cream with a brush and it leaves my skin matte for much longer. It's translucent and doesn't clog my pores. I work for 8.5 hours/day and I just have to touch up by mid day and it will last til the end of my workday.

One minor cons I have against this is the packaging. I don't mind the bulky packaging and I do use the the thin puff they provided for touch ups, but I wish they have a full mirror instead of a half one. I know its so people can see the colors but I find the mirror useless since its so small and the transparent plastic part is so tacky that it feels like it could crack anytime. I expect a bit more from Revlon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IrishShorty on 9/27/2012 2:35:00 PM more reviews by IrishShorty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have a very oily face and have tried multiple powders to help control the shine, many of them highly reviewed here. The best one I had still required being put on every hour or so to control my shininess. I bought this product and was amazed to discover that I only need it reapply it once during the workday to control the oil! If you have tried everything, I can't recommend trying this product enough!

The only flaws I would point out is the little plastic "window" of the compact is very fragile. I popped it out while just trying to get the powder out of its package the first time I bought some. The translucent is slightly visible as a strange whiteness if I get a bit too much on as well, but nothing as bad as other powders I have tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 annikarey on 7/29/2012 3:30:00 AM more reviews by annikarey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This powder will cake on oily areas, and I had trouble spreading it on my face evenly. I even changed the puffs, and still had to deal with the uneven application. I didn't even use a lot of product, and tapped the excess off before applying. I'll stick with my Urban Decay Powder. This is not translucent; it ended up chalky for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherriesandlove on 7/20/2012 7:32:00 PM more reviews by cherriesandlove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very oily skin, and when i use this to set my foundation, and concealer, i does wonders! I had been using the MAC studio fix face powder when i realized that i really don't need that much coverage and i need a translucent powder instead. I actually stole it from my mom in a pinch after the first time i used it because i left my regular MAC powder at home. It makes my skin matte so much more LONGER and it doesn't look cakey! It feels fresh and natural and its just flat out great for an everyday setting powder. It doesn't make me break out and it's not very expensive. I'm going to Walmart tomorrow and will be repurchasing this item AGAIN! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 4/30/2012 3:39:00 PM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Although a bit expensive for a DS powder ($10-12), this is a surprisingly effective product. It's finely-milled and has great shine-control, so it's great for both setting foundation/concealer and for touching up throughout the day (especially for us oily folks). I think it's comparable to Mac's Blot Powder, which is twice as expensive but just about on par with this powder in terms of oil and shine-control.


I really like the transluscent color because my foundation color varies thorughout the year and having a clear powder means that I don't have to worry about matching my setting powder to my skin tone. I find the puffy pad that comes with this product useless, but I do like that it comes with (half?) of a mirror inside the compact.


Overall, great product for oily-skinned people like me. I will take off a lippie because it's a dense product and if you accidently pick up too much, it might give you a bit of an ashy cast or dry you out. Be sure not to apply too much!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Pressed Powders products