Revlon ColorStay Pressed Powder - Translucent

4.1

19 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(NEW FORMULA WITH TALC) : Talc, Mica, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Dimethicone, Nylon-12, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Glycol Grapeseedate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Isododecane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Lecithin, Cymbidium Grandiflorum (Orchid) Flower Extract, Silk, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Lilium Candidum (Lily) Bulb Extract, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Lauroyl Lysine, Alumina, Dimethiconol, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid +/- (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77163/Bismuth Oxychloride) ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- (OLD FORMULA TALC-FREE) : Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride, Zinc Stearate, Silica, Dimethicone, Nylon-12, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Polyethylene, Octyldodecyl Glycol Grapeseedate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Isododecane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Cymbidium Grandiflorum (Orchid) Flower Extract, Silk, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Lilium Candidum (Lily) Bulb Extract, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Lauroyl Lysine, Synthetic Sapphire, Dimethiconol, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid +/- (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77163/Bismuth Oxychloride)


on 1/26/2015 11:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For a drugstore product this pressed powder is really good! I really like it. It stays on all day! Its light and has effective coverage, basically it leaves skin flawless! LOVE this product.



on 11/28/2014 7:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Stays on all day and keeps me matte


on 11/25/2014 4:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was hoping to find a good translucent pressed powder to carry with me in my purse. I use the e.l.f. loose translucent powder to set my BB cream most of the time, but it's way too messy to take anywhere. I gave this a shot and it's okay. I'm extremely pale, so I could apply quite a bit of this without looking too chalky, and it actually gave a bit of buildable coverage on top of my BB cream in my problem spots. but it gets cakey and oily around my nose and on my chin, and I'm pretty sure it's breaking me out too, since I haven't changed anything else about my makeup routine but I'm getting zitty in weird places. I'm going to stick to my e.l.f. translucent powder and try to find something else portable.


on 10/29/2014 10:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is exactly the powder I was looking for to reduce shine!! I had always used colored pressed powder on top of my foundation which would look cakey and come off by the end of my work day no matter how many times I blot. This powder has been great it looks much more natural. I still need to blot and I still get oily at the end of the day, but it's not nearly as bad as it used to be before, and just looks "Dewey" more than "disgusting oily mess"

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2014 10:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

First tried this in a mad five minute break on a very muggy film set. I just hastily slapped it over my exceptionally oily/sweaty face, using the sponge (in the neat little pop-up compartment). Unbelievable product! Took care of the ridiculous amount of initial grunge, and lasted 6 hours on top of that. My large pores were gone, and my skin looked super supple.


on 1/15/2014 5:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Translucent has a very pale ivory-tint with NO shimmer and a matte glow finish. Its a good one for very fair skin because it brightens skin without whitening, and it doesn't darken or change color. The soft fine texture is a big improvement on the cakey old ColorStay Pressed Powders (plain black slimline compacts with no window and no separate powder compartment). I don't take it out with me because that ridiculous half-moon mirror is too small for checking anything but my mascara or lipstick. And, the powder is very soft pressed, giving messy fallout, and is prone to breaking apart when dropped.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2013 10:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

PROS: No shimmer in it.

CONS: It's matte. Too matte. Makes my skin look dull, not youthful or fresh. Forget about glow or anything, even a light hand does it. Also imparts a slight white cast (I like this trait though, but listed as con since I bet most wouldn't and sometimes it's a bit weird to have that whitness added).

OVERALL: Only if you need to be really matte or want to look "flawless". I'd rather look real though with less effort. My skin looks better with a bit of sheen, but I still need a powder to keep everything in place.

UPDATE April 11, 2014: I used it up slowly over time and I'm nearing the end of it. Yesterday my foundation looked a LOT better than normal and held up too, so I'll give it another point.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2013 10:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I must be in the minority here - I bought this based on the great reviews but I hate it. And I cant believe nobody has mentioned how sparkly it is?! I would in the future only use this at night bc of the sparkles. It has also broken me out and it is cakey in oily areas. Going back to Maybelline Dream Matte and Palladio from sallys


on 1/25/2013 11:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this product for a while now, but my reaction has always been a pretty resounding "meh". It's a good setting powder, but not a great one. It helps control oil, but not as long as perhaps it should, especially for the price. It does also have a tendency to cake in oily areas (especially around the nose). But it's done its job pretty well, sets foundation and gives a good 'flawless' finish, so I'm content to keep repurchasing until I find that elusive HG powder. I also love the packaging, although I think the little window to see the product could be abandoned in favor of a full mirror, but I don't mind that much.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have been searching for so long for a good finishing powder that would show up nicely on my pale skin. I've used high-end brands but I wanted something less expansive and this product has worked really well for me. It is very finely milled and contains no hint of shimmer. I had previously tried Maybelline's Shine Free Oil-Control Loose Powder in the shade Light 01 but it looked orange on my face. Revlon's ColorStay Pressed Powder in Translucent is fantastic: it doesn't settle in lines under my eyes, it doesn't shimmer and it doesn't change the colour of my foundation. This is everything I had hoped it would be, and infinitely better than the finishing powder that Revlon had in its Photoready range.

As for the packaging, it is neat and sturdy. However I don't use the powder puff that comes with it: a powder brush allows for a much better application IMO.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top