OPI Houston We Have A Purple

3.6

20 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/19/2013 1:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this knowing it was translucent, and it certainly is. If you're expecting a creme, you'll be disappointed. This is what OPI are calling a "sorbet" (their name for a jelly formula), and it's designed and intended to be sheer-to-translucent.

Formula is thin (not surprising, given how sheer this is), and can be difficult to manage. One coat gives okay colour coverage, though it is very sheer. A second coat deepens the colour and increases the opacity a bit, though the nail line is still visible. I like the look at two coats, but I prefer it at three, which gives about the maximum colour and opacity that you're likely to get, and even that is not fully opaque. The surface is extraordinarily shiny and smooth, just amazing gloss, and with three coats, the colour depth is really pretty.

This particular colour is a plummy-warm purple (as the name would suggest). For me, by the third coat, I'm right on into thinking "wine" (as in, actual purple-hued wine in a glass, not "wine red").

I like this polish, and other "sorbets" in the collection, but this isn't my favourite in the collection. I don't wear it on its own much in a straight manicure, but I do use it for special-effects manicures like a glitter jelly sandwich and it's brilliant for a syrup manicure, due to the translucent quality of the polish.

So, basically, if you want an opaque polish, this is not going to be a polish you like or want. If, on the other hand, you love the look of a translucent jelly and you like very warm, wine-leaning purples, you'll enjoy this polish very much.



on 10/4/2013 7:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a very beatiful polish. It's not purple as the name suggests: it's berry. And it's a jelly, which means it will be very sheer and take at least 3 coats to achieve enough coverage (I did four, though, because the color looks much better then) and will be very glossy. However, unlike most jellies, this one took a while to dry, even with a fast drying top coat. Apart from that, application was easy, even with this huge brush, and I find the color to be specially beautiful - a summery but not very bright shade of berry which leans a lot on the pink side and matches the jelly finish really nicely.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2013 3:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is from the Texas Collection.

I love the color, even though it's definitely not what I would describe as purple - for me, this is a clean, classic berry pink. I like this kind of color in summer and as it's a jelly, it is less 'aggressive'.

This is one of the few jellies I own and I struggle with the application, unfortunately. I have trouble applying this evenly and always seem to get tipwear. I think this is not OPI's fault, though or rather I don't think there's anything wrong with the polish - it's just me being used to different kinds of polishes and finishes.

I do adore the jelly finish, though, I think it looks beautiful and is a nice change from my usual frosts, shimmers and cremes. So once I figure out how to apply this properly, I am sure I will like it.

I can't give a firm "yes" on "would you buy this again" - but really, it's not due to the quality of the polish.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2013 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my first jelly polish and I have to say that I actually like it. its very thin and nice to apply. I used 3 coats for full opacity. Its a nice cranberry purple color.


on 10/2/2012 6:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I picked out this color for a pedicure at a nail place. The technician tried applying it, said she wasn't happy with the finish, and started over again. The second time she said it was just too watery and streaky so I picked something else. I would wonder about the technician's skill but the final pedicure and manicure were well done (excellent coverage in 2 coats). So the blame goes on OPI for this one. Horrible!


on 6/20/2012 7:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I would buy this again in a heart beat! I love the jelly finish. 3 coats is alright but 4 coats really completes the desired look. I just love the fuschia! The polish holds up well, hardly any chipping (maybe due to the number of layers :P). Such a shame that this was limited ediition, I was bending over my arse to find it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2012 10:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is an absolutely gorgeous color! This is one of OPI's Sorbet colors, which means that it is candy like, and very shiny. The only bad thing about these colors is that it takes 3 or more coats to get them opaque, which means it can smear easily, so be careful. It's quite watery, but again, a very cute color, great for summer. I got MANY compliments, and I would consider buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2012 10:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

LOVED this color in the bottle....but I was very disappointed to find that it took me 3 coats to get it opaque. and it was VERY streaky. I dont understand how OPI does this....every now and again a color will come along and the formula is just awful.


on 9/11/2011 4:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I love this colour! It applies sort of sheer, and it takes about 3 coats to get it opaque. Normally this would bother me, but I really don't care because the colour is gorgeous! It's a purple-y raspberry colour which looks amazing with my tan. Highly recommended!


on 7/26/2011 9:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Houston We Have A Purple should be called Houston We Have a Raspberry. The jelly texture of this polish makes the color beautiful. I was looking for a purple polish for my toes. This polish looks so much darker in the bottle than it really is. If I wore color on my fingernails, I would definitely keep this one. It's gorgeous on, but it did take three coats to to get rid of the streaks and to get some color on my nail. Perfect color for summer, but not dark enough for my toes.


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
136 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

75 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top