NYX • Studio Perfect Photo-loving Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.7(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 anitabassi on 2/20/2014 9:04:00 PM more reviews by anitabassi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

at first I did not like this product at all ! it didnt do anything it claimed to do except reduce a little redness. I do have veru oily skin and it did not do anything to eliminate or reduce shine, but now ive started using from body works from their seaweed line the mattifying day cream and that did help reduce shine but for only about 1 or 2 hours. So I decided to one day combine the nyx primer and the day cream before I put my foundation on and it was just amazing !! it kept me shine free, matte for a solid 8 to 9 hours! also forgot to mention I did wash my face with the neutrogena deep clean face wash before that so that might have helped a bit but the end result was so amazing and totally worth it!! definitely will not be worrying about the shine on my t zone again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SineadJamii on 2/15/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by SineadJamii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this primer!

MY STORY:
I have fair, oily skin that is prone to breakouts. I also have redness in my cheeks, chin, around my nose and eyebrows and obviously around any breakouts. I also have large pores all around. I'd never tried colour correcting until this year. I started with correcting under eye darkness, then with that being successful I thought about trying out correcting my redness. After using a green corrector to spot treat my face, I thought it may be easier to do more at once to speed up the process. So I got the NYX Studio Perfect Photo-loving Primer in green.

THE PRODUCT:
The primer does correct redness, but only to an extent. It more dulls down any redness so that it is less noticeable yet still there. While this does mean that I will use less of a second green corrector, it does still mean that i need the second product. The real reason that I love this product was at first a surprise to me. It mattifies my skin like nothing I'd used before.
When I first picked this primer up on a whim, I wanted to try it out straight away to see how it would work. Since it was a day that I had nothing to do, after I had cleaned my face and applied the primer, I got distracted by something else and 'paused' the rest of my make up application for at least half an hour. When I resumed, I was so surprised at the result of the primer. My face was matte without being tight or dry looking. My face was also smooth, even and my pores were smaller - there was a 'blurred' effect in play I suspect. While the redness was still there it was so dulled down that it wasn't a bad thing. I now use this primer alone on days when I don't want a full face of make up but still want nice skin.

This primer does mattify my skin; make it even, smooth and almost flawless and make any foundation or BB cream lasts hours. I have worn this primer and the Maybelline Dream Pure BB cream for well over 12 hours and while I did touch it up slightly, it looked basically perfect even at the end.

SUMMARY:
It may not completely cover correct but the perks, even while unexpected, well and truly outweigh this. I will definitely repurchase this and would recommend it even if you don't want to colour correct.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelique79 on 2/4/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Angelique79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

You could say I am Anti-Primer. After trying so many, high end to low end, my decision was that it was a bunch of hype to get you to buy ONE MORE product to slap on your face. And for what? I never saw my foundation stay put, my concealer not slide, my powder not disappear into a shining t-zone. One of my biggest issues with foundation is that it cakes up around my nose, upper lip and sometimes between my brows. I constantly have to blot those areas. I kept getting told a primer would fix that...none ever did.

Enter this clear primer,which I only bought when I asked the girl at the counter, with flawless skin, if she uses it and she said it was the only reason her face looked as flawless as it did. Oh...well count me in.

I am no longer Anti-Primer. This stuff glides on beautifully, doesn't break me out and my makeup stays put so much longer than it ever used to before. I still get a little shine peeking through, but I have extremely oily skin so its nothing I cant handle, but still...nowhere near what I was dealing before this primer. I actually had someone comment that they didn't believe I was wearing any foundation a week into using this stuff. Thanks, NYX. You've made me believe in something again! :-)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bribi on 1/27/2014 5:28:00 AM more reviews by bribi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So I expected to hate this. After reading the reviews, I was already regretting my purchase before even opening it. When I squeezed some out, I immediately noticed it was NOT a dupe for the smashbox primer, as this was a lot more liquidy, and already I was like, "here we go with the suck fest." I put it on- everyone is right, it doesn't sink in. I got sick of waiting and started applying my concealer ad foundation on top. And know what? My foundation went on flawlessly. I bought the green one, and I felt like I needed less coverage with my foundation because the redness of my cheeks seemed to peer through less. Eight hours later, after a long day at work, I checked my makeup out in the mirror and it was perfect! No weird pink tint, which I usually end up with because of my red cheeks, no shininess anywhere, and makeup was still smooth, even and nice and pale, like I like it. So, so far, I really like this primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TwirlyGirly1 on 1/18/2014 8:00:00 PM more reviews by TwirlyGirly1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The NYX Studio Perfect Primer in Clear has become my "daily use" primer for most of the year. I have combination skin; dry cheeks/normal T-zone during moderate and cool months, and normal cheeks/oily T-zone during the hot weather months.

I use BeneFit's Dr. Feelgood during the warm weather, but had been using Smashbox Photo Finish the reat of the year. Hoarding the small deluxe sample size I was able to occasionally snag - just couldn't afford the price of the full-size version!

Saw the NYX Studio Perfect in Target one day for 12.99, and decided to give it a try (as my "deluxe sample" of the Smashbox Primer had just enough left for about one more use....I was getting desperate!).

I love the NYX product just as much as Smashbox - in my opinion (and on MY face) there is absolutely NO difference in the way the two products apply, feel on my skin, or perform in terms of what I apply on top of them, or their affect on the wear time of my foundation, blush, powder, etc.

Price wise, Smashbox is 36.00/oz (28.82/oz for the 1.7oz size) while NYX is 12.99/oz.

The ingredients are nearly identical (keep in mind that usually it's the first four or five ingredients in a formula that do the "heavy lifting").

For comparison:

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer INGREDIENTS: Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Silica, Dimethicone/ Vinyldimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Extract, Propylene Glycol, Water (Aqua, Eau), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cola Acuminata Seed Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract.

NYX Studio Perfect Photo Loving Primer (Clear) INGREDIENTS: Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Isododecane, Cyclomethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Propylene carbonate, Phenoxyethanol, Silica Silylate, Dimethicone/ PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil.

For the money, I just can't justify spending 2-3 times as much on the Smashbox primer when the NYX primer performs on my skin equally well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 malslauren on 12/26/2013 12:01:00 PM more reviews by malslauren

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This primer is alright. Goes on silky smooth and allows for a better, more even, foundation application. It doesn't really "correct" any of my skin's imperfections. Eh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IngridBiachhh on 10/28/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by IngridBiachhh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I have HUGE pores...no.matter what type.of foundation i wear my pores are visible. however i dont like splurging on high end stuff when i can find a cheaper alternative. This primer made my pores INVISIBLE!! my foundation looked lovely all day! i noticed that i didn't have to keep touching up as much as i normally do! keep in mind my skin is normal..not oily.dry or sensitive

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BeautyMarie on 4/24/2013 8:58:00 AM more reviews by BeautyMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I hate to say that this product did nothing for me. I had such great expectations. I wanted to go cheaper than my beloved MAC's prep + prime and for the price i guess i got what i paid for. To begin with I felt that the "silky" feel it left was more on the ashy side and wasn't really pleased with it. The product takes for ever to sink in and I didn't feel any difference on my pores. As for the redness on my skin (I bought the green one) absolutely nothing. Lastly when I went on to apply my consealer I found that it really didn't stick. the consealer would wipe off my face as soon as I laid a finger on it and let's not talk about the look of my foundation over it. Overall I'm really not in love with this product. I'm getting rid of it and would never ever repurchase again nor would I recommend it. I'm sticking with MAC for the time being.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyforless on 4/14/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by beautyforless

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

MUA, I have a confession: In testing this primer, I committed a makeup sin. I tried this out for the first time the night of prom without any prior research.
But before you all start lighting your torches and grabbing your pitchforks, can I redeem myself? I like this primer. A lot.
I was at Ulta and spied a tester of this. Pretty rare for Ulta to have testers, especially for a cheap brand like NYX, so I pounced. I loved the silky smooth feeling of it on my skin. Not only did my skin feel smoother, but it seemed to help the drier parts of my face while mattifying my oily t-zone and nose. Lately, with the weather getting warmer and my skin wreaking more havoc than usual, even my trusted primers have had trouble keeping me matte. I was sold. (It may have helped that there was a 40% off NYX at the time).
I put it on before doing my prom makeup and waited for it to absorb completely, then proceeded with everything else. I found my makeup went on a lot smoother and looked very nice. But would it last? I was a little hesitant. You see, I'm not one of those prom-goers who just sits there sipping water most of the night. I go all out. I dance like a maniac to every song. I was worried I would sweat my makeup off and there would be little this primer could do. I was planning on checking up throughout the dance, but didn't have a spare moment, so naturally I was quite nervous to see what was left.
But lo and behold, my makeup was still there.
Keep in mind, I had been dancing sweating, and hugging just about everyone within hugging distance. I would've understood my makeup attempting to make an escape. My t-zone did look a little shiny, but other than that, it had a fresh, dewy look which I love. Not the makeup-melting-off-like-the-wicked-witch-in-The-Wizard-of-Oz look.
If it can survive prom, it should be just fine for day to day wear.
I haven't had it long enough to see if my skin will break out, so I will be sure to update if it does. But until then, if I ever go dancing, this little guy is coming with me.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NinaSun on 3/20/2013 12:26:00 PM more reviews by NinaSun

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This primer is amazing. The best one I've used so far. Previously I had the Too Faced primed and poreless one but that one smelled odd and didn't go on evenly or make my face smooth, so I switched over to this one. It doesn't really have a scent, which I like, and a small amount goes a long way. When I apply it and smooth it out on my face, my face feels SO smooth and silky. When I put foundation over it, my foundation is creaseless, extremely smooth, and looks almost airbrushed. I love it and I use this primer pretty much everyday. It's also super cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Primer/ Corrector products