Kiehl's • Rosa Arctica Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.9(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 makeupavatar on 2/5/2014 1:02:00 PM more reviews by makeupavatar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a wonderful nighttime moisturizer--it's my go-to standard. Deeply hydrating, fragrance-free, and great for my sensitive skin. The first time I used it it worked wonders on my face - cleared up my acne seemingly overnight! However, with time it becomes more like a regular moisturizer. But it works beautifully. It's expensive, though. I'm sure there are great drugstore brands that work similarly for a much lower price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowshoe73 on 11/8/2013 3:07:00 PM more reviews by snowshoe73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

For years I have been hesitant to try this because I was afraid such a thick cream would do a number on my skin and lead to Breakout Central. But after seeing how wonderful--and breakout free--my skin has been using the Oil Cleansing Method and argan oil, I decided to take the Rosa Arctica plunge. I had a deluxe sample size on hand so at least I wouldn't lose any money.

The instructions say to warm the formula between your fingers before applying...and you really do have to! The first time I used RA, I applied it straight out of the jar. It felt heavy and gummy, and did not absorb one bit. But when I applied it correctly, it slid on with no problem and absorbed fairly quickly.

It's pretty good for an anti-aging treatment. I apply it before bed over the Retin-A, add some Argan Oil on top, and the next morning, I wake up to softer, slightly plumper skin. It also help take care of some very dry patches around my nose that the argan oil by itself wasn't touching. No breakouts after one week of use.

Would I repurchase? The price is steep and so puts me on the fence...it's a good product but I think there's better out there. So not saying No, not saying Yes. But I would consider it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ero2t on 7/15/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by ero2t

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't think of my skin as particularly dry, but it does react to silicones, fragrance, mineral oil and alcohol. I've used Kiehl's Ultra Facial Moisturiser for years, not because it is amazing, but because it's simple and just adds moisture without mineral oil or fragrance. In the last couple of months I feel my age has caught up with me and I require some anti-aging or age reversing treatment so I asked for a couple of samples of this from my local counter.

It's thick, but oddly not very hydrating on its own. I emulsified in my hands before patting on after cleansing at night. It seemed pretty thick and claggy to be honest. Anyway, as an experiment last week I added my Ultra Facial Moisturiser on top to make it more runny and spreadable and also add that hydration I needed. The last four mornings I've woken up to beautiful results. My skin is plumper and it seems to be fading any dark marks. I'm quite impressed and I will purchase when I've run out of the two sample sachets I was given. It seems to me to be more of an anti-aging treatment rather than a moisturiser.

EDIT: Still using this after purchasing a jar--two months later and I'm still really happy with it as an anti-aging treatment and applied as described above. People with less sensitive skin may not find it strong enough, but if you have problematic skin like me give it a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 4/30/2013 4:40:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I feel like this is Kiehls' answer to La Mer. It has a super-rich and thick consistency, provides extreme healing and hydration, and it's also quite expensive (although only a fraction of CDLM's price). I only use this as a night cream as it's far too thick for day use. Now I don't think this cream is up there with La Mer, but honestly it's almost just as good. It calms down any irritation I might be dealing with (especially around my nostrils during cold & flu season) and it hydrates my skin like crazy. Plus it's not too heavy for my combo/oily skin. One of Kiehl's best- a definite repurchase!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Annyutka on 3/11/2013 12:58:00 PM more reviews by Annyutka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

You must emulsify this first and then apply to the face. This is key.
Although this is a heavy cream, it somehow absorbs very well on my skin and does keep it really hydrated. Also, it is nonirritating to my rather sensitive skin and makes my face feel soooo soft. I love all that.
However,here's what I don't love about it:
It broke me out on my chin (a real awful one too) and in one other place where I never have even had a breakout before. FYI, I've never suffered from acne and don't normally have blemish issues and naturally have tiny pores. I think it has to do with glycerin in the 2nd ingredient (or 3rd? can't remember), which can be clogging for some people.
I'd give 4 stars if it weren't for the zit(s). Other than that, a fantastic cream if you have really dry skin, live in a desert/very dry climate, and want something that doesn't need constant reapplying (it stays put like woah!).
I'm on the fence about whether I'd buy this again or not... I put in YES since I know I’m not absolute on NOT buying it, so yea, we'll have to see I guess..

UPDATE:
So I have changed my mind and have decided NO I wouldn’t buy this again as I believe there’s many better creams out there than this. It’s also become too greasy for me, I’ve discovered. Greasy as in it just sits on top of my very dry skin and doesn’t like to absorb now. Like at all. Thus, I’ve also downgraded my previous rating of 3 Lippies to that of only 2 Lippies. It’s nice for cuticles and overly dried/damaged hands, though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaimee on 11/18/2012 10:00:00 AM more reviews by Jaimee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very heavy cream that ironically doesn't do much for hydration. It has a weird scent. You have to emulsify it between your fingers. After a few weeks of use, my skin didn't look any better or more hydrated. I will take a pass on this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moody on 11/8/2012 1:23:00 AM more reviews by moody

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I don't like kiehls moisturizers. The ultra facial moisturizer sits on top of my skin and makes it feel suffocated and greasy. That said, I LOVE this cream. It's thick but it penetrates and leaves a soft finish without a heavy film. If you over apply it will feel gross so be careful to warm up only a small amount before patting it on. It really seals in moisture, doesn't cause breakouts like other kiehls products and has a comforting soft almost unscented smell.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shandwork on 8/28/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by shandwork

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Very soothing for sensitive, dry mature skin. Not irritating to my rosacea. Love it and will repurchase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 7/19/2012 11:44:00 AM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am into my second jar, definitely I don't buy into this Artic Rose snake oil story, but it is a good moisturizer that "seals" the skin, thus prevent further moisture loss. When I have the time, I applied a lighter or a heavier dose of whatever serum, wait 10 minutes & "press" this cream on to seal.
Will buy again, until something even better comes up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 stonmad on 7/9/2012 3:02:00 AM more reviews by stonmad

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Softened my skin but I was allergic so it burned and turned my skin red where I applied it. Luckily, it was a sample and the packaging is beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Moisturizers products