Wet 'n' Wild • Color Icon Trio - I Dream of Greenie • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 katautumn on 1/25/2014 7:06:00 PM more reviews by katautumn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I saw this trio at Wal-Mart recently, and I believe it's a part of WnW's permanent line. Normally I don't gravitate toward the greens, but I have a sick compulsion to hoard every WnW palette I come across. I want to share my pros and cons for this particularl trio:

*PROS*
~Super affordable. Each trio is under $3.
~Accessible. You can find Wet 'n Wild at nearly every drugstore, Wal-Mart, KMart, chain dollar store, and even some grocery stores (my local Kroger sells it)
~Highly pigmented. Seriously, the color payoff on these is insane.
~Gorgeous shades. I was so impressed by just how beautiful these greens are.
~Can easily be de-potted and placed in a magnetic compact.

*CONS*
~The packaging is not the prettiest. For me this isn't an issue, since I de-pot them anyway, but for someone who is attracted to eye catching packaging these might put them off to the brand.
~There is a lot of fallout. Most of this can be reduced by tapping, but a lot of powdery shadow falls out of the pan when you swipe a brush or applicator across the top. I've noticed that this particular trio has a little more fallout that the others.
~Even with primer, I find these colors tend to fade after a few hours and may need a little touching up.

For reference, I swiped some of the crease color into my crease on top of Maybelline cream Eye Tattoo in "Bad to the Bronze" and it looked super luxe and absolutely gorgeous. The highlighting shade in this trio is beautiful. The only color that wouldn't an every day wear for me (even though it's amazingly beautiful and fun) is the bright green eyelid shade. If greens are your thing, I'd definitely recommend this trio.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 8/30/2013 9:20:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very pigmented but the packaging isn't the greatest. Very difficult to open. For $2.99 I'm willing to repurchase if I happen to hit pan on it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kadytheredpanda on 8/26/2013 11:33:00 AM more reviews by kadytheredpanda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I was visting my first casino on my 22nd birthday, so I decided it would be cute to wear green eyeshadow while there. I was also curious to see if green eyeshadow would pair well with my green eyes, so I bought this palette because it was cheap enough and I knew that Wet n Wild had really brought up their game over the years.

I was certainly impressed by these shadows. The colors were bright and true to pan even without primer (although with primer they are slightly even brighter). Surprisingly, when blended together, sheer mint green ("browbone" color), emerald green (crease), and lime green (eyelid) compliment each other, and the colors made my green eyes pop.

And the longevity! This is what sold the palette for me. I applied the shadows on my birthday at 10 AM; even with eye rubbing and taking an hour long nap during the long ride home they were still going strong when I removed my eye makeup 14 hours later. Considering I have extremely oily skin this is particularly mind blowing to me. There was only minimal fading after all that time. I was worried that like green nail polish they would stain my eyelids but nope.

I really like this palette, but the reason I didn't give it a perfect five was because of two cons. First, the eyeshadows are fragile. When I was at the store all available stock had at least one broken eyeshadow on them. I had to clean out my palette to get as much broken crease color out of the other colors and the brush holder before I could use it. Also, I had some fallout problems with the crease color, though it was probably because I forgot to tap the excess off before applying. The color is the most pigmented out of the three so be careful when applying this.

Overall, however, I highly recommend this as a beginner green eyeshadow palette. These are great eyeshadows for the low price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pigmentpro on 7/29/2013 3:52:00 PM more reviews by pigmentpro

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

If you are looking for that neon green look this is the perfect palette to go to. I paid $2.99 for this and couldn't be happier for the price. These greens really make your eyes pop and really makes a bold statement. You do not have to put a lot onto your brush to achieve the look so these shadows will last a long time. All of the wet n wild palettes have super cute names and they match the colors so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cindi33 on 6/9/2013 11:57:00 AM more reviews by Cindi33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this up on a whim because I liked the bright green colors and thought it's only $2.99. It took me a few months though to actually wear this as I usually wear neutrals and had bad flashbacks from the seventies of green and blue eyeshadows and did not want to revisit that look, so I avoided trying this out. Well, I just bought a pretty bright lime spring green shirt and wanted a look to go with it, so I finally just dug it out and tried it and I am happy to report that not only did my blue eyes look great with the pop of color but that I did not look like I had stepped out of the seventies at all and I actually liked the way this addition of color brightened up my whole face. I used NYX white eyeshadow base beneath this and it really popped. The shadow stayed on all day and was still on until I took it off at almost 2 am! It had faded a little but I was surprised at how good this still looked 14 hours after application! This is a nice little trio and the little pans are stamped with "browbone" "crease" and "eyelid" to give you a guide on how to start. I used the lid color on my entire lid and used the crease color to add some definition and shade to the crease area and then dabbed the light shimmery browbone color right in the center of my eyelid above the pupil of my eye to highlight that area. These shadows apply so smoothy and blend well but stay pigmented. These perform as well as higher end department store shadows and as actually almost as good as my favorite Urban Decay shadows. If I didn't know better I would not believe this is cheapie drugstore makeup. SCORE!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judy46970 on 3/5/2013 4:00:00 PM more reviews by judy46970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love these colors, they work well with my eyes and skin tone.They are very soft--applies easy, and very pigmented. The packaging sucks, but whatever--the product is very good! The price is also right--$2.99 @ the drugstore, not too bad!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tooextreme4you on 2/17/2013 11:32:00 PM more reviews by tooextreme4you

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on a whim and I'm glad that I did!! I was actually surprised to see these colors at a drugstore, but at the same time, I was relieved that I wouldn't have to drop a ton of $ at Sephora to try colors like these out.

Anyway! My favorite is the bottom shade. It's a bright, neon green. I have blue/green eyes and it actually makes them POP. I haven't used the other two colors much.

As with most Wet 'n Wild packaging, it's flimsy and cheap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ariel2229 on 11/20/2012 8:43:00 PM more reviews by ariel2229

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Even though this is one of my least reached for pallets it is my favorite for a bright eye or ifI need a green. The shadows arevery pigmented and silky. Another hit from wet n wild

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kfunk on 11/15/2012 9:32:00 AM more reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Thought these colors may be too bright on my very fair skin but gave it a shot since it was so cheap. The brightest green, when applied is actually very wearable and not scary at all. Love this trio

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kittykatkey on 10/28/2012 8:34:00 PM more reviews by kittykatkey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The green I feel for this, can only be obtained by taking my bra off of after a tiring eight hour day.

The colours are amazingly bright, even brighter if you do apply it over a white base. However, you do need a primer or else it will bleed and turn all oily. Also it's not very good if its applied wet, like some eyeshadows just blossom if they're applied wet, yeah this one isn't it.

I sometimes even use the middle green one as an mock-eyeliner with my small angled brush. It really pops out my eyes, and great for Holiday Events.

I would buy it again--if I can find it again.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Eye Shadow products