OPI Guy Meets Gal-veston

4.0

23 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/21/2013 9:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It is really hard too apply this nail polish! It is way too runny, and it takes about 4 coats to make it opaque enough. Now nail polish is all over my fingers...The finished nail looks ok with the "sorbet" look.
If it was easier to apply I would give it another star

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/24/2012 2:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this color. I bought it on sale thinking it was orange-y red. It looks nothing like it does in the bottle. It's a sheer poppy pink (I use 3 coats). I love it on my feet, but I really love it on my fingers. It looks a little different in different lights...sometimes it looks like a neon pink (not cheesy 80s neon pink) and sometimes it looks like a true poppy pink. I feel like your pink options are either super light, barely pink, reddish pink, or pepto bismal pink...this was the pink I was looking for.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2012 10:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I just bought this today and I going to return it and buy a different polish. I know this is a "jelly" or "sorbet" finish...whatever you want to call it, but I can't get the damn thing to be opaque-ish at all. The tips of my natural nails aren't uniformly white and I hate having them show through.


I will admit this is a nice color but my Peach Daiquiri from Essie looks like an opaque ringer for this color. That being the case alone would make me return this, but in this case it isn't the only reason.


I attempted two times to paint my nails with this color and I know sometimes you have bad polish days. You know the days were you can paint and repaint your nails a million, gagillion times and keep messing them up? That's sorta what I'm talking about, but seriously I had these little wiggly fingers of mine painted with a top coat and like two hours later they just mushed. The first time I was literally able to pull the top coat and the 2-4 layers of polish off my nail. I have had polish smear and chip, but never pull of my nail like half dried elmer's school glue.


I think if you like jelly finishes give this polish a try. It is a pretty color and not a bad finish, but I just couldn't seem to get it to work for me, which is fine. I think I will return and buy a different orange OPI polish, perhaps Call Me Gwen-ever.


on 8/13/2012 10:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I just bought this today and I going to return it and buy a different polish. I know this is a "jelly" or "sorbet" finish...whatever you want to call it, but I can't get the damn thing to be opaque-ish at all. The tips of my natural nails aren't uniformly white and I hate having them show through.


I will admit this is a nice color but my Peach Daiquiri from Essie looks like an opaque ringer for this color. That being the case alone would make me return this, but in this case it isn't the only reason.


I attempted two times to paint my nails with this color and I know sometimes you have bad polish days. You know the days were you can paint and repaint your nails a million, gagillion times and keep messing them up? That's sorta what I'm talking about, but seriously I had these little wiggly fingers of mine painted with a top coat and like two hours later they just mushed. The first time I was literally able to pull the top coat and the 2-4 layers of polish off my nail. I have had polish smear and chip, but never pull of my nail like half dried elmer's school glue.


I think if you like jelly finishes give this polish a try. It is a pretty color and not a bad finish, but I just couldn't seem to get it to work for me, which is fine. I think I will return and buy a different orange OPI polish, perhaps Call Me Gwen-ever.


on 6/29/2012 11:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, the color is not my style. I don't know, I'm not a super fan of bright, neon-ish coral pink nail polishes like this one. My friend bought me this nail polish at a local salon for my birthday, and I'm not too pleased. The color is very bright, almost childishly bright. I know coral was in season for a while, as well, so it makes me feel really bad to write this. Also, it is very difficult to achieve the level of opaqueness that I usually can get with other OPI's that I own. Drying time is okay, a little on the long side, but nothing too bad. It lasts a while, which is nice, except I'm not a fan of the color haha. I imagine the price is $9, like any other OPI polish, which is acceptable. I really do like OPI, I just don't love this color. I probably will get negative feedback here on this nail polish review, seeing as all the good reviews got thumbs up...


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Hmmm...I don't think many people are aware that this is a jelly finish. It's not expected to be opaque. (Just like matte polishes are not going to be shiny no matter how many coats one puts on) But OPI didn't label this as jelly so I kind of understand the low ratings. On to the review...

This makes my nails look like Jolly Rancher candies. Yum! Visible nail lines are to be expected. However, I didn't like the streakiness, so it took about 3 or 4 coats to cover that and the more coats the less it resembled candy...bummer :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2011 9:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I hate to be the party pooper here, but I'm not a fan of this polish. I was expecting a beautiful slightly red, more coral/pink hue that I got from my first glance at the bottle (it seems similar to OPI on Collins Ave but more pink) but when applied, I'm left with a light to medium, very sheer coral/pink. Two coats is not enough, as it's practically see through. I think three may be more opaque, but this isn't enough to make me want to use the polish again. Who really wants to deal with three coats of nail polish? Not I. The color in the bottle isn't the color left on my nails.


on 8/24/2011 4:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I haddd to buy this since I live close to Galveston. Anyway, I think many people don't like the jelly/sorbet finish of this polish. It is definitely one of those semi-sheer polishes that shows your nail line in the sunlight. I, however, love jelly polishes more than any other. The color is beautiful and looks great on nails and toes. It's a pretty summertime color. This jelly has a pretty thin formula, which I like because it dries faster. I find that it does need a topcoat though, to make it extra shiny and pretty. If you prefer cream polish formulas, I have a Borghese one that is almost identical to this one in color, so you may want to check that one out next time you're at the drugstore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2011 1:27:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried Big Hair, Big Nails first and loved how easy it was to apply and how quickly it dried. It lasted a whole week with no base coat or top coat. It didn't chip at all - just wore very slightly on the tips of my nails. I don't think any polish, not even other OPI shades, has ever lasted that long. I just removed it tonight and redid my nails with Guy Meets Gal-veston. I think I like this shade even better than Big Hair, Big Nails because it's a little more on the pink side of coral whereas Big Hair, Big Nails is a little more on the orange side. I think I'll save Big Hair, Big Nails for my toes. So far, I am loving these. The shine is incredible.


on 7/1/2011 3:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My favorite part is the color! It's on the pinker side of coral, but I'd still call it a coral. This is my third day of wearing it and I have light chipping, had to redo my thumb nail because the chip got too big (this is two coats with top coat).

I'm not sure how much I love the opacity of it, which is why I gave it 4 instead of 5. Seeing it in the sun today really made me realize how sheer it is. I wish it was just a bit more opaque. I'll try three coats next time. I do quite like it, mainly because the color is just SO fantastic, and would still repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

75 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

72 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top