OPI • Guy Meets Gal-veston • Polishes

rated 4.0(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 xoxoRachel on 5/21/2013 9:32:00 PM more reviews by xoxoRachel

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is really hard too apply this nail polish! It is way too runny, and it takes about 4 coats to make it opaque enough. Now nail polish is all over my fingers...The finished nail looks ok with the "sorbet" look.
If it was easier to apply I would give it another star

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emkenn on 9/24/2012 2:28:00 PM more reviews by emkenn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color. I bought it on sale thinking it was orange-y red. It looks nothing like it does in the bottle. It's a sheer poppy pink (I use 3 coats). I love it on my feet, but I really love it on my fingers. It looks a little different in different lights...sometimes it looks like a neon pink (not cheesy 80s neon pink) and sometimes it looks like a true poppy pink. I feel like your pink options are either super light, barely pink, reddish pink, or pepto bismal pink...this was the pink I was looking for.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 8/13/2012 10:08:00 PM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I just bought this today and I going to return it and buy a different polish. I know this is a "jelly" or "sorbet" finish...whatever you want to call it, but I can't get the damn thing to be opaque-ish at all. The tips of my natural nails aren't uniformly white and I hate having them show through.


I will admit this is a nice color but my Peach Daiquiri from Essie looks like an opaque ringer for this color. That being the case alone would make me return this, but in this case it isn't the only reason.


I attempted two times to paint my nails with this color and I know sometimes you have bad polish days. You know the days were you can paint and repaint your nails a million, gagillion times and keep messing them up? That's sorta what I'm talking about, but seriously I had these little wiggly fingers of mine painted with a top coat and like two hours later they just mushed. The first time I was literally able to pull the top coat and the 2-4 layers of polish off my nail. I have had polish smear and chip, but never pull of my nail like half dried elmer's school glue.


I think if you like jelly finishes give this polish a try. It is a pretty color and not a bad finish, but I just couldn't seem to get it to work for me, which is fine. I think I will return and buy a different orange OPI polish, perhaps Call Me Gwen-ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VegetaFanGirl on 6/29/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by VegetaFanGirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, the color is not my style. I don't know, I'm not a super fan of bright, neon-ish coral pink nail polishes like this one. My friend bought me this nail polish at a local salon for my birthday, and I'm not too pleased. The color is very bright, almost childishly bright. I know coral was in season for a while, as well, so it makes me feel really bad to write this. Also, it is very difficult to achieve the level of opaqueness that I usually can get with other OPI's that I own. Drying time is okay, a little on the long side, but nothing too bad. It lasts a while, which is nice, except I'm not a fan of the color haha. I imagine the price is $9, like any other OPI polish, which is acceptable. I really do like OPI, I just don't love this color. I probably will get negative feedback here on this nail polish review, seeing as all the good reviews got thumbs up...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danger_kitty on 3/7/2012 5:36:00 AM more reviews by danger_kitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Hmmm...I don't think many people are aware that this is a jelly finish. It's not expected to be opaque. (Just like matte polishes are not going to be shiny no matter how many coats one puts on) But OPI didn't label this as jelly so I kind of understand the low ratings. On to the review...

This makes my nails look like Jolly Rancher candies. Yum! Visible nail lines are to be expected. However, I didn't like the streakiness, so it took about 3 or 4 coats to cover that and the more coats the less it resembled candy...bummer :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GetLowxX on 10/7/2011 9:50:00 PM more reviews by GetLowxX

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to be the party pooper here, but I'm not a fan of this polish. I was expecting a beautiful slightly red, more coral/pink hue that I got from my first glance at the bottle (it seems similar to OPI on Collins Ave but more pink) but when applied, I'm left with a light to medium, very sheer coral/pink. Two coats is not enough, as it's practically see through. I think three may be more opaque, but this isn't enough to make me want to use the polish again. Who really wants to deal with three coats of nail polish? Not I. The color in the bottle isn't the color left on my nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carlaaaay on 8/24/2011 4:15:00 PM more reviews by carlaaaay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I haddd to buy this since I live close to Galveston. Anyway, I think many people don't like the jelly/sorbet finish of this polish. It is definitely one of those semi-sheer polishes that shows your nail line in the sunlight. I, however, love jelly polishes more than any other. The color is beautiful and looks great on nails and toes. It's a pretty summertime color. This jelly has a pretty thin formula, which I like because it dries faster. I find that it does need a topcoat though, to make it extra shiny and pretty. If you prefer cream polish formulas, I have a Borghese one that is almost identical to this one in color, so you may want to check that one out next time you're at the drugstore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ninnynoddle on 7/1/2011 3:02:00 AM more reviews by ninnynoddle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite part is the color! It's on the pinker side of coral, but I'd still call it a coral. This is my third day of wearing it and I have light chipping, had to redo my thumb nail because the chip got too big (this is two coats with top coat).

I'm not sure how much I love the opacity of it, which is why I gave it 4 instead of 5. Seeing it in the sun today really made me realize how sheer it is. I wish it was just a bit more opaque. I'll try three coats next time. I do quite like it, mainly because the color is just SO fantastic, and would still repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JM234 on 6/26/2011 7:46:00 AM more reviews by JM234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this colour since it's a beautiful shade for summer. Also, a lot of the time I do have issues with colour chipping around the edge of my nails but this one lasted 4 days before serious chipping (usually one of my nails will have chipped by 2 days after polishing, even with base and top coats).

It took me 3 coats to get the coverage I wanted, which was a bit of a pain but at the same time the glossy finish and long lasting performance was well worth it.

I would re-buy another sorbet but it's probably a colour that's great for right now but I'll move on from....hence the no to re-buying. If you're a coral fan then I'm sure you would re-buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* live4rn on 6/11/2011 9:54:00 PM more reviews by live4rn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. On me, it's a pretty close true coral. VNL does not bother me and in fact, I quite like the change from more "full coverage" polishes. I am going to pick up another sorbet (probably Houston We Have a Purple) and plan to keep my eyes out for new sorbets added in the future. And I ADORE the glossiness and ease of application!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products