Burt's Bees • Tinted Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 3.9(97 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 cheelastar on 3/19/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by cheelastar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I really love this product! I usually wear this first before applying my lipstick or wear it alone for casual occasion, because it has slightly tinted colour, mine is rose. Definitely will repurchase it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautybaby44 on 1/31/2014 11:39:00 AM more reviews by beautybaby44

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My mom and I both bought this in the shade "Rhubarb". It has amazing pigment, it is long wearing,and it's really moisturizing. I want to buy every shade. Great price and amazing quality. I will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci01 on 1/6/2014 1:27:00 PM more reviews by staci01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I bought this on a whim recently due to the cold weather wreaking havoc on my lips. This lip balm works great in moisturizing my lips and not leaving them feeling dry after it's worn off. It's a cross between a lip balm and lipstick leaning a bit more on the lipstick side. The shade, Blush Orchid, is a slightly pink mostly nude shade and I find that it is sheer enough that my lips don't look like I put a pale paste on. Exfoliation is a must if I wear this, as with all paler lipsticks/balms, but it lends a natural not overly made up sheen which is nice. Love the ingredient list, too. No funky weird taste from the oils in this which I appreciate. My only complaint is that I think it's a smidge pricey for a lip balm. I think I paid around $8 for it and then opened the tube it was in to find it was in a plain brown lip balm tube, like a Chapstick tube. Still though the product itself is nice and I'll be purchasing another one, in a different shade, in the future!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MagnoliaState on 12/31/2013 9:57:00 PM more reviews by MagnoliaState

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The Red Dhalia is my HG of Chapstick. Ok well almost. I really wish this had SPF. Very moisturizing. Nice feel too it not as waxy as Chapstick but not as sticky as lipgloss. This has plenty of color for me but I've only tried the darkest shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eunoia93 on 12/31/2013 11:53:00 AM more reviews by eunoia93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Why I love it:
I love this product mostly because of the colors it comes in. I own hibiscus and pink blossom which are both GREAT MLBB shades for me. And UNLIKE say, Revlon lip butters or SUGAR tinted lip treatment, it's a lot easier to get an even / neat application without looking in the mirror (and in general). So it's super low maintenance which is what I expect from a tinted lip balm / stain type product.

Also, assuming the color suits you, it gives a completely natural looking finish but is still pigmented enough for noticeable color.

So, I just love the way it looks and how easy it is to put on. The color hibiscus is unique too and mainly why I'll continue to repurchase. I can't describe the color or find something similar but it suits my yellow-undertone skin really well. Pink blossom is a very natural looking pink on me in one swipe but if I build it up it becomes more "bubblegum" like against my skin tone.

Extra bonus is that it's paraben free and all natural (if you're one concerned about those things.
----------------

The cons (?):

The product comes in a standard lip balm / chapstick like tube, so not particularly glamorous looking if you like that sort of thing. Super portable though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cloudsofviolet on 12/11/2013 1:36:00 AM more reviews by cloudsofviolet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have Red Dahlia and Sweet Violet. They are definitely on the sheer side, even for tinted balms. I like this, as they tint my lips and brighten them up, rather than looking like I have product on my lips. Red Dahlia is a deep red with brown tones, and Sweet Violet is a bright rosy fuschia with mauve undertones. Red Dahlia makes my lips look like they are naturally red, and Sweet Violet gives a sheer rosy fuschia tint. * They are moisturizing, unlike a lot of other tinted balms and glosses I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sunnyonne1 on 12/9/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by sunnyonne1

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love em all. Especially in cold NY winter. My old dry lips appreciate the soothe, and all the colors work for me. My newest fave color is Sweet Violet....just a touch of cool tone makes this one a notch above the rest. I don't mind the reapply. No mirror needed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anotherwise on 10/13/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by anotherwise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It's my first Burt's Bees product, and not the last. After a decade of cheaper drugstore lip balms, I am very impressed how soft these make my lips. Even after months (!) of use. Can I kiss myself, please?

But happiness comes with a price. It's about 5 times more expensive than drug store brands (in my country); and yet, it's not 5 times more effective! 2 times or 3 times, but certainly not 5. Such is the scam of the beauty industry! Price and worth is not linear.

But I look pretty. I'm happy. Besides, there's a lot of other products more expensive than this! I don't want to give this up, despite the price. It's an HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloodyroses on 10/2/2013 6:49:00 PM more reviews by bloodyroses

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OMG. THIS STUFF IS AMAZING! I'm not one for high-maintenance lip colour. I often don't carry a mirror with me when I'm out (I'm a light packer) but because of my love of makeup and beauty products, there's always a magnetism for lip products that exists. I've been looking for a tinted balm for awhile and doing some research to see what kinds of things are out there. I'm always wary of buying higher-end lip products because I will use them less than 10 times and give up because my lips are always in such horrible condition or I just can't be bothered to touch up my lip colour throughout the day. I also have a teeth-gnashing hate for sticky lip products (lip gloss? NOOOOOO.). I ended up buying this Burt's Bees tinted balm on a whim--my first colour was Rose. And then the next day, I went and bought two more: Sweet Violet and Red Dahlia. My lips are very pigmented and these balms are exactly what they are--tinted and sheer. There is just enough colour and shine for me to look polished. And because they are just like plain old twist-up balms (with the tube looking reminiscent of the Laura Mercier tinted balms--bonus!) and sheer in colour, I can pull 'em out of my purse any time and apply without a mirror. It's relatively moisturizing but don't expect any miracles. To all you on-the-go gals out there, try one!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beautycalls09 on 8/16/2013 2:14:00 PM more reviews by beautycalls09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Packaging is cute, but ridiculously excessive and unnecessary. From the cardboard tube it comes in, I thought it was going to be a chubbier lip balm, but it's the same size as any old chap stick.
The tints are a joke. Even Dahlia, the darkest shade, doesn't show up on me. I expected to be able to see at least a hint of color, but alas. Nothing.
This is basically an $8 Smackers. Even the scent and heavy, glossy feeling. I gave them to my sister, who threw them away after two days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products