Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balm

4.0

109 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Burt's Bees is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, olus (vegetable oil, huile vegetale), cera alba (beeswax, cire d'abeille), olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, candelilla cera (euphorbia cerifera wax, cire de candelilla), helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, aroma (flavor)*, lanolin, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, cananga odorata flower wax, jasminum officinale (jasmine) flower wax, ammonium glycyrrhizinate, tocopherol, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf extract, glycine soja (soybean) oil, canola oil (huile de colza). May contain: alumina, CI 77891 (titanium dioxide), CI 75470 (carmine), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (iron oxides). *natural flavor


on 3/11/2015 3:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was on the search for more natural looking lip colours, and kept being introduced to Burt's Bees Tinted Lip Balms. So, I finally gave in, and purchased 3 colours: Rose, Pink Blossom and Sweet Violet. The colours are pigmented and show up pretty well on my lips, but I find that hotter environments allow for a more smoother application than in colder environments. The colours are very sheer on the lips, but they are not long lasting which is a bit disappointing. As for its nourishing properties, this product could have been better. I can get away with using this tinted balm on its own in hotter climates, but when the weather is colder and harsher to my lips, this balm is not my saving grace, and I notice my lips need a little more to combat the dryness. These lip balms are lightly scented and don't really taste like anything when I apply them on my lips. Despite me saying this product isn't long lasting or very moisturising, I still quite like these lip balms and will be repurchasing unless I find an even better alternative. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for nude lip colours or tinted lip balms with natural ingredients.

If you want an in-depth review of these Tinted Lip Balms, you can check out my blogpost:
http://teayii.blogspot.com/2015/03/product-review-burts-bees-tinted-lip.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/27/2015 11:50:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this in the shade Hibiscus, and I really like it. The colour payoff is great for a tinted lip balm and it's pretty moisturizing. The scent is pretty faint and it doesn't bother me too much. The only con I have is that it dries your lips out a little after it fades and the colour tends to just stay in the cracks of your lips, so exfoliation is a must before wearing this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2015 5:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have this in the color Honeysuckle,it's nude.I just started to use this more often and I can say it really moisturizes and made my my chapped lips soft and the way that can wear lipstick without my lips looking so damn chapped and dry! It has lovely sweet scent,but doesn't have any taste.So it's perfect for me and I like the nude coloring it gives,and lips do look pretty then.Got this cheaper,about 4£ from fragrancedirect.com,they have all kind of makeup stuff with low price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 5:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

HG tinted lip balm! Great for work- when I want some color on my lips- but I don't want to wear lipstick! Unlike the revlon balm stains and other tinted lip products this actually moisturizes my lips and doesn't end up drying them out! I have very neutral fair skin and light lips- so with a few good coats the color really shows up! I have pink blossom and Sweet violet and they are amazing!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2014 3:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great product, no taste, not sticky, but smell bad. Light but moisturizing balm, and i only need to apply it once or twice, every two or three days. Never thought i will find treatment like this! (I have tried burt's bees other balm, clinique, loccitane, tbs, palmer, nivea, etc, and nothing works on me) This one is very helpful. FINALLY, I can wear any lipstick that i like and feeling and looking good.
I am nc15, I have red dahlia the mlbb, and caramel daisy as a nude balm. I don't mind the price because this balm really does what it supposed to do, one thing i dont like about this is the smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2014 11:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite winter lip balm. It's packed with coconut oil, which goes a long way towards keeping my lips moisturized. There isn't much else in here, so it doesn't irritate my sensitive skin. The tint is hardly visible at all on my pigmented lips, but if you have light lips, it should show through. It's a tinted balm, NOT a lipstick, so I have no problem with this. The packaging is weird and excessive. It's a regular lip balm twist-up stick, but it comes inside a cardboard tube that I threw out the second I opened the thing. There's no taste as far as I can tell, but it does smell sort of plastic-y. I have spotted these on clearance periodically for between $3.50 and $2, so I always stock up.


on 10/24/2014 12:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love this tinted lip balm. Currently my favourite product to wear on my lips in the daytime and probably won't be going back to lipstick or lip glosses any time soon. I already have quite red lips which I am proud of so covering them up entirely makes it feel like quite a pointless trait but not wearing anything on my lips when I've got a full makeup look everywhere else feels weird. This is my perfect halfway point. I use it in red dahlia which matches perfectly with my becca beach tint in watermelon on my cheeks. Its a nice colour and love the way it transforms my lips. I'm not sure how long lasting the lip colour is since I've never really timed it and I like reapplying within small time brackets as it is also a nice soft texture and I find it a calming ritual. I find putting on a lip balm in public feels less vain than putting on a lipstick which is another bonus. I also like the subtle sweet smell which has become a very comforting aroma during my makeup routine. I can also say that it is good quality as a lip balm and I haven't experienced any chapped or dry flaky lips since using it and my general lip texture has improved, they're much more plump and smooth. Although I never have gotten into the habit of using a lip balm before this so probably working any random lip balm into my routine would make some difference. I'm not sure it would be quite as significant as this though.


on 9/16/2014 11:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My review is for the Hibiscus Tinted Lip Balm. The color looks natural so it's good for every day use but it is also very sheer so there is barely any difference when applied to my lips. The lip balm is on the soft and slippery side which may work for some people but I prefer a firmer texture. In comparison to the Burt's Bees Lip Shimmers, I find this lip balm to be far less effective in moisturizing and that my lips feel dry after using it. I'll finish this lip balm but won't be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a great tinted lip balm, and probably my favorite product to use on my lips. I have 5 different colors now and Pink Blossom (HG!) and Sweet Violet are my favorite. These are ultra moisturizing, have a nice slip to them and last very well considering they are not really supposed to be long wearing. When these first came out I was put off by the price, but now that I have been using them for awhile I think they are worth it. It seems like a very high quality lip balm to me, and I have yet to finish one up. I don't notice any scent or taste. They leave my lips super quenched and juicy looking. I reached for them more than any other lip product I own (other than maybe clear lip balm). There are still a couple more colors that I want to get. The color line up has something for everyone (although I am bummed that Tiger Lily got discontinued - boo!). The only minor complaint I have is the packaging is a bit silly. But you can just toss the cardboard outer portion, so it's not a big deal. I will definitely continue to repurchase these as long as they are around.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/25/2014 12:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Every other tinted balm can go home. So smooth, looks real natural (enough color but not too much), feels great on your lips. Actually does feel conditioning unlike other 'balms'. My only gripe is some colors. Like, I got the honeysuckle and I loved that, but then I got pink blossom thinking it would look how it does on the box but it looked more fuschia, not my thing. I just used it as a base for red lip most of the time.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1481 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3593 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
172 Reviews


Top Rated Burt's Bees Products

image

Fig Lip Shimmer

51 reviews
Back to Top