Chanel • Rouge Coco Shine - Boy • Lipstick

rated 3.8(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* A88A on 3/25/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by A88A

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Boy is the first lipstick I've ever finished in my entire life. I'm not even really sure what I like about it so much. It's definitely not a special color in the tube, and it lasts all of half an hour, imparting the illusion of moisture without actually moisturizing my lips. I tried to find a dupe for it in a better formula, and while Guerlain's Shine Automatique in Mi Mai came very, very close, it was no cigar. I like Mi Mai in its own right, but it just isn't Boy. Boy tints my lips the most subtly youthful, fresh shade of pink, and the understated shimmery finish makes my lips look bigger. I can also apply it without a mirror, which I've done about a billion times when I've needed to pull myself together in two seconds flat. Even if I accidently go over my lip line, it just highlights my cupid's bow and the contours of my lips, creating a fuller pout. It's also my very favorite lipstick to use with a smoky eye. I gave up trying to dupe it, and bought another tube, also making it my first lipstick repurchase. I *should* just give it the full 5 lippie rating, but it really could be more moisturizing, and I feel stingy today.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harrisonfjord on 3/12/2014 6:05:00 PM more reviews by harrisonfjord

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This applies more like a balm than a lipstick. I actually love this about the product, but it could be a problem if you are looking for something more opaque and longer lasting. Very moisturizing and applies smoothly. I love wearing this on special occasions, but it is a great everyday neutral lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ispania on 1/21/2014 5:59:00 PM more reviews by Ispania

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Finally I got my HG lipstick, which I have been looking for a long time.
On my well- pigmented lips it looks that there is nothing or better to say smth which is so organic and neutral.
I was afraid it would be pinkish or berry-like. It does look like this on some pics of the beauty bloggers but on some girls it looks exactly the way I like. It does depend on lip pigmentation.
It's very hydrating and buttery - bonus for winter time.
This lipstick is on expensive side for me - 34$, but it worth every penny and while I will not be able to try all of the colors but I will splurge for one more which I spotted.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 samanthaxmariee on 1/5/2014 2:42:00 PM more reviews by samanthaxmariee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my all-time favorite lipsticks, and I use it multiple times per week. It was my first Chanel beauty purchase, which I was very excited about considering the beautiful black and gold tube with the Chanel logo on the top feels very extravagant.

The application of this product feels wonderful. It goes on like a balm and feels like a balm. It gives a nice wash of pink to my lips and makes them look naturally shiny and full. It's the type of product I can apply without a mirror and it still looks perfect. Also, it smells really nice! The downside of this product is that it doesn't last very long, which honestly I didn't expect it to considering it's from the Rouge Coco Shine line and is meant to be a sheer wash of color rather than opaque and long-lasting.

Overall, I love this lipstick and carry it with my wherever I go. It is perfect to wear on natural, "no makeup" days. I would certainly recommend it to a friend, and I will absolutely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lil_kismet on 12/22/2013 4:14:00 AM more reviews by lil_kismet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I usually steer clear of lipsticks most of the time because my lips are often dry and most lipstick formulas accentuate the dryness of my lips. However, this is one of very few I've come across that doesn't do that no matter how dry my lips are. I love the nude pink colour and it is opaque on my lips with a couple of layers. This formula wears so incredibly comfortable on my lips. I find it to be very moisturizing and it feels light on the lips, like that of a lipbalm as opposed to a typical lipstick. Boy has been my everyday go-to in the last few months. It goes great with just about any makeup look I do. I do wish it had better staying power though for the price.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 11/26/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I finally caved on this despite the reviews. It is all everyone says. It is a sweet sexy light colour which just adds a little lift to my rosy lips. As such it is very seductive which is the only reason I am keeping it. It doesn't last very long and it is not very hydrating. I am hoping to find a drug store purchase like Burt's Bees that is the same colour but is a more substantial product (hydrating, lasting, spf, nourishing). Meantime I'll keep it but I won't repurchase it.
UPDATE: Downgrading this to a 1 and returning it. It lasts about 15 minutes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 magda12 on 10/17/2013 6:52:00 PM more reviews by magda12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So I'm on my yearly crusade to buy/try all items applicable to me in the Allure Best of Beauty and as I'm always a sucker for pink lip stuffs, I was excited to try their pick for Best pink lipstick: Chanel Rouge Coco Shine Sheer Hydrating Lipshine (geez) in Boy!

First off, I'd like to say that the texture and feel of this lipstick/balm hybrid is lovely. Went on very smoothly on my lips. Also, the color looks beautiful in its fancy black Chanel tube.

Unfortunately, I could BARELY see it on my lips. I get more color on my lips from the cherry Chapstick lip balm. Which is less than $2 at my local Target. ;-) I think it might look prettier on someone w/ fairer skin, but not remarkably so.

Luckily, I tried this on the fly @ the Macys counter - and by the time I left the store, the tiny smidgen of color was all gone.

I honestly don't think I'd even buy in a different darker color. I'll stick to Maybelline Baby Lips or the cute Revlon balms at <1/4 the price. ;-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Satinga on 9/28/2013 8:54:00 AM more reviews by Satinga

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

It gives a perfect shine with (transparent) color that looks natural. Also moisturizes lips and it'a actually like wearing lip balm. I love this color for everyday natural use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 plumblush on 6/14/2013 6:55:00 PM more reviews by plumblush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice little lip balmy kind of thing. It is a MLBB on my dark lips--just makes them look a bit more pink and glowy. Boy is a mauvey pink that has those tiny, non-disco ball glitters in it that Chanel is masterful at wrapping into their lip products. You don't necessarily look like you have makeup on after an application. You just look a little more healthy and polished. That's lovely, but I don't know that I would buy it again...just because I like a little more snap and dazzle from products this expensive. I keep it with me all the time because you don't have to look in the mirror to apply it. It's truly fail-proof for gals with pigmented lips.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Piper47 on 4/1/2013 3:47:00 PM more reviews by Piper47

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this color! super blendable and just a gorgeous mauvey pink to brighten up paler complexions. I do wish it lasted longer. You can layer Chanel's glossimer over it & that helps :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Lipstick products