Serge Lutens • Jeux de Peau • Fragrances

rated 3.7(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 snkatha on 7/24/2014 8:28:00 AM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This perfume evokes a bakery. It smells like toasted warm bread, milk & butter. Really beautiful, spicy & sweet. Unfortunately i thought it was way too sweet, & too evocative of bread & butter to work for me! If the smell of toasted butter bread, sweet creamy milk sounds good then get this! I really started liking the perfume at the final drydown when that baked bread smell started disapearing & the creamy woody sandalwood & amber took over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 9/25/2013 9:53:00 AM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have 5 Serge Lutens fragrances, and Jeux de Peau is my 2nd favorite, behind Chergui. Actually, they're almost tied for first place, of my SLs. The other 3 full bottles I have are Un Bois Vanille, Fille en Anguilles, and Feminite du Bois -- also nice, but not nearly as beloved as my Chergui & Jeux de Peau.

Jeux de Peau smells to me like the Greek dessert baklava. It has a buttery note, a pastry note, a sweet syrupy note, and a nutty note, like either walnut or hazelnut -- all the ingredients you find in baklava pastry.

Here are the notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Citrus notes, Milky note, Wheat, Barley
Heart Notes: Coconut, Licorice, Immortelle, Blossoms, Apricot, Cinnamon, Clove
Base Notes: Osmanthus, Apricot, Spices, Sandalwood, Woody notes, Amber

Jeux de Peau was intended to smell like a pastry shop, and to me, it does. It's delicious! You have to spritz just a tiny bit, because like pastry, it's very rich & sweet -- buttery & syrupy -- so use just a little bit -- and mmm, mmm, you'll want to take a bite out of your arm. I'm drooling, just thinking about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 isohappy on 8/23/2013 7:30:00 PM more reviews by isohappy

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

If you don't want to smell like everyone else, Jeux de Peau is a great way to go. So delicious and comforting and original. Doesn't smell too gourmand--actually very refined--more of a skin scent--my favorite fragrance!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lurketylurk on 8/1/2013 8:29:00 PM more reviews by lurketylurk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Serge Lutens Jeux de Peau is a fragrance with three personalities. It's meant to evoke a bakery, but of course, being a Lutens, I knew before testing it would not be straight up foodie. The opening notes fooled me, though. They are buttery and not exactly breadlike, as advertised, but more of a croissant. I had mixed feelings about the top notes because they were quite unique but a bit too much like food for my taste. However you feel about them, though, they fade very fast. The middle notes are that signature Lutens stewed fruit/cinnamon/cedar accord that is in every single fragrance in the Bois series, and a few that aren't. I like the accord but I have to say, I'd like to see them do something a bit different to show more of a range. It is weird coupled with the croissant note, to be sure. The third personality shows up farther into the drydown when the signature Lutens accord fades to an unfortunate Ambrox (or something like it). I hate Ambrox. It feels "scratchy" to my nose and as soon as it appears it just seems to quash everything else. So suffice to say, I do not love Jeux de Peau. Lutens will have to get a bit more out of the box to impress me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babsvs on 12/29/2012 6:58:00 PM more reviews by babsvs

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the way that Lutens reversed Guerlain's romanticized view of the oriental, and made it more realistic. The Lutens Oriental seems like something you'd hop down to the souq and pick up. Despite this appreciation for the realism of the Lutens Oriental, my favorite from the Lutens range is Jeux de Peau, one of the most thoroughly French fumes in the Lutens range. Dab on Jeux de Peau and you step into Mr. Luten's childhood bakery, complete with wooden floors and shelves scenting it. When I initially saw that milk was one of the top notes in this fragrance I resisted it. More often than not, milk in a fragrance smells like something sour and wretched. In Luten's hands, the milk blends beautifully with the apricot of the osmanthus and the maple of the immortalle. Rounding all of this out is sandalwood, licorice, and spices.

This is a truly a French gourmand. It evokes the realism of a French bread shop in the same way that the original 2009 Guerlain Le Petite Robe Noir humorously evokes rows of perfect little fruit tartlettes.

Jeux de Peau is on the opposite end of the gourmand spectrum from L'Heure Bleue or PdN's Maharanih. They or more abstract. Yes, you may get a bit of Italian candy in LHB or an Italian cookie in Maharanih, but you do not get the experience of a realistic environment. I love them all, and am glad to have both abstract and realistic choices.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GoDawgs on 9/21/2012 3:44:00 PM more reviews by GoDawgs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

OH MY GOD. I am in love with this scent. In fact, it may become my new signature scent.

I read so many reviews that I didn't know what to expect, and I was so excited to try out my sample when I received it today. Immediately after application I could smell the warm, buttery scent that I've read so much about. I never got the very sweet sticky buns scent or strong caramelized sugar smell. It was smooth, lightly sweet, and buttery from the beginning. The underlying sandalwood keeps the buttery sweet scent from smelling too literal, so it smells like a proper but interesting perfume and not like sniffing a buttered baguette or buttered popcorn.

The buttery scent lightens and this dries down to a nice sandalwood fragrance with slight buttery sweetness in the background.

I will definitely be ordering a full bottle of this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mizzcindy on 6/21/2012 9:03:00 AM more reviews by mizzcindy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

No, no, no, no.. this is not good on me.
I love SL but this one's a big miss.
All I can smell is buttered caramelized popcorn, a note I really dislike and therefor I can't appreciate any of the other notes in it.
This one reminds me a lot of BPAL's Shill, a popcorn scent and I actually canlt smells nothing more than that. It smells cheap, a bit off.
The so- called "bread note" is not subtle and I can't imagine why anyone would want to smell nutty and greasy.
Maybe it's a ph thing and lucky for me there are plenty other SL to love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lupinbunny on 5/25/2012 3:24:00 AM more reviews by lupinbunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favourite Lutens. I think someone else described it as grown-up gourmand and I think that's perfect. On me I get apricot, licorice, celery, lots of immortelle, smoke, a kind of pastry scent, and a patchouli-ish drydown. Although syrupy, cozy and warm overall, I don't find it as sweet and cloying as other Lutens fragrances (I'm find the vanilla in Un Bois Vanille far too sweet).

It's not exactly linear, just different parts of the composition dominate at different times... they flow in and out of the scent as a whole.

I don't get any real yeast bread notes, for which I'm glad. Not a fan of the real smell of fresh bread dough.

Absolutely love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Izzybelle on 3/11/2012 7:13:00 AM more reviews by Izzybelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A beautiful scent that reminds me of what it's marketed as - a patisserie/bakery.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntFarm on 1/4/2012 5:20:00 PM more reviews by AntFarm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Like all Serge Lutens' creations it is of course well composed with high-quality ingredients, however, this just didn't work for me. I was hoping it would be more unusual, warm, and bready-spicy. On my skin it kind of smelled like a spicy, potent Christmas holiday liquor mixed with some synthetic woods. Rum balls anyone? The woods and spices and booze never really melded together, and it just kind of smelled like too many things going on at once, even though the notes were a lot of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products