Aveda • Be Curly Style Prep • Styling Products

rated 3.7(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 liveyourmyth on 8/3/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by liveyourmyth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Having medium length, thick and wavy hair, this stuff works wonders for me. However, I can see how it would not be as good of a fit for those with fine hair or spring tight curls.

I don't see any significant cut down on frizz, which isn't too big of an issue for me, but might be for those with a tighter curl. Figuring out how much to use can be a bit of a learning curve. Too much will leave you waxy on day 2, too little doesn't have enough effect to justify the price [not that much does justify the price, more on that later]. However, after finding my goldilocks 'just right' amount, I must say I dig this stuff quite a bit.

When using the 'just right' amount, it is pretty dang lightweight and enhances curls quite well. I don't use it on day 2 or 3, but I don't find it's use on day 1 makes me waxy or heavy the following days, a big issue I've had with other curl enhancers.

The price, oh let's discuss the price.... It is steep, as are most aveda products. Had I not played around with it for a while, I would not find it worthy of repurchase. Before investing, I would definitely consider your hair type. Seems best for thick hair and loose waves/curls.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 4/11/2013 12:33:00 AM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product is just too heavy for my fine/dense hair. If I use just a little, it doesn't enhance my waves the way that I'd like. If I use too much, my hair is greasy looking. I've tried it with the Be Curly Curl Enhancer and that just made weighed my hair down more. I'm sure a curly girl with thick hair would love this, it's just not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KESTRADA14 on 11/20/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by KESTRADA14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have to preface this review with the fact that I have very long and wavy, not curly, hair...

This product gives me shiny mermaid hair! It's the only product I've found that I can put in my hair wet and do absolutely nothing else and still end up with presentable hair (and it doesn't feel like there's product in your hair, which I love).

I find that there are two camps for enhancing wavy hair - one is to leave it alone / air-dry and the other is to scrunch like hell and use a diffuser. This Aveda stuff is best for the former but does not work well when I scrunch and diffuse (I've had the most luck with mousse for this technique, which amps up the volume and defines but leaves me with a bit more crunch than I'd like). This product also doesn't do much when I put it in my already dry hair.

It's important to remember to use a small amount - I have a ton of hair and still only use about 1 or 2 pumps (any more and you'll get a gumminess factor).

Overall I'm not sure whether I'll repurchase... not sure if it is worth the high price and small amount of product... but if I find that the bottle really lasts since I don't have to use much per application then I probably will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 harrisss on 2/6/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by harrisss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I just got a free sample of this product at Aveda. So far, I'm quite pleased. I have long, wavy, frizzy hair that is also fine and thin. I have been forever searching for a curl enhancer that also moisturizes but doesn't weigh down my hair.

This product enhances my curl and, by some miracle, doesn't weigh it down or make it greasy. It doesn't completely eliminate the frizz but, for my hair, this may be as good as it gets.

I only use a pea-size amount in wet hair. I also don't mix it with other products because, on my fine hair, less is more. I find I can reactivate the effect the next day by simply spraying my hair with water and scrunching it. Two days have passed since I washed my hair and applied Be Curly Style Prep and it still looks pretty good.

UPDATE: I've removed a lippie. This product is starting to dry out my hair and it looks frizzier with each application. A better product, in my opinion, is Tresemmť's Touchable Curls Shaping Milk...and it's MUCH cheaper.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 4paws on 1/30/2012 9:36:00 PM more reviews by 4paws

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've played with this for a week or so now, and while I think it performs very well, I think it's good, not great---not worth the high price.
I tend to use natural products (no color, no sodium lauryl sulfate shampoos, and very minimal 'cone use). My hair is curly/wavy hair and very impressionable: products can turn my hair into straight-wavy, or into ringlets (without product), and it's very prone to lying flat at the root, weighed down. Aveda's Style-Prep Be Curly does NOT weigh my hair down, it gives nice soft volume, with minimal control (this is not a shaper or styler, really). It encourages curl but does not yield a uniform curl---a kind of "natural" and casual look.
For me this works best applied on wet hair, and performs especially well with a diffuser. Not good for frizz control on humid days, not much hold (this is clearly a "prep" not a finisher---layering products will be tempting with this). I appreciate that the ingredients don't have any nasty stuff that would build up, and that the scent is barely there and then gone. But for the price, I found it..."fine" ---not great, not really worth it, and I prefer A/G's Re:Coil over this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fboccalari on 1/30/2012 9:46:00 AM more reviews by fboccalari

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Finally I have found the right product for my curls! Itís Aveda Be Curly Style Prep. I have fine and frizzy wavy/curly hair and couldnít find a product to define my curls and eliminate frizz. Style Prep works wonders! It defines, it activates my curls, it eliminates frizz and it lasts!!! Two days later and still perfect. I applied two pumps on towel dried (but still very wet) hair and combed through with my fingers. Then I blow dried with a diffuser, setting it on a low speed and hot temperature. I canít believe I have found this product, my curls now look amazing. I have also tried the Aveda Be Curly Curl Enhancer but I find itís too heavy for my fine hair, I think it works better on thicker hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emodel on 12/30/2011 2:12:00 AM more reviews by emodel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this little thing.I have very FINE hair, and this cream doesn`t weigh my hair down at all, and also doesn`t make my hair crispy/cruncy (which I hate). Helps my dry hair retain moisture and stay shiny and healthy looking. I don`t mind the price as I only need one pump to cover my entire head. :-) I tried once the bigger `Curl Enhancer` and I found it too heavy for my fine hair, but this StylePrep is lighter so it works perfect. Natural, shiny curls, no `crunchy` feel, lightweight, and light herbal smell. The best. :-)... UPDATE: I have tried a few other curling creams and haven`t find any that comes close to this one. Yay, my favorite... :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 birdyb on 12/21/2011 2:58:00 PM more reviews by birdyb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow. I just used this for the first time and I'm stunned. My curls tend to be of the rat's nest variety (3a/b or completely straight, depending on which part of my head we're looking at). I put in 2 pea-sized balls on wet hair, wrapped it up in a tee-shirt, then finger curled when it was dry enough to manage. Nice long ringlets. Very little frizz.
It's too bad that this is $24/bottle, but if it works like this all the time and it lasts, well, ok. No-rat's-nest is worth $24.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sueshine1974 on 10/9/2011 11:40:00 PM more reviews by sueshine1974

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've got soft fine curly hair, that goes into thick ringlets (when the right product is used). I use this with the be curly curl enhancer after a shower when my hair is wet. I've never had such manageable beautiful, thick curls that look as perfect and natural as when I was a little kid, as I get when I use these products. I used to just use the curl enhancer cream and didn't think it worked very well, but combined with this stuff, it's like magic. I'll never buy any other style products. I just hate the teensy tinsey bottle and that I need 2 products to get the good results. I feel like it's an Aveda conspiracy. I love thier products (especially the hair products) but I hate the crazy expensive prices. Luckily I only use a couple pumps each time, but the comibed price of this and the enhancer is almost $70. Yikes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmanelson96 on 8/25/2011 12:29:00 PM more reviews by emmanelson96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product has changed my life. I have been searching for years to find a product that would enhance my wavy hair, make it voluminous and soft and shiny. This is that product. It doesn't weight my hair down or make it look at all greasy. It doesn't get all crunchy either. It just dries like hair does naturally, which is why I love this product so much. I can just use two squirts of this and be out the door and my hair is perfect the rest of the day. Even my Mom uses this stuff, which is how I found out about it, by stealing it from her haha. Her hair has never looked better. She has short and curly hair and it works perfectly on her hair also. This is an amazing product and well worth the money. I actually splurged and bought the whole line online today because I love it so much. Don't hesitate to try this. You won't be disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Styling Products products